We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bon Vacance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palia Puerto Del Sol
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bon Vacance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks at the appart-hotel from the 9th June.

Following a unnecessary long trip over from the airport. Landing at around 7 pm not getting to the resort till after 9.30 and missing evening meal!!! There was a cold buffet provided for late guest arrival which was a nice touch.

The reception at the hotel was very friendly gave us details of the resort and as we had booked an apartment with a view of the Marina he took us over to the 3 storey block.we were on the 3rd floor. Beware no lift!! Breathtaking! View!

Beware extra charges for room keys, all-inclusive bands. We got a safe. Most of these are refunded at the end of stay except hire charges,safe, kettle, tv remote (not alot of choice of channels)
Air-conditioning free.

So I can't understand why the excessive trimming of supplies?

Booking all-inclusive choosing this type of accommodation so Ideally you could enjoy the best of both worlds! Having a choice of extra facilities ie mainly a fridge, but if you wanted to simply stay and do a little cooking the option was yours!! Wot no pans, cutlery, plates, cups, glasses, nada!! The fridge was there but upon arrival at our apartment was switched off and the power supply ie the plug was locked away in a cupboard above. Why?
So first impressions are'nt good!
Wot no toiletries either. Non, just a bar of soap! Plenty toilet roll 2 rolls kept topped up daily.

By the following day having settled in and discovering no power supply to the fridge. Visited reception to find out why and were told by a quite "stroppy" receptionist " as this was a hotel and as such did not have to provide a fridge, so no power" some apartments have this facility and others don't! Why? Needless to say after I explained my reason for choosing her app-hotel upon return from buying a few supplies the fridge was working!!
The cleaning girls are lovely and helpful ; D the place is spotlessly clean, linen and towels change daily.

So, the resort itself is well laid out in grouped properties 3 storey blocks has 3 pools to choose from. The all-inclusive menu is excellent both food and drink, although finishes at 10.30pm! This is available from main restaurant; which has a lift as this is situated in a lower ground floor, offers a lovely menu choice, including some unusual local creations. If you miss the restaurant opening there's a pool bar with snacks throughout the day.
Note bar pool staff are brilliant too, helpful just give a little tip from time to time.
Lifeguards provided at 2 of the pools the third being adults only at every pool you have soft drinks and water dispensers.

The resort is well presented although lots of stairs and hilly! Well maintained grounds. Some residential properties included in its layout.
A couple of wheelchair friendly apartments close to reception.

Daily programme of entertainment by the mostly French animation team. Evening entertainment is in the main. Hall again situated on a lower ground floor but I didn't notice a lift! Lots of stairs.
Has both local entertainment and d.i.y. from the team. A thoughtful kids club both day and early evening.

A very French resort and we enjoyed keeping them guessing our nationality!!
Speak French and a little Spanish and you'll enjoy yourself. A lovely friendly place to visit as we later discovered has been reborn after a period of possible dereliction. Only recently renovated to a pleasing standard by French owners? Alez le bleu!

A beautiful location overlooking the Marina cala longa and the town of cala d'or.

If you like walking there's plenty of opportunities. Stroll around the grounds, the Marina, visit the neighbouring cove after a walk in the wooded area along the shoreline, visit the sister hotel for more variety! Or simply get the little trains and tour the locality.

A lovely place to visit although the apartments are a little trapped in a time warp and just needs that little extra to create that all important "first impression"

Room Tip: Paid extra for the view of the Marina they are lovely and once you've scaled the stairs are well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roynaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    201
    109
    49
    45
See reviews for
213
202
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Staff were excellent especially the reception who were very helpful.Food was good with lots of choice. Room was good with super views. only complaint was no free wifi & the showers were poor apart from that everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
3 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a great week here, and wanted to add a review all the people that might believe that this hotel is aimed at the French. Well its not. The entertainment team were all great and encouraged all nationalities to participate in the very varied daily fun packed activities.The food was great-even our fussy children were happy.Although you do have to pay a 10e deposit on the all inclusive wrist bands, this money came in handy at the airport going home.The rooms are a little dated, but who goes on holiday to sit in their room. We had a 2 bed that had 2 bathrooms, and our older daughter and partner had their own 1 bed that was next door, which was well thought out by the staff. Reception were really helpful when our daughter fell ill, and they arranged a taxi to the free medical centre as we have an EHIC card, and the prescription charge was less than home!!! All in all a great time was had, and I would certainly return.
There are quick routes to the harbour and beach-just ask someone.
Go on the tram that runs from the hotel door to see the whole of the village and surrounding areas.
The closest place to buy tabacco products is the main shopping area in Cala D'or, although the Piscis bar on the marina sells them in a machine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I agree wholeheartedly with the review of lancepoulton and won't bore you by repeating what he says.
I would add, however, that whilst the hotel is in a stunning location, it is a good 25minutes to the town, via a walk round the other side of the harbour. The first few times this is novel and enjoyable, picking out your dream yacht, but after a while, especially in the heat, it does get a little waring!
Lovely walk in the opposite direction along a path through a wooded area brings you to Call Egos.
There is, however, two little shuttle trains which run in both directions and save your heat-swollen feet (well it did mine!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A great hotel! I just wish we knew it was a french resort before we went as I would have brushed up on my francaise rather than my espanol! However we did have a very relaxing time and we enjoyed the food and thank goodness for the A/C!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Myself and two friends have just returned from our holiday we are all 50 ish and wanted somewhere with good pools good food and somewhere with some form of entertainment .let me start by saying the hotel is about 85 percent french guests however we joined in with everyone and made some lovely friends and learnt a little french to boot .The hotel grounds are wonderful and all rooms are set around either a pool or garden area the rooms are large and ours (not sure if all) had air conditioning .The towels were changed regularly and the beds made every day.there was more than enough cupboard and draw space .
The restaurant has a fresh cook bar at the entrance and would normally have a chef cooking one meat and one fish dish ' other hot and cold foods are beyond this on the buffet .The selection of choice and quality are one of the best I can remember (done all Inc for 15 years or more) and the staff work tirelessly to help and maintain a nice atmosphere .The view from the resterant over the harbour is stunning all in all the catering is excellent .
You may have read people complaining about only being allowed 2 drinks at a time 'I can assure you this may be there rule but once they know you it is relaxed .again the choice of drink and food from the bars were excellent and although during some world cup matches the staff were pushed to keep up it was not for lack of effort .against with the catering staff the bar staff are very friendly and willing to help .
The animation staff work wonders to keep children and adults alike entertained a big special thanks to Johan and lou lou and all the others .The range of activities is superb from shooting to archery to boul to board games water aerobics and so much more .If you wish to relax there are more than enough loungers for all and more .the three pools are well kept and maintained the main one with bar and activities a second quite pool and an adult only pool.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I will Def be returning
LP borehamwood

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lancepoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks as a family of four. The apartments are situated by the marina and are in a lovely position. They first apartment we had was dated, smelt quite musty and we had to be moved as there were some strange bugs that jumped on the bed and walls in the children's room. The second apartment was better and was obviously pre privately owned. The staff were really helpful and moved us without questioning. The public areas were very clean, reception, restaurant and pool areas. The food was nice, and always hot. Breakfast is usually the best meal of the day when you go abroad but we missed it on several occasions as it was clear they needed more breakfast staff. There was no omelette station and a lady was frying eggs and pancakes, but it was like 3/4 at a time and at times you felt like you was putting her out asking for one. The lunchtime and evening meals were nice and although not as much choice as we have had in the past it was all tasty. The food at the pool bar was okay, but cheap burgers and nuggets and the salad was never covered up and sometimes it was left all day until it was used up. Ice creams were nice and slush puppies for the kids. Drinks were okay, and only okay. No cocktails, and all drinks are served in small plastic cups and the soft drinks tasted strange, like watered down syrup. The all inclusive finishes at 10.30pm which is quite early. And if you are paying after you at least expect a decent sized glass of beer and not a plastic cup. There was entertainment throughout the day, although aimed at adults and the children only had a kids club for the morning and afternoon. This wasn't always open though and it was only a room that they could colour in and play. No activities for them or games. Sometimes there was a sign saying closed today sorry.
In the evening the entertainment was okay. But not brilliant and if you didn't watch that then there was very little to do. There was a 30 minute mini disco for kids. There is a beautiful bar overlooking the marina that doesn't open until 10.30pm and is chargable. It was always empty and infact one on evening we were the only ones there. It is such a waste as it had a lovely terrace and should be open earlier as part of the all inclusive as your only options are the club downstairs or the pool bar in the evening. There is also a bar by reception but wasn't in use. We spent many nights at the marina. Overall we liked the holiday but it isn't all inclusive. We spent a lot of money out as drinks were not the best, food limited at times, no bottled water and the fact you have to pay for a safe, and deposits for your wristbands etc is taking the mickey. I would advise anyone going to take your own travel kettle etc as they charge for that too. Even a bag of malteasers was 3 euros behind the bar and only 85 cents at the spar shop around the corner. This hotel could be a great one, if only they updated the rooms, and improved the all
inclusive service. We wouldn't stay there again but it will probably have improved in a few years time with some
investment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vikkiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala d'Or hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#22 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palia Dolce Farniente
Palia Dolce Farniente
#26 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palia Puerto Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palia Puerto Del Sol

Property: Palia Puerto Del Sol
Address: Av Cala Llonga, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palia Puerto Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palia Puerto Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Del Sol Hotel Cala d`Or
Palia Puerto Del Sol Cala D'Or, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing