We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal de la Caravel-la

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal de la Caravel-la
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My wife and I picked this Hotel mainly on the recommendations viewed and the price. We were not disappointed. Very centrally placed to beautiful beaches, cafes, bars, eating places and shops. Not 4 star, nor even 2 star, but the way we like it. No pool. Good!. Clean, friendly, comfortable and reasonably priced, seems to sum it up During our stay we experienced no drunkenness, noisy nor bad behaviour. (except for the wife's). Pro's -- All the above. Con's --- small shower, bin men in the early hours and the street cleaning truck at 7.30am.......... Would we stay again? Of course we will.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank billmetsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    53
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
66
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

great little hotel. receptionist very helpful. sorted out our return transfer times. room clean and basic but everything you need. fridge, kettle,fan and lovely little balcony. cleaners came in every day. beach mats and parasols in reception for free to everyone to use. had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandbWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Great hotel for short breaks, receptionist very helpful.
Plus points :-The room was cleaned regulary and fresh towels supplied every other day..The kettle & fridge in the room was a nice touch, fridge great for storing drinks.snacks etc. In the lobby there were a selection of magazines to borrow as well as beach umberellas, lilos etc for you to take to the beach. Room also had a safe that we found very useful. Very good location for both the beach and bars and restaurants, the town centre & Cala Gran beach only 2 mins. away.
Only negative was the temperature in our room (boiling) making it very difficult to sleep. There was a ceiling fan but the card system for both door lock and electricity supply meant that you couldn't leave the fan on whilst you were out ! One evening out of desperation I tried to sleep on the balcony !.

Room Tip: Ensure that your room has a ceiling fan as the room we had didn't have air con. phew !.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITALH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

One of the best holidays . First time we visites Mallorca, Cala Dór and not the last time. Our expectations we not so high - only 1 Star hotel and very cheap. But what a wonderful hotel right in the midle af the center of Cala Dór. Lost af restaurants and supermarkets within to minutes walk. Big dobbelroom with a kettel and some plates and a fridge. Cleaning was 6 times a week and towels and bedlinning were changed 3 times a week. Nice and lovely staff and we had a big roof terrace with our own sunlounges.Thank you Carevela we will be back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irene058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

absolutely loved the hotel. the location was amazing but a downer was that it had no pool, although this wasnt so bad thanks to the location me and my buddys jordan, ryan, pat, giuseppe and both lukes were able to access to beach easily

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186383Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Staff helpful and polite. Room basic but spotless; sheets and towel changes regularly; ceiling fan;fridge,cups and kettle provided.Hotel central for all you need.
Ask for room at front of hotel if you want a decent nights sleep, we were at the back. Did read other reviews but non mentioned the bar (Habana), which doesn't open until 11.30pm!! We did ask for a move, but no rooms available.
Room to store bags for late pickups and courtesy room provided for shower, which you don't find at many places for free.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

The De La Caravel La is classed as 1 star, it is a small hotel and has no pool or bar but rooms are very comfortable with celing fan for those hot nights, a fridge and kettle and cups for your tea or coffee.
Rooms don't have a bath but have a very good shower, a proper enclosed cubicle not just a shower on the wall and a drain in the middle of the bathroom floor.
It is right in the centre of Cala D'or and about 400 mts. from Cala Gran beach so the lack of a pool and bar is not a problem.
Staff are friendly and very helpful and there is a free wireless internet connection in reception.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The great value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterLaverickEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#22 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de la Caravel-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de la Caravel-la

Property: Hostal de la Caravel-la
Address: Calle Boulevard d'or 31, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal de la Caravel-la 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal de la Caravel-la reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Caravel-La Hotel Cala d`Or
Hostal De La Caravel-La Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing