We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal de la Caravel-la

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal de la Caravel-la
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here early October. This was a budget holiday but we were very impressed by how clean this hostel is kept. It is family run and every one of the staff were friendly and always cheerful. Wifi was good, we had 1 of the rooms overlooking the street and as it was a quiet time of year it was pleasant to people watch. The shower was good, we took our cafetiers to have coffee and orange juice on the balcony each morning. Very near supermarket and patisserie for fresh pastries too!. Central for everything, beach 5 min walk & many restaurants just over the street. I would return here no problem

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julie260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    53
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
66
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Caravel-la once or twice a year for six years now. The place is well kept and clean, and the staff are really helpful. I'm about to book for April and September of next year, and we'll be taking some old friends. I buy an air bed and go down to one of two beaches every morning and afternoon and lay and read. Both beaches are five minutes walk from the hostal. Wonderfully relaxing. Our favourite restaurant is the Cafeteria Marfil just three minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Boulevard can be noisy. All other rooms are really nice and we've been in fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I've been staying in this hostel for many years now. This is not any ordinary traditional hostel (no dorms or shared kitchens etc), but instead much more of a quality budget hotel. The rooms are simple and very clean. Towels are changed every other day as is the bedding. Each room comes complete with a kettle, some glasses, cups and saucers, some standard cutlery, balconies and crucially a fridge (usually with a freezer compartment)! The rooms can get warm in the heat of the summer and although each room has a ceiling fan as the rooms do not have air conditioning (only one at a higher price level) its advisable to bring other means alongside the ceiling fan to keep cool at night.

Sadly the hostel doesn't have a pool but I've always understood that you can cross a small quiet road over from the hostel to use the neighboring hotels pool if required.

The staff from the cleaners to the managers are both kind, cheerful and incredibly helpful. The hostel is family run and Elena and Angel go out of their way to help make my stay the best it can be.

The hostel is full of little perfect bonuses that make it very good value for money. Firstly the wifi access is free and although it can be intermittent it is still ideal for those wanted to stay connect with the world. Secondly the rooms all have free secure safe boxes within them. The hostel and the resort as a whole feels incredibly safe and family driven but this bit of added peace of mind is great. Thirdly in reception you have access to free lilos, bats and balls, straw beach mats, parasols and magazines.

Location wise the hostel is situated in the centre and doesn't suffer from feeling like its too noisy or busy as a result....200 metres from several of the beaches and 50-100 metres from the main shopping, restaurant and bar areas. Its a people watchers paradise.

Simple, incredibly clean, wonderfully friendly staff, great location and amazing value for money set in a resort that is perfectly designed for families and couples alike to make the most of their time in the sun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank youlittleripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

It was different kind of hostel. Instead of dorms there were just private rooms. The hostel is very clean, the staff is very useful and sympathetic. The city is amazing! The beaches are wonderful with clean water and fine sand.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank syukarih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had an amazing time in Cala d'Or, and staying at Hostal de la Caravela definitely contributed in that!! We arrived late and to our luck, the double room we were supposed to have was already given. Elena at the front desk, gave us instead a suit (one of the only 2 they have). If you go there, you must book this suite. As far as I remember, it cost 60 EUR per room per night, accommodates 3 people, has a bigger toilet, a living room and an amazing terrace where we had breakfast every morning :)

The location was very good too... about 5 minutes walk to the beach, and right in the middle of the restaurant and night life area.

I definitely recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: I think it was room 5, but I am not sure. In any case it was the upmost room as you go up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4everCURIOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pusula, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Perfect situated in the centre.
Really friendly service and really clean, was nice to sit on the balcony and watch the street.
the bus station was 150 metres and the beach too the restaurants just arround the corner.
Next to it was bar/restaurant neptune were they serve really excellent coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed there for a week and we were very pleased with the service and the staff. The room is quite small but it has everything you need (a freezer/ fridge, balcony, clean bathroom). The hotel is situated right in the center, so it is very close to everything. The staff is very helpful and you can borrow beach umbrellas, air mattresses and different language magazines from the loby. It does not have a pool (but you do not need one as the closest beach is 5 minutes away). We were very pleased as it was fairly cheap, very central and clean. I do not recommend it for families, as I think it is more for couples and friends. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de la Caravel-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de la Caravel-la

Property: Hostal de la Caravel-la
Address: Calle Boulevard d'or 31, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal de la Caravel-la 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal de la Caravel-la reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Caravel-La Hotel Cala d`Or
Hostal De La Caravel-La Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing