We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Bradford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good for the price”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed in Apartment 82 from 5-12th June with wife and two kids 3 and 1. Booked the on the beach website and flew with Ryanair. You really get better than you pay for in my opinion, Ryanair are, well, Ryanair. If you are prepared to be herded about like cattle and situated furthest away from the terminal exits and baggage reclaim then book with them - if not don't bother and certainly don't book anyway and then whinge about it - they are the cheapest for a reason.

To the apartments themselves - it was an hour and a quarter transfer from the airport - maybe we were lucky - we were fourth drop off and last pick up on way to airport. The apartments are split into two - apartments cala gran and then there is the hotel costa del sur - all one and the same. There are three swimming pools, a couple of bars and a couple of pool tables. 2 big screen tellies - perfect for watching the football. The apartment was very clean, fit for purpose but a little tired. We had a one bedroom one meaning one of us had to sleep on sofa bed - really uncomfortable - I'd stay in the hotel or get a two bedroom apartment if possible. Otherwise it was fine - small telly - take your own remote control - we didn't bother hiring one as could use the menu buttons to change channel.

Went all inclusive. 7 days was fine - can imagine the food gets repetitive if staying for any longer. We arrived as soon as the restaurants opened for breakfast lunch and dinner - food was hot and ice creams hadn;t melted. They do use left overs in different ways either at dinner or for lunch the next day - any sound business would to reduce costs - remember how little you have paid for the experience. The food was edible but note THERE IS A CHILDRENS MENU you have to ask for it though - the food is cooked fresh for them so does take 15 - 20 mins to come out but it was handy to know if they weren't sure of the look of what was on offer.

All inclusive at the bars means you do get plastic cups but not sure why people get a bee in their bonnet about this - your drink tastes the same. Plus the idiots out there that try to drink themselves into oblivion would probably smash enough glasses when drunk and in case any fights that they started I'd rather they had a plastic cup in their hand wouldn't you? In any case going in half term week there were no idiots around in any case. Ice creams were great at the little snack bar near the largest pool which was luckily right outside our apartment. The pool was great, plenty of sunbeds but despite there being an awful lot of Germans at the hotel it was actually the Brits who were out claiming the sunbeds before 8am!!! As we were on our way to breakfast they were all out marking their territory and nota 'Wunderbar' anywhere to be heard!! We were on the receiving end of two acts of great kindness when we arrived - we immediately hit the pool when we arrived and a couple gave us a blow up dinghy as they were leaving that day and a lovely german family gave us all the food they had left and a bucket and spade. We repaid the kindness by leaving all those items and a parasol we'd bought with a german family that had just arrived when we were leaving.

The staff were fabulous by the way, my little boy who is 2 in Sept was fussed over constantly and the staff couldn't do enough for us. He thought they were all called Ola though so every five minutes he was asking where Ola was!

On to the beach - fabulous - really lovely sandy beach, plenty of space - we got down there at 10 am and were right at the front it did fill up during the day though. Good snorkelling as well. Swim up the left hand side and by the stairs attached to the rock there were large schools of fish - I think a few people throw bread off which is why they congregated there. We also went on the Starfish catamaran one morning - made us all green and it was the first time I have ever felt sea sickness. Avoid if you haven't got good sea legs - plus it was pretty dull to be fair.

Resort itself was a lot bigger than I expected, lots of shops and bars - restaurants all looked a bt samey so wasn't too disheartened by what was on offer with in the hotel. Situated where we were in the apartments we were right next to the tropical gardens bar. First two nights they had an Amy Winehouse tribute act on which was very loud and, well, very rubbish. The entertainment at the hotel was okay - mini disco catered for every national language and the kids all seemed to enjoy it and the hotel had singers on afterwards - we couldn't hear them where we were as we were drowned out in our apartment by Amy Winehouse and whoever was singing the other 5 nights.

Overall the hotel was clean with good facilities and 100 metres walk to the beach. Staff were great, food was okay - actually better than a three star hotel - stayed in a 5 star one in Egypt that was comparable - you can't complain when you've hardly paid anything. Would I go back? I would if I was working to the same budget but I'm hoping for a lottery win in between now and then.

Room Tip: If you need more than two beds go for a two bed apartment as sofa beds were awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradfordNipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    587
    389
    92
    72
See reviews for
710
482
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel, very disappointed with all inclusive we felt like second class guests all our cold drinks were served in plastic glasses we were only allowed a couple of cocktails on AInclusive and these were almost thrown at us no trimmings just a cloudy drink pretending to be a cocktail. The half and full board guests were given proper drinks. Would not recommend anyone pay to go all inclusive . The hotel it self is very dated carpet on the stairs very worn and thread bare in places. Food was ok but the waiters were in need of being trained in serving the guests .they would lean over you whilst you were still eating to retrieve dirty dishes. Would I return next year no I most certainly wouldn't.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel is extremely basic, no facilities in the room ( no kettle, fridge or hair dryer) you also have to pay for the tv remote and we were told all the hair dryers were out when we asked to rent one! The room was very dingy and dark, it was also next to the restaurant which ment being woken up by clattering plates in the morning. The second day my room attracted two cockroaches which the hotel staff did nothing about. The food was basic at best and the restaurant staff very unfriendly. Would definitely NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala d'Or hotels

bedfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

just returned from the cala gran, thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay, everything from the check in, general reception staff, waiters and bar staff could not fault, friendly and helpful. food was plentiful, hot and some thing for everyone, and i am a fussy veggie person. in fact as soon as one lot of food was put away more was put out around the pool bar, twice a day,very fresh and piping hot. we met some very nice people, which was good for us as we had my dad with us who is 84years old and all and sundry spoke to us. the beach is just under a small bridge, lovely and clean, and from here you can get boat trips either way up or down the island, and if you wish hop on and off at various coves. we went independently to the caves of drach via the local bus. and also went on the brand new solar powered little train, on the day we went on this it was its first outing and we had a spanish film crew interviewing us about our holiday and where we were from. shops within easy reach and plentiful, local buses very good, all in all everything you need is there for a good holiday. we went all inclusive which was very good value for money. i have to say we also used an airport transfer service booked in england for 15 pounds each, which i had doubts about, but it was great waited a few minutes a palma airport, but coming back spot on time, driver pulled up outside hotel called out my christain name and away we went. all in all excellent value for money, enjoy x

Room Tip: we asked for two rooms together and thats what we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfeet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned from our second visit - all the staff recognised us and we were made to feel very welcome again. The politest and friendliest staff we have ever encountered and when you speak to other guests many of them have been back time after time - which speaks volumes! They had retained all the same staff from our previous holiday and indeed they had all worked there for years! We were in a studio apartment, all inclusive, and the room was lovely and spacious - we also had new beds/mattresses and pillows which was great! 4 great pools (1 heated by the main bar) all very clean and well maintained. Restaurant and food all excellent, lots of choice and food always hot! Childrens/vegetarian menu also available upon request and cooked to order! Never waited for more than a couple of minutes for a drink or ice cream for the children.
Beach is beautiful with crystal clear water, and the Starfish boats come into the bay - well worth a trip!
The town itself is a good size with plenty of restaurants and bars and you can walk into the next 2 resorts - they run into each other so there is lots to see and do! Harbour is stunning - the boats there are well worth a visit - and great place to have a drink in one of the bars watching the world go by!
Highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: All inclusive travellers can be allocated a room in either the main hotel, the second building over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

After reading so many negative views, I was apprehensive about booking, but it was a last minute arrangement. Francisco, the desk clerk met us early in the morning and he was a charming man. The studio was large with a decent sized balcony and was immaculately clean. It had air conditioning and a fridge, which we did not expect. The hotel was in an excellent location; a small subway leading to the nearby beach. There were plenty of sunbeds, and even though people still placed their towels on them at an early hour, we never had problems acquiring one.
The food was okay, but not a great choice for the main meals. I ate plenty of salad which was fresh. Waiters were always on hand to fetch your drinks at lunch and dinner. Being a cider drinker, I paid for my drinks, but they were half price at around one euro sixty five. Other times I enjoyed the free wine. The barmen were courteous and friendly and always served you with a smile on their faces.
The entertainment was not brilliant, but the German rep, (sorry I forgot your name,) was brilliant and very hardworking. Every night there was a kids disco, and various entertainment such as reptile show, a singing duo and even a pianist. We tended to venture into town after watching the first Euro football match and I would definitely recommend Woody's Bar and Tropical Gardens, which had regular tribute turns on.
The wonderful marina is a pleasant fifteen minute walk and you can view the huge fish. If you don't fancy the walk, catch one of the many road trains and if you want, you can get off at any given location.
The Cala Gran is an immaculate hotel, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. The only down side for us was that fifty per cent of the guests were Germans. This might sound harsh, but believe me, I am no racist. My partner, her son and myself would offer a smile or a nod, but the majority looked at you as though you were vermin, or totally ignored you. This did not apply to all of the Germans, as some were friendly. We soon learnt which guests to ignore.
Anyway, we will definitely return to the hotel in the future. Incidentally, we booked with Travel Republic who listed the hotel as four star, but elsewhere is classed three stars. I believe it should be four star, given the cleanliness and the location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 36, which was a decent sized studio with a fridge, air con and decent sized balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INSANITY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

just returned from a six night break and had a lovely time! had read previous reviews before hand but couldnt image how close beach,shops etc were. i have to agree with all the positive comments. first impression when we arrived because it was late and quiet everywhere was a little unsure its not a modern complex very traditional but felt very welcome! the best thing about it i would say apart from how clean and nice the staff where is the location. excellant beach and very safe for kids! and nice few pools especially the big kids pool near the apartments nice little bar there open 10 till 5. overall met some lovely people kids had a lovely time food was nice location was fab i would recommend this to other familys and return again

Room Tip: hotel room 411 in the cala gran hotel was lovely nice and big with extra room for kids and sea and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan2014DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
36.3 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Property: Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Address: Avda. Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing