We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Resort”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I'll try and keep my review relatively brief but I know the hotel management read this, so I'll start with the negative or constructive criticism:

I wasn't happy before the holiday to be told I have to pay €21 a night to have a room close to restaurant, pool etc. for a room of same standard. As a returning customer I didn't feel valued. But I kicked up a fuss and when I got there they granted my request. I deleted my previous review on this matter, but felt I had to write a negative one on here to get a response.
I asked a bar man for an Ipanema cocktail (ginger Ale and lemon) and he gave me lemonade and coke. (Which w the same colour) When I told him it was wrong and I don't like coke he looked at menu realised he was wrong, and had a tantrum.
Could do with a clock in reception.
Maybe an a la carte restaurant.

I realise I'm scraping the barrel with negatives because there aren't many. It's a lovely family resort in a tranquil location. There's no need to go to cala dor as the shops on resort sell same stuff at roughly same price.
There's a lot of great touches like a jazz band and canapés as you walk in to dinner, staff with trays of fruit, cocktails and ice cream randomly walking passed your sunbed by pool.
Restaurant food is buffet but very high quality, there is a quieter restaurant which is also buffet. Can't fault either, other that they didn't do sushi this year, that was so nice last year.
This resort is great for children. The kids clubs, mascots, evening shows, pools etc. are excellent.

I would also like to mention how friendly and helpful the staff in all departments are. Apart from that one moment with the bar man, that was probably just having a bad day as we all do from time to time. They all made our holiday and its just a shame we have to come home!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeDavid36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    853
    283
    90
    50
See reviews for
1,594
349
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just back from a weeks all inclusive at this resort and we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Food was great with an amazing choice to suit all tastes. Accommodation was very good - we had a family room even though there was just the two of us, so a separate bedroom and a living area with flat screen TV and balcony. All very clean and in good condition.

Lots of pre-school kids was a bit of an issue, you could always hear one crying or having a temper !! But you got used to it and just got on with enjoying the resort. Some great walks through the adjacent national park walking around the various coves and isolated small beaches. All are well marked and the views are to die for.

The staff are so friendly and helpful and made the holiday that bit better and certainly more enjoyable. What could they do to improve on ? I'd suggest that the Mediterranean restaurant be for adults and children say over 10 only so that couples without children can be sure of having a quiet meal without interruption from over tired children. That still leaves a choice of two other places to eat with kids under that age. Also, it would be good for say the bar and indoor and outdoor seating area near reception be adult only for the same reasons as above. Again that still leaves numerous other bars for those with kids.

Room Tip: Those further away from the main areas are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Went as a couple , yes there are lots of little ones but did not bother us . the pool set up with two long pools is lovely , enjoyed the beach , did not it think worth playing extra upgrade for to get the use of the sea soul beach restaurant used the money to go to cala Dor ( visit the coco lounge here ) staff lovely v clean got free upgrade some drinks branded , people seemed to enjoy the entertainment too. Great places if you don't mind not being able to walk out anywhere, v pretty setting would go again

Stayed in block 71 perfect v close but very quiet, I could not even see block 12 on the map that people have moaned about , full benefit of air con in a family room you need to keep door open

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous resort for a family holiday with children.
The hotel is built around a cove with a small beach called Cala Barca.
The hotel is spotless clean.
There are 3 breakfast restaurants, 2 dinner restaurants plus beach restaurant but if you are All inc you still have to pay to eat at this one. Entertainment is provided every night for kids, a short stage show and mini disco, plus about an hours stage show for adults either singing dancing or comedy.
The food here is brilliant. There is a show kitchen in the main restaurant where chefs cook both meat and fish on a grill, plus there will be a main show dish. On our last night the show dish was huge salmon like I have never seen before and tasted sensationally. Plus there will be at least 5 other main course choices plus every side dish or salad you can think of. Amazing desserts and fresh fruit! Fortunately there are loads of activities included I joined in Zumba and aqua aerobics plus did a few other classes needed to due to my addiction to chocolate pancakes! There is a kids play area various kids clubs, diving, tennis, football volleyball an on site spa! I love this resort and have been here 3 out of the last 4 years. Cala mondrago about 20 mins away has 2 beautiful beaches, and there's a Star Fish catamaran that picks up in Cala Barca which is a great day trip. The staff are so friendly and always have a smile. The management team have an eye for detail and make sure everything is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just returned from a 10 day all inclusive holiday. We found the Hotel spotless, staff very friendly and helpful. Also a good choice of food, something for everyone.
As a couple we chose to eat in the Mediterranean restaurant each evening as it was quieter.
We would recommend the hotel for families as there is plenty to do. Some activities you may have to pay extra.
We hired a car for a few days, which was easy to do, and found Majorca a lovely island.
We have put it on our list for next year !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We chose a quiet room, a short walk from the main complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Having read reviews asked not to be in block 11 or 12 but more central. Had to wait couple of hours for room in block 55 to be ready but no problem. Good central location but very noisy at night. Staff were all excellent, food great but not enough for vegetarians. Pools too cold to swim in. Good outdoor spin class though bikes need maintenance. People up at 730 to put towels on beds very annoying! Good childrens entertainment and hotel kids club was very good, well done paco and Ashley,
Would stay here again

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank carol19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We recently holidayed there. I was with my wife and 3 year old child. It was worth paying extra for a nice view. We had a stunning view of the sea from our room. Complex is very large and in a pretty remote location expect to walk a bit on site. It wasn't a problem for us as the facilities on site and near by are fine.

Pro's - Food & drink is of a decent quality all spirits were branded not local rubbish, there are 4 pools so plenty of choice, bars where in the main not too bad for queuing and staff are friendly and accommodating. Worthwhile pre-booking the Med Restaurant to avoid the madness of the buffet.

Con's - We came towards the end of half term and it was manic once the majority of older kids went home it was fine, the beach on site is pretty poor but you have a decent one about 20 mins walk away, walls are paper thin so you wouldn't want to be next to a 'noisy' couple who like to move furniture at various unsociable hours and various other activities! Wish the beach bar was part of the all inclusive as I would have liked to have relaxed there rather than listen to the 'entertainment'. There was plenty for kids to do on site such as a park, pool, kids club & evening entertainment although the latter was a bit repetitive.

Overall though I enjoyed it for a week not sure I could have stayed there for 14 days as been in one location with very similar food for each meal would have been too much,

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view and pre-book the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JC_123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mondrago
37.2 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.7 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
35.7 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,278 reviews
32.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,507 reviews
30.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca
Address: Sa Barca Trancada s/n, 07691 Cala Mondrago, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mondrago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cala Mondrago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congratulations, you have just found the Official Friendship Creator for your children: the hotel IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca. They will play and make inseparable friends here during their stay. And best of all? You will enjoy some free time while they have amazing experiences. Discover more reasons to choose our family hotel, just one minute’s walk from the beach and designed totally with children in mind. Fun for your children. Whatever their age, they will have a great time in the Miniclub, Maxiclub and Teenclub. Painting workshops, water games, handicrafts, minidisco…. They’re guaranteed to make friends! There are also dozens of shows for the whole family to enjoy, like musicals, magic shows and live music. The most comprehensive All Inclusive. This family hotel is so big and has so many facilities and restaurants that you’ll feel like you are in a small summer holiday village. Can you smell it? There is Mexican, Italian, Spanish and international cuisine. There are even food trucks and ice cream stands! And, of course, Mallorca’s most typical dishes. A thousand and one sports. At this All Inclusive hotel, you can take tennis and diving classes. You can also take part in dozens of other sporting activities such as hiking, Pilates, swimming, Zumba and archery. Holidays are the best time to do what you enjoy most! Ready, steady…, dive in! We have 8 swimming pools for all ages and a fun pool in which youngsters can enjoy a world of adventures. They can invade the castle, hide in the tunnels, slide down the water chutes or drench themselves under the big waterfall. Take a break. Try a massage with aromatherapy oils containing natural plant extracts in the SPA Sensations or enjoy a dip in the whirlpool bath with your partner while your children enjoy their activities. Just what you need! Idyllic beaches. Not only are you right on the sea front in Porto Petro, but you can also find other coves nearby in the Mondrago Natural Park. The green of the pine groves contrasting with the turquoise sea and the golden sands are sure to amaze you. Pure nature. There’s no better place than the Mondrago Natural Park to pack your rucksack and go on an excursion with your children. The kids will have the time of their lives watching the birds or seeing the waves crash against the cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Iberostar, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Cala Barca Hotel Cala Mondrago
Iberostar Cala Barca
Iberostar Cala Mondrago
Club Cala Barca
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca Majorca/Cala Mondrago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing