We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fowlers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fowlers Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just back from a week long stay in Cala D'or, lovely small hotel, old fashioned, personal service. Stayed in the appartment as the rooms were all booked, 2 minutes walk from the beach and 2 minutes walk from the harbour, situated in the old town but a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. Breakfasts were excellent on the balcony overlooking the harbour, cocktails at night in the bar equally as good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somerset94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    19
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just back from a fantastic wedding at the Yacht Club in Cala D'Or, a roll down the hill from Fowlers. What a treat it was to stay at this little gem and not yet another big hotel again. The family welcome could not be faulted. The terrace with glimpses of the marina was perfect for relaxing on late afternoons - I thought I must be dreaming when Pat 'practised' on the grand piano one day. The early evening cocktails were more than perfectly prepared by Alex. Breakfast on the terrace was served by the ever-cheerful Lisa. The general ambiance hit all the right buttons. Apparently we had the worst room - but it was more than good enough for us and beautifully prepared daily. If you are looking for the Hilton don't go here - there are only a few rooms available for those of us looking for something more personal!!

Room Tip: We went for the least expensive which overlooked the quiet road rather than the harbour. It was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaroundsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I visited Fowlers hotel with 2 friends at the end of May. We had a superb stay and by the end of the 5 days felt like invited house guests! This hotel is totally charming and we really couldn't fault anything. The room was cleaned and tidied daily and nothing was too much trouble. We hadn't brought beach towels as we had travelled with hand luggage only and within minutes Alex had provided us with towels, a parasol and beach mats to take to the beach. The location is very quiet and peaceful and yet literally minutes from all the amenities. We particularly liked the beautiful glasses that Alex served his legendary cocktails in - even crystal tumblers for our nightcap! The breakfast is delicious with rolls and croissants picked up from the bakery each morning and freshly squeezed orange juice along with an array of cheeses and meats and stunning fruit salad. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Cala D'Or as we loved the quirky charm and unrivalled customer care of Fowlers.

Room Tip: Room 7 sleeps 3 adults comfortably with large terrace overlooking marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked Fowlers hotel based on previous Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed..
My Husband and I were looking forward to our first visit to Cala D'Or and chose Fowlers as it was a small hotel and ideally placed not too far from the Marina and the town centre..in a quiet backwater...an ideal location. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Alex and invited to relax with our first drink on the picturesque terrace overlooking the Marina. Our room was lovely and overlooked the street with a lovely palm tree framing the window balcony..
Breakfast was continental style..served by friendly Lisa..and was a nice start to the day..with fresh rolls, croissants, delicious cheese and meats,home made marmalade, etc...with wonderful fresh orange juice..and coffee.. Alex was a great Host....at Fowlers you feel that you are really valued Guests and they aim to please..the Hotel has been run by the Fowler family for many years and we also got to meet Patricia who treated us to some wonderful pieces on the piano one evening...the Bar opened at 7pm and it was nice to relax on the terrace with a drink before going out for the night and returning to a late evening brandy.. We really enjoyed Cala D'Or and would not hesitate to return to Fowlers next time we visit...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckybowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

My wife and I had an excellent week's break at the end of August. This delightful little boutique hotel is in a quiet, shady residential street, but within yards of the famous Cala Longa marina and five minutes (yes really) comfortable walk from the centre of town and the lovely Cala D'or beach. The weather was good which always helps, and is important for Fowlers which although oozing charm, and with a super bar and small plunge pool offers little on a wet day other than the superb view of the marina activities from its terraces and balconies. For those who would enjoy this hotel though, that view and a good book is all you need. Apart from a delicious, fresh continental breakfast no food is served, but there is a great range and choice of restaurants to suit all pockets within that same five minute stroll. We will return !

Room Tip: The premium for a marina view is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STUART O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a great experience from start to finish.

My wife and I wanted a late break in the UK Oct half-term, booked some flights to Majorca and then set about finding a hotel. What we didn’t realise that vast majority of Majorca resorts close in the last two weeks of October so hotel availability was very limited. Having seen Fowlers hotel on trip advisor and keen to get away from the large hotel atmosphere we wanted to stay there. Initially the hotel showed as fully booked but this was due to the fact that booking system used by trip advisor cuts off at 31st Oct and our trip went into November. We sent an e-mail and after one phone call Colin Fowler said it wouldn’t be a problem and we booked room 1, the mini suite.

This was our first taste of the personal service you receive at Fowler and it was by no means the last.

On arrival we were very warmly greeted by Alex, who’s first question was would we like a Gin and Tonic! Is this a hotel or heaven?

What a great place to stay this is, I can only echo all of the positive comments made by other people, the treatment you get here is great. It turned out that for the last three nights of our stay my wife and I were the only guests in the hotel and the latest guests ever at Fowlers as we stayed into November, essentially they kept the hotel open for us – what service ! The whole team Pat, Colin, Alex and Lisa treated us as we were the first guests of the season not the last, they were most concerned that we went away with a great impression of Cala D’or and Majorca even though about 75% of places were closed. We therefore followed their excellent advice about where to go, what time to get there and even where to park; as a result we had a great time and were not impacted by closers.

Our room was great with a lovely balcony overlooking the harbour.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Majorca and want real old fashioned personal service and don’t need the big hotel feel I can’t recommend this place strongly enough – I already have my diary out for next year figuring out when I can go again !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JonLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

For those of you who have stayed in Fowler's you will understand when I say it is a delightful "Old Fashioned" Hotel. Staff are great, Alex a Hoot, Lisa at Breakfast cheerful and helpful, Mojioto's to die for as an Aperitif. Rooms compact and Bijou and could do with a 'Mini Bar' or at least the Mini Bar Fridge for personal Use. Enjoyed Cala D'Or.

Room Tip: Take a room with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
28.2 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#35 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
28.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
28.2 mi away
Hotel Leo D'or
Hotel Leo D'or
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aparthotel Marina Porto Cari
Aparthotel Marina Porto Cari
#46 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
28.6 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
28.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowlers Hotel

Property: Fowlers Hotel
Address: Calle d'en Rito 12, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fowlers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fowlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowlers Hotel Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing