We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Globales America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Globales America
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My 18 year old daughter and I returned from a week at this hotel on Monday, 4th June but only just posting our review as we both managed to pick up a tummy bug whilst there. I'm confident it wasn't the food, since we never ate the same things, and am inclined to think it was the ice in the drinks. When we arrived, after an almost three hour coach transfer from the airport, our first reactions were "we don't like it, let's go home" - there was music literally booming out round the pools, and bodies on loungers everywhere. However, after our evening meal, which was perfectly pleasant, and a good night's sleep, everything - especially the stunning views from almost every part of the hotel - seemed a lot better, and we found a terrace at the back of the hotel where you could sunbathe whilst overlooking the sea, and be shielded from the dreaded booming music.

Plus points:

- location: the hotel stands on a hill above the most beautiful beach with crystal clear turquoise water.
- hotel was clean and tidy and there was always plenty of hot water in the showers
- whilst far from fine dining, there was always something to eat and the fish was usually very good. If, like my vegetarian daughter, you couldn't find anything to eat in the main dining room, you could always fall back on the Pizzeria.
- fresh fruit available all day - a very nice touch.

On the downside:
- Swimming pools were VERY cold
- Entertainment was a bit hit and miss. The best during our stay was the Motown tribute band. The worst was the night the head of the animation team decided she would sing - a painful experience for everyone, atlhough you couldn't fault the enthusiasm of the team!
- Rooms look a little tired, but hey, you only use them to sleep in.
- Bar and restaurant staff weren't particularly friendly, and one older barman in particular was very grumpy

My top tips: don't have ice in your drinks, pay the extra for private transfers (the journey back to the airport in a taxi took less than an hour!) and take half an hour to throw some bread to the fish in the sea- it's a real treat to see them jump out of the water to get it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KMistry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    802
    353
    122
    72
See reviews for
928
817
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay with my Girlfriend, we requested the annex which we got which is just around the corner from the main hotel, brilliant view, but not as quiet as people say we had a baby cryin all night above and germans arguin in the next room so depends who your living with at the time!! Apart from that we had a great holiday. The food was lovely, the alchohol is fine, the bar staff was fine and the entertainment for the kids and adults of a night was great, did not want to come home. Would recommend this hotel to Couples or Families, definitely not for Hen do,s , Stag do,s or groups of friends, not much to do besides go down to the lovely cove beach with crystal clear water and sunbathe most of the day, we did go on a trip to the marine park to see the dolphin show which was amazin to watch and then the afternoon we went to the western waterpark which was brilliant, about an hour an a half coach ride from the hotel, not to bad, overall had a good time, 100% goin back next year...

Room Tip: Every room has a sea view, dont worry about which room you go in, Good Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a week at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it! We were placed in the annexe part of the hotel which we were extremely pleased about as it had amazing see views and was also a little out of the way from the main bussle of the hotel. Out room had a single bed and also a kingsize bed which was very comfortable. Room was serviced daily with fresh towels. There is a safe in the room for a charge. There is also a fridge in the room but this is not stocked.
The all inclusive element of this holiday was great. There is a pool bar open from 10:00 to late. A pizzeria open in the evenings and then the main buffet restaurant. There is also a barbecue but this is not open until June.
The pool bar offers toasties, burgers, hot dogs, chips, a selection of salad and cold meats and breads and also cakes and ice creams. You can get hot and cold drinks here also.
The buffet restaurant was excellent. Breakfast had a choice of full english cooked breakfast, continental breakfast and pastries and fresh fruit. Lunch and dinner had a good range of meat and vegetarian dishes as well as a large salad bar. Also a large selection of desserts and ice cream were available. Drinks in the buffet were, house wine, water and fruit juices. Food was plentiful. The staff were always bringing fresh out.
Evening entertainment was outside at the pool area. There is also two other bars if you prefer a quiet drink instead.
There are near by shops and bars and a small fair and childrens play area.
The beach is small but extremely nice and very clean
All in all a nice quiet resort but still plenty to do at the same time. Was an amazing holiday and we would definitely return. The staff are extremely hard working at the hotel but still very friendly!

Room Tip: If you can I would ask for the Annexe as this is nice and quiet and out of the way. Room are an exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Me and partner have just arrived back from Majorca, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at hotel america. We arrived there at 2am, very tired and a little groggy. We were given our room key only to be slightly disappointed of what we saw when we walked in. The room was ok, but when we looked out at our balcony we realised we were level with the roof of the dinning room, so had an awful view, u weren't allowed on the roof, so all you could see was concrete. The next morning we asked to move, and the hotel staff couldn't have been more obliging, allowing us to have a fantastic room on the 7th floor. It was spacious, and very clean.
The food was nice, some days were better than other but enough variety for everyone to find something they liked! Drinks and food available throughout the day, also snacks like fruit and toasties available down at the pool bar between meals.
The hotel couldn't have had a better atmosphere, the staff were very polite and helpful, the rooms and hotel was immaculately clean, the animation team deserve a big pat on the back for making the holiday fun for adults as well as children.
We hope to return in the future, as it was great value for money, a relaxing week in the sun and good entertainment at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Well I had reviews about people turning up off their coach or taxi only for the hotel to say sorry booked up no rooms! But thought, oh wont happen to me. Arrived at the desk, only to see a woman in tears leaving it and going out the door. I gave the receptionist my booking details and he said we are fully booked I said you cant be I booked direct and got the hotel to confirm I had booked by email and gave him the email also, so he said ok here is your keys! Lucky I read the reviews. Anyway we were lucky enough and so had the annex with sea view. Food was ok, drinks etc good you can eat all day, pizza , burgers then dinner time all usual fish etc. its edible! The hotel is good if you can get a room!

Room Tip: was very quiet resort! only stay here if you want peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonnygfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterton, LeekUnited Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have now been twice to this hotel and think it is fantastic, all rooms are sea view you can sit and watch the beach from the hotel. Good for families with small children and those of us that are past all that.If you get offered an annex room take it the views are brilliant and you are away from the noise of the hotel at night. There is always food available so no need to stick to main meal times. A good variety of food, not gourmet but all very edible.We went with my daughter and her young family, there rooms was big and had a separate twin bedroom which had no windows, so kids slept very well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarleton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our stay was 21st may for 1 week the weather was glorious the hotel was spotlessly clean and around the pool area was hosed down every morning the lounger sunbeds were very clean and plentiful. A special mention for the reception staff they were very helpful no matter how busy they were they listen to your needs and helped where they could Dining room and bar staff were excellent also. I would recommend this hotel to all age groups.I shall return again..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TarletonRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.3 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.8 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#6 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
39.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Torrenova
Hotel Marina Torrenova
#16 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
#4 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globales America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales America

Property: Hotel Globales America
Address: Carrer Formentor, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales America 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful parts of Mallorca, Calas de Mallorca.Its privileged location in Cala Domingos, theree swimming pools on the sea surrounded. The Hotel has a total of 351 rooms, distributed as follows: 66 single rooms, 138 doubles, 113 triples and 35 quadruple or families rooms. Sea view, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Satellite TV, SAfe (with charge), Telephone, Hairdryer, mini-bar, Disabled facilities, the hotel has WI-FI zoen and Internet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Globales America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Majorca
America Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel America Mallorca
Hotel America Calas De Mallorca
America Calas De Majorca
Hotel Globales America Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing