We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 10 day holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Ferrera Apartments
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked the Playa Ferrera apartments as needed 2 x 2-bedroomed apartments for a party of 10. We were a bit worried reading some of the reviews but were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived in the early hours - the apartments were very clean and comfortable although the beds were a bit on the hard side! I think it depends in which block you stay as to how you would rate these apartments but we had a lovely sea view and were 20 feet from the pool which was cleaned every day and 2 mins to the beach down some 50 steps. Excellent A/C. We had HB and the food was good with a selection each night and the restaurant being just over the quiet road. The waitress's in the restaurant were lovely and very friendly. Overall we had a very enjoyable holiday. We had 4 teenage boys with us who found the walk to the "night-life" of Cala D'or no problem at all each night. If you don't want to walk too far, the Carabel pub 10 minutes away was really good for a drink in the evenings. The surroundings/gardens were nicely kept and watered but again I think it depends in which block you stay. Would definately go back again as a lovely location, with everything you need (except a kettle) :)

Room Tip: The blocks in the centre circle probably better for smaller kids, with more activites. All pools go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adamsfamily504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Have just returned from 2 weeks at playa ferrera,We to read the reviews and booked anyway.There are lots of great thing about p f but bewarned although lots of apartments looked lovely hope that you are not put in block A this by far is the most run down of the 4 main blocks( we had 9). On arrival girl at reception pulled a face at my booking slip and grumbled something!!?maybe it's who you book with determins which room you get?We then got into room which stank of damp. but i have to say was clean.As for selfcatering the kitchen was old, draws did not open and no proper hob! no cooking utencils had to as for some, pots too big for hob so only had that we could use.security was great as shutters on sliding doors was so tight my husband ( a joiner) struggled to open and close them !As a result spent as much time out of our room as possible.
But look sounds like i'm just having a moan but no, the gardens, location and pools are geat !There just seems to be a big difference in the quality of apartments have to say When we go back to Cala D'or will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank julesMcD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A very nice and friendly place. Basic and clean apartments. Lovely and cosy poolareas and gardens. Will definitely go back. Overall nice. We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment. The apartment was nothing special but ok. The surroundings where really relaxed and nice. Lots of different poolareas. Good for kids. Friendly staff. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ansidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We found the holiday on the Internet for 4star al inclusive at a great price, we are still here, and enjoying our holiday. The apartment is so much better than an hotel room, we have all the facilities of an hotel but the freedom to go out and visit other parts of the island. This is a great place to come to but, it is on a hill, the trip to the restaurant is on a hill, we call it heart attack hill, if. You are fit, no problem,but if disabled, not the place to be.

Room Tip: All apartments are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Wellequipped and spacious apartment. It is showing its age, but is not tatty.three balconies in different sides of the apartment gave us a sunny outside space all day. The pools were a bit cold in October but the kids didnt seem tomind too much.

Room Tip: Top floor seems best as the vegetation may make lower apartments a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakinTIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Cala Ferrera has two main calas (inlets) with small (busy) beaches on them that are really beautiful. We went in mid September, and although there were very few kids of school-going age there, the place was still quite busy with lots of very young families and 'retirees'.. The main street of Cala Ferrera has lots of restaurants offering very similar fare. The stand out ones for us were El Patio (steakhouse) and Mestral (local food, pizza/pasta). A short walk away is Cala Serena and it has a very nice restaraunt nearby called Ficus - does great paella and has excellent service.
We stayed in self-catering apartments run by Travel2Calador group. Ours were called Ferrera Vista and very reasonably priced, but.. you get what you pay for... The bed rooms were well sized but lacked some essentials like bed-side lights, and the kitchen area was quite basic. We needed to request some cups and glasses as we had a party of 7 people (4 adults, 3 young kids) in our group, and only 4 of each in apartment! A microwave would have been a useful addition, but having said that the place had a washing machine which was used while we stayed. It also had aircon which was helpful too. We were given just one apartment key, and despite efforts in requesting another, we had to make do with just one between us while we were there.
The Ferrera Vista is serviced by the reception at Playa Ferrera. Upon arrival we received very little orientation (or even a friendly welcome!), and only by chance after several days there we discovered that we had access to a nice toddler-friendly pool and play area!
Overall I would say it was value for money, but if you stay there, do not set your expectations too high.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magoox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in Playa Ferrera Apartments 24th August to 2nd Sept. Not to be mixed up with the Ferrera Beach Apartments. The receptions are next to each other. We arrived at 1.30am and was greeted by a lovely old man who told one of us to stay with our cases outside while one of us checked in, this was because we would be staying across the road from reception and he didn't want us pulling our cases around unnecessarily. He walked us across the small road to Block E, Apartment No.1. Apartment had everything Electric kettle, iron, ironing board, toaster, fridge, every type of cooking implement you could wish for, 4 ring touch operated hob, air conditioning, mop bucket, broom, tea towel, have never stayed in such a well equipped apartment before.
We found 2 off the swimming pools during our stay, but think there was another one that we missed. You could use the pool at Ferrera Beach apartments, our restaurant looked out on this. Food was good for the money we paid. Breakfast- every day hard boiled eggs and streaky bacon with diffferent foods varied each day i.e. Sausages, Fried eggs, Scrambled Eggs, Beans, small fried cocktail sausages, Fried Tomatoes. As well as Fresh Baguettes, a Variety of cereals, Fruit, Ham, Cheese, Salad, Jams and Honey and Yogurt, plus teas, coffees and juices. Dinner was cold salad bar, which was varied each day. choice of 3 hot dishes, pasta fish and meat always very tasty, sometimes soup with warm baguettes, fruit , ice cream in tubs and cakes and Mousse or jelly for pudding, we was never hungry. Cash point was outside reception. Pool bar was very reasonable and Grace was lovely. Cala Serena beach we found much better than Cala Ferrera Beach which was very crowded. Boat trip from Cala Ferrera beach was lovely, buy tickets on board or as you are waiting to board, lady comes round. 3 adults 1 child to age 12. 71 euros. But she said if we booked again we would get tickets half price. Went to Porto Colom but not much there, but you go for the trip really and it was a glass bottom boat. Entertainment 3 times in 11 nights, 2 Flamenco Shows and a couple singing and playing Guitar. Cala D'or about 20 mins walk to main strip, Plenty of shops, restuarants, pubs with Tribute acts. 2 play grounds with Go carts, Bouncy castles and Trampolines. Lots to see and do. Cala D'or Marina is lovely, but a good 40 minute walk from Cala Ferrera. Overall a great holiday, even flying with Ryanair, was worried after reading the reviews, but had no problems at all, we booked priority boarding and was glad we did, as the other travelers did push and shove a bit to get on. Great holiday would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottinghamBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Ferrera
14.7 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca
#10 of 46 in Cala d'Or
1,993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Es Bolero Aparthotel
Es Bolero Aparthotel
#28 of 46 in Cala d'Or
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Ferrera Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Ferrera Apartments

Address: Calle Forn 27 | Close to Cala D'or, 07669 Cala Ferrera, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ferrera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cala Ferrera
Price Range: £30 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Ferrera Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apartments are on the south east coast of the island of Majorca (district of Felanitx) just a few metres from Cala Ferera beach and a short walk from the tourist and commercial centre of Cala d'Or. They also have the advantage of being close to several other natural beaches such as Cala Serena, Cala Sa Nau, Cala d'Or, Cala Esmeralda, Cala Mondragó, s'Amarador, etc. The complex, which is extremely well-situated, is made up of different buildings with 1, 2 or 3 bedroomed apartments, set amid garden areas with large swimming pools for adults and children alike. We offer you the following services: Reception open from 8,00am to 4,00am, Bar Restaurant, Supermarket, Medical Care (24h), Car, motorcycle and Bicycle Hire, Diving Centre, area with sun terraces and several swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Playa Ferrera Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Ferrera Hotel Cala Ferrera
Playa Ferrera Cala
Playa Ferrera Apartments Majorca/Cala Ferrera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing