We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-orientated cheap hotel”
Review of Club Cala Romani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Cala Romani
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Belper, Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Family-orientated cheap hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The family and I (teenage daughters & 5 yr old son) had a very pleasant and cheap holiday at Club Cala. I have read the most recent reviews and most are positive, the only negative one obviously comes from a reviewer without children. This is a hotel catered for families; I'd advise couples to try elsewhere. Lots of positives about the hotel- Arrived after midnight and staff opened up the snack bar which was a great touch. Snack bar same food every sitting but compared to hot dog or cheese toastie in Kos there seemed more choice including salads, meats, breads and cheeses-plus fruit and juices. Our room was in a block away from the main entertainment area which was good as I'd requested a quiet room. The room was large and basic and had recently been painted so the Mrs told me! (I have no sense of smell!) 5 beds in 2 rooms plus kitchen area with hob and fridge and a table and 4 chairs! Balcony double sized-plenty big enough to watch the ensuing thunderstorms! Clean towels when required and room always cleaned-no problems on that score. There was no air conditioning but we did have ceiling fans, only problem our ceiling fan was probably the noisiest in the whole hotel! The food- There are some points that I have to concur with for example toaster issues, totally inadequate if you wanted that for breakfast! I did find that as the food went down and you were left with the dregs the food was obviously not as hot as it was when first put out!! (Common sense really?) I couldn't agree that the food was disgusting- always a good choice of dishes(yes there were chips for breakfast?!?) But generally different meats and veg, choice of cold meats, cheese and salads as per usual, an area for pizza and spaghetti and the the usual puddings with mousse, fruits, ice creams etc. There was a pizzeria next to the main eating hall which was a nice change with freshly made pizzas. The trouble though as stated by previous reviewer - the queues. Even in June when the hotel is not at it's fullest there were queues for tables. There just isn't enough seating to accommodate all the guests, so imagine the difficulties in the main Summer holidays! The staff though had to work quickly to move plates and dishes in preparation for the second sitting! The hotel has good pools and a little play area for younger children. The usual tennis courts, football pitch and volleyball opportunities were available and things for children like blow up water slide, hamster balls? on water, bouncy castle and trampolines but all at a cost! We never struggled to get a sun-bed even at half 8 -9 o'clock, there were plenty and no need to get up at half 6!! We enjoyed the walk to the beach and didn't struggle to walk back up the mountainous? uphill climb back to the hotel!!! Lovely little beach, soft golden sand and turquoise waters and not too deep enabling us to walk out quite a way. Not very commercial a couple of shops nearby if you need ices/drinks etc. I wouldn't complain about the town myself, last year we had a choice of only 2 shops to look round at Puerto St.Miguel in Ibiza, so to have a little market type area to ramble round with lots of great little shops was great for the teenagers and for us too really! Generally a good hotel that is really for the family but could get very busy in the Summer

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thefastwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    1,031
    707
    300
    282
See reviews for
1,647
598
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If a cheap holiday, waiting in queues, lots of kids and you don't care what you eat then this is the place for you. The Hotel is too big and understaffed, is grubby and needs a total refresh. Basically had too queue for everything. Restaurant smelt of grease when you walked in, there are just two extremely slow toasting machines for circa 1500 people, so a rather large queue for toast each morning, chips at every stting, great if your a child I suspect, kids running round, waiters/waitresses clearing the plates on trolleys next too you whilst you ate your meal, brushing the floor again whilst people were eating , we were all inclusive but ate only breakfast in the hotel (toast) after day one as the food was disgusting and only luke warm. We checked the food each day and it got no better so we ate out. It was help yourself to lager and soft drinks but again had to queue and dodge children filling up paper cups and spilling it everywhere attracting wasps/flies. If you wanted a spirit then again you had to queue and it was a max of 2 drinks per person, we were a party of 3 so 2 had to go for drinks each time. The main bar notice states all inclusive finishes at 12, well not true, 11:50 if not at bar then you did not get a drink, not even if the bar was enpty they would not serve you. The pool area was a nightmare, kids running all over the place squirting water all over the place without a care of who got soaked and their parents well they didn't care so long as the child was nowhere near them. Not enough sunbeds, had to take your towel down at 6.30 am to get a bed, even then the beds are all on top of each other. The beach was a 10 min walk downhill going but quite a hike uphill coming back. The area itself was quite small with very lttle too do. Can't comment on the entertainment as having seen the entertainment room, again huge with butlins/pontins style rows of tables and chairs with little room too move and hundreds of kids running around we decided not to stay. The room was basic , the bed linen was clean and towels changed daily but only a ceiling fan NO AIR CON , we had poor weather and it was still too hot, we had a 3rd floor room so could leave the patio door open , I would guess it would be unbearable in the height of summer. Would I go back - NEVER .

Room Tip: I would say a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reddebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calas de Majorca hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Don't be put off by the negative wingebag's, who like to go abroad and expect foreign countries to cater solely for the English drinking beer louts. Like we would do the same for them in our Country!?!?!

We went during school holidays (2 adults, 1 child, age 11yrs) a bit aprehensive and actually was pleasantly surprised. The transfer did take around 2 hrs, but you got to see a bit of the Island, which I enjoyed whilst partner and son caught up on their sleep. Definately recommend going to the loo beforehand though as we were all bursting!!!!

It is an exceptionally large hotel with extra blocks dotted all over and I wouldn't say it was dated, it's just Spanish! Everything is done quickly and the staff work very hard, a bit like you are on a conveyor belt, but this is a bonus, as who wants to queue for ages. Rooms are adequate, clean and acceptable although matresses are extremely firm, don't bounce on them as you might break something!

Main food is bound to be a bit different from ours but is actually really tasty and they had paella one week, although there is always pasta, pizza, cheese, bread and salad if main courses don't tempt you. Oh and there was chips for breakfast, lunch and dinner for fussy kids!

Outside facilities, grounds, pool and drinks bar are superb. The football pitch and pool was a hit with our one. The beach is beautiful, but is a 10 min walk up/down slopes, wouldn't recommend for lazy slobs! The caves of drack is a good visit if you're interested in that sort of thing, which I was, although partner and son found it boring and nicknamed the 'caves of crap'.

Entertainment was inside a large dark hall and became very busy. A couple of good bands but nothing to write about. Spent some evenings in the town which was pleasant, not much for teenages I would guess.

So all in all a good/average family break in an ok part of Majorca. I personally would recommend Cala D'or/Ego's if you want somewhere a bit more classier.

HOPE THIS HELPS - ENJOY!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank muffins1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

this hotel is brill lovly big swiming pool great entertament team my kids loved it self service drinks all day beauterfull pool area just a great hotel all round and the kids will love it as me and my wife did

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kazza_deep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Myself and my fiance spent 10days at this hotel at the end of May. We had struggled to get a good deal anywhere due to the timing of when we could go on holiday this year so ended up with this hotel rather than actually choosing it.

On arrival at the hotel it looked dated from the outside and inside but we couldn't really fault it. Our room was clean and the fan was welcome but would be a nightmare not having air con in the summer heat. Shower was hot and our towels were changed regularly. Rooms either had a pool or sea view. I'd advise asking for a sea view like us as we got the morning sun including gorgeous sunrises and also we were away from the noise around the pool.

The pool area was very large, but obviously that meant alot of people! There were plenty of sunbeds as long as you reserved them with your towel before breakfast. We only stayed by the pool one day as it was our idea of a nightmare! Ridiculous entertainment...water aerobics etc with the most annoying cheesy music playing. Wasps everywhere because of people's lack of understanding of what a bin was. The sunbeds could have done with mattresses but luckily i had brought a lilo from a previous holiday to use.

Could not fault the food at all. Plenty of variety over 10 days although you always get the typical English moaners who dont like trying different food even though they are abroad! Drinks plentiful as you help yourself although the fizzy drinks were covered in wasps too. No queues for food or drink, except if you went at opening time of the what i can only call the canteen! Don't expect to come and have a nice dining experience, it was just get in, eat and leave!

The beach was lovely and only a 10 minute walk away so could go down and still come back for lunch. However it did become crowded quickly. Reception were helpful and even posted regular updates on the state of the weather...we had 5 cloudy/rainy days out of 10! Not impressed that you had to pay 5 Euros for a pack lunch though as this was one of the plus points when we booked the hotel. We declined on that. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall we cannot complain about the hotel as it does exactly what it sets out to do. If a butlins holiday abroad complete with cheesy hideous 'entertainment', kids running riot with parents who couldn't care less, and just sitting by the pool all day everyday is your idea of 'fun' then this is the place for you to go! Call me snooty but i'd rather see the island that i'm staying on and make my own entertainment. Thankfully we booked a hire car the whole duration of our holiday and saw the whole island, including many more wonderful beaches and the mountains, therefore not needing to stay in the 'hell hole' of a hotel other than to sleep there!!!! This hotel was only ever going to be a base to sleep.

Thankfully we paid an ok price for it. I would never return to this hotel and would not recommend it for couples looking for a relaxing holiday. I also would not bring my children here either, there are so many better places to go and explore.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We arrived back from the cala Romani today! I felt obliged to come on here after we used the site so extensively to find a hotel initially.

I really recommend this hotel, so stop looking. If you are after a poolside break with great nighttime entertainment, clean rooms (done daily) and great all inclusive food then book it now.

We are a family of three with a 7 year old daughter, she was safe and happy, entertained thoroughly by the team. The pools are ideal for kids with their sloping edges etc. It's a real family setup which means lots of kids of all ages.

Hot tip, if you are taking a son who likes his football, take suitable trainers and even a ball! There is a great five a side pitch and all the boys spent most of the day there i noticed! It's within a stones throw of the pool so you can always check on them.

The beach is a ten min walk, and is lovely, but we didn't bother with it.

On the food, it was great, different every day, but a consistent pasta bar with either a tomato or roquefort (spelling?) sauce for the less adventurous! I could probably list every dish they served but I can put it more simply, there will be something for everybody every day.

So, just to clarify, top hotel and we recommend it.

There are always downsides and this hotel has a couple.... 1:45 hour transfer time and there isn't much to do outside of the hotel. For us that wasn't an issue.

Oh and one more thing, you can only really compare opinions when you know the price paid..... So for the hotel only we paid £390 total for one week (during half term) - that was on travel republic.

Bargain we will be going again.

Chris, Rachel and Caitlin.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheReynoldsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just come back from our second trip. 10 days with the family (and my brothers family). They have made some good changes since our last visit including self service beer, and soft drinks. This saved a lot of quering.

Meal times you had to queue, but again everybody was joking about this, so it was not an issue.

Food was of a good quality, although cna be repetative.

What was really nice is that we recognised a number of staff who were there when we were last there, and all of the entertainment staff made us very welcome. Evening entertainment was really good most nights, kids club was enjoyed by all.

Rooms were kept clean, and the ceiling fans were better than aircon.

Only been back since yesterday afternoon, but already looking for next year, and it shows the quality of the hotel when people you speak to have been going there for a number of years (one family 9 years, one I spoke to 5 years).

If you choose to go, enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank liketostayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#7 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,183 reviews
25.6 mi away
Eix Lagotel
Eix Lagotel
#16 of 30 in Playa de Muro
2,125 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#18 of 29 in Sa Coma
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#1 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
472 reviews
39.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.3 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#8 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cala Romani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cala Romani

Property: Club Cala Romani
Address: Sa Mola, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cala Romani 3*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Cala Romani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Romani Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel Cala Romani
Cala Romani Hotel
Club Cala Romani Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing