We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Martha's Aparthotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just back from a super holiday at Club Marthas and thought I'd share our experience...Great room overlooking the pool - all very modern and spacious with large balcony - knew we would have to hire kettle, toaster and tv remote so that came as no surprise and it was quite nice to do without for 2 weeks - rooms were cleaned 3 times a week and though cooking facilities were basic it was adequate for our needs. We were self-catering and you were spoilt for choice for places to eat out in Cala Egos and it had a lovely atmosphere - a lot quieter than Cala D'Or. Lovely beach close by and a beautiful marina not far to walk too.
We were most impressed with the Entertainments team - great shows in the evening and always somewhere to sit - the Molly Club was great fun for our two - they loved all the activities and the team were so good with them.
Sunbeds are a bit of a nightmare as though they are not unlocked (literally) till 9am there are many people waiting in their "space" from as early as 7.30am!! Unbeleivable - by 9.05am the whole poolside is covered with beds with towels on them - never seen anything like it - so really if you want a bed or two then sadly you just have to join all the other fellow holidaymakers at 9am and get your beds or you will miss out. Guess this is not so relaxing when you are on your holidays but just the way it is .
All in all a super holiday and would recommend these apartments to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday by the sea with plenty of good eating places close by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Club Martha's Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your holiday at club resort marthas. We pride ourselves in all our staff, entertainment, bar,restaurant, reception, cleaning and we hope that they make our guests holiday all the more enjoyable. Many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

First and foremost, this is a very good family orientated hotel. Its very relaxed. For families I would not hesitate to recommend. The staff are very very helpful, the entertainers are brilliant, and the entertainment is great
When we got there the hotel was split - Dutch / German/ Spanish/ and British

We went as a family of 4, my kids are 5 and 7. We went all inclusive for 9 days
The hotel was rammed, very busy. Its located 5 minutes from a lovely beach, and a further 10 minutes from the harbour, and then a further 15 minutes from Cala d'or
The hotel is spotless, and none of my family got bitten at all.
The rooms are cleaned every 3 days. The sofa beds were huge
Beware you have to pay for a toaster, kettle, TV remote, Wi-Fi
The hotel has a mixture of self catering, half board, and all inclusive
This does cause a few problems, as I do feel a few members of staff treat all inclusive worse than others. Some drinks are not included in all inclusive, like cocktails, where they cost 6 euros but on all inclusive you pay 2 euros
The same with ice lollies for the kids - there are 4 ice lollies that are free, and the rest are 3 euros
With all inclusive you can only eat at certain times in certain restaurants
Entertainment - the kids loved it, Molly's club runs 3 times a day (smaller kids), there are separate activities for teens, and separate activities for adults. The entertainment staff really throw themselves into everything. The entertainers tend to be Spanish or Dutch, and therefore the last translations they do is in English, and sometimes that can be cut down from what was said in Dutch or Spanish
Pools - there are in affect 3 pools, a big one split on two levels, one by the entertainment stage, and another hidden away in what looks like a slightly different complex
Sunbeds - Sunbeds are locked up at night, and released at 9am - so you need to be there at 8.55 in order to get one
Food - The pizza's from the pizza restaurant are really nice. The buffet breakfast consist of some hot food, usually beans, eggs, pancakes, bacon, and German sausages. There is bread for toast, large selection of rolls, and croissants. Cereal, yogurt, ham, and cheese
Lunch buffet was usually a choice between 5 hot dishes, and a good selection of salads, with a kiddies choice. We found this to be very quiet, and showed us that the majority of people don't do all inclusive here
Dinner was usually a good selection, with fish always being on selection. One night there was fresh muscles, another was paella. the chef's were always out listening to feedback
Overall, the food I felt was of a better standard that first choice all inclusive
I thought the entertainment was the best I've seen in a hotel resort
The pool by the entertainment area gets very cramped
The hotel being multinational gave it a very relaxed atmosphere
2 minutes from the hotel are shops, spar's, pharmacy, about 10 restaurants / bars

The pools in teh photos on their sites look bigger than in real life :) be warned

I do feel this is a 3 star hotel, and a very good one, and not 4 star. No gym, little thought to customers wanting / needing an area to get changed once checked out of the room. But none the less, overall, I'll probably go back, but as self catering

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighRathbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Club Martha's Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Very many thanks for what you had to say, we find it all very helpfully and knowledgeable, and so will our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

No need to beat around the bush this place in reality is only a 3 star.
The good points were that club Martha's was in a great location close to shops and it's 2 minute walk to the small stunning beach ; Es Forti. This was a god send for us as trying to get a sunbed in the morning at both pools was near impossible..
We seen people which were mainly Germans, waiting to put their towels out from 8 clock and they weren't unlocked til 9, sad really! the two pools were clean and covered with nice wood decking just too packed.

We stayed B&B at this complex and in all honesty the breakfast was awful unless you were German or Dutch. It was completely geared towards them and not to English or Irish. We didn't even know what some of the stuff was half the time. As for fruit it certainly wasn't fresh, must have been week old apples bananas pears oranges and kiwis which were barely edible. ( no watermelon or pineapple) Croissants and pastries weren't fresh either. 2 toaster machines one that was not working.

We arrived on the Monday and the room was modern and clean.
On Wednesday they made the beds and left clean towels but that was it. (didnt mop the floors or clean the bathroom)
So we expected it to be cleaned on the Friday but again only changed the beds and left towels in fact we had to go to reception to request them to leave toilet rolls and finally got them after the third request when refused to leave reception with out them.
So basically we were there a week and the room was cleaned fully once and that was before we even arrived. ( cleaners don't work Saturday or Sunday)

Staff were friendly if you weren't making a complaint other wise they didn't want to know you!
They basically made a joke out of it when we complained about no fresh fruit, one said "well I've tried them and they're fine, we class fruit as a dessert not a breakfast.

90% of the entertainment was in a foreign language couldn't tell if it was Spanish or German, except for "Rud Stewart".. Refreshing to hear one English act the whole time we were hear.

To round it up the complex can not cater for the amount of guests it has and is really only worth 2 1/2 stars.

Beautiful surroundings and would stay in this area again just not at Club Martha's.
Disappointing.

Room Tip: Can't comment on fitness centre or room service as we did not use it. Don't stay here if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OllieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Club Martha's Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

We pride ourselves with the good atomosphere at the Hotel. Although it is impossible to please everyone, as there are so many nationalities , we seem to be doing a pretty good job. The Hotel is cosmopolitan, and we do not have an overwhelming number from one certain country. We thank you for your comments and will take everything on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just returned from 10 days at club Martha's and have had a great time. I must 1st take issue with some recent comments... The entertainment was excellent and is not just in german, the staff skillfully translate into 4 languages (including English) but without it detracting from the entertainment. I guess you'd have to actually go and see it to be able to comment. Large outdoor seating area so never "too busy", lots of people but great atmosphere. It is not too far to walk to cala d'or (depending on mobility) - we walked regularly with our 7 and 4 yr old. Sunbeds cannot be reserved at 7am as they are kept locked and only released at 9am - still not ideal but we ended up taking a "if you can't beat them then join them attitude". I think the sunbeds are an issue wherever you go.

Room was good and v clean. Big balcony overlooking rear pool. Entertainment staff were brilliant and really seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Tireless effort by all. Reception staff friendly and helpful too. Pizzaria was excellent. We were self catering so could not comment on other food. Nice restaurants nearby or in cala d'or marina.

I agree that tv, kettle, toaster should be standard, not extra. A regular comment on here and perhaps management should take note and might get even better reviews.

Overall lovely hotel in good location with brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Club Martha's Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

We think you have "hit the nail on the head" with your comments, and we do appreciate the positive and we certainly will take on board the restaurant. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Went here with husbad and 2 children for a week, half board at the end of July 12. First impression of hotel was good but my heart sank as soon as we entered the room! To summarise so I dont go on a rant forever...

You have to buy the use of kettle, toaster, cots and tv remote amongst other things which is not a deposit whick is returnalbe like with a safe.

There is only one english tv channel which is news - not good for when you have children
The hotel is devided between new and old rooms - we clearly had an old one which was very basic, shabby, worn and dirty. The central light fitting had wiring hanging down in a loop to a socket on the wall.

The bathroom was permanently smelly and we needed to keep the window open constantly for ventilation.
Little things which make holidays easier were missing like no dish cloths, cooking utensils, wine glasses, full length mirror, broom...

Rooms were only cleaned every other day - late in the afternoon which i've never come accross before.

The bathroom mirror was filthy on arrival and remained that way for duration of stay. Same for light switches, skirting etc.
Air conditioning in bedroom stopped working which was repaired the following day but remained noisy..

Food was poor and apart from fresh fruit, salad and bread every night there was only one choice of meal. Also no water provided or squash, all drinks have to be purchased from the bar.

We went on 2 full day excursions, having to be collected at 8.15am from main street/shops so we were unable to have breakfast before we went which didn't start until 8am. When I asked if we could get a packed breakfast of some sort to take with us we were refused!

There were several lovely pools all surrounded with sunbeds - more than enough to go around but we were unable to use any as they were all covered with towels from 7am onwards regardless of people using them. This is not a new problem I know but nothing was done to discourage it. In addition to this the majority of the ground floor rooms were actually taking the beds back to thier rooms at night and keeping them there for duration of their stay - all stacked up. I was actually watched by one family walking round the pool with my book - clearly looking for a free bed - who were sat on their patio area eating lunch with 5 beds stacked against their wall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tap003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Club Martha's Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

We always make an extreme effort to improve certain aspects of which our guests are not truly satisfied. Many Tranks for your contribution. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just got back from two weeks at Club Martha, be very careful! We booked 4 star Club Martha and on arival was put in 3 star Es Bolaro (Same complex). We complained and they said Club Martha was fully booked until the next day. Had a horrendous sleep and the next morning was put in Marthas. I think this is something they do here and I reckon they get away with it.
Everything is additional charge the TV is 30 euros a week and only one English channel, kettle and irons additional charge, so we used the pan. You even have to pay for the information pack that gives you information about the complex!!!! Entertainment on evenings sounded German we didnt go way too busy.
This is also not Cala D'or it is Cala Egos, we knew this already, however you may not. Cala Egos is 5 Euros in a taxi away from Cala Dor, probabaly too far to walk It is also 60 euro to the airport. Cala Ferrera is closer to Cala d'or.
On the plus side staff are very helpful, not majorly friendly but they try to help. When placed in Club Marthas you get a huge balcony with your room the biggest we have had and good air conditioning. Cleaners come Tuesday, Thursdays and Sundays, I suggest you make a 'do not disturb' sign as they come early and knock and walk straight in. You will not get round the pool even if you try at 9am as every sun lounger is reserved with a towel, we walked past once at 9am and every lounger had a towel on but there was not one person there, I wish hotels would stamp on this, in 2 weeks we didnt round the pool once. We wont stay here again as its way too expensive for what you get and there are other hotels less busy hotels around the area.

Room Tip: You will think your booking 4 star Club Marthas, however make sure you get it!!! Stress this when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessieleeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubmarthas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Club Martha's Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

We thank you for your comments, although certain things mentioned are not quite correct. However we take all that you have said on board, and will endevour to improve anything that may be lacking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Me and my husband along with our 5yr old grandson have just returned from a weeks holiday and would recommend Martha's to all ages, there is a full programme of activities from morning through until evening, the annimation team work very hard to make sure everyone knows what is happening and try to get as many people as possible to join in,the evening entrtainment appeals to all ages and by 12 oclock everything is finnished (apart from the disco), I never once heard any noise after we went to bed.The grounds and pool areas are kept very clean and yes you do have to be an early bird for a lounger but this can happen anywhere.The rooms were clean and well enough equipped,i would like the toaster and TV remote to be standard in the room. The only negative thing was I would have liked the option of plastic glasses for the pool area. Cala Egos is a lovely place. I was worried as we had booked a studio for the 3 of us and tried to upgrade but it was full, for the amount of time we spent in the studio it was fine and the air conditioning was a gods send!

Room Tip: If you want to spend time by the pool get up early for a lounger, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.9 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.8 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#20 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or
Aparthotel Ses Cases d'Or
#30 of 46 in Cala d'Or
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Martha's Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Martha's Aparthotel

Address: Lugar Parc de La Mar 6 | Cala Egos, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#11 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £36 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Martha's Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel complex, totally renovated in 2008, located in Cala d’Or (Majorca), 300 metres from the beach. Complex with 3 open air swimming pools, surrounded by landscaped areas and especially suitable for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Martha's Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Martha`s Aparthotel Hotel Cala d`Or
Hotel Marthas Aparthotel
Resort Marthas Aparthotel
Club Marthas Cala Dor
Club Martha's Aparthotel Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing