We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All inclusive holiday at affordable price”
Review of HSM Canarios Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HSM Canarios Park
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have recently returned from a two week break and we loved it. We had read so many of the reviews and were anxious but listen there are always people who want to moan about everything. I'm not saying everything was perfect it can do with a few tweaks but for what you pay you cannot complain.

The food was always hot, lovely and a good choice to choose from. Ok at the end if the second week I was slightly tired of it but you have to remember they are catering for lots of tastes and so they offer meals you would expect in the medditerain countries. If you don't like it and want English food stay in England! They do their best! We always found things to eat and so did my two fussy children! There is always pizza and chips if you want!

The staff work solidly from morning to night to keep the place clean and tidy, our room was always clean and so was the dining room. People could help by putting their empty glasses in the bin to help prevent wasps around the sunbeds.

We always managed to get a sunbed and didn't que at daft times, they could do with a few more parasols as that is what everyone ques for! But don't be put off by this as there are loads of places to laze about if you can't get beside the pool.

The main beach is lovely and the mini bus will keep returning if there are people waiting to go or return. The town is ok and can be walked to in about 20 minutes. There are limited shops and lots of English bars but nothing traditional about it. A trip on the land trains good but not cheap! 15 euros for a family of four but you can get off and back on again later, a taxi however costs 5 euros but to be honest we used the mini bus as it was just as good!

Finally the entertainment team were fabulous, my children loved going to the kids club and taking part in the activities, especially when they won a certificate and went up onstage! They work all day and return for the evening entertainment my children loved the mini disco, they are still singing the songs now a week on! They are really missing it. I felt comfortable knowing that the animation team took great care of the whilst they where in the club and I could relax for a while.

There are a few issues, I did say it wasn't perfect! They need more lifts! Climbing up to the6 floor with a sleeping 4 year old is not fun, and I lost count with how many times one of them wasn't working! it doesn't help with lazy people using it for the lower floors instead of walking and the older kids pressing buttons so it stops at every floor!
The bunk beds need replacing, we moved the top mattress on the floor as I didn't feel happy with them sleeping on the top bunk as it was very wobbly and the tv was suspended halfway along the bunk with hardly any space between the bed and tv.
Finally it is a great hotel for young families but in the evening it was not geared up for those over 12 and they would just run about bored! They could do with running a disco in one of the empty areas not used in the summer months.

Anyway a great hotel for the money you pay, go with an open mind and you won't be disappointed! We are looking at booking again so it can't be that bad!

Room Tip: If you have young children ask for a low number floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Customer Service at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and that you have spent a nice time with us. We hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

we stayed here as a last minute thing - it wasn't my sort of place - hugely crowded everywhere, same sort of food dished up of an average rating and Cala De Mallorca itself, which apart from the beach, isn't great! We ate out most nights but every bar has air hockey so you are often eating to the sound of the din of something - and worse still most of the bars are choc full of smokers. I love the beach its the only great thing about the place. The hotel itself, well the staff are friendly, apart from that the rooms are dire - we did have to change due to overlooking the pool and just hearing the din each night to the early hours of the morning - they moved us to the other side which was much quieter - we had to steal some extra pillows though as they were that thin. Not my type of place - will stick to Cala D'or, which is much more attractive and upmarket.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Customer Service at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for you comments. We are really sorry that our hotel was not liked you have expected. We will inform our quality department about all your suggestions.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just returned after the three of us have spent a week here, first of all this is 3 star which means average, so you get in return average accommodation, good bits and bad bits ,you want 5 star pay twice as much money - simple. Right firstly it's miles away from the airport but there is none of the magaluf crowd which is great mostly all families and has everything a town can offer we was never bored and we have a 5year old, two great beaches, town 20 minutes walk and you must visit a'lfil pizzeria the best food and service a bar can offer pizzas that will blow you away so tasty and good price, so the hotel well it's bloody huge, two big pools which you have no chance of ever getting a sunbed at the biggest pool due to the idiots that que early to get one, just go to the beach like we did everyday was fantastic and get a pic nic easy, the rooms are very clean and done daily and the staff are really helpful had allot of footy banter with one of the the guy receptionists and comments saying the kitchen staff are not friendly they work from morning till night and noticed allot of people giving them hard time well there not on holiday you are so give them s break they work really hard and you can have a chat with them and they Are friendly, there is regular bus routes outside the hotel to palma and other towns 48 euros return to Palma which I recommend great place, food is average it's with regret we did eat out every night becAuse I want a meal and there was never a proper main meal great breakfast and lunch but poor evening meals but it's 3 star end of. There is one big problem with this place too many ignorant British and German moaning families your on holiday crack a smile and stop letting your kids run wild it's just stupid and dire s number of accidents one child split his head right open near the pool which looked real nasty so many kids falling over, would I go back - well no never but would go to Palma again amazing place, so if your paying sod all for a holiday at Around 1500 All inclusive wake up you pay for what you get

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jambojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Customer Service at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel. However, we will inform our quality department about all your suggestions. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Well, second visit back to the Canarios and I wasn't disappointed, I went for a week last year and didn't want to come home so booked for 2 weeks this time and still didn't want to come home! I really think that this is a lovely friendly very clean hotel, it can get a bit rowdy at times with children running around but they are just having fun and enjoying their holiday, I went with my two boys, 14 and 7 and they had a fantastic time and met some great friends, both of them were entertained for the whole 2 weeks.
The staff are very friendly and have great personalities if you take the time to be courteous and get to know them, one of the bar men even engaged in a keep fit session with my youngest and his friend giving them advice on how to do press ups! The reception staff were also very attentive and helpful. My son had a mild ear infection whilst there and we asked reception to call the doctor who came to our room within the hour (cost 70 euro, so best to take some extra cash in case of needing the Dr as your E111 doesn't cover that as I thought it might) Dr was very kind and friendly and my son was on the mend within a day or two, and I would recommend calling the Dr via the hotel rather than going into town as a Dr approached me after seeing me enquiring at the door of a closed clinic for opening times and said he was the Dr for the hotel but when I asked the receptionist she said this wasn't the case!
The food was fine, you certainly wont go hungry, lots of choice but can get repetitive but still i enjoyed every meal, no tummy upsets, the restaurant can get busy at times but its really no hardship to wait a few minutes for a table at peak times, as for sunbeds, yes if you want prime position then you probably have to get up early, but we came down at 11ish on occasion and still managed to get a couple of sunbeds, I do think this depends on the capacity of the hotel at the time but in two weeks duration we never found this a problem.
The entertainment team work soo hard and are very friendly but don't bother you if you don't want to join in.
The rooms are not huge but fine for the purpose, we only slept, showered and got changed in there, the shower sometimes was luke warm but again no hardship considering the climate, this depends on what time you decide to shower, our ceiling fan really did the trick, no problems there, we all had a good night sleep.
The town centre is about a 20 minute walk away but a pleasant walk, I was lucky to meet some great people (Nat, Tom, Rob and Mick and their great kids :-)) and we all walked into town a couple of time and we ate out, lovely food and plenty to do for the kids, a go carting area is central and the kids loved it to break up the routine of the holiday.
All in all its a fab place to stay for down to earth people, the most important things for me is safety for the kids, cleanliness, hygienic restaurant with good food and good entertainment and all those boxes were ticked! :-) Id certainly go back again.

Room Tip: ask for a low floor with a sea view as the lifts aren't that reliable and the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Customer Service at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comment. Our hotel staff will be delighted to read it, we know they are doing their best to make our clients´ holidays really special and it is always great to know the clients appreciate their hard work. Thank you. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is kept very clean, the food and drink was as good as any all inclusive I have done. There was plenty of choice in the dining room. If you can’t find something to eat then you are a fussy eater. You always had a choice of two types of pasta with sauces, salads, pizza and chips plus more if you didn’t like the meat of the day.

The rooms were adequate in size, air conditioning could be hired but we found the fan did the job for us.

The bar staff were polite and efficient. Even if the queue was long it didn’t take long to get served.

Plenty to do, table tennis, 5 a side, shooting, squash, volley ball plus more.

The entertainment was good; entertainment staff was friendly and worked hard all day. If you want Vegas quality though go to Las Vegas.

Get a shower early if you’re on a high floor, the water sometimes goes cold them stops for several minutes so if there are more than two of you showering it could take some time. Not a major issue though.

The hotel was over crowded (main holiday weeks); it seems they have increased the buildings capacity by putting bunk beds into twin rooms. They need to extend the dining room and pool area to accommodate the extra occupancy. With a little patience we always managed to get a seat or a sun bed though.

More sun loungers and chairs are needed and a dining room manager to seat people would help rather than guest standing around waiting for a table at busy times.

My only major issue with our stay was not with the hotel but with a minority of parents that let their kids treat the hotel like a playground unsupervised. This was a small minority though and as guests come and they wont be there when you go.

One incident in the dining room ended with a child with cold drinks all over his head.
It’s a matter of time before a child running around the dining room gets scalded by someone carrying hot soup.
Children trying to serve themselves during busy times created long queues. They just couldn’t reach the food. People ended up helping them whilst the child’s parents sat on their arses.

You might need an eye test when you get home. Laser pens seemed acceptable, great fun shining into people’s faces. One parent got his son back though. He had his own laser pen and shone it back in his sons face, oh how they laughed.

A lost child room would be great for the minority of parents at this hotel; they could then collect their children at the end of each night.

If you have children then this is the hotel for you. If you don’t like children then you need a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Hotel Good points.
Clean, friendly, good food, good drink and great value

Hotel bad points.
Needs a few more chairs and sun loungers. Sells laser pens.

I would stay here again but out of season. Good value at this price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Customer Service at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for your nice comments and for share your expierences with us. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our good service. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

the staff were welcoming and friendly even taught my daughter spanish whilst staying in the hotel rooms are clean and plesent bathroom was spacious and very clean, food is at all hours and very nice even gives out sweets for the children which was totally unexpected, two main pool areas both with poolside bars plenty of room to sit, lots of activities and things to do free like crazy golf, bowls, tennis ect... free tut tut train to town+beach. receptionists were very pleasent helped with any problems which there werent many of, lady in souviners shop was very friendly and polite entertainment for all the family every night even had parrots visit one night to take pictures with only downside is the long journey from airport to hotel but its well worth it as the standard is very high at this hotel for the low price we will definatley returning to this hotel even planned to book again as soon as we left.
we recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank georgina779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Customer Service at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comment. Our hotel staff will be delighted to read it, we know they are doing their best to make our clients´ holidays really special and it is always great to know the clients appreciate their hard work. Thank you. We hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Have just returned from a week's holiday with my husband and two kids aged 8 and 6 and we had a great time, the kids loved it and hotel is very much geared up to keeping kids entertained. The animation team are fantastic. Evening entertainment is good but could be better, Rooms are small and basic but you really only use it to shower and sleep. Maid service daily and our room was spotless. One negative was that our third floor room was very hot in the evening with only a ceiling fan to provide cool air. The second negative was that the food was very repetitive although we did always find something to eat and there is a good choice of food but always fish or pork as the meat option. Transfer is a bit of a nightmare and I would recommend paying extra and getting a taxi. Overall we had an enjoyable stay here and would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Customer Service at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our entertainment team. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#10 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3,258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Globales America
Globales America
#7 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel JS Es Corso
Hotel JS Es Corso
#4 of 7 in Portocolom
361 reviews
5.4 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#1 of 3 in Cala Mandia
1,898 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Canarios Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Canarios Park

Address: Calle Antena, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range: £49 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Canarios Park 3*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel HSM Canarios Park is especially focused on families, offering all kind of facilities and services to make the holidays unforgettable for both parents and children. All inclusive board, spacious areas to practice different sports and our fantastic entertainment team guarantee good fun. The hotel is open from May to October. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Canarios Park is situated in Calas de Mallorca, a small resort in the south east part of the island, 70 km away from Palma de Mallorca and 60 km from the airport. The area is known thanks to the tourism, which began in the 60s and nowadays offers a wide range of hotels, shops, bars and restaurants. The resort has 3 charming beaches: Cala Antena (the closest one, 400 m away), which is distinguished by the verticality of its coast. The other 2 beaches: Domingos Gran and Domingos Petit, are located 400 m away from the village centre and 1,5 km away from the hotel (there is a free transport service to the beach Domingos Gran). In the proximity there is Porto Cristo (15 km away), a lovely village with its famous Caves of Drach. Nearby there are many beautiful caves with spectacular views, as well as small and authentic fishing villages which complement the advantages of this hardly known area, but over the years has become more and more appreciated and chosen by tourists. ROOMS: The hotel offers double and single rooms with a cozy and up-to-date decoration. All of the rooms include a bathroom, ceiling fan, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and balcony! Single rooms have a shower. There are some rooms that can allocate families with 2 children (on request). GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers an all inclusive food and beverage package. The extensive buffet includes a wide selection of cold and hot dishes, as well as a big variety of desserts and fruit. The restaurant also offers some dishes prepared instantly in show cooking. The all inclusive meal package includes (besides 3 main meals) snacks between meals and an assortment of different beverages! (Beverages, hot drinks, alcohol) and ice cream throughout the whole day! FACILITIES: The hotel boasts of spacious terraces with 2 swimming pools for adults, and another one for children. The pools are surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service is offered at both pools. Inside of the facilities there are large, cozy common areas, a game room, video arcades and an indoor bar. CHILDREN: Children enjoy their stay in HSM Canarios Park, as the hotel was designed with children in mind! They can play at the swimming pool, playground or mini golf area (accompanied by the hotel entertainers). Our funny mascot we call Sami joins the children in different games and activities. Baby cots and high chairs are also available in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADDITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept both Visa and MasterCard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Daytime and evening entertainment, shows or live music various times per week. Mini club for children. Various sports courts to practice tennis, football, volleyball, French bowls, squash, etc. Billiards (extra charge), table tennis and mini golf in the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HSM Canarios Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hsm Canarios Park Hotel Calas De Majorca
HSM Canarios Park Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing