We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of La Ceiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Ceiba
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nicely located between centre, beach and harbour, all within 5 minutes walk. Very friendly and helpful owner. Nothing fancy, no ac or pool, though the hostel is very pleasantly furnished and decorated which gave a personal touch. Nice breakfasts on the hotel veranda. Can definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Magnus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were pleased to discover La Ceiba last week while meandering Mallorca. The location can't be beat and the staff were most gracious. Our room was simply furnished, as stated in previous posts; it was spacious, clean, and accommodating. The outdoor ambiance has a kind of retro feel which was much to our liking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

La Ceiba is a typical Spanish Hostal, with basic decor, friendly staff and a perfect location.
Very close to Marina, Beach and Cala d´Or city center.
Come here for a classic Hostal experience and not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lasse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Read various reviews of La Ceiba and decided to try.
Plus; great location v close to both town and marina,clean,reasonable price.
Cons;Very basic rooms one socket ,v hard beds,absolutely no character almost monastic.
Appalling breakfast lukewarm coffee,single two slice v slow toaster,cheapest possible yoghurt ,jam,cheese and meat.
Impression given everything done to keep costs down.
Nevertheless spoke to other guests who have been coming reguarlly and spoke to others who where very dissapointed pays your money and takes your choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0ny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is very basic no tv in room or air con or phone just 2 beds a dressing table and wardrobe , but the rooms and bathroom are spotlessly clean as are all areas of the hotel, breakfast is served outside again its basic but was enjoyable.

Be warned if you do arrive late their is no reception area and you will have to ring the owner to come and let you in as the hotel is not manned 24hrs

Location wise the hotel is 5 mins from the marina and 5 minutes from the beach and main resort centre

Room Tip: Try and ask for a high floor the room next to reception is noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovinmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

La Ceiba is a quiet guest house in a central position. The rooms are large and cool, and amazingly clean. A simple breakfast is provided.on a pleasant terrace and there is a bar on site.
It does not have a pool or air con, but it is right next to the marina and a choice of beaches. The owner and her staff are very helpful and accommodating. It was a real pleasure to stay here and we will come again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms will have better views and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is spotlessly clean and very good value for the money we paid . We wanted a cheaper holiday as we are going away again later in the year. You get a nice warm welcome from the owner and she is very helpful. The beach harbour and main centre are a few minutes walk away ideal location. the only problem we had was when we booked it said we had use of a pool just at side in next doors hotel. It looked ideal and very quiet just what we wanted, when we got here this was not the case - different owners have stopped this and people booking need to know this as it caused us a lot of disappointment on the first day and cost us over 100 euros to have a sunbed on the beach. It wasn't the owners fault as when we checked the pictures of the pool were from visitors . We had a side room and as we had windows wide open it was quiet nosy with coaches etc going by at night but that didn't bother us too much . Overall a nice place to stay at a very reasonable price .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala d'Or
0.4 mi away
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ses Puntetes Hotel
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Hostal Leo D'or
Hostal Leo D'or
#33 of 46 in Cala d'Or
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Condemar
Condemar
#3 of 3 in Cala Mondrago
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#31 of 46 in Cala d'Or
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Parque Mar
Apartamentos Parque Mar
#20 of 46 in Cala d'Or
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ceiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ceiba

Address: Avenida Calonge 2, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Ceiba 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Ceiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ceiba Hotel Cala d`Or
La Ceiba Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing