We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palia Puerto Del Sol
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's all about location!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I agree wholeheartedly with the review of lancepoulton and won't bore you by repeating what he says.
I would add, however, that whilst the hotel is in a stunning location, it is a good 25minutes to the town, via a walk round the other side of the harbour. The first few times this is novel and enjoyable, picking out your dream yacht, but after a while, especially in the heat, it does get a little waring!
Lovely walk in the opposite direction along a path through a wooded area brings you to Call Egos.
There is, however, two little shuttle trains which run in both directions and save your heat-swollen feet (well it did mine!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    201
    109
    49
    46
See reviews for
215
202
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A great hotel! I just wish we knew it was a french resort before we went as I would have brushed up on my francaise rather than my espanol! However we did have a very relaxing time and we enjoyed the food and thank goodness for the A/C!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Myself and two friends have just returned from our holiday we are all 50 ish and wanted somewhere with good pools good food and somewhere with some form of entertainment .let me start by saying the hotel is about 85 percent french guests however we joined in with everyone and made some lovely friends and learnt a little french to boot .The hotel grounds are wonderful and all rooms are set around either a pool or garden area the rooms are large and ours (not sure if all) had air conditioning .The towels were changed regularly and the beds made every day.there was more than enough cupboard and draw space .
The restaurant has a fresh cook bar at the entrance and would normally have a chef cooking one meat and one fish dish ' other hot and cold foods are beyond this on the buffet .The selection of choice and quality are one of the best I can remember (done all Inc for 15 years or more) and the staff work tirelessly to help and maintain a nice atmosphere .The view from the resterant over the harbour is stunning all in all the catering is excellent .
You may have read people complaining about only being allowed 2 drinks at a time 'I can assure you this may be there rule but once they know you it is relaxed .again the choice of drink and food from the bars were excellent and although during some world cup matches the staff were pushed to keep up it was not for lack of effort .against with the catering staff the bar staff are very friendly and willing to help .
The animation staff work wonders to keep children and adults alike entertained a big special thanks to Johan and lou lou and all the others .The range of activities is superb from shooting to archery to boul to board games water aerobics and so much more .If you wish to relax there are more than enough loungers for all and more .the three pools are well kept and maintained the main one with bar and activities a second quite pool and an adult only pool.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I will Def be returning
LP borehamwood

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lancepoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks as a family of four. The apartments are situated by the marina and are in a lovely position. They first apartment we had was dated, smelt quite musty and we had to be moved as there were some strange bugs that jumped on the bed and walls in the children's room. The second apartment was better and was obviously pre privately owned. The staff were really helpful and moved us without questioning. The public areas were very clean, reception, restaurant and pool areas. The food was nice, and always hot. Breakfast is usually the best meal of the day when you go abroad but we missed it on several occasions as it was clear they needed more breakfast staff. There was no omelette station and a lady was frying eggs and pancakes, but it was like 3/4 at a time and at times you felt like you was putting her out asking for one. The lunchtime and evening meals were nice and although not as much choice as we have had in the past it was all tasty. The food at the pool bar was okay, but cheap burgers and nuggets and the salad was never covered up and sometimes it was left all day until it was used up. Ice creams were nice and slush puppies for the kids. Drinks were okay, and only okay. No cocktails, and all drinks are served in small plastic cups and the soft drinks tasted strange, like watered down syrup. The all inclusive finishes at 10.30pm which is quite early. And if you are paying after you at least expect a decent sized glass of beer and not a plastic cup. There was entertainment throughout the day, although aimed at adults and the children only had a kids club for the morning and afternoon. This wasn't always open though and it was only a room that they could colour in and play. No activities for them or games. Sometimes there was a sign saying closed today sorry.
In the evening the entertainment was okay. But not brilliant and if you didn't watch that then there was very little to do. There was a 30 minute mini disco for kids. There is a beautiful bar overlooking the marina that doesn't open until 10.30pm and is chargable. It was always empty and infact one on evening we were the only ones there. It is such a waste as it had a lovely terrace and should be open earlier as part of the all inclusive as your only options are the club downstairs or the pool bar in the evening. There is also a bar by reception but wasn't in use. We spent many nights at the marina. Overall we liked the holiday but it isn't all inclusive. We spent a lot of money out as drinks were not the best, food limited at times, no bottled water and the fact you have to pay for a safe, and deposits for your wristbands etc is taking the mickey. I would advise anyone going to take your own travel kettle etc as they charge for that too. Even a bag of malteasers was 3 euros behind the bar and only 85 cents at the spar shop around the corner. This hotel could be a great one, if only they updated the rooms, and improved the all
inclusive service. We wouldn't stay there again but it will probably have improved in a few years time with some
investment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vikkiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we visited palia puerto early june 2014,check in smooth as you like.rooms comfortable enough need updating like a lot of places so no drama there.towels and cleaning service top notch as were all the staff friendly and helpful.good set up except for entertainment room being down a large flight of stairs so we didnt bother but could see entertainments boys and girls worked hard all day could do with a change of pool music tho bit repetitive.food was really good never stuck to find something to eat.placed in beautiful surroundings and marina just round corner with some good friendly bars .so all in all cant fault it.

Room Tip: wanted to upgrade to a marina view but was full so my tip would be upgrade before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josienmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

we have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the palia Puerto del sol hotel, There were nine of us in our party and everyone enjoyed their holiday. The rooms were cleaned daily, and you get fresh towels daily, the food was very good compared to most all inc we've been to. There is a small beach within walking distance at cala egos or for 5 euro's you can book a taxi at reception, there are three other small beaches at cala d'or that is on the other side of the harbour and the majority of the walk is up hill, again you can book a taxi from reception approx 5 euro's. Both resorts have shops & restaurant's. you can also get the shuttle train outside reception to cala egos or to cala d'or both 4 euro's return.The down side to this hotel is that the hotel is built on a hill and access is quite poor if you are infirm are disabled, my daughter hired a push chair for my three year old grandson, but getting around is quite difficult there should be more ramps instead of steps having said that the bar staff allowed us to enter through the pool bar once we explained our difficulties.

Room Tip: There are no sea views at this hotel to my knowledge? however there are apartment's over looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We arrived at lunchtime and was shown to our room (362) by the woman on reception, who was extremely friendly and helpful.
After a quick look around and a drink at the pool/bar we had some lunch and it was beautiful, with loads of choice. We then spent our first afternoon at the adult pool chilling out after our early morning travel which was bliss. Yes there are no alcohol pumps there but there are soft drinks which you can help yourself to all day if you really wanted to. (Not sure why you need alcohol on tap around a pool anyway??)
I found that the staff were all helpful and worked non stop to make our holiday run smoothly. Our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels if we wanted. The restaurant staff were working from first thing in the morning to last thing at night but still smiling and friendly (not sure I would be).
Food was very good every day without fail, with lots of choice and plenty of drinks available too with all meals which you could help yourself to.
We had no queues to speak of at brekky, dinner or tea time, but we go in June to avoid school holidays so it's usually a little quieter then.
The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is that the internet was not free and the beach is a bit of a walk too (although I knew this before booking).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice quiet all inclusive holiday to relax. We are a couple over 40 who like to go on holiday to relax by the pool and on the beach/sea and have a look around at different areas on an evening and have a few drinks. It ticked all those boxes.

Room Tip: Not sure you can choose a room but it depends if you like it quiet, we were at the top in the 300 bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#18 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palia Dolce Farniente
Palia Dolce Farniente
#26 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palia Puerto Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palia Puerto Del Sol

Property: Palia Puerto Del Sol
Address: Av Cala Llonga, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palia Puerto Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palia Puerto Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Del Sol Hotel Cala d`Or
Palia Puerto Del Sol Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing