We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Ses Puntetes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Five of us were going on this trip, and we booked two rooms (one with a camp bed). When we arrived, we were informed we weren't going to have two rooms - we were instead going to have a three bedroomed villa style house. We were all very excited at this prospect, this meant we could all be together all the time and we even had our own kitchen, dining room, terrace and private entry to the pool. The only downside was that instead of the two bathrooms we had thought we would be getting, we instead had only one. Between five girls. Luckily there was a shower and a hose outside which, as we are so young, we made use of. Now, the shower. On the first night we had one semi-warm shower - and after that we endured ten days of freezing cold showers. We resorted to all showering outside in our bikinis, with the hose pointed in the air so we could run underneath the water only when neccesary (for washing the suds out of our hair, etc.) The rooms themselves were bizarre - two twin rooms and one double room. The first twin room had only a hat stand as a wardrobe but did indeed have air con, the second twin room had a wardrobe but no air con - and the double room had both air con and a wardrobe but had views of the hotel storage area (ladders, umbrellas and the like) The decor was very very outdated but the room was always kept immaculately. The maid simply cannot be faulted. Other things however, which I understand are not the maids fault made our stay harder. The cutlery provided for us was dirty, as were many of the glasses. We only had one sponge and that was also rancid, and we found potatoes underneath the cupboard that had been there for God knows how long. We stayed there half board and would definately never do it again. This hotel is perfect for GERMAN'S. None of the food available was English other than the chips. On some nights the food wasn't labelled and this caused havoc as we literally had no idea what we were eating. On one very unfortunate night we had what we thought were doughballs with chocolate sauce and it turned out to be fish. The timing of breakfast and dinner are brilliant, though. 7am-9am for breakfast (which itself was poor) and 7pm-9pm for dinner. Another thing I noticed as well is that people really liked to dress up for dinner at the hotel restaraunt, and you were very much looked down on by everyone there if you entered in anything other than a evening gown. The hotel staff are all very friendly and accomodating (perhaps a little too so!) but refuse to talk to you in any other language than German. The location of the hotel is ideal, next to nightclubs, near the harbour, on the strip and near the beach. The swimming pool is very small but is fine. (few too many dead cockroaches left lying around for our liking!). The only other small issue was the feel of the house we were staying in. It wasn't always a friendly vibe we picked up, but that was no doubt the fault of one too many horror films and our teenage over active imaginations. After reading a few other reviews of the hotel I understand that the actual hotel rooms had timed air conditioning. Luckily, the house we stayed in had unlimited air conditioning which we controlled. Overall, I would return to Ses Puntetes, but almost certainly not half board.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Ses Puntetes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Arrived at the hotel in late June, greeted by friendly members of staff and they were very helpful. The room was very basic but very clean and the balcony was a very nice surprise as it was very big! The cleaners were faultless and would change the towels every day. A few faults with the hotel was the air conditioning, it was on a timer so when you woke up in the morning it would be very hot! The toilets were quite temperemental and sometimes so was the temperature of the shower but they were nothing too serious. The staff soon sorted them out. The food was adequate but very nice whereas the breakfast wasnt too good as every other day there wouldnt be much choice at all. The swimming pool at first was quite daunting as it was small and about a 2 min walk from the main block, however it was lovely, loads of sun beds however there were quite a few wasps.
The location of the hotel was absolutely brilliant! its located on the main strip, 5 minutes walk into the main town and about 10 mins to the main beach (absolutely beautiful)
Cala d'or itself is absolutely amazing, we would definately recommend people to go to cala d'or, we travelled as a group of 19 year olds and had the best time!
Again, the staff were amazing, particularly the chef! There were few English so sometimes it was hard to talk to other people, but there were a few. Overall we would definately visit cala d'or again however would stay in another hotel as it is mainly for families and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LokaJnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We arrived at hotel at 12.30 am, and greeted by friendly member of staff, who gave us a map and asked if we had visited the area before. Our room was the cleanest room we have ever stayed in, cleaned every day, clean towels every day, and bedding changed while we were there, we only stayed for 4 nights, wish it could have been longer!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break where you don't have to think about anything. The staff are all very friendly , we hope to be back at ses puntetes in October!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cathandpaul06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

exellent source for budget holiday.rooms above average.Staff condescending most notable in bar . if you were a brit you are regarded as second class citizen.
resteraunt was like something out of FAWLTY TOWERS tables and chairs were so old it was a miracle they did not collapse .decor was 50 years out of date.Meals ..well breakfast was exceptable just.Dinner was an experience to forget ..it was a case of how quick can we get these people out and the choice was laughable .we were half board.DONT DO IT. carpetburgers and cheapest cuts of meat and fish
served up with stoge ..we ate out after the third night.
Housekeeping could not be faulted.
Yes i would go back.But room only basis

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliffnerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Last minute decision brought us here not knowing what to expect, but through Ilkeston Travel whom we had used before. No hesitation in recommending this to those who are not looking for 5* on the beach with pool-side waiters. The good service started as soon as we reached reception, and we can honestly say this must be one of the friendliest places we have been. Good breakfasts varied daily, evening meals varied too and could not be faulted, although not always what we wanted (we ate there on alternate evenings, we like a change, that's all). Staff in restaurant delightful. Rooms basic and just what was wanted, big wardrobe and really big balcony; we were to the back on the first floor. No problems with noise, although we heard the bin men (Cala D'Or was spotless) and a nearby cockerel which seemed to be from a different time zone! But these are good noises! The hotel is family run and they have got it right. Just one small reservation - in September it wasn't much of an issue, but the aircon might be better controlled by room occupants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugechurbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Excellent value for money.Choice of food was good,different menu every day.Staff in hotel was brilliant could not do enough for you.Woken up on numerous occasions by people comming out of the night club down the road and the bar at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I stayed in Ses Puntetes with my daughter - returned last Friday. Due to low cost of holiday was a bit concerned what we were going to. However, was plwasantly surprise. We arrive at hotel after midnight and were greeted by one of the staff who was very pleasant and helpful - gave us a map of area etc. Room was spotlessly clean as indeed was the whole hotel. Bathroom clean and always plenty of hot water for showers at any time of day or night. Sheets changed weekly and towels daily, room cleaned daily. Nice balcony where we could sit out and have a drink in the evenings. All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and all spoke good English. Food was good - mainly continental breakfast, but if you want full English then stay at home. Evening meal was also very good - kept warm, topped up regularly, good selection, plenty for everyone. We were there for 14 nights and selection of dishes was different every night. Excellent value for money. My only complaint - no tea making facilities in room.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topcatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.4 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#37 of 46 in Cala d'Or
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#31 of 46 in Cala d'Or
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#11 of 46 in Cala d'Or
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Es Bolero Aparthotel
Es Bolero Aparthotel
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Parque Mar
Apartamentos Parque Mar
#20 of 46 in Cala d'Or
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ses Puntetes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ses Puntetes Hotel

Address: Avinguda Dels Benvinguts 14, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range: £41 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ses Puntetes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ses Puntetes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ses Puntetes
Ses Puntetes Hotel Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing