We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyed the Holiday only let down by Block 11” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Holiday only let down by Block 11”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Arrived hot and bothered at the Hotel around Lunch time, we were given our A.I wristbands and told to get some lunch and come back afterwards to check in.
On returning to the reception we stood there along with many other people for around half an hour before being acknowledged by the staff, not a good idea with a tired and hot family who just want to get to their room and have a shower.
Note to Hotel Staff, please ackowledge your guests when they are stood at the desk even if its just to say "I will be with you in a minute". Also the check in procedure needs looking at . I know its big hotel, but the best thing to do would be to give the guests a time to come back if the rooms are not ready instead of ignoring them and having them standing around in a hot lobby.
Informed by reception that our room would be 1128. Oh no ! The dreaded block 11, I was in two minds whether to refuse or not, but thought we might as well go and have a look.
After a hot 10 minute uphill walk, arrived at the blocks and navigated our way to the room, there are no numbers on the buildings and you have to go round the back to see the room numbers.
The "back door" of our ground floor "luxury" accomodation was immediatley adjacent to a sevice road and opens straight on to the bedroom which was a bit disconcerting re security.
First impressions, big dissapointment, The rooms are obviously used as a last resort and were pretty shabby. Plastering by Bill The Bodger, Flat Screen TV in living room did not work, shower curtain hanging by a thread,no telephone, Curtains hanging loose,Dirt on walls and bathroom floor, water damage to tv cabinet (presume room flooded at some point.) Dirty patio with cracked tiles. Patio doors had no proper locks, the only way to secure these was to insert a light mertal pin into a hole drilled into the 2 doors. (See Pics)
Being hot and bothered and having a fraxious 5 year old in tow as well as being10 minutes from the reception with no phone we decided to give the rooms a try anyway.
On the 2nd day went to reception to complain. They advised that they would move us on day 4 if we wanted to move and compensate us with 80 Euros, alternatively if we stayed there, they would give us 100 Euros compensation ( who hoo! but wait, read on dear reader) . I requested that the TV be fixed and the curtains in the living room / bathroom be sorted out and we would think about it.
Curtains fixed on day 2. Get in!
Went to reception on morning of day 3 and spoke with the assistant Manager, she informed me that we could move to the block directly over the road from the main complex on day 4 if we wanted. Alternatively they would give us a 100 Euros, wait for it....... in....Vouchers!. this was eventually increased to include a free meal at the Seal Soul restaurant which is for all inclusive plus guests only. Just a the perfect offer for an all inclusive guest.
Having been around the Hotel for a few days we decided to stay put and asked that TV be fixed. Again.....
TV Fixed on return to room at 11pm. Cowabunga bring on the Olympics.

Advantages to Block 11
Pool area at block 11 whilst shabby, is spacious with plenty of sunbeds and is grassed with trees offering shaded areas.
Nice family atmosphere with no loud music.
Possibly 40 people around the pool in late July / Early August
Pop out of the room at 7am along with everyone else, pick up 2 sun beds, place on grass outside apartment, put on towels and go back to Bed. (Yes I feel gulity but when in Rome etc etc)
Ground floor rooms straight out onto pool area.
No day time animation team
Nearer to the main beaches, (Cala Borga small and quiet. Cala Mondrago bigger but very busy)
Very quiet area other than when aScandanavian family arrived next door and turned into the family from hell mid to late afternoon in their room. You know who you are!.

Disadvantage of Block 11
Shabby rooms
Shabby Pool
Feeling "ripped off"
10 Minute walk for breakfast, lunch & Dinner
10 Minute uphill walk back after eating
15 Minute walk to Kids club
No animation team
Small service cabin for AI guests offers fizzy drinks and beer only. Burgers, Chips, Hot Dogs and Pork Baguettes. No Ice Cream or Lollies for the kids and gets very busy at lunch time.
- Note to Hotel Management - Get someone in to give Oscar some help at lunch time, also give the lad a pay rise as he works very hard for you in difficult conditions.
Missing the quality lunches at the main restaurant if not wanting to head out again.

The main complex pool areas is vey busy and we never saw a free sunbed after 10.30 on a morning.

Food at the buffet restaurant was excellent, with help yourself bars for beer, wine and soft drinks, booked the mediteranean restaurant one night, but could not really see the point of doing this unless you sat outside to enjoy the views as there is a less choice, a longer queue for food and a queue at the bar for drinks.

It seemed that you could get international brands at the various bars if your face fit, which mine obviously didn`t as when I asjed for a JD and Coke the bar man saId I would have to pay for it.(Hmm let me think about that) Cocktails appear to be free but they are made in a vending type machine and are a bit sickly sweet for my taste.

The only free Ice Cream available for the kids is the scoop variety in the Restaurant.

Evening entertainment was mostly provided by inhouse staff and consisted mainly of Dancing shows which got a bit samey after a while .The School of Rock show however was very good N.B Sitting on the warm concrete steps on an Evening has played havoc with my farmers - take a cushion.

We used our Vouchers for a couple of massages at the Spa which were very good - Thanks Simon (Lovely boy!).The Sea Soul restaurant and bar was always empty when we walked passed every Evening so we did not feel the urge to take advantage of the free meal voucher.

Many thanks to Rachel who taught my boy to swim in 3 half hour swimming lessons up at the main pool. That alone made our Holiday. such a shame she has now gone home as she is great with the kids and so patient.
N.B There is a also a German chap up at the main pool who teaches every day and seems to know his stuff and is good with the kids as well. (Swm Sharky or something the company is called)

This is very much an International Hotel which means less English yobs and more Europeans which we like, although some of the Eastern Europeans have yet to earn the art of queing.

Although perhaps I have focused on the bad points overall we had an excellent holday.

My tip: when offered block 11 refuse outright immediatley

Room Tip: Not block 11 or 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NorbertColon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

Nevertheless we would like to come back on your comments regarding our compensation policies. We find it important to clear the misunderstanding on the subject as in Iberostar compensation is only considered in the very unusual and unlikely case of not being able to accomplish a contracted service. During your stay, our director of the Iberostar Club Cala Barca decided to donate your family some very nice little gifts in order to achieve your complete satisfaction. As in our Iberostar Club Cala Barca the same room type is found in different buildings we always try to organize the assignations so that each guest becomes the location he prefers respecting the booked room type. In your particular case we were perfectly able to give you the accommodation you booked and therefore compensation is no option.

Nevertheless we understood that for your comfort as a family you preferred a location closer to the main facilities where due to the high occupation in summer season all the rooms of the category you reserved were occupied until the fourth day of your stay. Taking in consideration that we always strive to accomplish maximal satisfaction, we hoped that a nice touch in shape of some vouchers to discover some of our additional services like massage in the spa or a marvelous diner at the exclusive Seal Soul restaurant, might surpass all your expectations since strictly seen, there was no need to do anything like this, because as you well described; block 11 has some very nice advantages being spacious with plenty of sun beds and grassed with trees offering shaded areas, nice family atmosphere with no loud music and few people around the pool in late July early August.

Further we are glad to read that you could enjoy the culinary efforts of our cooks at the main restaurant. It is the best reward for our day by day labors that you value our buffet as excellent and we will certainly congratulate our chef, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to keep working motivated in the future.

To continue we are delighted to hear that the requests you made were immediately fulfilled. The helpfulness and kindness of our employees is one of our main strengthens and we appreciate that you confirmed that each time you had a petition, it was immediately fulfilled. This illustrates perfectly the kind of personalized service we are famous for, and we thank you for high lightening this characteristic. We will also transmit your satisfaction with Rachel´s and Oscar´s efforts as we know that they will celebrate your kind words towards them.

In Iberostar Club Cala Barca it is our goal to offer splendid and unforgettable vacations and phrases like “overall we had an excellent holiday” indicate us that on this occasion we have been successful. We hope to may receive you again in the future and send you sunny regards.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    821
    270
    86
    47
See reviews for
1,514
335
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We went to the Iberostar Club Cala Barca in May - 2 adults, 1 2 year old. Completely faultless holiday. The hotel is maintained to a very high standard as you would expect from an Iberostar, staff unobtrusively cleaning away while we relaxed. There was an excellent food selection and unless you were particularly picky there was something for everyone's tastes.

The animation staff were brilliant with the kids and although our lo was too young for the hotel run "kids club" she was welcomed along to do craft while we stayed and helped. The evening show was a massive hit for old and young - the evening shows were varied - interesting - what you would expect from european animation team.

My favourite bar was the lobby bar - where you can help yourself to Cava of an afternoon mmmm lovely. The complex is spread over a large site, we were about 5 minute walk from the main restaurant and pool complex but we had requested a room away from the main stage as we were concerned about excess noise in the evening for our lo. As it happened, she was happy enough to stay out for "showtime!"

All inclusive drinks were fine - though cocktails were not included, a supplement involved but there was plenty included so not a bother.

We had such an amazing time we would certainly return to this hotel and would favour the Iberostar chain over another brand if given the choice.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a buggy there are not lifts to the rooms. Ask for a bigger balcony, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We've just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel, I travelled with my partner, kids aged 10, 8 and almost 3 and my Mum and step Dad.
Initial thoughts on arrival were positive the main complex is clean, there is a good selection of drinks and snacks on offer and the kids entertainment is first class.
We were allocated a room in block 12 which is a good 10 minute walk with a buggy and to get from the main entertainment area you also have to negotiate quite a few steep steps.
After two days of hiking up the hill to the room ( very inconvenient if you forget something or if younger kids need a nap ) we asked for an upgrade to a room near the pool. We had been prepared to pay extra but were surprised when we were offered two rooms by the heated pool for free. They also gave us 100 euro vouchers for each room for the inconvenience.
The new rooms were much better and we no longer had to take everything we would need for the day down to the pool in the morning. I should say block 12 does have it's own pool with a snack bar. The snacks are fairly poor though and the only alcoholic drink available was beer, not a patch on what was available at the main complex.
I'm unsure why these rooms are even allocated to families with young children as it's very inconvenient being so far away from the main site, you couldn't have nipped to your room while the kids were in kids club, it was too far away.
Sunbeds aren't too bad, they're locked up and you can't put towels down before 10am which is great if you don't want to be up at 5am to reserve a bed like so many people seem to do.

The main restaurant is best used towards the start of meal times, any time in the middle of the sessions means you are likely to have to queue. You can reserve the other restaurant in the evenings if you want to eat at a set time without having to wait on a table.

Food is reasonable, there was always a good selection available. It's not what I would call great food but I'm yet to find any restaurant all inclusive or not that I would want to eat in three times a day for 10 days without getting a bit fed up.

The entertainment area also gets very busy and seats are hard to find, people reserve the tables and chairs using shoes, jackets etc so if you want a good seat for the evening you have to eat early to get a seat. Despite the place being very busy the bars are very well managed and there's rarely a queue for drinks.

We took a trip to the western water park, we hired a car for this and it's about an hours drive away. Great day out for all ages and the BOOMERANG is a must!

We used our 100 euro voucher to visit Marineland but didn't really enjoy it, we were there for about 6 hours on a coach trip but three hours would have been more than enough time to see everything. We ended up waiting around for hours sitting by a toddler pool with nothing to do. Palma aquarium is a much better trip.

All of the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and were happy to refund my 20 euros for the wifi that doesn't work too well - it's in the middle of a forest so I think they're well used to refunding this cash when people complain.

All in all it was a good holiday, I can't complain although not having to move would have made the experience much better.

I wouldn't return but I probably wouldn't return to any resort I've visited but I can say that this hotel is one of my more positive holiday experiences.

Room Tip: If you are in one of the further away blocks ask to be moved before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, Thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Club Cala Barca. The head departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your comments with our team. Your positive and encouraging words motivated us to keep on working with joy and enthusiasms.
Iberostar crew will continue working to improve some of our services and facilities and we took good note about the difficulty you experienced to enjoy the restaurant or animation at rush hours and we will do our best find solutions to expedite this matters.
Thank you for highlighting out the entertaining, the personal service and friendliness of our staff as well as our immaculate housekeeping service. It is fantastic to hear you were satisfied with our outstanding cuisine and varied gastronomy as also with the fact that in even in high season we manage to run our bars so efficiently that queuing is not necessary.
Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback which gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests an even better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Iberostar Club Cala Barca again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for one week at the Cala Barca Iberostar, booked our own flight & accomodation so no agent involved.
'The room' ....smelled musty and water damage to skirting and door frames...thought nothing of it until we ran the shower ...water flowed from the shower across the floor and into the hallway.
Very unsafe with 2 small children ages 4 & 2. After 2 days of putting up with the apartment flooding with an inch of water and being beside an amusement arcade we were moved to different room. Oh yes and this is a known problem to the staff , many ground floors rooms near the main complex with no bath and have shower issues.

'The food'.... we normally stay in four star plus hotels and at these prices expected that....
how wrong we were. If you have no issues eating processed cheese, concentrate orange juice,processed chicken nuggets , tinned fruit...this is what you'll get, the quality of this hotels food is terrible. There was no organisation at meal times in comparison to other family hotels H10 , GF hotels both 4 & 5 star to name a few.

Please understand if you travel regularly on holiday to good hotels stay clear of this one.
If you got a bunch of kids and normally do self catering or apartment or a Butlins then this is the place for your family. Its a four star for kids activities but thats about it.

Despite the Iberostar Group normally having good reputation we will never return to this hotel again, its miles from anything, with a poor stoney beach 50mtrs across, poor food, some bad rooms, and the complex is scattered in all directions.
Only positive thing to say is that the staff were excellent...well done considering.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that on this occasion your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Iberostar Club Cala Barca, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Also, we regret your disappointment about the room and the food because we always attempt that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and that they can enjoy the culinary part of their holiday. We took good note of your comments and we passed them to the responsible employees of the concerning departments in order to revise and improve the procedures to ensure they meet our demanding quality standards.

On the other hand we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were excellent and did well.

We hope to may take the opportunity to serve you again and cause an excellent and lasting impression, through our high quality service and the fulfillment of our Iberostar hotel standards.

Kind regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

First of all this Hotel is situated in a national park and believe me the views are STUNNING!We arrived at the hotel(me ,hubby, and 2 kids age 13 and 9) at 11pm and were welcomed by friendly staff, and were quickly directed a snack bar for some food before checkin in, happy days!, We were pleased with our room (4771) situated across the road from the main hotel, literally 5 mins walk,room was spotless, big enough and looked refurbished. People have complained in there reviews about the hotel being mostly German and hardly any English,,HOORAY i say to that ,,,we came on holiday to get away from the brits! lol, and as for the sunbed situation we found it no problem at all,we got to the pool for 9.50(after having nice welcomed layin) beds unlocked at 10am , got 4 beds put towels on and went for breakfast which is served till 10.30 and buy this time its nice and quiet easy to get a table. Food was excellent we were Premium all inclusive , its the first time we have done all inclusive and we LOVED it,this entitled us to free mini bar,complimentary 30 min massage at the spa , free wifi(although couldnt connect prob due to being situated in a forest) international drinks,I sipped Cava and Mojitos all day it was Glorious, and the food, there was plenty of choice, ample amounts, and you must vistit the "Seasoul beach club" on the beach , we went there every day for lunch, its SO chilled out beautifull view of the sea, we had calamari, veal, smoke salon, goat cheese salads ,club sandwiches, all prepaired beautifully, with excellent service, its a "definite must". Evening meals were lovely too, we booked the mediterranean most nights mainly because the other resturant gets really busy and by booking ur guaranted a table at the time you prefer , and we loved it , kids included, each night was different, offering , huge T-bones, Gambas, Pork and crackling, Lobster, Beef joints, lovely hams, and everything u can imagine to go with it, we loved it all. Basically plenty of food and drink from breakfast tho to dinner. Its got tennis courts, football pitched(take ur trainers or u cant play), archery, (free) diving, yoga and spinning going on outside in the sun,water aerobics , ping pong, beach volley ball! Entertainment ok , a little cheesy but fun, all round entertainment in ALL languages,tons of songs sung in english for us to sing along to and a different theme every night from the star friends team. We loved it here so much that when booking our holidays in future we will now look for an Iberostar Hotel.And now im even more depressed and want to go back !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Oakley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We loved it, the kids loved it, very clean and we all felt very safe within the hotel and nearby beaches. The kids club is 1st class and gives you time to chill, The food is very good standard, we only went all inclusive the 2nd week of the 2 week stay. On day 12 I took all inclusive fever! get me out of here! but once sidated I was back uo and running the next day!

We will go back for sure, possibly dodge the all inclusive completley and pay as we go, so as to get a good taste of the local restaurants. To make this possible within budget if you buy in fruit and cereals for breakfast, you can buy then buy the Lunch in the complex for a low cost (35 euro totla for the 4 of us) in the Pizza restaurant and kids are free and older kids 1/2 price, pay at the desk, that allows a decent bit for evening meal locally. (when we were there 2 adults + 1 child + 1 under 6 free to upgrade to all inc 100 euro per day)

Note:

If you do go without the all inclusive you can upgrade at anytime, but when you upgrade you need to do from then until the last day of your stay,you can't just pick radom days, but remember you can buy one off meals. (pay at the reception)

Oh...and the spin bikes were in a funny way very enjoyable! @ 40 degree heat you can actually feel your blood boilng!..40 min class twice a day

Room Tip: With buffet food its hard not to over eat, go up 1st with a small plate for a starter portion, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuggyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I have rated this hotel 3star because parts of the hotel are 2 star and parts are 4 star ,we was put in the 2 star block ,block 1 a mile up the hill this looks like a private app block that Iberostar bought cheap and put their beddin and curtains in and are tryin to pass off has Iberostar , the staff acc across the road is better , we stayed 1 night in there until they found us a room in the main complex which is where everyone thinks they are goin,,everyday there was a que of people wanting to change if you don't complain loud enough you are given a voucher for 100 euros ! We moved into block 55 this is very nice sometimes a bit noisy but most blocks have issues some are over the kitchens or shops ,, overall a very good holiday ate in Med restaurant could always find something we liked fresh lobster 1night, king prawns etc....Good quality drinks if you smile a nd are polite with bar staff drinks are better Smirnoff vodka and bottled beer if you ask for it,,,sunbed scramble at 10 am is a joke not enough sunbeds for guests or seats to watch shows but if people didn't reserve beds all day then maybe lay on them for 20 mins or save chairs for kids that have no intentions of sitting on them because they are playing things would be better,,I would stay here again if I could guarantee block 55 or 56 but would be wary off recommending this hotel to friends !,

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WTS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully explained your feelings mattering your recent stay. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us improve our services. Accordingly we have taken note of your comments and are doing our best to adapt and improve our services based on constructive comments such as yours.


According to the hotel policies, reserving sun beds is not allowed. We try our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during the high season where this occurs more often and we apologies that exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to avoid this.

Related to the booking, we are very pleased to explain the working of it. When you book, what you are buying is a type of accommodation, this means the category of the room with own views and rates, as for example Family Room, Double Sea Side View, Family Room Garden View, Family Room Priority Location, Family Room Side Sea View, or Junior Suite Sea View. For coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center, to make sure you become what you actually desire. We also invite you to visit our web page in order to be informed about the different possibilities.

On the other hand it fills us with joy that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our cooks. In Iberostar Club Cala Barca we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of its guests so that each and every dining experience proves sensational, offering the most delicious international, Spanish, and Majorcan dishes as well as cocktails, Italian fare, and tasty drinks.

We would like to thank you once more for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mondrago
12.9 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inturotel Sa Marina
Inturotel Sa Marina
#1 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
35.7 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Iberostar Ciudad Blanca
Iberostar Ciudad Blanca
#8 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
30.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
32.0 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Address: Sa Barca Trancada s/n | Porto Petro, Mallorca, 07691 Cala Mondrago, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mondrago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca is an all-inclusive, 4-star hotel fully renovated in 2010. Sitting on the shoreline of the Mediterranean, on the island of Majorca, the hotel is tucked away in a natural, prized enclave. A 100% child-friendly hotel, where your perfect family holiday and relaxation are guaranteed.The scenery and coves surrounding the hotel as well as the warm, helpful staff, who will make you feel right at home during your trip to Sa Barca Trencada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Iberostar, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel Cala Mondrago
Iberostar Cala Barca
Iberostar Cala Mondrago
Club Cala Barca
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca Majorca/Cala Mondrago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing