We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Hostal Oasis D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Oasis D'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

OK - the Oasis D'Or isn't 5star luxury but what a friendly, family-run establishment! This was our second visit which we decided on because of how much we enjoyed our first visit. Everybody is made to feel welcome and treated almost as family and, something that sums it all up, most of the punters had been to the Oasis at least once before - some were on their 12th stay! The hotel is handy for the beach, 5 minute walk from all the main eateries (but there is a very good one next door) and it has it's own off-road parking. The rooms are small but adequate and ours was a brilliant ground floor room with a balcony which almost adjoined the verander of the hotel so couldn't be handier!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

We have just had a 4 night break in the Oasis D'or. It is in a fantastic location 2 mins from shops,bars and restaurants and 2 mins from the beautiful beach. It is a basic hotel but spotlessly clean and if you just want somewhere to sleep this is ideal .The bathroom was big but seemed to lack hot water. Breakfast was different every morning and Mario very cheerful and helpful at all times. There is a pool at the back and it was perfectly adequate and nice and quiet. All in all we found it great

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Did a very short notice 5 day break here so was not expecting much. Very basic yes but clean and run by a very nice family. Breakfast is also basic, if not a bit odd, but you gets what you pay for! Everything you would need is within walking distance, some very good restaurants (and one which tried to overcharge us by 40 Euros so check your bills). Area not dominated by high rise buildings and numerous clubs and bars so we had a peaceful time in pleasant surroundings. Pool at hotel small and friendly and Mario is quite happy bringing you drinks and food. All in all just right for a short quick getaway. Would go again.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room at the end over the kitchen, noisy at 6 in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomandChrisYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at the Oasis for 3 nights Sept 24 -27 2011, It is a very dated , dark., small hostal, run
by a friendly family. The room was VERY BASIC ie 2 beds 1 chair 1 table and and an old wardrobe,but a more than adequate bathroom. Sadly it was not very clean,never saw any cleaners at all. The breakfast is not buffet type but more of a set menu every morning with a
limited choice, basic yes but you will not starve. The location is excellent only mins away from
the beach and the family are all quite friendly. Suprisingly the beer was one of the cheapest in the resort at 2.40 euros pint also the food was cheaper than many other places.If this review sounds bad it is not intended ,as basically it is a place for a cheap break in cala do r,As for the resort itself we were surprised at the prices for food and drink ie not cheap

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ioanemlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We will start with the good points. Had a lovely 8 day holiday staying at this hostal. The owners are friendly and the location is excellent. Over the road from the steps to the beach, town centre easy walk away. Also the bus stop for Palma and the beach of Cala Mondrago is just at the end of the road.
On the downside, we found our room at the hostal was not very clean. The sheets on the bed had dubious stains when we arrived and were still there when we left. ie, they were not changed during our stay. The floor was not clean, and the bathroom not cleaned during our stay. The beds are not very comfy, you can feel the springs coming through. The breakfast is OK if you like lots of bread. It was usually a toastie with some filling followed by a bread roll.
Just OK for a cheap break. We have stayed in other hostals and to be honest this one lets the others down.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were greeted by a jolly mario senior on our arrival late on friday the 9th, quick explanation of breakfast times etc as he assisted us with our luggage to 1st floor room with balcony overlooking children's pool. Rooms basic but spotlessly clean, breakfasts are quirky but brilliant! All the family made you feel welcome. Thanks to Mario Snr, Mario Jnr and Maria, and Mario;s wife the cleaner. Hostal is approx 3 mins walk from outside to the beach. Food and drink at the hostal in most cases half the price of in town and very good. My wife loved the spaghetti with prawns and garlic. Ate in several places in town but by far the best was sancora in the yacht harbour. Several hotels and bars in surrounding area have entertainment on but all finished by midnight. Recommend a trip on the 'glass bottom boat' but felt a bit ripped off on the booked trip to the drache caves, entrance fee fine but 20 quid to get their and back, via pearl factory. Would have done it by bus but trip was booked by someone else. Would definately stay at the Oasis again.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear facing pool end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tollespete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

On arrival at the hostal, myself my partner, his daughter, her husband and a 20 month old grandchild. We were greeted by Mario Junior, who showed us to our rooms, helping with the luggage, as there is no lift, but this did not matter.
The rooms were basic, a bed a wardrobe and a couple of chairs, but it was very clean, yes like everyone else has said it could use some updating, but hey, I was intending on spending most of my time in the sunshine not sat in my room.....
The hostal has a small but adequate swimming pool with toilets and showers, they also have a pool bar, which was nice, the pool is very secluded. Most of the time we were there we were the only ones in the pool so it felt like our very own villa.
Breakfasts were basic, tea or coffee, fruit juice, yoghurt or cereal and then maybe a toastie os scrambled eggs, but they suited us just fine.
The Hostal is in a great location, just across from the beach, but on a downside the beach is very small so gets very busy. A short walk and you are into the main town with as many restaurants as you could need in a lifetime, and cocktail bars galore. One word of warning my partner contracted food poisoning whilst there and we believe it was from a restaurant called OSCARS so maybe dont go there.
The family who run this hostal are amazing and can not do enough for you, they were especially kind to our grandaughter, supplying her with ice lollys and toys.
All in all a great holiday, yes it would have been nice to have a fridge in the room, but that did not spoil our trip at all. Myself and my partner would like to go again later in the year to explore the island more when it is quieter and we would definitely stay here again.
Thankyou Mario Snr, Mario Jnr and Maria, oh yes and Mario;s wife the cleaner and Mark the baby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.9 mi away
Es Bolero Aparthotel
Es Bolero Aparthotel
#27 of 46 in Cala d'Or
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.0 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oasis D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oasis D'Or

Address: Calle Dels Revells d'or 30, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £29 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Oasis D'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Oasis D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Oasis d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Hostal Oasis D'Or Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing