We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
hull
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Cala Gran in June in the Costa del Sur building - hotel has two buildings which are linked by a bridge.. There are 4 pools all fairly small - our preferred one was the one near the dining room as it was fairly quiet, the sunbeds were comfy and the pool was a good temperature for getting into when a quick cool down was required. Food at the hotel was fine - typical all inclusive fayre but plentiful and reasonable choice. - we are not terribly fussy eaters though. The hotel and room was clean and staff on reception okay - not overly friendly but helpful when needed. Entertainment is a bit lacking but again it was typical of spanish hotels and had some nights that were okay and some that were poor. Hotel's location is great - direct acess to the beach via a path under the road from the hotel and a short walk into Cala D'or town which has some nice shops and numerous restaurants. There are lots of different little coves/resorts in this area to stay and all very pretty - would definitely recommend the Starfish boat trip. All in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treborHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed a good holiday with us and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    617
    408
    97
    77
See reviews for
760
503
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of May, beginning of June and we were in the hotel Costa Del Sur building. The hotel complex is made up of three hotel buildings. Our building was on the far right overlooking the Cala Gran beach (over a road). The middle building is where the entertainment is held, and as a result is the noisier of the three. The good things about the hotel as a whole are:
Location – slap bang in Cala D'or town, a tiny walk to the biggest beach in Cala D'or. Near Cala esmerelda (not many facilities), shops, cafes, restaurants and the Eroski supermarket (at the end of Avenida Benvinguts)
Staff – 99% lovely, friendly, helpful. Especially Kely and Santi in the dining room, Andi, Audrey and Anthony in the animation team. Receptionists helpful too if things go wrong. We had one problem with our window which didn't close, my wife showed the maintenance man (who again was very nice) but didn't fix it. So for the whole 2 weeks out room was effectively unlocked, and also allowed the noise in from the bar opposite.
Accommodation – We were disappointed that even though we'd emailed before arriving, and were told we were going to be put into a studio (we have a baby) so we could have a kitchen and fridge, we were given a family room, which was adequate in size but had no facilities. The receptionist did give us a fridge for free to make up for this – but only after we mentioned it. There aren't door handles on the outside of the doors, which causes (inconsiderate people) to slam their doors, and at silly o'clock, this is a tad irritating. The room we had was tired, but had a TV with 3 UK channels, wardrobe, 4 drawers which for 4 people wasn't really enough, a safe balcony (brick edging and ribcage high). Bathroom OK, again a bit tired and usual Spanish showerhead not being mobile was a problem!
Food and dining room – For a 3* the breakfast was excellent, varied and well stocked. The first week we were there it was half term, so was very busy and the hotel didn't have a enough staff, so they ran out on occasion, the second week was better, lots of food and staff less stressed. Evening meals - I did great as I love fish and salad. As usual in Spain this was always available. My wife is a fussy eater, but she had something every night, even though on a couple of occasions it was nugget and chips, also a few times some parts of the hot plates left the food cold. The paellas were great, and there was good desserts....and plenty of them.
Pool area – the main pool area was always packed and there wasn't enough room, mainly because the bar and seating areas took up a lot of the area, which was mainly for kids. One issue that affected all pool areas, was that sometimes the bins weren't emptied and then the wasps arrived. This was made worse with inconsiderate all-inclusive people leaving their sticky plastic cups hanging around. The pool area on our side was quieter and the beds were of lovely quality. This was a decked area (see pics) which sometimes gave splinters (we learned after the first day to wear shoes).
One suggestion that we would like to make to the hotel management, is to place non-family holidayers next to families. The group next to us were 4 50+ women on the lash and came in at 4am one night (thankfully only there for 4 days so didn't have to suffer too much). More thought please.
Overall a nice hotel, bit tired at points, nice staff, food fine, good location – close to being good, just missing the mark. We won't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you're in the apartments or the Costa Del Sur like we were you're OK, if not - take earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savedbygrace280875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel. You mention the good location, the friendliness of our staff (Kelly and Santi) and animation team (Andi, Audrey, Anthony) , excellent food and drinks. All of the other suggestions in improving our hotel have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments.
We leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you once again to our hotel
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a holiday for my partners two boys who we hadnt taken away before and it was fine for what we wanted. The location was perfect-within walking distance of the town and marina and right next to cala gran beach, within walking distance of a number of coves located around the resort. We used the main pool most days and had no trouble finding loungers any time of the day. Rooms were basic but clean but didnt seem to be serviced every day- our beds weren't made on a daily basis. I liked the location of our one bed apartment 83 as it was close to the pool. As there were no loos around the pool it was quick and easy to pop back to our room! There was a bar by the pool open until 5 but bizarrely it was shut on a sunday!?? The food wasnt really to our taste and so we ate out on all but one evening of our stay. We went to watch the entertainment on our first evening which was at the smaller of the two pools but there wasnt enough seating outside so we didn't bother again. If you are planing this hotel to take children away I think this hotel is ok but I wouldnt recommend it for younger couples. I would have been disappointed if I had picked this hotel for just the two of us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tewkesnjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
dear guests,
thanks for giving us your opinion on our hotel. It makes us happy to thank you for your comments valuing the good location of the Cala Gran Costa. The frequency of the cleaning depends always on the criteria of the particular tour operator. Double bed rooms are cleaned every day, apartments not. All of your suggestions in improving our hotel have been noted and have been communicated to the relevant departments.
We would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion. kindest regards from Cala d' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just spent 14 wonderful days at Hotel Cala Gran, Cala d'Or. The hotel is perfectly situated, 30 seconds walking distance to the beach, and within close proximity to the shops, bars and restaurants.

Inside the hotel is practically spotless. In the morning you can't turn anywhere without seeing a cleaner going about the chores. All will greet you with a smile and a 'hello'. The same can be said for the outside with the gardens all beautifully attended to. We found the room size good for two, and it was cleaned and tidied every day. Everything functioned including the air conditioning. Limited TV channels, but you don't go on holiday to stay in front of the TV 'do you?' The bathroom was I keeping with the room, with the standard shower attachment mixer tap. And a good size balcony to sit out on.

There are three main pool areas, two in Cala Gran and one in Costa del Sur the adjoining hotel which is right next door. You have to be up by about 9am to get to two of the pools, but the other one which is on the self catering side, didn't get as busy. So you could still get a lounger by about 10 am or even later in the day, and had plenty of space to sit in the sun, there are plenty of trees around so that you could also sit in the shade. The only down side was that a lot of the loungers by this pool where broken, you couldn't adjust them so that you could sit up and read.

The food was lovely, lots to choose from buffet style. I can be a little fussy but there was always something that I could find to eat. We were only half board, so breakfast and dinner, breakfast, there was English fried, or breads with cheeses or cold meats, cereals, fruit fresh and dried, yogurts. Dinners chips, pasta, salads, paella some nights, it was always a little different each night.

Overall it was a great holiday and would go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
dear guests,
we are gratified that you have taken the opportunity to evaluate in such detail our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed a great holiday in Cala d' Or
and would take great pleasure to be able to welcome you here with us on another occasion.
kindest regards from all of us
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel room was filthy with fixtures dangerously hanging away from wall. Both showers flooded and there was mould on the ceiling. Furniture was stained and dated. We were all inclusive and the food was rubbish. 2 of my children barely ate. We were told when we had to eat. There were never enough tables or sun loungers. The pool was painfully cold and dirty. We were even limited on drinks one day. On a plus the staff were fantastic.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirst150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guests,
we thank you for taking your valuable time in giving us your opinion on our hotel; after nearly 11 months , but never it' s too late! we are very happy that you mention the friendliness of our staff.
Our pool is heated in springtime, but cold water in the pool in August in Mallorca? During wintertime a lot of changes have been made, espec. in reception, restaurant, food. We would be delighted if you do decide to come back and visit us again and convince yourself of the improvements made by our new management. kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala d'Or hotels

Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Right, it's not the Ritz but your not paying for the Ritz!
We were there last week in May.
We had a late arrival and as mentioned before a mini buffet was left out for us which was a nice touch by the hotel.
Food, good selection and always something to eat. We found the only thing was that the food was never piping hot but always edible. We were half board and had no problems in the dining room.
Staff were super efficient and always polite.
Rooms were smashing and as we had 406 we had a view over the beach and out over the bay. Only grumbles about rooms was the lack of a kettle for a cuppa! However, we found you could get a lovely cup of PG tips tea from the bar which made it not so bad.
Location of the hotel is great. Yes there is steps but there is also ramps and lifts for wheelchair access.
Cannot say much about the entertainment because we were out and about most nights.
All staff are friendly and helpful. Cleaners were very nice and never found them intrusive.
I think people assume the staff are grumpy when they are spoken to but when you think they are speaking to you in a language that is foreign to them they are bound to be apprehensive.
Don't be put off by the moaners.
Would we recommend this complex? Yes.
Would we go again? Yes.
This is as honest as I can make the review.

Room Tip: 405/6/7 all look over the pool,beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruairaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ruairaidh,
we thank you ever so much for your very kind review and recommendation. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here and that you would like to come back and visit us again. We are looking forward to seeing you , hopefully in the not too distant future. Kindest regards from all of us,
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we went back to the Cala Gran after having a wonderful Holiday there last year and enjoyed it just as much this year, the staff are lovely and everything is kept clean. we go on a self catering basis but spoke to people who were all inclusive and they said the food was lovely,, I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good Holiday and doesn't expect 5 star treatment for 3 star prices

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleyh187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavimar_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Shirleyh,
first of all we would like to thank you for having choosen our hotel for a second time. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be passing on your praises to all of our staff. We thank you for your faithfulness and leave you with the hope to be able to welcome you here with us for a third time in the not too distant future.
kindest regards from Cala d ' Or
your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Gavimar La Mirada Club Resort
0.1 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel Alba Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort

Property: Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
Address: Avenida Cala Gran 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Gran Costa
Cala Gran Costa Hotel
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Hotel & Resort Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing