We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value short break and very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was slightly hesitant after reading some negative reviews but after a weeks stay I can't agree with how people can be so negative. It is a 3 star hotel and advertised as such so it is what it says it is. The rooms are basic but clean with fresh towels every day. A choice of four pools from the noisy but well behaved children's pool to a quiet pool for people who want peace and quiet. The ground were quite nice and well maintained although lots of slopes and steps so not buggy or wheelchair friendly. Restaurant provided plenty of choice each meal and always something nice to eat especially some of the delicious soups and fish. The restaurant staff were fabulous and worked extremely hard. Bar staff and reception staff were friendly and very welcoming.and again worked very hard to satisfy everyone. Met some lovely people whilst we were there and I wished I had another week to spend there. The town and beach were a 5 minute walk away and was lovely with great variety of bars and restaurants. I have been to more expensive hotels and not enjoyed them as much. For the price we paid this was a great holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEVLARHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guests,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel, food and friendliness of our staff. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your little break at our hotel and that you consider to visit us once more. We are looking forward to seeing you again, perhaps in the not too distant future.? In the meantime we remain with our kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
There are newer reviews for Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned home (myself, my partner and our 8 month old baby) after a 1 week stay in hotel COSTA DEL SUR, when we made this reservation back last year we booked HOTEL CALA GRAN. Upon arrival we were giving directions to a room and handed a green piece of paper to show at breakfast & dinner as we were staying half board, we were not asked for this card once so i'm sure anyone could have walked in and ate!! The room itself was not as expected once again because upon booking we had looked at photos of hotel Cala Gran which is lovely and where we thought we were staying! we had 2 scabby single beds pushed together - no mattress protectors ( i thought this is standard to have these in hotels now) the cot which was supplied for my son was a disgrace i would not have let my dog sleep in it, we folded it down and flung in wardrobe and our son slept with us for the week. Our bed was not changed once during the week neither floors swept. Towels were changed daily if left on bathroom floor. The buffet was ok and had wide variety, a lot was repetitive exspecially at breakfast time, the staff in the restraunt were lovely and a great mention to Kelly who was fantastic. there is entertainment every night, i cannot comment on this as we did not attend it does finish at 11pm. The hotel is situated very close to the beach straight across the road and is in a great central location to all shops, bars, restraunts and also bus stops to visit attractions. we did asked to be moved and even offered to pay to upgrade to a better room - we were told none avaliable, having a baby with us we needed a kettle to make baby bottles - not something the hotel could provide which i thought was very very poor - we did go out and buy a kettle which blew the electricity time and time again so we were told we were not allowed to use it!!

we would return to this hotel on the understanding we have an apartment in hotel Cala Gran - which we origanlly thought we had booked. PLEASE BE VERY CAREFUL AND CHECK YOU ARE IN HOTEL CALA GRAN AS THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE IN THE 2 HOTELS.

Room Tip: ensure hotel CALA GRAN
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are sorry that you were not informed correctly. Our guests may be accommodated either in the Cala Gran hotel or in the Costa del Sur hotel. Changing rooms was not possible because the hotel was fully booked up. We thank you for your very nice remarks about our staff( especially Kelly in restaurant). We would be delighted if you do decide to visit us again. We kindly ask you to contact us before arrival to be able to reserve accommodation as desired. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hello we stayed at this resort in April. First of all paco at reception is a really nice man. Very friendly and helped when could. So on arrival we was given a basement room which was horid smelt of damp was not happy paco kindly changed out rooms and we was very happy. The location was nice but as in April very few places open no nightlife etc. we come away for a nice break and sun. The poeople were friendly some staff were nice and others not so nice. Food was ok pretty much same stuff most of the time but for the money was ok. Te beach was lovely only downfall was the construction site next to it redoing another set if apartments te workers were rude said comments to us which were inappropriate and the noise and drilling was a little off putting as it wasn't really like a holiday as much. There is a great shop to your right of the hotel wen exiting it's a kayaking shop if you got there and call the number in the door the shop owner will come within te hour it's 45 euros for whole day for one kiyak we had a fab day loved it highly reccomed. As for the entertainment it was ok but did not really bother. This is more a family place. I did however love climbing the rocks to go further out where you could sit far away from everyone and cliff jump. This hotel would benefit I be live with a little music played by atleast one pool. There was never any music which was a downfall I think. Other then that I did enjoy my stay. The tennis court was expensive so would not say do that. There is a bus stop local outside hotel for €3 euros into palma which was good I would suggest that. Can order a taxi for €10+ to palma which was also good reception can arrange this most night life is there or in magaluf. Again not to far so dot listen to reception one guy said it's hours but we met a local Spanish guy who told us it's not far etc and we had a good time. If you want to get a place by the pool I would say get ur towels in by 6 or 7 am as it gets swarmed quickly. Anyone staying here it's a nice place just maybe when no construction is going on or when it's busier. The men were a big put off mainly outside the apartments. Other then that I would say not bad value for money but apart from the harbour there's not a huge amount to do and some shop owners in town can e quite rude.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Cherry,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We thank you for your comments that you received great value for the money paid and that you enjoyed your stay. You were here early at the beginning of the season. Now Cala d Or is a lot busier , there are a lot of shops and restaurants and quite a lot to do. In the hotel we offer a great entertainment programme during day and evenings. We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you again perhaps further on in the summer season? In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from weeks holiday.Hotel room was nice and clean ,but blankets on childrens beds very old and grotty.All inclusive food was pretty good we thought ,although we did eat out last two nights.Lovely location ,right next to beach and town with gift shops and restaurants.We were in main hotel overlooking pool area where the evening entertainment took place til 11pm daily.The music was very loud so impossible to have early night,which our 6 year old girls needed some nights as they were exhausted!And so was I from the noise of the coaches arriving in middle of night making windows rattle really loudly !!Overall all I would recommend this hotel and cala d'or ,it was lovely, just take some earplugs !!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms overlook pool area where evening entertainment takes place .very loud if you have you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Terri,
we are happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. Your comments for improvements have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments . We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had our latest stay here in May. Always loved this hotel and we have visited many times, however, this might have been our last. Changes to the restaurant are not good and have created a bit of chaos. Previously it had been quite relaxed and very well organised, we never struggled to find a table. This time however people were wandering around with plates of food trying to find somewhere to sit. Staff that we had come to know over the years are no longer there and it seems that very few staff are trying to cope with a very heavy workload. Despite this, we found all remaining staff to be polite, helpful and efficient. Kelly and Paki in the restaurant are delightful and a credit to the hotel.
Breakfast was fine and with plenty of choice and all items were topped up regularly. Evening meals however, were mostly awful. There was plenty ofchoice but it was all poor quality food, even the salad had a very strange taste, and we dined out 5 nights out of the 7.

Cleaning around the pool area was poor, again seemingly due to lack of staff. Never experienced this before but plastic plates and cups left by lazy visitors were blowing around and some ended up in the pool. Not nice.

We will be returning to Cala D or in July, but probably stay at a different hotel which is such a shame as this hotel is our favourite.

Will miss this place so much.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sashmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guests,
first of all we would like to thank you for your faithfulness in the past years.
We are gratified to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff (esp.Kelly and Paki) despite of missing some of our waiters from previous years.
Nowadays we have clients with breakfast, half board and all-inclusive. To ensure a quicker service "all-inclusive" guests may help themselves to soft drinks, wine, beer at our all-inclusive stations.
We made a note of your comments and will not hesitate to relate them to our new management.
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and we are looking foward to seeing you at our Cala Gran Costa hotel, perhaps already in July?
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The situation of this hotel and the resort is amazing. I visit frequently. You need to request to stay in the cala gran hotel. The sister hotel- costa del sur is not as nice. We asked to change rooms and were relocated within a few hours. I have rebooked for September. Fingers crossed we get a nice room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Rachel,
thanks a lot for giving us your opinion on our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here and that you will be returning in September. Please contact us before your arrival in order to be able to reserve the room desired. In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went here for an Easter break and were a bit worried as it was so low cost but we couldn't have been more surprised. All the staff at the hotel were fantastic and so hardworking, they couldn't do enough to help and were so patient with everyone. The food was varied and very nice and the restaurant staff were really efficient and friendly. The mini club was superb and the mini disco each evening made my LO's holiday (she's 3) as Tatiana and the disco man made it such fun. The room we were in was basic but very clean (they came in everyday). Would definitely recommend for families and will be going back :o)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Colleen,
we thank you very much for the kind remarks you have made about our hotel, food and staff. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that your little daughter loved the mini-disco, we will be passing on your praises to all of our hotel staff and entertainers. We thank you for recommending our hotel for families and leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £42 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing