We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, lovely pool, basic but clean rooms”
Review of Hostal Oasis D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Oasis D'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for ten days and really enjoyed our stay. The room was more basic than we expected in arrival, but once the shutters are opened and the light pours in we forgot all about it!

The shower was always hot&powerful and the maid came every day except Sundays, making the beds up and changing the towels.

Mario and the family were very friendly too and the pool bar playing music was great.

Breakfast was basic but we welcomed if each morn. It was a choice of juice (pineapple the best) followed by something like cereal (cornflakes/ muesli) then toastie. I recommend the scrambled eggs on toast they were delicious. It's instant coffee and you might want to bring your own tea bags.

Remember to bring hand soap with you it's not provided in the room. There wasn't a kettle either but we probably should have expected that, clearly take it for granted in the uk! One thing which would make a good difference was if the maid changed the bed sheets mid way through- the build up of sun cream/after sun and no air con at night made them a bit gross towards the end!

The pool was great, unexpectedly deep so could jump/dive in which was a lovely change. It was quiet ish too and no children! The other guests all very friendly :-)

Reccommend caves of drach for a day trip- busy but worth it for the concert! We also cycled to mondrago, got a spot of heat exhaustion but fun, and beautiful spot. We went back there on a starfish cruise - do this- you can slide off the boats into the crystal clear water!

Location couldn't have been better either.

Nightlife was quiet/non existent, there was bars of course but only one club picadillys and a separate part of picadillys at the back. They should just open the two up and it might have looked less dead. The one at the back has an outdoor pole on a big stage- great fun, and mojito on draft.

You get what you pay for so if you like a nicer room and more choice at breakfast perhaps go elsewhere , but if you don't mind the basics , then the location, staff, etc well make up for it! If we came back to cala d 'or we would stay here again!


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cricky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed same week last year with my son and this year with friends still as simple as it needs to be. Beautiful pool, lovely family run and clean. Does it for me every time with the perfect balance of position and affordability x see u next time Hostal Oasis D'or!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it is two star- so basic accomodation which is what you pay for. We loved our room which overlooked the front of the hotel. The beach, cala gran, was about 50m away which was perfect! The pool was nice and a sun trap with enough beds. We ordered paella on one of the nights (you have to book in advance as it's made or order) it was so tasty and really authentic and fresh! It was a 5 minute walk into the main restraraunt part of town for the evening- which is very commercial- but good food. We walked to the marina on a couple of nights which was a pleasant 15minute walk- it is beautiful, with restraraunt's which over look the boats. We took the bus on one day to santanyi market (the bus stop is just outside the hotel)- a larger market with a mixture of items. Then visited cala egos for a much smaller market on another (took 20 minutes to walk around)- we got a €5 taxi there (as we missed the bus), then walked back via the marina which was again a pleasant walk. Market, bus and car hire information was in reception- which was very helpful! There was no air con in the rooms- which was no a problem in May (evenings were chilly... We always had to take jumpers and my husband opted for trousers on each night). The weather was mixed- the sun was burning when out, but it was quite stormy on a couple of days... unlike England it generally cleared up so we had some sunshine on each day. All in all a great stay- which as a couple we would definately stay again- probably not if we had children (very deep pool). Thanks Mario and family!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmWj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A very Calm,relaxed stay.
Basic but clean with lovely hosts and reasonably priced Sangria.
Loved our relaxing stay.This place is close to the beach and other attractions. Loved it.Try the sweet mini croissants at breakfast. Lovely quiet poolside area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was my first solo holiday and I was made to feel welcome from the minute I arrived. Mario, Mario Junior and Maria were all so welcoming and friendly (even taking the time to know my name - thanks Mario Junior). Lots of people seem to be repeat customers and I met some amazing people. The resort was also fantastic and so friendly and I hope to return next year. My only complaint would be that the bed was uncomfortable but the room was spotlessly clean and a wonderful family atmosphere. Can't wait to return to the hotel and the resort next year. Also a special mention to Linda - the yorkshire terrier!

Room Tip: Opt for a pool or road facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for 12 nights, welcome from the family was lovely, room big with 2 chairs, old piping had to wait a while for hot water but was hot when it arrived. Only 1pillow each on bed and only downside linen not changed for our 12 night stay. Pool lovely and had it to ourselves frequently as the beach just across the small road. Paella best ever had. Would definitely stop here again

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking pool or one on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chezrowea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

stayed for a week got there in the day with a warm welcome. I was only 8 I am 14 now and going back this summer. weather in this location is lovely all summer. it was cheap and a bargain for wat you got for the money. it has a great beach golden WHICH WAS SO CLOSE, hot sand nice clean waters and interesting aquatic wildlife. Great food. the service was great as they were all friendly and even helped us decide which water park to go to. we went to western water park as it was recommended and was great but we had to leave early so they even catered breakfast to our time needs and tea. pool and leisure area was clean and some may find basic but I found it beautiful and traditionally Spanish. same with the rooms nice clean, spacious and best of all Spanish. the area is lovely and not rough or deserted. the nightlife is safe and has a nice atmosphere. some nice restaurants and cafes and other nearby attractions. Town nearby and a beautiful marina and restaurant and golf course. This island has everything you can ever want if you decide to go here this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: the higher you go the quieter as the nightlife can get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
#2 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#31 of 46 in Cala d'Or
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ses Puntetes Hotel
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Oasis D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Oasis D'Or

Address: Calle Dels Revells d'or 30, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £33 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Oasis D'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Atrapalo, bedfinder AG, Evoline ltd and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hostal Oasis D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Oasis d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Hostal Oasis D'Or Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing