We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BELIEVE THE AWFUL REVIEWS!!!”
Review of Club Cala Romani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Cala Romani
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Club Cala Romani Thurs 13th- Thurs 20th Sept. We are a family, us late 30's & our son almost 4 years old. We dreaded what we would find on our arrival, after reading the reviews over the last few months....BUT! We honestly do not know what is wrong with people who 'diss' the hotel, we found it a truly amazing holiday, the staff were all very helpful, animation team, cleaners, restaurant & reception staff. We would say this is a winner with families, but equally there were younger couples there who seemed to enjoy. The bar staff work very hard & we didn't find the ques to be too long. The 3 pools are all fab, ranging from small up to larger & also a small splash pool, fairly shaded with a play area ideal for kids. There is also option to pay 5 euros to use bouncy waterslide for the day (very good fun) The animation team provide daily games etc if you want to join in. The evening entertainment is as you'd expect at 8-9pm, mini disco for kiddies (our son loved). Family stuff came on around 10pm, there is also another bar inside the hotel for those wanting a quieter evening. As regards the animation team speaking in several languages.....so what! If you think you have the monopoly abroad being English you need a reality check!! (The hotel was varied with French, Italian, Spanish, English etc).
The down side for us: The room was very hot, having the sun on it all afternoon (30c) the fan was not adequate enough to cool down the room & the transfer to the hotel took 2 hours & then the return journey to the airport 2hrs 20 mins! (For info only, there is no light on the balcony, we take candles everywhere we go, so we can sit outside whilst our child goes to sleep).
All in all, a cheap holiday, with excellent choice of food everyday, close to ammenities....beach, shops etc. Good for wheelchair/ pushchair users. Good bus service to get to other places such as Cals D'or. Security staff ensure noise is diminished at 12.30 latest, guests are encouraged to go back to their rooms & keep the noise down. The poolside, hotel & rooms are spotlessly clean.
Other people have made comments about the wasps!......Simple, get rid of your drinking beaker when you have finished with it & you have no bother! Sunbeds are not the comfiest, take a lilo or buy one there to lay on! (approx 6 euros).
WOULD WE STAY AGAIN??? ABSOLUTELY! But we would look at alternative transport to & from airport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are cooler.....but you have no view. Rooms over the pool area are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojoMajorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,007 - 2,013 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just got back from our Hollibobs at the Romani, when we left we didn't have a clue what to expect due to the reviews we were dreading it !!! But it really was okay .... If you want five star, you have to pay five star prices. The rooms are very tired but cleaned daily, so serve the purpose. No aircon! fan was broke but fixed straight away for us, and more pillows put in room after requested.
The pools are great, again, nice and clean. Bar was okay. Snacks not the best! but shops in the town to buy crisps and bits ....The food was good, not always to our liking but plenty of alternatives.
The town is minutes away and nice for a quiet little wander in the evenings as the hotel entertainment was not to our taste !!! It has a great Indian, our kids tried the chinese and weren't fans .... Travellers Inn Crepe bar had the rudest young girl imaginable there, I wouldn't spend a penny there again !!! She point blank refused to serve, and to be honest they weren't even that good !!!
The Jewel was the beach it was beautiful !!!!! a five minute walk down a little track attached to the hotel. The water was crystal clear and full of fish our sons had a great time with snorkles and hand feeding them bread rolls!
So overall it was a great break ... transfer time is long but much quicker on the return as they had already collected from the other hotels. Loved September no kids hardley, it was quite peaceful as I would imagine it's packed in the middle of the summer !
So overall it's not the best I have stayed in, but not the worst, we paid just under 300 each and it was worth every penny - Enjoy :)

Room Tip: The Tomlin back rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollibobsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just got back from a week here and it was super the service was great the rooms were cleaned everyday. The food very very good with lots of options, especially enjoyed the seafood paella they had cooking by the chef in the restaurant yum yum, only downside we had that it was to far away from the airport and as we had a little one the transfer was longer than our flight and we also wanted to go to aqualand but it was the other side of the island, we would definitely go back to this resort and would definitely recommend it to our freinds.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Insanedice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

As expected the transfer was around 2hr 30mins and not the 1hr 30mins as advertised !!! However this is not a fault of the hotel, I blame the company we booked with (Sunmaster.co.uk) will not be using them again !

There was 9 of us travelling. Me, my wife and 2 kids aged 5 and 7 and my brother, his wife and 3 kids aged 2, 14 and 14. Once we got there the lady on reception was polite and we checked in really quickly. We were staying on the Tomir block which is at the back of the resort. Whilst the view was rubbish (overlooking the back of the other block) we were inpressed with our apartment. Nice and spacious with a separate room for the kids and a fridge ! No air-con which is well documented and at first wasn't too much of a problem but the as the holiday went on I got annoyed not being able to cool down for just 10mins !

The pools were good and we had no issue coming down at about 8.30 for beds. I think this was because we went early September when the kids were back at school so it was not as busy as it could have been.

The food was ok for like 3 days and then it was like 'its the same thing again'. They basically had 1 or 2 options of a main mail or the same pasta/pizza and in the end it got so bad we really dreaded dinner times. Breakfast was ok as there was plenty of options and the pizza restaurant is good, if you like pizza everyday !!!

Kids loved the slush puppies and ice cream on tap all day and the there was never any major ques for drinks but the maximum of 2 plastic cups is a nightmare ! gone in 10 mins and back to the bar !

Wasps weren't too much of a problem. Like everyone has said just clean up around you and dont leave cups have drunk and you will be ok.

Now to the worst part, the entertainment. Truly shocking !! People have compared it to Butlins but I'd say its far worse. Virtually nothing for adults all kid orientated. The fact that its indoors when its like 28 degress outside is a real pain as well.

Finally the additional costs for the water slide, bouncy castle and trampoline can be very costly but can understand why these would be separate. Personally the water slide should be included.

Overall we would not go back due to the transfer time, poor food and shocking entertainment !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just got back from a 1 week stay and although not the worst in the world it was pretty bad, Food was horrible, basic and very repetitive, rooms are very small, too hot and poorly cleaned and the area is great if you like English louts and rude arrogant Spanish people!
Restaurants in the area were terrible and highly priced and in terms of entertainment listening to drunken English louts shouting down a microphone which the bar owners called karaoke was about as entertaining as it got.
Would not recommend and definitely not visit again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here as a couple (ages 19 and 21) and having ready some poor reviews after booking I was becoming a little bit worried. There was no need!!

Our transfer was 2 and a half hours (we also sat on the couch for an hour before it set off) so a total of 3 and a half hours altogether. We arrived at 12pm on 8th Sep and were told all food and drink had finished. We went to the nearby karaoke bar on the corner next to the three lions and ordered a lovely pizza and a few drinks. The bar staff are so lovely and friendly. We ended up visiting the bar every night.

ROOM
Rooms are quite small, 2 single beds, sofa and a bathroom. Initially I was surprised at the size of it but it worked out fine, we were barely in the room anyway. The beds felt quite hard at first but I was comfy everynight and they didn't cause any problems. The bathroom is adequate too, with one of the most powerful shower heads I have ever had on holiday. We were on the 3rd floor in the main building over looking the pool and it was such a lovely view!
Another major complaint appears to be the lack of air con. We slept with the fan on at night and had it on all the time we were in the room and we had no issues what so ever, infact one of the nights I had to turn it off as I was cold!

POOL
Everyone seems to be complaining about getting a sun lounger but we went down at 11 sometimes later and always got a sun bed in a lovely position in the sun! The pools are lovely, it really is the best part of the hotel.

LOCAL AREA
There are plenty of restaurants in the local area, and we ended up eating out most of the time as we got a bit fed up of the samey samey all inclusive food. The food outside the hotel was a pretty reasonable price. I had spag bol for 5 euros, so much there I could not finish it. There was mini golf and plenty of souvenier shops.

BEACH
there is a 10 min walk path from the hotel to the beach and it is lovely! I don't normally go to the beach on holiday, I will have one look and go back to the pool but we visited 3 times and I went in the sea everytime. Absolutely beautiful! On the last day it was very choppy so I didn't go in very deep but others were on their body boards.

ENTERTAINMENT
We are relatively young and we still enjoyed the entertainment, a few nights they had companies in and the others was done by the team there who work very hard!
There appeared to be loads of actitives for kids to do too - obviously we didn't look into this.

Overall I was very happy for the price we paid, the one thing that MAY put me off returning is the transfer time. Perhaps a private one would be better next time, but it was £40 extra each through Travelrepublic - something to consider.

Room Tip: Get a pool View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fayee_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday out here, 4 of us ranging from 20 to 23!
I don't see why so many people complain.... Unless they are expecting to be treated like a member of the royal family.

Let's start from beginning. Transfer didn't take any where near as long as my usual transfers to ski resorts. Sleep and it goes quicker.

We arrived at 9am so couldn't get into our room but they had a place to store our cases, gave us our all inclusive bands and off we went to get a snack and lay by the pool! Great service!

Rooms were a good size, no tv... But you don't need one on holiday!
Room was hot but open the patio door and put the fan on (our balcony looked onto pools) and it was lovely and cool!

Food was as expected for the cost of the holiday.... I ate lots! Simple food for picky people, fancy food for trying a few things.

Staff seemed friendly and efficient... Some could take the efficiency as rude!

Other people (possibly the ones writing the bad reviews) are the people who make the stay unenjoyable... You could hear them moaning about staff and entertainment all the time whilst being chavvy themselves!

Entertainment.... We only tried 1 thing... The air rifle shooting as we kept ourselves occupied by playing in the pool/going to the beach/ going into town. If you have to rely on others to keep you entertained then maybe here is not for you, going by the other reviews!

What lost the star was we seemed to get lots of ants in our room meaning we had to chuck out the sweets we bought earlier that day and one day the maid took our towels and left us only with one bath towel.

Otherwise it was perfect for how cheap a holiday it was.
I would go again but hopefully have less complaining, irritating chavs!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.4 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#9 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,287 reviews
27.9 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#70 of 78 in Playa de Palma
2,966 reviews
39.7 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
Aparthotel JS Es Corso
#4 of 7 in Portocolom
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
245 reviews
25.6 mi away
Eix Lagotel
Eix Lagotel
#19 of 30 in Playa de Muro
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cala Romani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cala Romani

Address: Sa Mola, s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Price Range: £61 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cala Romani 3*
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Cala Romani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Romani Hotel Calas De Majorca
Hotel Cala Romani
Cala Romani Hotel
Club Cala Romani Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing