We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four star staff ......Two star comfort.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ses Puntetes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Cala d'Or
East Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Four star staff ......Two star comfort.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We booked this 7 night holiday with Travelsoon (late booking agency). It isn't the fault of the hotel that this was misrepresented to us on the telephone and the reviews (although non since Sept 2011)appeared to be generally good, so we went ahead - even though I had made it clear that I am semi-disabled and would have a problem with stairs.
Anna - on reception (who appears to be able to speak several languages fluently) was very helpful, and tried to accommodate us as best as she was able, given that the Ses Puntetes was almost fully booked. She thought it would be quieter for us in the Yuca annexe, just around the corner from the main hotel - we were perhaps unlucky that it was the week when Spain were playing in Euro 2012!
To begin with the positives: All staff very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness cannot be faulted. Clean towels and beds made up every day. Location handy for bars and restaurants (the hotel has it's own, which isn't rowdy - with two large TV screens in the resident's lounge/bar). Just a short walk to a pleasant, small beach and bus stops. Parking nearby in adjoining streets. Pleasant private pool with free loungers - again kept immaculately clean, so excellent for small children. Talented chef - evening meals were varied, to suit "international" clientelle. I wondered if he had every alternate morning off (maybe to buy provisions?) because breakfast choice was minimal on alternate days. My husband is a full English bacon and egg man - and this was only available once in the 7 days. Bread rolls were rock hard, so I just had brown bread and butter with jam, and yoghurt - the cereals being so tasteless in the Mediterranean resorts. There were small french croissants, but you had to be there very early to find them! If you are a boiled egg, ham and processed cheese person, then it would be OK. It would have been good to have the option of fresh fruit juice (just cordial in the mornings).

It seemed to me that the owners are trying to cut back on costs (wisely, given the economic situation at present) but they do need to tackle the major problem - highlighted by other reviewers over the past 2 years or more..... and that is the Air Conditioning in all the rooms.
There would appear to be a rigid policy of only having it on at certain times - with no regard to the actual weather conditions overnight. When we were there - it was extremely hot and humid all through the night and yet the Air Con went off around 2.a.m. With plastic mattress covers and synthetic pillow inserts - we were covered in sweat every night. I had to get up when it went off (in some ways a relief, as it was noisy when on, and made me cough) to open the bedroom doors - which then meant we were disturbed by street noises. We were unable to sit out on the balcony when it was on, because the motor is exposed - and kicked out lots of dust. (Asthmatics beware...!) There was also no extractor (fan) in the bathroom - so we had to buy an air freshener.
Some people like hard beds - and I guess they have to be tough (to last) - but my back really hurt after every night on these. Other people have commented about the chairs in the dining area too - for anyone less that 5ft 5" they would be sitting low at the table, and the thin velvet cushions do little to improve the discomfort.
Most 3-star hotels have TV in the bedrooms now. For information to other potential guests. Ses Puntetes does have digital TV in the rooms, and there is a daily charge, with a refundable deposit for the use of a remote control. This again may be to keep costs down, as electricity is expensive in Majorca.
There is a phone also, and a safe deposit box (another fee, slightly more than average).
As for drink making facilities - if you like your cuppa in the afternoon or evening (no hot drinks served with eve meal) - then take your own portable kettle and plug. (We usually end up buying mugs wherever we go.... and take our own tea and coffee). The only coolish place to store milk is in the bathroom sink, filled with luke warm water...
The fact that the hotel is fully booked (mostly with German guests the week we were there) speaks well of the friendly service and good food. I would not, however, recommend this for elderly or people with mobility limitations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lin-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    59
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
76
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I first stayed at Ses Puntetes 13 years ago. Since then they have updated the hotel and annex 'Yuca' building which is situated in the street behind the hotel. This time we stayed in the annex which is a two minute walk to the hotel for dining/bar facilities. Our room in the annex overlooked the small pool, and sunbeds and umbrellas are provided free of charge.
The room itself was small but with sufficient wardrobe and drawer space and the beds were comfortable. The air-con is controlled by the hotel and worked on a timer (not by the client). The room had a direct dial telephone, fee pay TV (15 euro per week) and safe (12 euro per week). The room lacked a fridge, hairdryer and kettle, but the latter you can take yourself. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed as and when necessary. The bedding wasn't changed at all, but I suspect that had we stayed more than one week, they would have been. I cannot fault the overall cleanliness.
We stayed half board, breakfast alternated between continental and full English starting Sunday, so in effect four continental and three cooked breakfasts. Plenty of choice. The clients were mostly German/Dutch/Swedish, but friendly. Evening meals consisted of Salad bar and Soup starters. The main course was always a selection of a fish and two different meats also Pasta and sauce. There were chips every night and a vegetable or two. Only one night did they offer mashed potato, so if you don't eat chips or pasta, hard luck. Overall I thought the selection was good. There were always cold sweets (fruit/ice cream/cake etc.) on offer.
The hotel is 2 mins walk into Cala d'Or which has 3 beaches (Coves) and a Marina. The front of the hotel is probably the noisiest as it is on a main road, but it is in a quieter part of town and would not bother most people. The staff are friendly and we had extra pillows delivered within 30 mins. of asking. I certainly couldn't fault this hotel and found it good value for money.
There is no entertainment at the hotel, kids clubs etc. so if you do have small children I don't think it would suit them. This hotel is more suitable for adults.
You may see this hotel advertised as linked to a Spa and that they offer water aerobics etc. This is all rubbish as I asked at the reception and they don't offer anything like this.

Room Tip: Pool view and high floor in Yuca building is best (it is only 3 stories and has no lift) but benefit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gillyhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

just got back from here and we loved it! very clean and friendly.. Alphonso the chef is charming and Manuela is delightful... altogether a fab holiday! one little niggle.. bacon only 3 times a week... would have preferred every day.. but Hey ho! don't let that put you off...

Room Tip: ask to be put in the house....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 57Linda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is our 4th year visiting the Ses Puntetes and every year it gets better and better. Anna Pilar and Michael are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are spotless as is the bedding and towels. The food is very good and there is always something to please everyone. The salad bar in particular is always v ery well stocked. Alfonso the Chef is always on hand to talk to the guests and really enjoys the comments that are made regarding his food. Every other day is either a full English breakfast or continental but both are delicious. The dress code is not Evening dress which has been remarked on on a previous posting it is very casual in the dining room. The location couldn't be better right on the doorstep for the beautiful beaches, bars and restaurants. Can't wait for next year to go again.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties ask for a room on the first floor as there are no lifts, although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judithchalmers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Great place to stay. We went last year and could not fault the hotel, staff, cleanliness. Only reason didn't give full marks was the noise at night from the street. May have just been noisy that week but losts of shouting from guests at other hotels returning to their places.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Five of us were going on this trip, and we booked two rooms (one with a camp bed). When we arrived, we were informed we weren't going to have two rooms - we were instead going to have a three bedroomed villa style house. We were all very excited at this prospect, this meant we could all be together all the time and we even had our own kitchen, dining room, terrace and private entry to the pool. The only downside was that instead of the two bathrooms we had thought we would be getting, we instead had only one. Between five girls. Luckily there was a shower and a hose outside which, as we are so young, we made use of. Now, the shower. On the first night we had one semi-warm shower - and after that we endured ten days of freezing cold showers. We resorted to all showering outside in our bikinis, with the hose pointed in the air so we could run underneath the water only when neccesary (for washing the suds out of our hair, etc.) The rooms themselves were bizarre - two twin rooms and one double room. The first twin room had only a hat stand as a wardrobe but did indeed have air con, the second twin room had a wardrobe but no air con - and the double room had both air con and a wardrobe but had views of the hotel storage area (ladders, umbrellas and the like) The decor was very very outdated but the room was always kept immaculately. The maid simply cannot be faulted. Other things however, which I understand are not the maids fault made our stay harder. The cutlery provided for us was dirty, as were many of the glasses. We only had one sponge and that was also rancid, and we found potatoes underneath the cupboard that had been there for God knows how long. We stayed there half board and would definately never do it again. This hotel is perfect for GERMAN'S. None of the food available was English other than the chips. On some nights the food wasn't labelled and this caused havoc as we literally had no idea what we were eating. On one very unfortunate night we had what we thought were doughballs with chocolate sauce and it turned out to be fish. The timing of breakfast and dinner are brilliant, though. 7am-9am for breakfast (which itself was poor) and 7pm-9pm for dinner. Another thing I noticed as well is that people really liked to dress up for dinner at the hotel restaraunt, and you were very much looked down on by everyone there if you entered in anything other than a evening gown. The hotel staff are all very friendly and accomodating (perhaps a little too so!) but refuse to talk to you in any other language than German. The location of the hotel is ideal, next to nightclubs, near the harbour, on the strip and near the beach. The swimming pool is very small but is fine. (few too many dead cockroaches left lying around for our liking!). The only other small issue was the feel of the house we were staying in. It wasn't always a friendly vibe we picked up, but that was no doubt the fault of one too many horror films and our teenage over active imaginations. After reading a few other reviews of the hotel I understand that the actual hotel rooms had timed air conditioning. Luckily, the house we stayed in had unlimited air conditioning which we controlled. Overall, I would return to Ses Puntetes, but almost certainly not half board.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Arrived at the hotel in late June, greeted by friendly members of staff and they were very helpful. The room was very basic but very clean and the balcony was a very nice surprise as it was very big! The cleaners were faultless and would change the towels every day. A few faults with the hotel was the air conditioning, it was on a timer so when you woke up in the morning it would be very hot! The toilets were quite temperemental and sometimes so was the temperature of the shower but they were nothing too serious. The staff soon sorted them out. The food was adequate but very nice whereas the breakfast wasnt too good as every other day there wouldnt be much choice at all. The swimming pool at first was quite daunting as it was small and about a 2 min walk from the main block, however it was lovely, loads of sun beds however there were quite a few wasps.
The location of the hotel was absolutely brilliant! its located on the main strip, 5 minutes walk into the main town and about 10 mins to the main beach (absolutely beautiful)
Cala d'or itself is absolutely amazing, we would definately recommend people to go to cala d'or, we travelled as a group of 19 year olds and had the best time!
Again, the staff were amazing, particularly the chef! There were few English so sometimes it was hard to talk to other people, but there were a few. Overall we would definately visit cala d'or again however would stay in another hotel as it is mainly for families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LokaJnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#33 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Ceiba
La Ceiba
#34 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo D'or
Hotel Leo D'or
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gavimar Ariel Chico Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ses Puntetes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ses Puntetes Hotel

Property: Ses Puntetes Hotel
Address: Avinguda Dels Benvinguts 14, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ses Puntetes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ses Puntetes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ses Puntetes
Ses Puntetes Hotel Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing