We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but not 4****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Globales America
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good but not 4****”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very clean hotel, but requires restoration. Food is not a good quality, tlo little sea food and słabiej meals, too much of british food. Soaking in fat, fried food. Small variance. In all inclusive menu it is written, that Cava (spanish champain naturaly bubbled) is included, but bar tender serve poor quality sparkling wine, explaoning that genuine Cava is extra paid.
Don't take a car from nearby Planet rent a car! They are cheating. At Planet rent a car we paid for Corsa or Polo, but at the day of car pick up we got old version of Ford Fiesta 2008, devastated and dirty inside - lots of snacks on the Floor, sand, some toy ball. We traveled with 4 months old baby so we would expect washed and cleaned car. We rent a car in Tenerife, Lanzarote, Gran Canaria and never experienced such poor quality of service. Additionaly we had to pay 3€ 'tax' for card payment. So including deposit and full payment we overpaid 6€!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bm1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you spent writing about your experience in our hotel. For us is very important to know the positive and negative remarks in order to rectify and keep improving. Your comments will encourage us to keep working hard to improve the product or the quality of our service, like the snack options.

Thank you once again.
Kind regards,
Carla Garcia Lefevre
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    804
    353
    122
    72
See reviews for
929
818
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from hotel America. Spent just three nights here but wished it was longer. I emailed the hotel ahead of my visit, extremely last minute email from me explaining my son has an illness called PKU and I would require some special dietary requirements, My email was responded to promply, to my suprise I was greeted at reception by Carla whose English was perfect, she had waited to meet me to inroduce herself and quickly got the restaurant Manager Esther, Esther told me if anything on the buffet was not suitable for my son they could prepare it for him, I had prepared some translations which Carla checked for me, the pizzzeria staff were great and after one visit they no longer needed my translations, many staff spoke English which was helpful, each evening I gave Esther my own pasta and bread and she had this made for us. We managed fine with the buffet but knowing we could ask was a fantastic relief, we were given an annex and cannot believe previous reviews were disappointed about, we had an annex and have to say we had the bedt views, everthing was amazingly spottless, peole complain about sunbeds but we never failed to get one in the morning, a little harder in the afternoon, oh the food was not cold and the fried eggs and grilled tomatoes were cooked perfectly, oh and lager was San Miguel which you dont normally get all inlusive, also no lucky lucky men and no rubbish for kids to spend money on, staff very efficient and no queues for food and no more than a one minute wait for a drink, only one thing would like to have seen no aspartame in soft drinks in restaurants, will defo return, thank you Carla Esther, pizzeria staff and bar staff, from Louise & Alex

Room Tip: Dont be afraid of the annex, they definately had the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 100louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in our Hotel. We are very glad to know that in general you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carla Garcia Lefevre
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel for a week at the end of July.We have been to this resort many times before and always said we would stay in this hotel.
We arrived at 3am in the morning after a very long, uncomfortable coach journey.Not the coach drivers fault it is just the location of hotel and resort(last drop off.)
On arrival we were met by a pleasant and helpful member of staff who checked us in and then proceeded to tell us we would be staying in a temporary room as our room was not ready until the next morning.
As you can imagine this was not what we expected after a long journey.However we voiced our concern but as we were extremely tired we agreed, but would return next morning.
The next morning we went to reception where we were met by the hotel manager who informed us we were to be upgraded to the 6 th floor , but room wasnt ready until 1pm.
The room was lovely so all was well .After this little episode our holiday was fine with no complaints at all.
This hotel is 3/4 star and there are a few areas for improvement but overall a nice place to stay with everything close by.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Margy,

Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and the staff. We take note of your suggestions in order to improve the quality of our facilities and service.
We look forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Carla Garcia Lefevre
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family of 4 stayed in this hotel from 10th-17th August. We agreed that we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here very much.
The staff that worked here were always guaranteed to be friendly and willing to help. If we ever had any queries they would help us find a solution straight away.
The restaurant offered lovely food every day, there was a great variety for everyone, we were definitely spoilt for choice!
We had never done an all-exclusive package before this holiday, and we were all very impressed with it! You could order as many drinks as you liked from the bars provided any time of the day free of charge. It was also quick service and you did not have to wait a long time to be served.
There was lots of space to choose from to put your sun lounger and relax. However, a lot of guests reserve them very early in the morning for the day so you have to be quick or they will be gone! We agreed that we thought there should be more sun loungers and umbrellas provided as sometimes you had to wait a while for them. The swimming pool was never too crowded and there was alot of room to do your own thing and relax.
Lots of shops were located only a 5 minute walk away from the hotel destination, and we enjoyed walking down and seeing the views and what the shops had to offer.
In the evenings, the entertainment was average. It could have been improved and we were never fussed to watch it. However, if the entertainment was not your cup of tea (like ours) there was other places you could go to have a drink and sit down, which was much quieter, peaceful and relaxing.
The hotel room was cleaned very well daily and was a very good reasonable size with a lot of storage space. You can see stunning views from which ever room you are in from the balconies.
The hotel played daily sports which all ages could get involved in such as water polo, badminton and table tennis. It proved to be great fun and the coaches and leaders were all very friendly.
Overall, every single one of us enjoyed our stay here very much and we will be coming back to this hotel next year for sure. I would recommend it to any family to stay here!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and the staff. We take note of your suggestions in order to improve the quality of our facilities and service.
We look forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Carla Garcia Lefevre
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here (August, 2014) and would not be against staying here again in the future.

Everything was well-maintained and clean. The staff were very, very friendly and professional. The food was good for an all-inclusive buffet.

The coffee, however, was terrible--at breakfast all that was offered was instant coffee from a coffee automat. The hotel should be embarrassed that this is all they have on offer. If we come back here again then I will bring coffee and a french press with me.

The holiday did not get off to a good start as our rooms weren't available on the first day of our stay. I have given this hotel 3 stars instead of 4 because of this problem..which many, many other people staying at the hotel seem to have. The fact of the matter is that the hotel overbooks the rooms and expects the guests to take whatever the hotel will give them. The hotel staff tried to pass the blame onto the travel agencies--but they clearly make more money from double booking rooms than from the compensation.

We were not happy about this (particularly as we had pre-paid for these rooms) and also because the night receptionist initially tried to put our party of 4 into 1 room, instead of 2 rooms as we had booked.

The rooms we ended up staying in for the first night were very tired and in definite need of refurbishment.

In the morning, they gave us a free upgrade to the nicer rooms on the upper floors. These rooms were much nicer, but I'm not sure the hotel would have offered us this if we hadn't complained.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 6th, 7th, and 8th floor have been renovated to a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rogersisinbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Roger,
Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and the staff. We take note of your suggestions in order to improve the quality of our facilities and service.
We look forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Carla Garcia Lefevre
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Globales America, Majorca at the end of July, 3 adults and 2 children. The transfer to the hotel from the airport was pretty quick although it was a lot longer going home. We booked in quickly at reception, the receptionist who spoke good English was very polite and cheery. The room wasn’t quite ready so we left our cases in the luggage holding room and went for dinner. The room was on the 8th floor, it was roomy with a shower,(no bath) and a fridge, TV and spectacular Sea view with beautiful clear blue waters.

The entertainment team were good especially with the children. There was games for young and old and keep fit activities during the day and a mini disco followed by bingo in the evening then variety acts about 3 times a week most of them above average, our grandchildren specifically liked the magician. If you went early enough you could usually get a table to get a good view of the stage and it felt nice and relaxed with a good mixture of nationalities.

The food in the main dining area is what you’d expect for a 4 star all inclusive hotel ranging from average to good. I think the breakfast could have been better, but most of the time the selection for the main meals and deserts was adequate so I never went hungry. The pizzeria near the pool was good and there was also a BBQ so there was plenty of opportunity to put on weight. You didn’t have to queue up too long to get drinks from the outside bar there was also an inside bar which was more laid back.

There are two decent size swimming pools and one children’s pool, don’t bother taking your inflatable’s as they are not allowed in the pool unless they are for infants. The sun beds are locked up with chains and are released about 8.30/8.45 then its ready steady go. I used to go down early and put a towel on a parasol near the kids pool so we could keep an eye on our 2 year old who loved the water, and yes we did use the sun beds most of the day, but there was plenty of sun beds but not enough parasols.

The beach is about 2 minutes away, its small and does get busy sometimes but its nice and clean. The glass-bottom boat leaves quite close to the Beach/Hotel. In the other direction is a small centre which has a lot of gift shops and few bars, crazy golf and a small funfair its ideal for families with young children.

The hotel is in an ideal location with everything that you could want at the Hotel or close by (apart from a good Wi-Fi reception) if there was one thing in my opinion that didn’t live up to the standard of the rest of the hotel it would be the food, apart from that it was a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derekday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and the staff. We take note of your suggestions in order to improve the quality of our facilities and service.
We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 7th-14th August. After a 2 and a half hour transfer we got to our hotel to be given a warm welcome, our wristbands, then to be told that the hotel was overbooked and we would be staying at Hi Bouganvilla in sa coma, to say that we were upset was an understatement, my two children were horrified as they had been excited looking at pictures online and knew where they were going to. We expressed to Carla that we were not happy, but there was no room so we got a taxi paid for by the hotel, it was a 25 minute journey to the Bouganvilla, first impressions was that the hotel was by a main road with not much about, we checked in, lovely staff and stayed for 2 nights and made the most of it, kids probably liked it better than America ! Got a taxi back on Saturday morning to be told that our room wasn't ready, finally got in at half two !!! because of the hassle Carla gave us an upgraded room on the 6th floor which was stunning with lovely views, a free safe, minibar, bottle of bubbly and fruit. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels, the staff were lovely and we actually enjoyed the rest of our holiday. There was always a good food choice for us all and the food was lovely, kids loved the pizzeria with fresh pizza, pasta and salad, also the toasties and chips from poolside snack bar. we played bingo for a few nights and stopped for entertainment but it was always the animation team putting it on. there is a lovely café bar at the front of the hotel where you can sit outside and chill of an evening which was nice. The wifi reception wasn't great much to the disappointment of my 12 year old. The shops were great, only a few minute walk with lots of variety, the sea was only a short walk down about 50 steps and was great if you had older children as the waves were quite big. All in all we had a lovely family holiday and would return if we could guarantee not being overbooked.

Room Tip: 6th and 7th floors refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corrina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Globales America, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Corrina,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in our Hotel. We are very glad to know that in general you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carla Garcia Lefevre
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#6 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
5.9 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
#4 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globales America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales America

Property: Hotel Globales America
Address: Carrer Formentor, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#2 Family Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales America 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful parts of Mallorca, Calas de Mallorca.Its privileged location in Cala Domingos, theree swimming pools on the sea surrounded. The Hotel has a total of 351 rooms, distributed as follows: 66 single rooms, 138 doubles, 113 triples and 35 quadruple or families rooms. Sea view, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Satellite TV, SAfe (with charge), Telephone, Hairdryer, mini-bar, Disabled facilities, the hotel has WI-FI zoen and Internet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globales America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Majorca
America Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel America Mallorca
Hotel America Calas De Mallorca
America Calas De Majorca
Hotel Globales America Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing