We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Globales America
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 7 night stay at Hotel America probably wouldn't say this is a 4 star but everywhere was kept clean and our room was attended to every day. The bed was comfortable and the view from the balcony amazing. The food is probably what lets this hotel down it is very basic my husband is a vegetarian and although there was fish every meal it was tasteless and didn't look appetising. Good selection of drinks but did have to pay for a baileys one evening not sure why they don't have an imitation.The pool areas are good plenty of sunbeds at start of week but by the end there were the usual suspects putting towels on them which happens everywhere you go anyway, lovely sea views from the terraces. The beach is right next door quite shallow so ideal if you have children. We were quite surprised by the resort itself reviews were saying it was quiet we didn't find that at all plenty of bars our favourite was Grand Central nice cocktails and very close to the hotel. We travelled with Thomas Cook and after reading horror stories about transfer times we were dreading it however it took 1 hour. All in all if you're looking for a cheap and cheerful holiday, we booked 6 days before then this is probably ok for you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Linda,

We welcome your comments about your stay in our hotel, hoping that these will help us improve to serve you again on your next vacation.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    841
    375
    132
    79
See reviews for
954
876
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

just arrived home from 11 days in this hotel. excellent hotel room well furnished , and cleaned daily, was in room 415 overlooking pool and beaches .
the staff very friendly .evening entertainment we watched was very good .
the food repetitive as you always found when all inclusive , it could have been a little warmer too . but overhaul very enjoyable stay, the surroundings are good plenty of walks and walkways along sea front .
bus service on doorstep .
having been to cale de Mallorca a few times now , will visit another resort . but when I do decide to come back to cala de Mallorca I will use globales America .

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmenorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have covered your holiday expectations and we hope to return to serve in the Hotel America.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent hotel, our room had just been refurbished and was on 6th floor, I believe all floors above have been refurbished. Lovely entrance, bars, plenty of seating and comfortable sofas if required.
The pool areas had plenty of sun loungers. Views overlooking the sea.
Food good and there was always plenty of it.
Staff friendly.
The weather was not great and we were only there for 4 days, very windy, not sure if we were unlucky or if it is normally windy side of Island as we have not been before.
But overall could not fault the hotel at all.

Room Tip: I believe floors 6-8 have refurbished rooms which are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We hope to return to serve in their holidays coming soon.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here last week booked through travel zoo. First off as people have commented the transfer from the airport is long, going to the hotel in the middle of the night took 2 hours, this however is not the hotels fault.
Stayed on the 4th floor, room was old fashioned however clean which my friend and I was happy about. Beds made everyday. Air con worked a treat in our room no problems at all. Tv had English channels, however no remote this wasn't a problem as you could easily press the channel up and down buttons on the tv, however we wasn't on holiday to watch tv. Only down side regards to the hotel I feel was not having free wifi.
Entertainment was fantastic, the team were brilliant having lots of activities going on during the day and in the evening, plus were very friendly. Bar staff were also fab half way through the week they all knew what I was drinking.
Food was good, lots of fish I thought however good variety, lovely salad and fruit available. If you didn't like some of the restaurant food there is a pizzeria open in the evening and the pool bar serving hot/cold snacks. My favourite was breakfast.
There are two pools and the hotel is right next to the beach which was amazing. I would say if you don't want to pay to lye on the beach take a towel instead of using the sun lounges.
Up the road was a few shops and restaurants if you wanted to venture out.
Overall the aim of the holiday was to relax and that's certainly what I did. I would definitely come back here again, perhaps with an upgraded room. Will definitely recommend. Fab!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry-AnnTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Kerry-Ann,

Thank you have used your time to comment on your experience at our hotel. We are happy to serve you again on your next vacation.


thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from the Hotel America and it certainly was not of 4* quality, firstly the good points : the hotel public area were very clean and tidy, plenty of choice of alcohol, and a good quality beer, nice beach very close to hotel and plenty of terraces for sun bathing.
Now the bad points: food was horrible, they need to give more thought on the menu with better quality cuts of meat and fish, most days we ate outside as food was awful, the pool bar was ok for kids but the cheap quality of burgers and sausages was bad. Breakfast was always cold, bacon full of fat and the sausage was yuk, the fruit juice served in the dinning room was toxic.
We paid for an upgrade to the 8th floor after being showed a very old and dated room, the new room was nice with a lovely view, but the fridge never worked, and NO AIR CONDITIONING, when we queried this with Carla in reception she was quite defensive saying it was not hot enough to put on in the rooms, why didn't we open the patio door instead? We asked to be refunded some of our money as we paid EXTRA for this room, this was ignored. So we had no choice but to swelter in the heat, bad customer service!
The tv had one English channel so no satellite, no mini bar, No Air con, all advertised and paid upfront by the customer and not supplied by the hotel. The area around the hotel very quiet and not much to do. A few shops and bars. I would not go to this part of Majorca again. Sorry I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms on the 8 floor lovely but they won't put on air con! Unless its over 90 degrees!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank audreyhepburnSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your comments about our hotel, which will serve us to continue improving. We regret not being able to meet your expectations and hope to improve to meet them in a next occasion.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from an 11 day stay at Hotel America with my boyfriend and we both had a fantastic time. The hotel was great and the views lovely. The food is a little repetitive but nice, and there are plenty of options what with the restaurant and pizzeria downstairs. Plenty of drink choices included in the all inclusive, and staff are very friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel and it's great value for money. One problem was the walls are paper thin and you get a lot of noise when people come to their rooms at night and in the morning. We heard a domestic from the couple next door! Other than that, great views lovely beach and nice but cold pools at the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your time to send us your suggestions and look forward to serve you again.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

How can this hotel be awarded 4stars? Unfortunately due to flight delays we arrived after mid night.It's about an hour from the airport too, which doesn't help. We paid for private transfer and still got in when everything else had gone to sleep. No water, nothing in fridge - no facilities for even making tea/coffee - had to go in search of a vending machine with change obtained thankfully from the night staff. We missed breakfast the first day (too tired out!) but went into the dinning room for lunch which was okay, probably because we were hungry - all other meals with the exception of Breakfast were tasteless. This hotel let the Spanish down completely. No flavour and pretty inedible at times. Breakfast, was okay, not wonderful unless you like streaky slimey fatty bacon! With the amount of cafes/restaurants and bars in the area, one does wonder if the hotel has made a deal with the local establishments..e.g we serve them revolting food and they will come to you, we dont care - we all ready have their money! I say this, because we visited two very nice restaurants and other tourists were easy to spot with their colour coded wristbands!
The room was clean, could not fault it or the cleaning staff. No remote control to the tv, as another reviewer discovered you pay extra for that - not worth it as only one english channel and cn news at that! Then you have to pay for the safe in your room - hardly all inclusive now, is it?
Okay, so I've covered the food.... drinks. All inclusive, if you like very young Spanish wine your only other choice is fruit juice or a reasonable beer. If you want anything else, wait. In a queue for the bar. This how the hotel makes money - two bar staff, one cleans glasses the other serves the never ending queue... by the time you've got your drink, you may as well go to the back of the queue and wait again!
The hotel is situated next to the beach. a huge plus. You'll have to pay for the wifi, but the cafe near the beach will give you its password, so you can sit in the sun and communicate with those back home should you need to, all for the cost of a drink. The food here, however, is worth while.
The so called Pizza bar in the hotel - was empty every time we visited. Not surprised, got a pizza there ONCE.... Break your teeth? No not this bg**er, you could of thrown it on the floor and cracked the marble tiles with it! The so called pool bar, stocked thin plastic ham and you could make your own sandwiches etc. ..and of course, that too young Spanish wine!
Overall the hotel was okay, it was just the food and waiting for drinks which really let it down. All the staff were polite and the place was clean.
The area is quiet, which is what we wanted...no clubs and the only screaming kids were in the next hotel! Not much to do in the immediate area, except shop ( & any smokers, please note the tobacconist is closed on Sundays but vending machines are in most bars). Ideal for a short break. I haven't rated room service as we didnt use it - and there is no fitness center, just a cool/cold pool. Travel tip - Take a jumper, when the wind blows its very drafty on that corner of the coast!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 603 - on the 6th floor, wonderful sea views and benefited from the sun first thing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexLadyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

e welcome your feedback which will help us to improve our services.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calas de Majorca hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#1 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#10 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#8 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#7 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Globales Samoa
Hotel Globales Samoa
#6 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globales America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales America

Property: Hotel Globales America
Address: Carrer Formentor, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#2 Family Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales America 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful parts of Mallorca, Calas de Mallorca.Its privileged location in Cala Domingos, theree swimming pools on the sea surrounded. The Hotel has a total of 351 rooms, distributed as follows: 66 single rooms, 138 doubles, 113 triples and 35 quadruple or families rooms. Sea view, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Satellite TV, SAfe (with charge), Telephone, Hairdryer, mini-bar, Disabled facilities, the hotel has WI-FI zoen and Internet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Globales America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Majorca
America Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel America Mallorca
Hotel America Calas De Mallorca
America Calas De Majorca
Hotel Globales America Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing