We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue....highly recommended”
Review of City Cafe

City Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue....highly recommended”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent bar and service with a friendly welcome everytime we visited. entertainment, good service and very attentive staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltotty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place and somewhat busy”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed the ice cream and coffee selection at this place. It was just across from the Samoa hotel so we could get a nice drink in peace. The staff are lovely... Just see if the dog runs around barking at 9:30 when you are there... you will laugh if you see him on his evening rounds

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmack83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good for a cooling drink...”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A nice little cafe with friendly service.Plenty outside tables, but with a quick cover, should it rain. The drinks are reasonably priced and the ice cream is lovely. There is free wi-fi so you can pick up your emails if you don't have a data allowance on your phone. The cafe is close to all the bars and other cafes in Calas de Mallorca, so a handy restful place to spend a half hour in the sun with a cold drink.
We went one evening and found that there was a brilliant Flamenco dancing act, and they were very good indeed. Don't know if evening entertainment is a regular thing as we mostly went during the daytime, but I wouldn't be surprised.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick.ferries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Easily the best bar in Calas de Majorca”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were staying at the Hotel Americas and decided to wander into the town. After seemingly endless British / Irish bars we found this place. It doesn't look like much from the exterior, it's not glitzy or loud. We are so glad that we found this place.

We were on a quest to find a nice cup of coffee for my partner, in Calas de Majorca, it was a quest that wasn't going too well. When we took our seats the waitress was over in a relaxed fashion, smiling and happy. We decided on our first visit to not risk another poor coffee and so we both had a lumumba, brandy with chocolate milkshake in effect! These were lovely and very refreshing. I think two of them came to just under 8 Euros.

A couple of days later we re-visited, and this time we had the Amaretto Coffee, these were absolutely lovely. A good quality of coffee and a good measure of amaretto topped off with whipped cream, again two of these cost about 8 euros.

We then decided to visit to sample their proper cocktails, this time my partner had a Swimming Pool and I went for an Orangina (frappe cocktail). He cocktail was a lustrous jade colour and she enjoyed it immensely. Mine was very orange tasting and very refreshing, the alcohol flavour was understated, but unlike our hotel's ones it was definitely there. My partner then had a black coffee, which she informed me was lovely. I couldn't resist and so went for the Long Ireland(sic), this was the most alcoholic taste I had during our week long stay. Simple beautiful. The four drinks cost around 15 euros.

On our final night after traipsing around the maze like shops in the town complex we decided to visit here again. They had Flamenco dancing on and there was quite a crowd. We took a chair out of the way and without a view of the dancers, the staff saw us and immediately set us up table with a great view of the dancers. What more could you want? We had some more cocktails and once again they were spot on.

It seemed to us that this is a place that the local Spanish population come to chat and meet, for us it was just what the doctor ordered. Fantastic, friendly, always smiling and happy seeming staff who remember you and are happy for your custom. Backed up with great products at reasonable prices.

We were all inclusive at our hotel and so didn't really need to go out and buy drinks, this place is totally worth it!

if we go back to Calas de Majorca, this place will definitely be one we go to again, and if you are going then pay a visit here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fish_McFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Proper beer in a proper glass”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stumbled upon the City Café, walking aimlessly around the centro looking for somewhere that didn't do karaoke and smell of chip fat. What a lovely, lovely place, freezing cold San Miguel in a big toby pint glass, fantastic music and lovely staff. Very easy to stay and have 'just one more', this was our respite from the plastic cup drinks and sqwarking kids in the hotel. It was only 3 euros a pint, well worth it to have a change from the all inclusive Estrella Damm. It was my husbands birthday during the holiday and we got our recommendation for the Restaurante Vallbona in Cala Murada from them, which is also definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelleandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Cafe also viewed

Calas de Majorca, Majorca
Calas de Majorca, Majorca
 
Calas de Majorca, Majorca
 

Been to City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing