We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I went with my daughter the week before Easter for 5 nights half board. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and basic (what you'd expect for such a cheap price) but without a kettle so I suggest you take your own as on half board there was no hot water available anywhere else for us to make up drinks that we had brought with us. The pillows were like rocks and one of the mattresses had a massive stain...there were no mattress protectors and because the sheets were not fitted we both ended up in the morning sleeping just on the mattress....

The location is lovely, the sea (which is right by the hotel) amazingly turquoise and clear... it was very cold at this time of year but we swam most days. Beach beds and parasol on the beach are 13 euros per day (for 2) or part of day so can get a bit pricey if you are on the beach everyday... suggest you buy a lilo as there are lots in the shops for sale... The hotel is also very near the shopping centre which mainly contains tourist shops..its a new town so there are no older shops or buildings here. We went for a lot of walks and the marina is lovely as are some of the other bays around this area. We also went on the boat trips that pick you up from the bay. These were very good value and really nice trips, especially as it was a bit pre-season and there wasn't much else to do. We were hoping to spend the evenings listening to music in the local cafes but there didn't appear to be any sort of music bars....

The last day instead of waiting for the coach we had booked to take us back to the airport we took a bus (right outside the front of the hotel) to Palma (it cost 8.50 euros each) we had a lovely time in Palma, the gardens there are lovely and it was great to see some older buildings. You can leave bags at the bus/train station ( where the bus stops) plasa Europa in central Palma and this costs about 5 euros a bag. Its only a short bus ride to the airport from here and only costs a few euros.

The food was OK a bit samey but eatable...the paella was nice although it did appear to be made with the previous nights leftovers.....

Our main problem was that half way through the week the head waitress and another came up to us and demanded to know what we were drinking which was 2 glasses of water and a 1/4 glass of wine .... she then produced a bill which I didn't even look at .. I gave her the wine back and she went away. It was extremely humiliating... and made us feel quite threatened. I took this up with reception but they were inflexible - even suggesting that we had stolen these drinks and that they were being generous not taking it 'further'. From then on we felt as if the waitresses were counting our rolls or potatoes and that we'd better be careful about what we ate and even wondered whether we were supposed to have puddings or starters etc. If this had been made clear either with a note about half board on arrival, or with a note by the drinks machines - which were right next to the food tables - then it would have been a different matter. But we had no idea drinks - even soft drinks and water - were not included as half board has always included house drinks in other places I have been to - indeed i was very surprised that there was no tea or coffee with the evening meal. The reception staff said that it was the job of my travel agent to tell me about the drinks but even on the paperwork given to us at the hotel it implied that drinks were included in the half board prices.. (its says drinks are not included with meals bought separately - presumably by people who haven't paid for any meals with their room - but there's nothing about drinks being extra for half board) nor is there anything on their website.

The wifi cost 20 euros for the week but didn't work in our room and only worked very slowly in reception area. However there is a burger king with free and fast wifi just a short walk away and also a really nice cafe (neptune) which served great coffee and free wifi.

Although this was lovely location the beach is quite small and I imagine that in the summer it will be heaving with people. The pools in the hotel are really small with only a few sunbeds so again they will be all taken up in high season.

I don't think I'd go again except out of season for a really quiet break and to a different hotel - or since it is all so near the beach and the shops maybe to an apartment..

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthiemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear guests,
We thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are glad that you mention the friendliness of our staff and that our hotel can be booked at a very reasonable price. We are very sorry that you were not informed but usually clients in hotels in Majorca have to pay for their drinks and snacks if they are on half board. Only "all inclusive" guests get free drinks and snacks. The Paella is made with fresh products every day and not with previous nights leftovers.
The area around the hotel is very big, there are 4 pools, one in front of the main building, one in front of apartments Pins d ' Or, another one in front of Apartments Barilla and the biggest one near to the entertainment place.
We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Ariel Chico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
There are newer reviews for Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from a week long all inclusive holiday here with my wife and little daughter and I must say it was brilliant. The buffet was good but does get a bit repetitive for me as I'm a meat and potato guy so we ate out a couple of nights. The animacion team were fantastic. Sylvia and Tatiana were fantastic with my little girl, and I had a blast with Jerome and Anthony who were looking after the grown up activities. The pool outside our apartment was quite cold but that's April I guess. Heated pool was great and was located near the bar and snack buffet. Evening entertainment was wonderful every day. I would like to have had a maid service each day but it's only every 3 days in the apartments. All in all it was a great stay in a beautiful area. We are already talking about booking for next year.
Great job Cala Gran, keep it up.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Richard,
we thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed a great stay with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff and especially to the staff of our animation team. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again next year. Please say a big hello to your little daughter from Sylvia and Tatiana.
our very best regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

i have just returned from a 1 week stay at this hotel with my little one and husband and we had an amazing holiday. we stayed in the costa del sur part of the hotel it seems a little older than the main hotel but never the less it was very clean and the beds were very comfortable housekeepers came in every day and left clean towels made beds etc. The all inclusive food was very good lots of variety on offer. The facilities were very good too 4 pools to choose from some very quiet and then the heated pool which had floats for the kiddies and lots of sunbeds with a bar and all day hot buffett. what really made our stay great was the amazing staff especially the Animacion team which do activities for the adults and run a mini club for the kiddies my little one loved the mini club and every night they did a mini disco they also offered entertainment every night and activities through the day such as mini golf, darts,archery it was fab the aniamcion team were fantastic especially Tatiana who ran the kids club and Jerome and Anthony who did the adult activities. The beach is directly across the road and is stunning it is literally a 2 min walk. i will definatly be coming back here for another lovely family holiday !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laneysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you very much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed a lovely family holiday and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and especially the animacion programme with Tatiana, Jerome and Anthony. we will be passing on your praises to all of them. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future.
our very best regards from Cala d ' Or,
your Cala Gran Costa team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived at the cala gran on the 7th of April for a 4 night break. The hotel is all inclusive, then they have added apartments to the left of the hotel which are self catering. We had paid for all inclusive but we were put into the self catering apartments. It was busy in the hotel with it being the school holidays so maybe they'd run out of rooms in the hotel. I think the hotel rooms are slightly better than the self catering apartments so it seems but they were clean & tidy. The restaurant was very busy at times causing ques, but the waiters/waitresses were helpful & friendly. There was a heated pool but it gets so busy as it's not a huge size, so we tended to stay round the other side in the bigger pool although it was rather cold. It's right on the doorstep to the beach with access right onto it, under the bridge. The beach was lovely & the sea crystal clear. Quite a few shops & restaurants locally. Not far from the marina either for a nice walk. They had an entertainment team for the kids with disco etc before having some sort of show to entertain both kids and adults. The electric was off for a while one day but they did post a note through to explain this. All in all it was an ok holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Sophie,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your 4 day break and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff.
We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Cala Gran Costa team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel .The hotel it self was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was as you would expect. The only bad point was that as a half board person on the first Thursday of my stay I was told that I had to pay for my drinks with the evening meal. I was charged 3.2 euros for 2 plastic cups of soft drinks. I did not have any drinks the next night, but the next night I had water. I was charged 1.6 euros for 2 PLASTIC CUPS OF WATER. I have never been charged for drinks in the evening meal when staying half board

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Chris,
we thank you for giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff. Usually in hotels in Majorca you have to pay for your drinks when you are on half board, only clients who booked All Inclusive have free drin ks. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or,
your Cala Gran Costa team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had an all inclusive 4 day break during the first week of the Easter holiday. Therefore a few of the outside facilities were closed. The hotel was partly fully inclusive with attached SC apartments. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean and tidy. The down side was 2 small pools with limited number of sun beds for the size of the hotel and guest. The bar area was crowed in the evening but we were inside due to the drop of temperature in the evening for that time of the year. So I would imagine this would improve when entertainment is outside. A lovely protective beach bay 2 minute walk away, this would be our port of call is the sea was warmer. Food was okay but if you wanted a break from the routine of hotel food there was plenty of eateries in the town. Would I go there again, yes, overall not bad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank jchapman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear guests,
thanks a lot for giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your little break and that you mention our helpful staff. We will be passing on your praises to them. There are 4 pools in the Cala Gran Costa Hotel Resort. one pool in front of the Cala Gran, another pool in front of Costa del Sur, one big pool belonging to the Apartments Cala Gran 1 and another one belonging to the Apartments Cala Gran 2. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
kindest regards from all of us
your Cala Gran Costa team
Hoteles Gavimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Arrived on the 9th April, first impressions were good and did not change, hotel was clean, all the staff from the manager to the cleaners were friendly and helpful, my 12 year old loved the animation team members and I was never worried about her safety.
The hotel food was very good and varied every day for lunch and dinner, although the restaurant can get busy we never waited any length of time for a table as the staff work very hard to clear away plates and reset the tables.
Bar staff were always on the go cleaning, serving and topping up the all inclusive food.
This was our first visit here and we loved every minute will be back for our next holiday.
We also got chatting to a lovely couple from Essex and there company only added to our enjoyment.
Thanks to all for a great holiday.

Room Tip: If you would like to be closer to the heated pool book a room in the main block.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Jane,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed a great holiday at the Cala Gran and that your 12 year old child loved the animation team. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future. Our very best regards from Cala d ' Or,
your Gavimar Hotel Cala Gran Costa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £42 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing