We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a recommendable place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensio Restaurante La Marina

Pensio Restaurante La Marina
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Cala Figuera
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a recommendable place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

There are two good things about La Marina: its location and the speed of the service staff. The quality of food was definitely not good. Fish tasted neutral and vegetables swam in olive oil. The menu offered the typical list of Spanish mass tourism dishes. On top you pay too much. My recommendation: Drive to Cala Figuera...have a drink and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Afterwards take a ride to one of the neighboring towns (Santanyi, Campos or Porreres) for a nice dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daninsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    26
    19
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“food poor-average and service terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Yesterday evening we went to La Marina with family (7 adults and 3 kids). We are Spanish and know the area quite well, and it was our first time there (and last).

The place has great views, but the food is not fresh, I would guess frozen. We tried the typical trempó mallorquí but it was quite bad. When they brought the main dishes, they forgot to bring one (a pizza). We reminded the waitress: she apologized for forgetting to write it in order. She promised that the dish would come in 15 minutes. But 15 minutes later, when we asked again, she simply said that, after all, the pizza would not come (they had forgotten again), We called the manager and asked for the book of complaints, which is an official form to place complaints at hotels and restaurants. But they said they didn't have one. This is illegal and we thought of calling the police. But it was late and online reviews are probably more useful...

Avoid this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"Give us your money and be gone"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Food is OK, prices rather high and you will be charged for everything (including a bread roll). All was just about tolerable until we had paid the eighty quid bill. Then we were hurried out without the slightest courtesy, when it wasn't even busy. Bottom line is 'cynical'; meaning strictly for clueless tourists which they know will never return anyway. You can eat well in Cala Figuera, but not here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stimpleton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana Rose
Level Contributor
901 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Go for the Tapas Variados”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We had a very enjoyable light lunch here. There are not a lot of restaurant choices in this wee little town in the winter. The Waiter/Owner was very nice. The view/location is beautiful. I think there menu is way too long (and they have it in 4 languages). They are on the expensive side, and they really should have a "menu del dia", and focus on the items they do best. That said, they do have a page that lists their specialities (the Tapas Variados was one of them), and that's what we ordered. It had croquettas, sautéed mushrooms, peppers de padron, tasty little fishes in herbs and oil, and calamari rings. We also got the olives and bread. All this was plenty for two people. It was the perfect variety and it was all very good (except the calamari rings which were avg). With a couple glasses of wine, the price is about the same as a "menu del dia" anyway. 3.5 stars

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great service! Good food! Great views! Very welcoming and charming owner! Well worth a visit lunch or evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pensio Restaurante La Marina also viewed

 

Been to Pensio Restaurante La Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing