We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we've stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we've stayed in.”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a 10 day break here from 5-15 may 2012. The location of the hotel is superb overlooking the quiet cove of Cala Esmeralda. The hotel cannot be faulted in terms of cleanliness,staff friendliness, quality and variety of food, and the cost of drink and bevarages is also very reasonable. It is near the centre of the resort so there is easy access to livelier activities if that is what one wants. My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to stay on the eastern side of Mallorca.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter of you have a sea view or pool view, a pool view gives you evening sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank emaness_crowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    240
    49
    12
    8
See reviews for
157
697
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Moved to Inturotel Cala Esmerelda after one night in Calas de Mallorca. Can't fault anything about my stay - hotel is in a lovely spot on a cliff with the beach below and a 10 minute walk to the shops & bars in Cala D'Or. Room was clean, well appointed and comfortable; I didn't mind having a pool-view because I spent most of my time at the beach. Staff were helpful, polite and enthusiastic. Food was great - had seconds every night; it's not gourmet, but it's tasty and satisfying, and I'm a foodie. Cala D'Or has great restaurants and shops, but remains peaceful so you can enjoy wandering around. I would definitely return to Cala Esmerelda.

Room Tip: You can pay a bit extra to stay in an sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank skireton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We were especially impressed by the kind,courteous staff, and the standard of cleanliness. Further pluses were the first rate choice of food and the drink prices which were very reasonable (especially at the happy hour). John & June Firth.

Room Tip: Email the hotel group before arrival requesting a sea -view room. They will do their best to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fjohnfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife, 20 month-old boy and I have just returned from a week’s stay in Cala Esmeralda, an extension of the Cala D’or resort. We booked the travel and self-catering accommodation with Thomas Cook, departing Manchester. We paid £580 for flights, transfers and 7 nights accommodation less than 2 months before departing.

I’d kept my expectations low, it being a fairly cheap package holiday with a mass-market company to a highly developed Balearic resort when we’re the people who normally travel independently and avoid the really built up spots. We were delighted with the holiday.

The good:

-The location of the Cala Esmeralda blocks, especially those near the water, like Block G, is stunning, with gorgeous turquoise water and rust coloured rocks with the odd sail-topped boat gliding by on the horizon.
-Although the whole area is highly built up, in this particular resort it doesn’t feel this way because the buildings are all spread out and low rise (3 to 5 floors) and all are built to the same attractive, modernist/minimalist white plaster style that just shines in the sun
- The whole place is kept absolutely spotless by the staff and the standard of cleaning (5 days out of 7) is excellent
- The staff are helpful yet unobtrusive. They give you the information you’re looking for without laying it on thick with the false friendliness
- The beach is just beautiful; a protected cove with a barely noticeable tide and the water gets deep nice and quickly – kept clean by staff and nice for swimming in
- The resort, in April at least, attracts mostly young families and the retired. It’s quiet and relaxed (mostly German, British and Scandis)
- The facilities, including several pools (again kept impressively clean) and an indoor pool, are great for the money you’re paying. I won’t comment on those we didn’t use.
- Cala D’or with a reasonable range of restaurants, shops and bars is a 20 minute walk away. Cala D’or the town is fairly upmarket, somewhat tacky but cheerful and pleasant enough surrounded by some very plush looking homes abutting the beaches and the marina
-We didn’t have the chance to explore a lot of restaurants but the one we went to often, Ca’n Trompe on Calle Belgica had a terrific menu del dia for 10 Euro, 3 courses with cover included based on Mallorcin food that was hale and hearty. Unbeatable value for money and we suspect that especially off season there were other good eats to be had in the town

The not-so-good:
- If you take your food fairly seriously and like to seek out local food when you travel give the hotel buffet a miss. The choice is only fair, the quality poorish and it’s not all that cheap considering the better deals to be had in town
- The standard of accommodation in the self-catering apartments is nothing to write home about: plain, functional, hardly comfortable but acceptable for the price you pay
- The high-street in Cala Esmeralda is very tacky, though at least it has a pharmacy.
- Off-season Cala Esmeralda park reception is kept closed. The photos you see in the brochure are evidently of this more modern and nice-looking reception that the one near the pool to which you’re redirected.

I’m deducting one star only for the food, as it’s hardly a trivial matter but I can wholeheartedly recommend the place, all the same. I never thought I’d say this but I’d seriously consider returning!

Room Tip: Block G on the rear side has gorgeous views of the inlet but it will cost you: Euro 26 extra a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Noshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked this last minute 4 days before we went. We paid less than £900 for a weeks stay for a family of 4. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the little beach of Cala Esmeralda. The hotel is spotless. There is an army of cleaners constantly going at it. I have not got a bad thing to say about the hotel so I will move onto Cala D'or. The weather was fantastic for early April, averaging 23C. We had 30 minutee of rain on 3rd day, but apart from that it was wall to wall sunshine but it did go chilly at night. The only gripe we had was the lack of bars & restaurants that were actually open. I know its early in the season but being the main school holidays I was not expecting every other place to be closed. All in all it was a great break in a fantastic hotel and location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happysunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Me and my boyfriend visited the Cala Esmeralda in June 2009 (I know it was ages ago, but looking for another holiday and reading reviews reminded me how amazing this hotel was!)

It was our first (and only so far) holiday away together, and it couldnt have been more perfect!

Staff:
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, our holiday rep didn't show up until 2 days before we were due to leave (not the hotels fault) but the girl on reception helped us plan a few trips. The bar staff were probably what made the trip! As a young couple we spend every evening in the bar, and the staff there were excellent, learned what we liked and even sneaked a few free drinks in for us! We ended up being in the bar after it had closed for the night just chatting to the staff as they cleaned up, they must've been annoyed to have 2 drunk brits slowing down their work when they just wanted to go to bed, but it didnt show.

Room:
We had a pool-view room, no it wasnt beautiful, but it was quiet as we went off-season and we werent really in the room a lot anyway. All the other guests were 50 + but we didnt mind as we went for a quiet holiday anyway.

Food:
We went half-board, so breakfast and dinner were included. Unfortunatly we never made it to breakfast as we were in the bar so late at night and never made it out of bed in time! But dinner was always good. A wide choice of foods, all well cooked and seasoned. There was a gala night where we were asked to dress up properly which was nice as Id never done that before. For lunch (or brunch as it was for us) across the street there was another pool and a cafe, where we ate most days. The staff there were the same people who ran the bar at night (they must work long hours!!) so service was great. There is a small town nearby (sorry i cant remember the name!) about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel, and there are a few restaurants and small shops. I cant remember the names of the ones we ate at but all were very good!

Excursions:
There is a glass bottomed boat that goes down the coast picking up people from different resorts and dropping them back, whichis brilliant, but unfortunately you cant really see into the water when its moving! The other trip we went on was to the caves, It was very touristy, and there was a weird show on boats in the underground lake that i didnt really understand, but was a good opportunity to sit down, and it is a long day walking!

Entertainment:
There was something everynight (if i remember right) there was a quiz night one of the nights where youd win a pitcher of sangria for everyone on your team, unfortunatly we didnt win but everyone got a receipe to take home! There was a young acting school who performed 'grease' for us. It wasnt amazing, but their english was impressive! They came around after and asked us what we thought of it, and we didnt have the heart to tell them it wasnt amazing!!

On the beach, just across the street there was a local man who wandered around with a basket of fruit for you to buy. He would wave a huge knife around and slice it up for you, and was very entertaining! He was there twice everyday and i would assume he went to other beaches too.

All in all, an amazing holiday, well worth every penny!! I hope to go back there one day!

Room Tip: Rooms arent important, Go to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed in the Cala Esmeralda in June 2011 and it was superb! We could not fault anything throughout our stay. The hotel is in a lovely quite location, on a beautiful sandy beach. The town of Cala D'or is only a 10 minute walk away & Cala D'or beach is definately worth a visit.
The sea view rooms at Cala Esmeralda have everything we needed including a mini fridge & a bottle of wine on my birthday. Half Board option is well worth it as the food was amazing, something for everyone cooked from fresh.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#4 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only

Property: Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
Address: Carrer Cala Esmeralda, 8 | Urbanizacion Cala Esmeralda, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable "adults only" Hotel surrounded by Mediterranean gardens in front of the beautiful beach of Cala Esmeralda. It is located a short distance away from the centre of Cala d'Or, Mallorca's beautiful East-coast resort distinguished by its Ibiza style architecture.The Hotel offers 152 rooms facing the sea or beautiful gardens. Between the facilities the hotel features 24 hours reception, free Wifi in lobby, buffet style restaurant, lounge bar, snack bar, freshwater outdoor pool and a second one with lagoon-style with an impressive beachfront setting, both surrounded by spacious sun terraces. A hard tennis court, a playground and a conference room are also available. Daily doctor's visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda Hotel Cala d`Or
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda d Or
Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing