We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but small improvements would make this place a great place.”
Review of Serena Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serena Sol
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have just returned from a week at the Serena Sol Apartments, Cala D`or. At first reading the reviews i was not sure as they where very old reviews. Any way we book through Thomas cook and hoped for the best. We were pleasantly pleased that you get dropped at the Apartments Ferrera Playa its sister hotel. We where great with a great friendly girl behind the desk and advised that someone would drive us to the apartments which we accepted as we read they where not close to the main building. We entered our apartment to find a large kitchen lounge, large bathroom and bedrooms with a large balcony with chairs and loungers for us to use and no need to visit the pool area. The apartment was clean and had all the necessary equipment needs for our trip. The apartment is about a 10minutes walk from the main hotel which is not a problem for us and we enjoyed the walk and been away from the busy part of Cala d`or. The apartments are walking distance to Sol Serrena beach which is 5 minutes walk from the apartments. there is a spar only 7 minutes walk from the apartments which caters for all your holiday requirements. The apartment block as a pool which we didn’t use as our room had loungers on the balcony. The only downside to the apartments is that you only get on clean for the week you are staying which was not a big problems but after a couple of days with sun cream it would have been nice to have some clean sheets to get in too. If they change this i would have given them a 5 star review.

The apartments are 15-20 minutes walk to Cala D`or restaurants and bars to nice walk home after dinner. I was very happy with the apartments and the area we stayed i would come back and stay at these apartments again. if they only changed my towels a few more times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scott075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

My partner & I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Serena Sol Apartments. To start off we had to get our keys from the reception at The Playa Ferrera Apartments which is about 600 metres away from Serena Sol. The staff there were very welcoming, helpful & gave us a ride up to our apartment. We were very impressed with our apartment, although fairly basic, it was clean & tidy with 2 balcony's & a pool view. The living area had a sofa, which opens up into a double bed, & a table with 4 chairs. The kitchen had 2 hobs but no microwave or oven. There was a coffee maker, pots, pans, cups, plates, glasses & cutlery but no kettle so we asked for one at reception & were provided with one. We also asked for an iron which they also provided. The bedroom had 2 single beds & the bathroom had all you need with a shower over the bath. Although the rooms get a good clean when vacated, the cleaning during our stay was fairly minimal. Clean towels are provided every other day, just about. Most disappointing of all though was the lack of cleaning in & around the pool area. We rarely saw the pool attendant & when we did he was only there about 5 or 10 minutes. The area around the pool was never cleaned during the whole 2 weeks & the 2 rubbish bins there were over flowing with rubbish. Not once did he scoop any dirt, bugs or debris out of the water. It's a shame because it's quite a nice pool & pool area with about 20 sunbeds, which was always enough for the amount of people there. As for location it's a little out of the way so if you want to be in the thick of it this isn't for you but if you prefer peace & quiet then it's perfect. Although out of the way it's only a 10 minute walk to Cala Ferrera, with all its shops, bars & restaurants or a further 5 to 10 minute walk to the centre of Cala D'or. you can save time by walking down the hill, next to Playa Ferrera apts, & pass down by the beach & then up the other side. On the whole we found it to be good value for money & had a pleasant stay. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paulette19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

we had a lovely holiday again as we have stayed in cals d'or 6 times and know the area well. booked these apartments late as this was 3rd holiday this summer. rooms are very compact and basic, but then again you expect that when you're not paying much. had swimming pool to ourselves everyday which was a bonus. close to serena beach which i think is the best because it's small with no sun loungers and therefore less people.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank tunley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: De hoogste verdieping geeft de meeste privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ellis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Betty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
Inturotel Cala Azul Park
#5 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#8 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,245 reviews
1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Sol

Address: Cala Serena S/N | (Frente Robinson Club), 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £131 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Serena Sol 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serena Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Sol Hotel Cala d`Or
Serena Sol Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing