We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from yet another wonderful 7 nights at this hotel. The all-inclusive we find is excellent value and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a good base in Cala D’or. It is situated so close to the beach that this can be seen from rooms and the reception and close to the amenities of the resort. Anyone reading this review please do not be influenced by negative reviews that are posted on here, they are in the minority!
From the moment you arrive at this hotel the service and attention is excellent.
Food: Plenty of choice and variety at the pool snack bar and in the dining room. All tastes are catered for you will always find something to eat. If you are on all inclusive it is self-service for beer, wine, soft drinks, tea-coffee etc.
Bar: The spirits were certainly strong enough for us and the wine is fine; it doesn’t taste any different than wine you would purchase from a tap in pubs like Wetherspoons in the UK. The spirits are on a par with supermarket own value brands, again fine. The beer is Cruz Campo and again very nice.
Entertainment: Very good Animation team, particularly friendly and from 10.30am every day they are providing activities should you wish to join in.
Rooms: cleaned daily and towels changed if you require them. TV with free remote control in the room.
Finally all the staff are very friendly,hard-working, and nothing is too much trouble. We would particularly like to say a special thank you to Paco & Antonio (Reception), Adriano & Santi (Bar Cala Gran) and Kelly, Joy & Paky (Restaurant) and Mary (Costa Del Sur bar). Also it was nice to meet and receive a warm welcome from the new hotel management of Cristina and Manuel who are working with these excellent staff who make your holiday a really good experience.

Thank you again and we will be back at the end of next month for a little bit more of what is on offer!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view or overlooking the gardens are lovely
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Jennifer,
we thank you very much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again at the end of next month. our very best regards from Cala d ' or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team with Paco and Antonio in recepcion , Adriano and Santi in the bar, Kelly, Joy, Paky in the restaurant, Mary in the Costa bar and our head waiters Manuel and Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
There are newer reviews for Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

just returned from a 3 day break, may14 hotel is a little tired and dated, but the room was spacious and the food was good. mary at the bar was very accomodating and friendly. we were on the third floor and the only complaint i have is the balcony wall didnt even reach waist height. we felt uncomfortable on the balcony and dont think this block would be safe for families. maybe the hotel owners would consider putting up a rail above the balcony wall for safety. however the beach was lovely and the town is very nice. we did ask about the fitness centre while we were there but the hotel reception didnt know if there was one or where it was, even though it does state in the leaflet we got on arrival that there is a fitness suite in the hotel. all in all i think this hotel is 2 to 3 star but definitly not 4 as stated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Michelle,
We thank you for having taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. Our Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel. As you can see in our leaflets and web it is stated as a 3 star hotel. Our only 4 star hotel in Cala d Or is the Hotel Cala d ' Or situated on the beach with the same name. We are very happy that you enjoyed your short break with us and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff and especially to Mary in the bar. We are very sorry that you were not correctly informed about the fitness in our sister hotel Ariel Chico just across the street.
Thank you for your suggestions about safety.
We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel central to everything - beach, shops, marina, restaurants and nightlife. We went self catering and apatrment was fine with 2 ring electric hob, toaster, kettle and fridge. Clean towels daily and maids were very helpful. We stayed from 16th - 23rd April and although pool was a bit cold there is a heated pool (a bit overcrowded for the number of guests) in the main part of the hotel. Entertainment ok, nothing fantastic - but then again it wasn't peak season. Enjoyed the break and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Donna,
It makes us very happy to thank you for your comments valuing the good location of our hotel.
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your short break and that you would like to come back and visit us again on another occasion. We are looking forward to seeing you again and remain in the meantime with our very best regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went end of april for a mini break,room lovely & clean,helpful & friendly staff, 4 pools but only 1 heated ,shame as we were on the opposite side of complex,we were given oppourtunity of upgrading to half board but no offer of a room in main complex, we will definatley stay here again but from may onwards

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Elizabeth,
We thank you very much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel . We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again , perhaps a little bit later in the summer season.
In the meantime we remain with our very best regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just got back from cala d'or 30th to 7th june, My Niece & I arrived at the Cala Gran about 11pm We were given a room over the bridge in the Costa Del Sur block 3rd floor, as soon as we walked in the bathroom the smell from the drains in the sink was awful but we just thought it would go after we use it a few times, we then noticed their was no hair dryer or fridge but we had gone half board so didn't really expect a fridge, We were told that a cold buffet was in the dining room which we were so happy about & enjoyed it, We unpacked but couldn't sleep properly as the smell was so strong, The next day we went the reception to ask for a hair dryer & safe, I'v never complained about a hotel before but i just thought id just mention the smell in our room in a polite way & Paco was so nice & offered us another room in the apartments which we went to view first, It was fantastic we couldn't thank him enough, lovely pool view & garden view it really made our holiday, All the staff were lovely to us & the cleaners work very hard & still have time to smile each day, we left them some sweets :) The hotel is lovely with a beautiful reception area with comfy couches & a big grand piano which you can have your picture taken at, The food was nice with sufficient choice & the soups were gorgeous with lovely hot bread sticks, The only only concern we had with the holiday was not receiving our boarding passes till the day we were going home But Paco sorted that out & printed them for us What a wonderful man We were sad that we didn't see him to say good bye Please give him our love, I would definitely recommend this hotel to family friends & hope to come back soon Cheryl & rebecca from Liverpool xx

Room Tip: Apartment rooms over looking the large pool are quieter plus you have a fridge & the decor is br...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chezLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Cheryl and dear Rebecca
thanks a lot for giving us your opinion on our hotel which is very important to us. We are very happy that you enjoyed a nice stay at our hotel and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff and especially to Paco from recepction. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again with us on another occasion.
In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We arrived at the Cala Gran about 9pm and was amazed that there was a cold buffet set on for us. They also gave us a cold breakfast when we were going home before the official breakfast time. I believe they make sure that you can be fed whatever time you arrive which is excellent.
I have written below a few hints that may help if you are staying at the Cala Gran. First of all, it is actually a very big holiday complex. It incorporates the Costa del Sur and also the Ariel as well and you can use all these facilities. I did though notice that the information located at the Cala Gran reception was not as good as at the Ariel where they have all the info about bus timetables etc. The bus along with the little Cala d'Or local 'train' stop outside the hotel between it and the beach. The 'train' isn't always on time. It gets a bit later during the day but the information place can give you a timetable. The pools are lovely, especially the one at the Ariel. There is entertainment every night and the Animation team are extremely good, especially Cipi (pronounced Chippy).- Rose and I send him a big kiss and a hug.- We went on the Soller trip and had a wonderful time. That is one trip I would recommend as the scenery is absolutely beautiful especially going though the mountains and Soller Port.
The hotel is well located to walk to the shops and restaurants, Esmeralda Beach and the the Marina. When going to the Marina the Jolly Roger is a lovely cafe with English tea and scones. You can get to the beach from some steps beside the Cala Gran pool under the road.
Some things we did find not to our liking at the hotel and they were, the food isn't very hot and the dining room seems to be a bit confusing as nothing seems to be within easy reach of what you would expect and it would have been nice if you could have had water with the dinner. The rooms are quite small but the view we had in room 404 we didn't mind that. They were clean and the beds were comfy though slightly hard but you would probably need another pillow as they are not very soft. The TV is a flat screen but Sky news keeps cutting out, BBC 2 sometimes has sound only and judders when it is on. There is a children's channel and Channel 4. Locking the rooms is annoying as you have to take the key out of the holder which then turns off the lights. If we were hiring a car we would have trouble finding somewhere to park as there is only parking in the narrow streets around the hotel and not very many of those. We were at the start of the season and the roads were still full.
All in all, we had a lovely holiday and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 404 is on the top floor which is the 3rd and overlooks the pool and the entertainment which can...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxsmtxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear guests,
We are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We thank you for the very kind remarks you have made about the good location of the Cala Gran and the very helpful and friendly staff. Your suggestions for improvement in the restaurant have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments. We are very happy that you enjoyed a lovely holiday with us here . We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again on another occasion. Kindest regards from all of us and a big hello from Chippy . We are all looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here as a family of four and had a superb room with stunning sea views. The property is in a typlical Majorcan style and may feel a bit old fashioned to people used to modern complexes, however it is clean and comfortable and the staff are lovely. A brilliant location for families with young child as the beach is only steps away and is lovely golden sand and clear waters. The heated swimming pool is very nice and the gardens are lovely on one side but a little tired and untidy on the other (children's play area had rubbish in it and there was broken glass on the side of the path) - this may be down to the time of year we visited (April) which is very early in the season and most resorts are just starting maintenence work.
Our only disappointment was the food which lacked a little choice and my husband found hair in his which put him off for the entire week. If you are travelling for a gourmet experience then this is probably not the hotel for you but if you want a good all round 3* family hotel then it worked for us. no frills and nice location.

Room Tip: Not ging to tell you my room number as I am going to ask for it next year, sorry!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEBORAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Deborah,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about the good location of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We try to cater for many different nationalities and to offer a big choice of food like soups, salads, one meat and one fish dish, a national dish every day like Paella, vegetables, rice, potatoes, a separate buffet for desserts. Thank you for your suggestions in improving our hotel, we our going to inform the relevant departments. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again here with us next year and remain until then with our kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £42 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing