We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Globales America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales America
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just come back from a 4 night, end of season, break at the America hotel. First the good bits. . The location is tranquil with stunning views over two small beaches and the staff are very helpful and obliging. Our room on the 8th floor was very pleasant with a lovely bathroom with a walk in shower, a good sized sea view balcony and wall mounted TV in the room, although you had to pay a refundable 10 Euros for a remote control. However . . . now for the not so good bits . . Having spoken to other guests it seems it is only the top two floors (7th and 8th) that have been refurbished and the rest are still, allegedly, very 1970's. The air conditioning in our room did not work even after we have brought it to the attention of the reception staff on two occasions. We were unable to leave out balcony door open at night due to dogs barking most of the night from a house on the beach opposite. The food was bland and repetitive, and that was over only four days and the evening entertainment was poor to say the least. This consisted of a kids disco for 5 year olds follows by one 15 minute game of Bingo. A great short break but two weeks would possibly leave you bored and hungry.

Room Tip: Request a top floor and bring a book . . .some books if you read quick . . !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
There are newer reviews for Globales America
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel America from 27-31 October 2013. Our 6 year old loved it but we found it quite boring. The food was fairly average quality. The drink was ok but no brand drinks included. Staff were mostly pretty good. Our 6 year old loved the Kids club which was run very enthusiastically.
On one day they closed the swimming pools because of high winds. This infuriated quite a few especially when the wind died down. Seemd very strange to close the pools.
Our newly refurbished 8th floor room was spacious and had a great view, but only 2 bedside lights so in the evening was very gloomy. The a/c wasn't very strong. Very good shower room.
The adjacent beach, about 50 steps down, is very good. The Med was quite warm to swim in, probably warmer than the pools.
The transfer to the hotel was about 2.5 hrs, but coming back it was less than 2 hrs. Would advise anyone coming here to think about car hire, especially as we found there not so much to do, and a day trip away might have helped pass the time.
Overall it was quite a cheap 4 night break. We thought by going to a 4* hotel the quality might be better but it wasn't 4* food although the hotel itself might be up to that quality. Personally I would have liked to pay more and get better food.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Returned yesterday 30th October. Just want to add my voice to all the other satified customers below. Nothing more for me to say that hasnt been said. The hotel, staff, room view, food, service, location were all excellent.Even lucky with the weather concidering the average temperature for this time of year is 19 degrees. The first 5 days were scorching hot! We were on the 7th floor Room 739 and we had all day sunshine on our balcony. Everythng was perfect. Thank you Hotel America. The 1 -2 hours transfer was well worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moyapateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Came here end of October with 2 adults and 3 children and an infant. The hotel is lovely and big and very clean, the food however is very bland. The breakfast I found was the best as it was a full English and tasted ok. I paid £270 pp for 7 nights all inc and for that price it is all worth it as there is always something you can eat. The location is lovely nice local shops and supermarkets and I club called "Tiffany's" if u fancy a night out! The kids found the activities ok but I did purchase some playing cards and travel games. The pools are clean and the beach was nice however you have to pay for sun beds but many people used their towels on the sand. For 20 euros you can go on a cruise and glass bottom boat which I recommend! As I have an infant I needed a kettle in my room took make baby milk as the rooms don't have this I was told I could pay 17 euros for the week which I didn't agree to and ended up buying a large bottled water also there is no wifi unless you pay 25 euros a week. Besides that the hotel is worth and we all had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saschafierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We came as a party of 25 to stay as we were getting married on the island and everything we requested the hotel provided, they even gave us an extra room free with champagne and fruit when we returned from our wedding.
The pools were large and plenty of beds available, the snack bar was just what it says snack, why some people complain about the food ill never know its certainly no worse than you get in many fast food places.
Overall our stay was great the kids could come and go as they pleased,get food drinks and entertainment which gave us time to relax.
Thank you hotel America all the best for next year

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pontyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went to the America for 2 weeks in October and everything was excellent, yet again. This was our 6th visit to the hotel and we have got to know the staff over the years, who always make us very welcome. The food was excellent, always plenty of choice, the drinks are good and plentiful, and the staff work very hard. All the girls on reception are very helpful and friendly, especially Carla, who goes out of her way to be extra nice to you, and is always smiling!!
Thanks again to all at the America for working hard to ensure we had a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: We always ask for an annexe room as it is very peaceful
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickydSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just arrived back on the 26th of October having spent 10 days all inclusive,great hotel ,spotless cleaners in rooms every day,all rooms have a sea view which is stunning what we could only describe as being on a cruise liner, rooms on 7th and 8th floor have all been refurbished to a very high standard,food was suberb as were the drinks ,grounds and pools very well kept every where was just spotless,after reading reviews before we went some awful we didn't know what to expect but all I can say is we can not fault this hotel in fact it has been the best hotel we have ever stayed in abroad very good value for money and will definatley be back the only little complaint we had was the air con was not great , as for transfer it did take 2 hours but was well informed by reading the reviews I cant understand why people complain so much about it ,it was ok and passed quickly ,for the money we paid it was fantastic value so I would like to thank all the staff at the globales America for a fantastic holiday.
,

Room Tip: I emailed before hand to request a room on the 7th or 8th floor as read they were all refurbished I...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.5 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#4 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,295 reviews
40.0 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#10 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales America

Address: Carrer Formentor, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range: £85 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales America 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful parts of Mallorca, Calas de Mallorca.Its privileged location in Cala Domingos, theree swimming pools on the sea surrounded. The Hotel has a total of 351 rooms, distributed as follows: 66 single rooms, 138 doubles, 113 triples and 35 quadruple or families rooms. Sea view, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Satellite TV, SAfe (with charge), Telephone, Hairdryer, mini-bar, Disabled facilities, the hotel has WI-FI zoen and Internet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Majorca
America Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel America Mallorca
Hotel America Calas De Mallorca
America Calas De Majorca
Globales America Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing