We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was in a great location with several pools and a 2 minute walk to the beach. The rooms were clean and reasonably sized with good bathroom facilities and were cleaned every day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was a decent size and we didn't struggle to find a table. Breakfast was a basic cooked breakfast with a few continental pastries and fresh fruit and a variety of cereals. Lunch usually consisted of chips, rice, fish, chicken and a few different dishes for the day, as well as the snack bar by the pools. Dinner was excellent with more than enough choice for everyone and warm for a buffet. The pools at times were busy but there are a few to choose from. I would definitely recommend this hotel and go back again. I stayed for 4 nights with my friend.

Room Tip: Stay in the main part of the hotel with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Alicia,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel and thanks for your recommendation. We are really pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us here and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel.
our very best regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    555
    377
    87
    63
See reviews for
669
453
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed here with son and two grandchildren aged 8 and 4, between 28th may and 4th June. We all had a fab time, although weather could have been a bit better. Pools were very cold but once you were in it was ok. Kids loved the entertainment and we met some lovely people. Food bit hit and miss, but always found something to eat. Lovely resort and ideal location, would definitely return.

Room Tip: Select sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb81w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you very much for the kind remarks you have made about our hotel and resort. We are really pleased that you enjoyed a lovely family holiday with us although the weather could have been better. We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights in June 2012. For the first 2 nights we had no hot water and complained to reception about it. The old man who works reception was very aggressive. In the end they sorted it but not after us having to persistently ask the reception when it will be on. The hotel it's self is really nice. They have 3 pools. 2 with bars. The bar is open 10am-midnight and the staff are very nice ppl who work the bar. You are literally a 1 minute walk away from a lovely cove beach were you can go snorkelling, scuba diving or on boat trips if you like. The town itself cala d'or is a nice place. Lots of bars including English and Irish bars. Lots of places to eat out. Which we did a lot of because the food at the hotel was pretty unedible and I really am not a fussy eater neither. But it's worth going all inc for the drinks alone. Aside from the food It is an overall a pretty nice hotel. We paid 600 for 4 nights all inc, with our flights and transfers. So for the price it is definitely worth it!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Rob,
thanks a lot for giving us your opinion on our hotel which is very important for us. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday and that you got good value for the money paid. We are sorry that you did not like the food. We try to cater for the taste of so many different nationalities in our hotel. We offer a big choice of salads, soups, meat, fish, vegetables, rice, pasta, potatoes, a special buffet for the desserts, snacks in between the main meals, themed nights, etc.
We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We are just about to leave the Cala Gran 5.6.14, after a lovely weeks holiday. beautifully located by a gorgeous beach. Wee upgraded to a sea view room and it made all the difference (thank you Paco),The food was plentiful and of a good standard (especially the desserts). The pool area gets a little crowded, but we preferred the beach, but there are two other pools which are quieter,The entertainment if an evening was good, finished at 11.00, brilliant for people overlooking the entertainment area show consideration for everyone. Every need was addressed, the only main, is too keep a standard of dress at the evening meal. other than that had a fantastic holiday here and will come back to the lovely Cala Dir

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room..worth it ...407
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear chris,
thank you for your kind report. We are really pleased that you enjoyed a lovely week at our Cala Gran Costa hotel and that you mention the friendliness of our staff . We will be passing on your praises to all of them and especially to Paco from reception. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future. In the meantime we remain with kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having just arrived back from this hotel, both my husband and I can't wait to go back!
We had stayed here 5 years before with our 2 children and we just love it! The location is perfect and we loved exploring all 7 beaches.
The only disappointment was that the kids were in bunk beds in our room this time. (Last time we stayed they had a room off the main room)
As a family holiday this hotel is perfect, staff are friendly and helpful and kids loved it just as much second time round!
Well done Gavimar hotel Cala Gran!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dlj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you very much for the nice remarks you have made about our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We are really pleased that you enjoyed a perfect family holiday and will be passing on your praises to all of our Gavimar team. we thank you for your faithfulness and would be delighted if you do decide to visit us again for a third time in the not too distant future.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was slightly hesitant after reading some negative reviews but after a weeks stay I can't agree with how people can be so negative. It is a 3 star hotel and advertised as such so it is what it says it is. The rooms are basic but clean with fresh towels every day. A choice of four pools from the noisy but well behaved children's pool to a quiet pool for people who want peace and quiet. The ground were quite nice and well maintained although lots of slopes and steps so not buggy or wheelchair friendly. Restaurant provided plenty of choice each meal and always something nice to eat especially some of the delicious soups and fish. The restaurant staff were fabulous and worked extremely hard. Bar staff and reception staff were friendly and very welcoming.and again worked very hard to satisfy everyone. Met some lovely people whilst we were there and I wished I had another week to spend there. The town and beach were a 5 minute walk away and was lovely with great variety of bars and restaurants. I have been to more expensive hotels and not enjoyed them as much. For the price we paid this was a great holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVLARHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guests,
thank you ever so much for the very kind remarks you have made about our hotel, food and friendliness of our staff. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your little break at our hotel and that you consider to visit us once more. We are looking forward to seeing you again, perhaps in the not too distant future.? In the meantime we remain with our kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned home (myself, my partner and our 8 month old baby) after a 1 week stay in hotel COSTA DEL SUR, when we made this reservation back last year we booked HOTEL CALA GRAN. Upon arrival we were giving directions to a room and handed a green piece of paper to show at breakfast & dinner as we were staying half board, we were not asked for this card once so i'm sure anyone could have walked in and ate!! The room itself was not as expected once again because upon booking we had looked at photos of hotel Cala Gran which is lovely and where we thought we were staying! we had 2 scabby single beds pushed together - no mattress protectors ( i thought this is standard to have these in hotels now) the cot which was supplied for my son was a disgrace i would not have let my dog sleep in it, we folded it down and flung in wardrobe and our son slept with us for the week. Our bed was not changed once during the week neither floors swept. Towels were changed daily if left on bathroom floor. The buffet was ok and had wide variety, a lot was repetitive exspecially at breakfast time, the staff in the restraunt were lovely and a great mention to Kelly who was fantastic. there is entertainment every night, i cannot comment on this as we did not attend it does finish at 11pm. The hotel is situated very close to the beach straight across the road and is in a great central location to all shops, bars, restraunts and also bus stops to visit attractions. we did asked to be moved and even offered to pay to upgrade to a better room - we were told none avaliable, having a baby with us we needed a kettle to make baby bottles - not something the hotel could provide which i thought was very very poor - we did go out and buy a kettle which blew the electricity time and time again so we were told we were not allowed to use it!!

we would return to this hotel on the understanding we have an apartment in hotel Cala Gran - which we origanlly thought we had booked. PLEASE BE VERY CAREFUL AND CHECK YOU ARE IN HOTEL CALA GRAN AS THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE IN THE 2 HOTELS.

Room Tip: ensure hotel CALA GRAN
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are sorry that you were not informed correctly. Our guests may be accommodated either in the Cala Gran hotel or in the Costa del Sur hotel. Changing rooms was not possible because the hotel was fully booked up. We thank you for your very nice remarks about our staff( especially Kelly in restaurant). We would be delighted if you do decide to visit us again. We kindly ask you to contact us before arrival to be able to reserve accommodation as desired. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
Inturotel Esmeralda Park
#10 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Hotel Cala Ferrera
#32 of 47 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Property: Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Address: Avda. Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing