We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Yon Need to Know”
Review of Club Cala Romani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Cala Romani
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“What Yon Need to Know”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Just back from a family holiday to Club Cala Romani on the 17th July & had a great time. I traveled with my husband, 11 year old son & mother-in-law.

If you are thinking of staying here, I hope this review will give you the information that you require.

On Arrival:
Hotel hasnt got a great frontage (looks a bit eastern block) but once through the doors the Reception is spacious & cool & my goodness the gardens & pool areas are just fantastic. Check in was a breeze - 2 rooms on the 1st floor kindly organised by the male receptionist as he quickly realised, without me asking, that my elderly mother-in-law needed to be on a lower floor & the rooms required needed to be beside each other. Well done Cala Romani!

Rooms:
Not overly big but big enough but absolutely spotless. No TV, no fridge but then why woud you need them? Everything in the bathroom was pristine, mildew free and white (this included the towels) great shower with lots of hot water day & nite. If you like your aircom in your room then this hotel is not for you but there is a large ceiling fan & we slept with the patio doors open.

Food:
Plentiful and of a good quality. Hot food was hot & cold food was cold (which is always a good sign) and there was always plenty of choice even if you arrived at the end of a meal time. Always lots of fresh fruit, breads,salads available. There were occasional queues to access the dining room at lunch or dinner but this was usually when people were waiting for the doors to open and if you had lunch at 1.30pm & dinner at 8pm then no queues. The snack bar (it was open when the restaurant wasnt) provided all you would need to make a sandwich/filled roll fresh fruit, ice cream etc. How anyone could go hungry is beyond me!

Pool Area/Gardens:
Again this was immaculate, cleaned every nite & the pool always looked clean with no scum marks around edges. Whilst there is also a small pool near the playground & surrounded by gardens for toddlers, the main pool also has a beach edge which gradually sloped down so this is also great for the little & not so little ones!!! Plenty of shady areas to lounge about and sun loungers chairs etc were always plentiful. If you want a lounger in a particular spot then yes, you need to lay out your towels by 8pm but if you are not particular then there were always loungers around. The hotel photos do not lie as whole outside spaces were fantastic, the main pool area is enormous & beautifully landscaped as are the gardens with their trees, grass & shrubs. Here you can also laze the day away. For those who are energetic there are tennis courts & 5-a-side football pitches.

Drinks:
Freely available & not watered. Being able to help yourself to wine, beer, soft drinks, tea, coffee, fruit juice etc was great and meant that there were never queues at the pool bar & even at nite at the main bar if you waited 2-3mins you were very unlucky.

Wasps/Bees:
I had read that they were everywhere.... what utter rubbish! I have seen more wasps/bees in my back garden at home. And I am speaking as someone who is severely alergic & carries an epipen!!

Entertainment:
During the day there were the usual activities that normally get (kids club, shooting, archery, bowls, water aerobics) but you were not tortured to join in, just given a list of days, times & locations so you could make up your own mind. At nite there was the usual kids entertainment/disco & the issuing of certs/medals for competition winners. The entertainers who came in were not bad but although the hotel entertainment team tried hard it was ropey. After everything was explained in German, Spanish, French & English I sorta lost interest but if you are into bingo & group games then you are onto a winner here. It was my mother-in-laws birthday whist we were away and the entertainment team made a real fuss of her including a gift of a bottle of sparkly... She was so chuffed!!

Beach:
The beach at Cala Mallorca is lovely, really pretty location with golden sand & crystal clear water. From the hotel gardens you walk down a concrete path, which at a leisurely stroll takes 6mins. A brolly with 2 beds will cost you nearly 12 euro but it is worth it. The beach is gently shelving so you can go out into the water for some distance & its still only up to your waist. The beach bar is really reasonable and the owner really friendly. A cold pint is only 2.5 euros & a water ice 1 euro so not worth the walk into the town. 3euros will also get you an enormous chunk of watermelon/pineapple for the fruit seller who wanders along the beach.

Staff:
I do not think I have ever stayed in a hotel with more friendly staff. They work long hours but no matter what they always seem to have a smile & to be ready to joke with you. The main bar men/waiters in particular were always ready for a laugh even at 12.00midnight!!
Congratulations Cala Romani on having such fantastic staff they are an asset to your hotel.

Overall:
This is probably one of the best, cleanest 3* All Inclusives that I have stayed in & it would be perfect if there was aircon in the rooms but then it would probably be a 4* & much more expensive!!!. Lets be honest nowhere is perfect & it is important to note that this hotel is 70% German & French who can sometimes be a bit overbearing but remember you are on holiday & it can be as relaxing or as energetic as you like it but if you ask me just let the kids do their thing, lie back with a good book & a cold drink and chill!!

Hope you enjoy your stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank leahmcburney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    1,031
    707
    300
    279
See reviews for
1,646
597
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I went to the Romani 12-19th July with my girlfriend (we are both 24). We really enjoyed ourselves and thought the hotel was great, very clean and stuff to do. However i wouldnt recommend it if your going as a young couple because its more of a family hotel. Kids running around, screaming, crying etc, it drove us crazy. Also the pool was over-crowded, you couldnt do any actual swimming without bumping into someone or getting nailed by a ball to the face.
There is no air con in the room unless you pay 75 euros, so we just dragged the beds onto the balconies every night and slept there, was nice and cool although we got woke up early by the screaming and crying!!
Food was ok, repetitive thou and mega busy in the restaurant/ canteen. We ate out for a four of the nights to get away from the noise and there are a couple of nice places to eat and some nice bars just a short walk away.
the beach is only 5 mins walk away and was really nice with nice clear water.
All in all i'd definately recommend if your going as a family but if your a couple look for something smaller and quieter!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kizzo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hotel about 1 hour from airport but transfers can be 2 hours, so hire a car from airport as it works out cheaper than transfers. email me if you want directions. The roads are very good in Majorca and well signposted. When you first arrive at this hotel you will be disappointed because the building looks so ugly from the front. You will either have a room for two or an apartment for 4. The rooms are small, there is room for a bed, bedside tables and wardrobe, nothing else (no fridge). I had a look inside an apartment which had the same main bedroom with an additional room with two childrens beds, a fridge and two ring hob. Apartments dated. Half the rooms and apartments overlook the pool or gardens and the other half over look the road. Having said all the above which may soundnegative I had a lovely time here. I was lucky and my room over looked the gardens with a lovely west facing balcony, so after initial disappointment with size of room, I ended up loving it. Beds comfy too (not as hard as most spanish hotels). 50 euros to hire a mini fridge which I thought excessive.
I couldn't fault dining room which was very big. Staff were amazing, clearing tables as soon as people were finished, and if you did have to wait for a table it wouldn't be for long. Food was very good, lots of choice, very good pasta dishes and pizza, salad bar, one evening they had roast pork carved by the chef, you will always find something you like or you must be incredibly fussy and need to not go AI. Nice white wine. The choice of drinks was faultless, with help yourself slussy machines, lager, sangria, soft drinks tea and coffee all day. Area round pool cleaned every day, shame people can't put their own rubbish in the bins.
If you don't hire a car you can get a bus from here to all over the island. Resort itself not that great, purpose built, but you will either be in the hotel or sight seeing. You can walk to the beach from hotel (either through hotel grounds or by road) but it is about 15-20 mins walk and not a huge beach, but nice (next to Hotel America). I would say this is a very economical holiday for a family of 4, the children will love it, but couples could go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

we are a family with young children who stayed from 11-18th July. Hotel was ok, very clean, the maids cleaned our room every day and gave us fresh towels. Hotel was really busy, at dinner time there was a massive que to get into the restaurant and then when we finally got in we struggled to find a table.
The room we stayed in was very small but no air con - if you want air con you have to pay 70euros a week.
The food was near enough the same every day - pasta, tomato sauce, chips, fish!
I don't usually moan as i always stay in basic budget accomodation but there was only a few english families there so the night time entertainment was aimed more towards german/belgian/french.
Out of the complex not much to do, a few bars down the road and not many nice restaurants.
The swimming pool was very busy, it was really hard to get a sunbed as everybody puts towels down really early! But the pool was nice and big and there is a nice park for the kids to play on.
Beach was a 5 minute walk, it is quite small but is nice with clear waters.
Basically it is a clean hotel but very busy hotel mostly germans/belgians staying there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

hotel good,swimming pools great for all,meal times not so good,after couple of days food was allways the same,had 2 search for table at every meal time,staff were very rude+arogant,think they forgot how 2 smile,or say thank u or please,rooms very basic,but cleaned daily,air con was a ceiling fan of which not much air was coming from it{could blow harder myself}although all inclusive we ate out a lot,not very much entertainment,we went out for ours,+went 2 the roco cola for tribute acts olso the travellers for frosted pint of beer,these bars are only 5min walk from hotel.

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolion1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Really good hotel for families loads of activities running through the day swimming pools are amazing and great fun. Really enjoyed the holiday and would highly reccomend the hotel to others. Great value for money

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gleadless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr, ayrshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

some people expect 5***** in 3*** hotels for starters!!!!.....well we went last October and met lovely people.......food was better than 3***, entertainment better than 3*, activities better than 3*.......staff were 5*****!!!!!!, cleanliness was better than 3***, infact maids were in every day clean towels every day and clean bedding every 3rd day ,i have 2 boys 10 &14 and they both loved it plenty for kids to do , we have just recently booked for the same time this year and meeting up with some of the friends we met last year.....cannot wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.............would defo recommend to anyone!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weeshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#7 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,176 reviews
25.6 mi away
Eix Lagotel
Eix Lagotel
#16 of 30 in Playa de Muro
2,117 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#18 of 29 in Sa Coma
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.4 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#1 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#9 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cala Romani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cala Romani

Property: Club Cala Romani
Address: Sa Mola, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cala Romani 3*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Cala Romani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Romani Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel Cala Romani
Cala Romani Hotel
Club Cala Romani Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing