We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable low cost apartments in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Ferrera Apartments
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Acceptable low cost apartments in great location”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We (myself, wife & 2 teenage daughters) stayed at the Playa Ferrera Apartments 26 July - 2 August 2012 on a package put together by Purple Travel (Hays Travel). When we arrived we were told they were over booked. However they put us up (bed & breakfast) in the Barcelo Hotel in rooms looking onto the beach for the first night.

For the rest of the holiday we stayed in Apartment A15. This was clean but slightly 'dated'. The Apartment had a 2 ring hob and toaster plus pans and a frying pan as well as the usual crockery; the only possible negative was that there was only one large pan which made cooking for four adults a little tricky. There was a standard sized fridge which seemed less than 12 months old, however after a couple of days the top hinge came away. When reported this was fixed within a couple of hours. It might be worthwhile contacting the apartments to see if you can be put in an apartment with better catering equipment if you intend to do more cooking.

The bedroom had a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers plus draw space. The one negative was that the beds were pretty cheap foam onto a board base which was not at all comfortable. We were only there a week and there was no change of bedding.

The bathroom was ok although the toilet ceased working on the final day, but was fixed within a couple of hours. Towels were provided and changed after 3 days.

The Apartments have a number of pools but we never used these as there are 2 beaches within 5 minutes - the bigger Playa Ferrera and the fantastic smaller and uncommercialised Playa Ferrera.

Probably the biggest issue was with the URBIS Transfer - we were last to be dropped of and first to be collected so an hours transfer took two and a half hours

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyDownham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    68
    50
    21
    25
See reviews for
113
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We, (me, my mum, hubby and 2 kids) were moved here after we were told the hotel we booked was full. We had an apartment down a set of stairs away from the reception. First impression, I was gutted. The room was clean enough but extremely basic ( no kettle, toaster or oven ) baring in mind we were self catering and had spent a couple of grand. There was a small pool across the road from us we were told we could use, it was too deep for the kids and freezing cold. We asked to be moved and the receptionist couldn't be less interested. She was rude and as I was trying to explain our situation she kept on interrupting me to talk to a German guy. In the end we gave up not wanting to ruin the rest of our holiday. The beds were so uncomfortable that we all took turns on the sofa. There were no bugs however and the cleaners done a good job. I would never go back to this place and advise others to steer well clear. The beach was lovely as was the town, shame about the dive we had to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_chemist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala Ferrera hotels

Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

stayed in block g of these apartments in july. they were very clean, recently updated and well furnished with the exception of a microwave which had to be rented. we had room 5, 10 ft to the small pool and right next to a spar, so very convenient. Block g was small, with a small pool, and it was like having a villa to ourselves most of the time,as very few people used the pool, had it to ourselves a lot. the apartments were among the cheapest in cala ferrerra,cala dor and to be honest were great value. The different blocks had their own pools, and block P los PINOS, had a lovely view from th pool over the beach. None of the pools seemed to be great for very small children really,but very near the beach , shops,and the strip of cala ferrera and on then to cala dor itself.
almost all the guests were german or dutch, and the aprtments were quiet and peaceful, absolutely no rowdiness of noise, despite the peak season. No activities or play areas for kids. Very little entertainment in the hotel, but so much to do in the resort, we didnt mind.Beaches all stunning but very busy being July. Resaurants lovely.in cala ferrera, the mestral and el patio/el rancho steakhouse very good, for a good meal
cala vicente and barlovento in cala dor were excellent.

bad points, cleaner only came once in a week and the towels werent changed very often,However,we didnt complain about it as we were too busy enjoying ourselves. Only one channel BBC world news and lots of porn so no tv for the week, but again we didnt care.These are basic great value apartments in a quiet peaceful area, ideal for a cheap break in a beautiful resort, not luxury by any means, but v clean, air con and lots of pools to chose from.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view as some blocks have no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

On arrival at the airport, flew with Jet 2.com but had not booked holiday with them but with Thomas Cook and so they did not want to know when asked about transfer to our apartment. We eventually found the correct desk (URBIS) who didn't seem to have us on their list for transport but we were then told to sit and wait, apparently have to wait for other flights to come in before we could be transported to our resort. There was a sign which said you would wait no more than an hour (we were waiting much longer than an hour in a hot and sticky airport and this is not the best start for your holiday)!! When we were directed to our coach the driver did not appear to have us down on his list. When we finally got on our way he stopped at a Hotel and shouted our name to which we told him we were not staying at a Hotel but an Apartment, with the difficult language barrier we then came to another Apartment which we thought was ours but then realised it wasn't, when we finally got to the Playa Ferrera Apartments I ran in just to check they had us down on their list (which they did thankfully) but the driver was very unhelpful and muttering away in Spanish as if all the problems had been our fault.

The Apartments are quite spacious but very basic, no kettle, the water in the bathroom was so slow running and you couldn't always get hot water. They are very clean. They are in a very nice area, very quiet and close to the beach. A bit hilly if you have mobility problems. Plenty of nice restaurants serving good quality food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungloe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Could not ask for better with these new apartments

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thana121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We booked tthe Sol Naixent apartments but were transferred to the Playa Ferrera complex by the night manager, following our transfer coach driver dumping us in the middle of Cala Ferrera at 01:00 on a Monday morning and leaving us to it (won't be using Urbis again).
A Spanish couple phoned and spoke to the night manager on our behalf who came to pick us up in his own car and take us to reception.
The apartment we were given in 'E' was large, spacious, clean and well appointed. With the exception of a washing machine and freezer,it was fitted with everything you would need for a self catering holiday. The cleaners were in three times a week and the whole complex appeared clean and well maintained.
Within a one minute walk there were two restaurants, a bar, childrens play area and a mini market (fresh baked croissants and pain au chocolat were lovely, thanks Michelle).
The ladies on reception proved very helpful, especially the lady who dealt with the transfer company for us to arrange the transfer back to Palma.
With going towards the end of the season we found that the prices in the shops and restaurants were being lowered by up to 30% and this made a real difference.
Cala Ferrera beach is spotless and less than five minutes walk but older people or those with mobility problems may find the steps challenging.
The complex was very quiet and aimed more at older couples and famillies so it provided us with a very relaxing and peaceful holiday, enhanced by the great customer service we received from all the staff at Playa Ferrera.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I always read reviews on this site, although i have never written a review myself but felt i should on this paticular apartment. We were a party of 6 4 adults and 2 children and had booked a 3 bedroom apartment with request for a cot. On arrival the very unhelpfull and unwelcoming receptionist said that there was a small problem with our room. the small problem turned out to be that they had no 3 bedroom apatments left but had upgraded us. we viewed this room which was 2 floors with a death trap of a staircase for my 10month old baby who would crawl to his death we said that this was no good. so she said there is only one other room. this was basic but livable however this was not what we had paid for. they would not accomadate us at all to having our three rooms which meant we had to sleep in the living room. We did recieve financial compensation however the price of a cot and high chair was deducted, so be aware if traverling with baby's as they charge for both and it's not cheap. When the maid came and changed the bedding (Twice in 2 weeks) the bedding for ourselves was taken and not replaced and we had to go and request it which they still did'nt bring so we had to go down at midnight to hound them and they were very reluctant to give us any which annoyed us further. The restaurant was nice and a good choice of pools, was what i expected for the price but was very unhappy that we had to sleep on two sofas pulled together for two weeks on our only holiday which we were really looking forward too. they had no apologies for them letting us down and wouldn't even let us keep our room on the last day which we would of paid for. speaking to a local apparently this happens alot as they overbook in case people cancel. i love majorca but going all inclusive next year as so expensive now in europe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Ferrera
0.5 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala Ferrera
Hotel Cala Ferrera
#30 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gavimar Cala Gran Costa del Sur Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Ferrera Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Ferrera Apartments

Property: Playa Ferrera Apartments
Address: Calle Forn 27 | Close to Cala D'or (Mallorca), 07669 Cala Ferrera, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ferrera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cala Ferrera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Ferrera Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apartments are on the south east coast of the island of Majorca (district of Felanitx) just a few metres from Cala Ferera beach and a short walk from the tourist and commercial centre of Cala d'Or. They also have the advantage of being close to several other natural beaches such as Cala Serena, Cala Sa Nau, Cala d'Or, Cala Esmeralda, Cala Mondragó, s'Amarador, etc. The complex, which is extremely well-situated, is made up of different buildings with 1, 2 or 3 bedroomed apartments, set amid garden areas with large swimming pools for adults and children alike. We offer you the following services: Reception open from 8,00am to 4,00am, Bar Restaurant, Supermarket, Medical Care (24h), Car, motorcycle and Bicycle Hire, Diving Centre, area with sun terraces and several swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Ferrera Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Ferrera Hotel Cala Ferrera
Playa Ferrera Cala
Playa Ferrera Apartments Majorca/Cala Ferrera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing