We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel made by entertainment team”
Review of HSM Canarios Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HSM Canarios Park
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having just spent two weeks here for our sixth year, i can only say that some of poor reviews really gripe over things which could have been resolved had they spoken to reception whilst there.

Entertainment: the team are what makes the holiday so enjoyable. Itzo, Lulu, Ivo etc really go the extra mile in making sure you have a fun time. They provide enough activities for all family members but also don't pressurise you to participate if you don't want to. Without this team I doubt we would come back each year.

Food: the food is all inclusive standard and has a regular pasta, pizza, fish , meat dish x 2, there is always a variety of salads, a soup and plenty of baguettes and sandwich filling available. Yes chips are offered at breakfast but as breakfast is on till midday some people have an early lunch, and hey if you don't want them with breakfast ( which i don't) then just don't take them simple. The restaurant does get full in peak season but if you look around and speak to the restaurant staff they will help and clear tables. We found Steven, Jose to be really helpful. The chefs are also helpful, if an item runs out , speak to them, even a quick Hola and point is friendly, they are busy but if you speak to them like humans instead of treating them badly then you will find everyone in the hotel is friendly, chefs wise we found Gabrielle and Samuel really helpful.

Rooms: yes they are basic but clean and after all you are really only sleeping here. There is no air con but since we've been coming they have put ceiling fans in which suffice in August so i'm sure would be fine any other time of year. The maids clean daily and again are friendly if you acknowledge them.

Reception: very helpful particularly one year when my daughters tooth came out so they were great at assisting the tooth fairy to produce her letter, which would have ruined daughters holiday otherwise. There is lots of seating in reception area and you can use free WiFi here, but i think there are limited numbers as sometimes it takes a while to access.

Pools: there are 3 pools, one baby, one large on basement of hotel and one across the road, known as top pool which is where all the daytime activities are centred around. This pool is a walk in pool so is great for the little ones. People do mention wasps as being a problem and yes there are a number ( but no mosquitos so put two and two together). The situation isn't helped by stupid people spilling a drink and not clearing it away, the staff do when they see it but difficult to see all. One criticism for the hotel to take on broad is the toilets at the top pool are not very nice, please can you upgrade them?

Bars: we have found all barstaff to be friendly especially Matino. The drinks are not watered down like some hotels and also there is ice cream and slush puppies available through the day and night.

Note to hotel management: the only things which we feel you could change to make peoples stays better is: 1. stop the maids cleaning every exit out of restaurant at the same time, people like myself who have walking difficulties ( and I slipped badly two years ago) need a dry surface to walk on not a mopped one. 2. There are not enough lifts ( maybe add one to end of building?). And have someone stop the kids playing in them, this is due to parental control and you really should be stricter as per your rules! 3. The leaving towels on sunbeds situation is ridiculous as in all hotels, but you have a policy that after half an hour the towel is removed but you don't action it. It is unfair on the people who don't do the early morning run to claim a sunbed when they aren't going to be there till after lunch. 4. Improve the paid for Wifi in the higher floors.

Last note on transfers: the hotel is only 45 mins from the airport but the resort hoppas etc are waiting to fill busses up and do ridiculous amounts of drop offs so it can take up to 4 hours. If you don't book any and walk out the airport doors and to taxi rank ( which are all metered). The cost is about 70 euros each way and you go straight to hotel. alternatively you can hire a car.

The town: Calas is a purpose built tourist town so does have everything you need whilst there. The hotel operate a free bus into town/ large town beach all day long but you can either walk 25 minutes round the road or from beach near hotel straight across and up steps on other side, or get a taxi about 5 euros, which the reception will call for you.

Room Tip: If you have small children and don't want noise ask for the roadside of hotel, however if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest,

we are grateful for your evaluation and your commentary.

We are glad to know, that you liked our hotel and its location and that
you have spent a good vacation

We have noticed your opinion and your suggestions and we passed this information to the person , who is in charge of your concern.

Our employees will be happy about your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels of our hotel chain “ Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

Sincerely yours,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We travelled on the 20th August and returned on the 27th August. The holiday was booked through Lowcostholidays.com, an easy experience but which lacks an after sales team. The only way to contact them is through Facebook which I found the easiest after numerous phone calls, emails and the like.
We arrived at Palma airport, through customs then had to wait 30 minutes on the transfer bus for all the other flights to arrive, the transfer took 45 minutes. On arrival at the hotel the check in was simple and very courteous seeing it was about 11.00pm. The room was clean but cramped as we had two single camp beds in there as well as two singles shoved together to make a double, which is what we asked for in the first place. The view from the balcony was of a sea view and trees as we were on the second floor. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels which were nice and fluffy, the sheets were changed twice during our stay. There was sufficient storage for all our clothes and things, safety deposit box costs 15 euros a week. The rooms could do with updating but still nice and clean. No air conditioning but a fan that looks a bit precarious but is fine. The lift situation that most people mention is because the kids use it as an extension of the games room sadly (Parents)?. The restaurant is huge but sadly not huge enough for the amount of guests staying as we had to go in 2 or 3 times before there was a table available, in a morning this was not an issue as most people were still in bed at 9.00 am. Once you were in there the food was of a good standard, hot, replenished as soon as a tray was empty, a good selection at every meal time, you certainly will not go hungry here. The restaurant staff work very hard to keep it clean, which is no mean feat as sometimes it resembled feeding time at the zoo. The kitchen was spotless, there are self service drink machines for everyone, free slush puppies and ice creams including a mr whippy machine. A large reception with a shop, massage chairs and seating areas with internet machines.
Outside to the pool areas, there is no problem with sun beds only where to put them once you have one. It is the same old problem of people getting up early 6.00 ish to reserve a bed, then going back to bed for a few hours or on a trip and coming back mid afternoon to claim their spot, too sad for words. There are 2 main pools and a little kids pool. Around the main pools there is a bar with self service soft drinks and ice creams. 2 tennis courts ? a volley ball court and a mini golf course. In the main pool area near the hotel is very crowded and unless you were prepared to queue up early morning you had no chance of a bed. the other pool which is across the road from the hotel but still on site, is a bit bigger and very deep at one end. There are no lifeguards so you need to keep your eye on the kids, unfortunately not all parents are like this!!!
There is a lot of dive bombing going on, kids throwing each other in and generally mayhem. The Animacion team work very hard and there is always something going on if you wish to take part and they do not hassle you to join in. The evening entertainment was average but I don't think many people were bothered about this as it probably interfered with the drinking. The hotel puts a free bus service to the beach throughout the day which is nice, but it only takes 20minutes to walk there. We never went on the beach but it looked very nice. On a night it was very noisy with the guests going back to their rooms from 12.30 onwards, drunk with babies and little kids in tow. They were arguing, screaming at their tired children to BEHAVE !!! to start the whole process again the following day. There are plenty off staff behind the bars so you were never long in waiting for a drink, which were of a good standard. The staff are good natured, friendly which must be difficult seeing as what they have to endure. There is the town near the beach which has a few restaurants and bars, a tabac, supermarkets, tat shops, clothes shops, trip shops and a little theme park which is great fun. There is a little train that runs from the hotel, around the town and back which is fun.
Checking out was just as easy as checking in but a 2 hour transfer sadly.
All in all it was a quick break that was at right money, need another few days to recuperate due to the lack of sleep, this is not the hotels fault as such but maybe steps could be taken to rectify this?
The hotel is too big for the grounds and the amenities, in my opinion there is a lot of wasted areas that could be put to better use.

Room Tip: With the lift situation a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoods035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest,

we are grateful for your evaluation and your commentary.

We are glad to know, that you liked our hotel and its location and that
you have spent a good vacation

We have noticed your opinion and your suggestions and we passed this information to the person , who is in charge of your concern.

Our employees will be happy about your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels of our hotel chain “ Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

Sincerely yours,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice clean hotel, great customer service. Food top standard. Lovely holiday all round! Very helpful staff and great family destination. Would recommend nice area and scenery lovely walk around the hotel.nice sandy beach 10 min walk and their is bus service from the hotel to the beach

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nash2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest,

we are grateful for your evaluation and your commentary.

We are glad to know, that you liked our hotel and its location and that
you have spent a good vacation

We have noticed your opinion and your suggestions and we passed this information to the person , who is in charge of your concern.

Our employees will be happy about your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels of our hotel chain “ Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

Sincerely yours,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at Canarios Park (2 children aged 5&8). As my title suggest, it was okay. Having read about the long transfers we hired a car and so were there is abut 50mins. On arriving at the hotel we had to wait for our room and were then given room2 just off the main reception area. The room was a bit dated but clean, all was well until the evening entertainment started just outside the room - it sounded as if we were in the middle of it, sooooooo loud. Spoke to reception and they were great and we were moved to floor 6 and other side of the hotel the next day. The new room was a lot nicer the only issue being the wait for the lift - not too much of a problem to walk, def kept us feeling fit.
Food - good selection, plenty of salad and fresh bread - got a bit repetitive towards the end of the week. Meat wasn't of a good quality. Chips served with everything and was amazed that some people were having chips and coke for their breakfast!!
Drinks, ice cream and slush puppies worked well with the kids. Never a long queue for the bar.
Entertainment - didn't really do any if it about from my son trying out the zorbing for 5E.
Reception staff extremely efficient and good at their jobs.
Maids and all staff restaurant staff worked hard - always tidying up and clearing tables etc.
Negative points to consider if going - 1. It's a very busy family orientated resort 2. There's not much room for everyone there on site 3. Kids are left to their own devices and allowed to run riot, ESP in the evenings running around reception, playing in the lifts continuously. There didn't seem to be much parental input. 4. The hotel,is located at the edge of Calas de Mallorca and so it isn't easy to walk to other amenities (the hotel does provide a bus)
On the whole it was our first trip abroad with the kids - we had a great time but most of that was spent out of the hotel, going in the hire car and eating out. I think that the hotel does a great job for a 3* AI hotel but it just wasn't for us - too busy, too many people and location didn't work.
Would definitely not return to hotel but Calas de Mallorca is lovely and may well visit Calas Park part of the same group which is smaller, better pool and we did spend a couple of afternoon by their pool which was great and such a contrast.
It was okay.......just not for us.......

Room Tip: On a high floor - we had 640, sea view and away from noisy nightly entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HLP1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest,

we are grateful for your evaluation and your commentary.

We are glad to know, that you liked our hotel and its location and that
you have spent a good vacation

We have noticed your opinion and your suggestions and we passed this information to the person , who is in charge of your concern.

Our employees will be happy about your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels of our hotel chain “ Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

Sincerely yours,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a week at the Canarios Park, four adults and two grandchildren aged 4 and 8. They had a wonderful time and made very nice friends, they didnt want to come home and would have loved to stay longer. The hotel was very busy, rooms that are really for two where accommodating families of 4 or more. However they were cleaned every day and fresh towels left if needed. Overall the hotel was very clean and the pool areas were Jet washed every morning. The food was not the best, but you could always find something you liked. There was no hassle getting drinks and the children found it very novel that they could help themselves to slush puppies, cold drinks and ice cream. On the down side however, are the pools. They are just not big enough for the amount of adults and children. The sports pool, which is across the road from the main pool was so over crowded it was worrying. Lots of people used this pool with young children because it shelved more gentle. This pool as the name suggests is where they do the water sports, so the children had to get out or stand right at the edge of the pool, it didnt make sense to me, they should have used the other pool which is bigger. There was no shortage of sun beds but a hardly any shade, so I suggest you buy a sun shade from the local shops on your first day. This was a family holiday, the children loved it, so if they were happy which they were, then we were happy!

Room Tip: Get a low floor room as the lifts are extremely busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannycath53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear guest,

we are grateful for your evaluation and your commentary.

We are glad to know, that you liked our hotel and its location and that
you have spent a good vacation

We have noticed your opinion and your suggestions and we passed this information to the person , who is in charge of your concern.

Our employees will be happy about your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels of our hotel chain “ Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

Sincerely yours,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a late booking and after reading about this hotel I thought it would suit my daughter and 3 year old granddaughter. After a 2 hour journey to get there it was nearly midnight we were booked in very quickly and told to go and get a drink before it closed. The rooms are small but very clean. The following day we went down to breakfast and were quite impressed with the range of food this is where it started to go downhill, food is very repetitive, not enough variety not many people it rabbit stews with slithers of bone in it. It was 5 days later before any chicken was on the menu and that was only wings. My daughter doesn't eat red meat so she was limited even the fish didn't look appetising. If you weren't up by 8.15 you didn't get a sunbed even though the leaflet given to us at reception said this wouldn't be allowed. Some parents think that because they were on holiday it didn't matter what their children were doing or who they were jumping all over at the pool, no life guards. The entertainment at night was pretty awful if you could get a seat. Also wouldn't let my little granddaughter join in during the day or night. The walk to the town took 25 mins and the bus to the beach ran every 10mins down to the beach which was good as long as you were able to fight to get on some people do not queue. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caitlyn10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
For the circumstances you mentioned, we would like to apologize and let you know that we have informed our quality department to improve our service.

We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

Regards from Mallorca
HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband, 6 yr old boy and I stayed here for a week from 18th August. We had a fab time and enjoyed every min of our holiday. Just wished we could if stayed for longer.
It is approx 2 hours from the airport (depending on drop offs and pick ups) but if you know this before hand, there is no problem. We got the free bus (holds 8 people) to the town, there are loads of shops but all similar souvenir shops. They are my only 2 down sides, and they aren't too bad!
The hotel is spic and span, fresh towels every day. The food was lovely, lots of variety for breakfast, lunch, tea and snacks. Good variety of drinks and loved the unlimited slushes and ice cream for kids (and adults) There's so much activities if you want, or don't want! My little boy loved the kids club. The staff here are great and so friendly.
I would stay here again without a doubt!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiffD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Canarios Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear guest,

we are grateful for your evaluation and your commentary.

We are glad to know, that you liked our hotel and its location and that
you have spent a good vacation

We have noticed your opinion and your suggestions and we passed this information to the person , who is in charge of your concern.

Our employees will be happy about your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels of our hotel chain “ Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

Sincerely yours,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3,253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Globales America
Globales America
#8 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,435 reviews
25.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
2.3 mi away
Finca S'Aigo
Finca S'Aigo
#7 of 7 in Portocolom
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
HYB Eurocalas
HYB Eurocalas
#10 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Canarios Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Canarios Park

Address: Calle Antena, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range: £47 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Canarios Park 3*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel HSM Canarios Park is especially focused on families, offering all kind of facilities and services to make the holidays unforgettable for both parents and children. All inclusive board, spacious areas to practice different sports and our fantastic entertainment team guarantee good fun. The hotel is open from May to October. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Canarios Park is situated in Calas de Mallorca, a small resort in the south east part of the island, 70 km away from Palma de Mallorca and 60 km from the airport. The area is known thanks to the tourism, which began in the 60s and nowadays offers a wide range of hotels, shops, bars and restaurants. The resort has 3 charming beaches: Cala Antena (the closest one, 400 m away), which is distinguished by the verticality of its coast. The other 2 beaches: Domingos Gran and Domingos Petit, are located 400 m away from the village centre and 1,5 km away from the hotel (there is a free transport service to the beach Domingos Gran). In the proximity there is Porto Cristo (15 km away), a lovely village with its famous Caves of Drach. Nearby there are many beautiful caves with spectacular views, as well as small and authentic fishing villages which complement the advantages of this hardly known area, but over the years has become more and more appreciated and chosen by tourists. ROOMS: The hotel offers double and single rooms with a cozy and up-to-date decoration. All of the rooms include a bathroom, ceiling fan, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and balcony! Single rooms have a shower. There are some rooms that can allocate families with 2 children (on request). GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers an all inclusive food and beverage package. The extensive buffet includes a wide selection of cold and hot dishes, as well as a big variety of desserts and fruit. The restaurant also offers some dishes prepared instantly in show cooking. The all inclusive meal package includes (besides 3 main meals) snacks between meals and an assortment of different beverages! (Beverages, hot drinks, alcohol) and ice cream throughout the whole day! FACILITIES: The hotel boasts of spacious terraces with 2 swimming pools for adults, and another one for children. The pools are surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service is offered at both pools. Inside of the facilities there are large, cozy common areas, a game room, video arcades and an indoor bar. CHILDREN: Children enjoy their stay in HSM Canarios Park, as the hotel was designed with children in mind! They can play at the swimming pool, playground or mini golf area (accompanied by the hotel entertainers). Our funny mascot we call Sami joins the children in different games and activities. Baby cots and high chairs are also available in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADDITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept both Visa and MasterCard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Daytime and evening entertainment, shows or live music various times per week. Mini club for children. Various sports courts to practice tennis, football, volleyball, French bowls, squash, etc. Billiards (extra charge), table tennis and mini golf in the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HSM Canarios Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hsm Canarios Park Hotel Calas De Majorca
HSM Canarios Park Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing