We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
Review of Club Cala Romani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Cala Romani
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we went as a couple,at begining of june 2012 ,basic clean hotel,aimed at young families ,staff very friendly and helpful, ,probley wouldnt go back as a couple but would like to take grandchildren as lots to do for young kids,dining room got very busy sometimes hard to find a table to sit at, food was fresh ,definatly good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    997
    673
    294
    269
See reviews for
1,562
577
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we went weds 20th june-fri 29th june gt bk last nite fantastic holiday myself and partner and 2 boys aged 5 & 8 plenty to do for kids good entertainment fantastic staff food good want to go back again we went last year too with grandparents again was a good holiday want to go back next year ..ps forgot to put the coffee is deleicious too lol

Room Tip: recomend to stay in the appartments as gt a kitchen area with fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

just returned from a week at the cala romani,stayed here from thursday 21 st june to thursday 28 th june 2012.id read the reviews on here before i booked,wasnt put off by them,they were mainly good,apart from the food,and id agree there.id read about the long transfer from the airport,so when booking the holiday,which i did through ice lolly.com,i also booked a hire car from the airport and back to the airport,never done this before,usually just hire a car in resort for say 3 days,but think it was a good thing to do this time as hate waiting for stuffy slow coaches rammed with sweaty people and picking up/dropping off lots of others.the hotel consists of 4 main blocks,in large grounds,the rooms are basic,with basic beds,decent furniture,wardrobe etc,an adequate en suite with bath/shower.the wardrobe has a good strong safe in it,the key costing 17 euros which i think is good value,and on return of the key with the receipt you get 3 euros back.i dont usually bother with a safe but this time felt more secure as had brought 500 euros,and left car keys in safe when at hotel plus passports etc.the rooms and hotel are kept very clean,the maid cleans your room every day and if you put your towels on the floor you get clean towels every day.you get a balcony with two chairs and table,theres no light out there,i had asked for a pool view but ended up with a room at the front of the hotel so the balcony looked over the road but maybe this was better as the rooms looking over the pools got the sun all day so must have been very warm at the end of the day.the weather for myself and my son was amazing,33 to 36 every day,while here at home rain,floods,hailstones, storms,so a great time to get away from sunny u.k! there isnt any air con in your room,you get a ceiling fan,we left this on 24 hours, day and night,when we slept we sometimes left the balcony door open too,but this can be noisy with the wind blowing the curtains,but we slept ok.the reception was usually busy and understaffed.the internet nearby is the most expensive ive ever seen!50 cents for 5 mins,1 euro for ten mins,2 euros for 20 mins etc,the key pads are worn out but we didnt find any internet cafes anywhere on island,think there are some in palma though but this is 50 km,s away.suggest you use the net at other local hotels.the three swimming pools here are very good,i liked how theres a gentle slope into each one,great for kids,there are quite a few inflatable lilo,s in the pools and at sides,but its not a problem,and people let you share them too.the grounds are big,so lots of places to sunbathe,never had a problem getting a chair or sunbed at any time of day!somebody on the reviews did mention that theres a lot of wasps around,because guests dont always put rubbish into the bins,i agree this does happen,i suggest when youve drunk your drinks,either put the cups into the bins or put the cups upside down on the white drains so wasps cant get at them.onto the food,if you love salads and pasta then youll love it here,the breakfast,theres cereals,toast,bread and cheese,cold meats,fruit,the cooked selection is fried eggs,sausages,bacon,tomato,boiled eggs,potato,baked beans etc.the bacon is the usual spanish stuff,slimy,streaky rashers not the best but ok.the sausages most days,5 out of 7 days for us,are those awful plumrose style hot dogs,really yuk!!,the other two days it was proper bangers..much better!the fried eggs are nice,didnt eat anything else,never bothered with toast,as it looked too much hassle,theres only a couple of those toating conveyer oven things and they take ages,why cant the hotel have ten of them??the lunches and dinners are much the same,ok sometimes they were tasty,most times though boring!it all depends on how fussy an eater you are and what food you eat at home,the snack bar is a very poor affair!bread rolls/slices,cold ham slices,cheese slices,salad,chocolate spread,and water or fruit juice or wine to drink.probably the worst snack bar ive seen ever!why dont they serve burgers and pizza?the pizza at dinners in the dining room were quite tasty!we didnt eat here at the hotel every mealtime we drove 800 km,s around the island in 6 days and didnt come back to the hotel until ten pm some nights,we then had one free drink then walked round the corner into town to go to the local bars mainly to watch the euro footy.the all inclusive drinks finish at midnight which is fine i think,they limit you to two drinks per person each time you order,no problem!you put your two drinks on your table and go for more drinks!and if you put a small tip in the collection tin like i did often,they give you bigger measures of spirits! the staff at this hotel work very hard!and they rotate the duties too from what i saw,so the barman worked in the resteraunt etcthe bar and club near the resteraunt is a very dark,dingy place!the entertainers mainly a couple of ladies and a spanish guy were good.if you dont hire anything eg,fan,iron,kids activities etc you could have a cheapish stay.i noticed on the reception desk a sign from a local firm who hire out a big list of things including wheelchairs,but 75 euros a week for a wheelchair!!what a rip off!!some people have reaaly enjoyed their stays at the cala romani and some hated it,if they upgrade the food,and tweak a few other areas this would make a good four star hotel,cant see them installing air con into rooms as might be cheaper rebuilding the hotel,but to be honest you dont really need air con in your room,dont think id go back to the hotel but cant knock it either!most people would be happy staying here.you get what you pay for as usual,the pools are better than most five star hotels have!!. someone i talked to was staying down the road in a three star at the same time with his wife but they were just self catering,it cost them 799 pounds,we paid 840 pounds for all inclusive including flights at the cala romani so it speaks for itself! .roger clarke.harrogate.n.yorks.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the same block as reception or resteraunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank big_rog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I visted this hotel for 10 days with a group of friends. Like others on here i was a little wary after reading some of the reviews however when i arrived i was more than happy.
You are told it is a 90 min transfer however our transfer took over 2 hours after we were sat at the airport for an hour waiting for people. A taxi will only take you an hour and will cost around €80.
The rooms are small but are very clean and the beds are comfy (although a little noisy). There is no air con in the room however we managed to sleep fine by using the ceiling fan and leaving the dppr open. You can hire items for your room but they are quite expensive, air con €79 per week, fridge €39 per week kettle €12 per week. If you have a family room i believe there is already a fridge in there.
There pool area is cleaned daily however there are alot of wasps by the main pool due to people leaving their drinks around. We had to get up early to get a sunbed as by 8.30am they would be nearly all gone.
The food wasnt the best i have had but there was plenty to choose from everyday there were salads, pasta, pizza, chips, a differnt type of potatoe, rice, 2 meat dishes, a fish dish and some vegtables.when the returant isnt open you can get a sandwich fromt he snack bar (this is open between breakfast and lunch, lunch and dinner and then dinner till around 11pm).
If you are travelling late you will not be able to get any food or drink till 8am when the resturant opens for breakfast. There are a few vending machines you can use and a water tap.
The was plenty of activites duing the day for both adults and children however the evening entertainment was a little poor.
The hotel is a short walk (about 5 min) from town where there are lots of bars and shops to visit. If you go into town look out for Capital Bar they were the most friendly bar we visited and it has a great atmosphere.
The staff at the hotel were always working hard.
There could be a few improvements made to the hotel however i think for what we paid it was good and we all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view room, this doesnt get the sun till the afternoon therefore it is cooler to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerryannej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was me and my partners second couples holiday and we got exactly what we wanted out of this holiday a cheap all inclusive in the sun with a lovely pool and beach and plenty to keep us entertained at the hotel so we spent as little as possible.

The only negative we had was on arrival our hotel was on the first floor and our balcony overlooked the roof of the shop which was hardly a beautiful view but we could live with that for the week as we weren't planning on spending too much time in the hotel anyway.

The place was clean, lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds, if you can't find one there are a pile round the back which you can drag to an area yourself. There is lot's going on during the day such as sport and the aqua gym (water aerobics) they do every morning is hilarious and definitely worth joining in with.

The food is a little repetitive but there was never any issue finding something we liked as there is always chips and pasta for any fussy eaters.

The evenings were great, there were lots of different drinks and cocktails available on the all inclusive which was open till 12:00. The entertainment in the club was really good and the animation team were really enthusiastic.

The beach is a 5 minute walk with its own path down from the hotel.White sand and blue waters and lots of fish so buying a snorkel is encouraged.

Overall a lovely relaxing holiday, this was a cheap all inclusive and for what we paid we were very happy.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms 108 onward overlook a roof so terrible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HeatherMarie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Went to this hotel from June 17th to June 27th as a family of four, me, my partner and 2 children ages 8 and 2.
We arrived just after midnight and were disappointed to find out that we had not been allocated a pool view room although we had e-mailed the hotel 6 months ago and they had confirmed this would be possible.
The apartment that they gave us was in Tomir block at the very back of the hotel. Views from this block are either another block of apartments, wasteland or the hotel bins. The apartment itself was very clean and spacious and the maids did an excellent job coming in everyday, changing the bedsheets and giving us fresh towels.
Hotel amenities are excellent. The pools are large, scenic and clean. These are the nicest pools that we have ever seen in 3 star accomodation. There are enough sunbeds for everyone, no matter what time of day it was we never struggled to find a sunbed. The only problem around the poolside is the amount of wasps, they are everywhere but this is not a fault of the hotel but that of lazy and inconsiderate guests who leave spilt drinks and ice cream pots lying around even though there is a bin every 5 metres!! Down from the pool there is a football pitch, tennis courts, small park and a paddling pool for toddlers which we found was quite dangerous as it was very slippy.
Now on to the big let down which was the food!!! OH DEAR is all i can say. The food choices were terrible especially for children. They dont have anything like chicken nuggets, fishfingers or sausage, so unless your children like pasta and undercooked doughy pizza they will probably live off chips for the entire stay like my 2 year old did. They have salads and then a series of 5 hot trays. Chips, potatoes, 1 veg, a fish dish and last of all a meat dish. I couldnt believe my eyes one day when i saw that the only meat choice was pigs kidneys. Yuck!!!! I also found the food to be very over salted especially the soup. By day 3 we were absolutely sick of walking in to the restaurant to see what delights they had on that day. One night we ate out in a chinese restaurant called china town which was a very refreshing change and reasonably priced too.
The drinks were just your usual all inclusive drinks but one thing i can say is that the cocktails werent freshly made they came out of a machine and didnt taste that great. The slush puppies for kids were good however.
The entertainment in the day was gret for kids and adults who enjoy joining in with the fun. They did aqua arobics and club dances around the pool which was very entertaining to watch (especially the three 21 year old boys with matching shorts! Their seriousness and obviously rehearsed choreography provided us with endless hours of entertainment). They also did 5 aside competitions at the football pitch which our 8 year old loved joining in with.
Night time entertainment wasnt that great so we sat outside most nights as the place where they do the entertainment was very dark and dingy!
We did 1 trip while we there which was to aqualand water park which was a good day out, its quite expensive for families, it cost 107 euros and took quite a while to get there on a very overcrowded bus.
All things said we did have a great holiday it was just the food that let us down. Its a great hotel for families but definitely wouldnt recommend it for couples. A lot of the couples that we met said they wouldnt go back!!

Room Tip: ask for Galatzo block with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Just returned back 26/06/12 after staying at the Cala Romani fully inclusive for a long weekend. I want to first say the positives that the hotel rooms and public areas and pool were lovely and clean and well maintained . The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and any requests such as more pillows were attended to quickly.The cleaning staff , bar staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful . The reception staff were for the most part friendly and helpful although there were a couple that were unhelpful.
We booked through Olah holidays , the Ryanair flight was an experience !! I have never flown low budjet before!!
The transfer to the hotel was supposed to be 90 mins , but it took 3 hours mostly due to waiting on the coach for over an hour before it left and the transfer then took over two hours(a taxi costs 70 euros each way I would consider paying for that unless you want the scenic route of Mallorca) We didn't arrive at the hotel until almost midnight instead of 10.30pm as estimated.The receptionist was quite sulky,although fully inclusive the snack bar had finished and the bar was just closing(due to the transfer being late) . I asked if I was able to pay for a security box as we were hungry as everything had finished , we needed to go out to eat and I didn't want to go out at midnight in an unfamiliar resort with my son , my passport and all my euros/money . I was curtly told that I would have to wait until the morning as keys for the room security boxes are only given out after before 11pm.
The first day the food was quite nice and varied although the hot dog sausages with breakfast were not very nice . The subsequent days the food seemed to be less varied/boring/not nice and the desserts were also the same each day .The last night there was nothing I wanted to eat, so we ate out ,although I must add the fresh fruit was nice .At lunch time/dinner the tea/coffee machines in the dining room were switched off, which was annoying.
The dining room is by the pool and is down quite a steep slope which was fine for us , but anyone less nimble may have struggled .
The all inclusive alcohol drinks were obtained from the bar staff(2 at a time in very small plastic cups) there were que's but the bar staff were very fast , so the wait to be served was short.Non alcholic drinks were self service.
There were a lot of wasps but only where drinks had been spilt/left ,but a couple of times we moved sunbeds to avoid them.
The rooms have no air conditioning just a ceiling fan , but the fans are too noisy to leave on at night .Our room faced towards the sea which was a blessing as by lunch time it didnt get direct sun(but was still really hot at night and hard to sleep) . The bathroom floors are really , really slippy when wet so be really careful .
I have stayed in 3* hotels before and although it is really clean it feels more 2* than 3 and the transfers and food really let it down, for this reason I possibly would not stay there again.

Room Tip: I would opt for a higher floor for security as one has to leave the patio open all night to get air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#7 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
25.6 mi away
Eix Lagotel
Eix Lagotel
#15 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#18 of 29 in Sa Coma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cala Romani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cala Romani

Property: Club Cala Romani
Address: Sa Mola, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cala Romani 3*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Cala Romani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Romani Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel Cala Romani
Cala Romani Hotel
Club Cala Romani Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing