We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“club riu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“club riu”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

As a family of four (two adults, one 16yr old and one 12yr old) we stayed at the clubhotel Riu Tropicana mid August 2012 for a week.
Having read reviews, the brochure and web site of the hotel I knew that it was on a hill and very spread out. I cannot understand anyone on here who is surprised at any of these facts as it couldn't be made any plainer - they have only themselves to blame as they obviously booked it with their eyes closed. as I have a dodgy knee before we went I contacted First Choice and also the hotel directly to request two rooms close together and within reasonably walking distance from the facilities. I received a very polite reply from the hotel saying they would try but could not promise. Upon arrival I was delighted to have been allocated two rooms with adjoining doors and within a five minute walk of the facilities - it could not have been better.
The site is huge but there is a minibus that goes around the site from 8am until approx midnight picking people up and dropping them off. This is free and everyone can get around easily from what I could see.
Good points, food is good and plentiful, the rooms are very clean and cleaned every day. The whole site appears to be very well maintained (almost too well...they never stop cutting grass, painting etc) the pool is probably the cleanest I have ever seen on holiday. The staff are exceptionally polite, keen and speak a multitude of languages (as there were French, Germans, Dutch, Italians and English here) The beach is close by and also clean but is a little small.
Not too great points - the rooms are fairly basic with no aircon and (if you like TV on holiday) the TV has only news channels in English. If you speak German or French you have a better choice. The lack of aircon is a big issue as the large fan in the ceiling is dreadfully noisy and everyone turns them off and so there is no respite from the heat. There are also no drink-making facilities or fridge either, which I missed.
You have to remember this is only a three star hotel and so you cannot complain that you don't get five-star facilities - if you want/need five-star then pay for it but don't go cheaper and complain later like some people on here seem to.
Overall I loved it here and would pay more to stay here if the rooms were updated.
The people, staff, cleanliness and food were all first-rate and I would recommend it. But do check the brochure/websites first and don't complain about the obvious later.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel directly via e-mail if you want a room close to the facilities, in my experience they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snickerboy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    492
    202
    73
    61
See reviews for
501
467
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Alne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Spent a week at Tropicana early July. It really is excellent value for money. Around €50 a night for an all inclusive resort, that's pretty good. The rooms are good, all with a private patio/balcony. There's no air con but the fans kept us cool enough. We were fortunate to get a room close to reception, definitely recommend you try and do this as some of the rooms are a serious trek to the restaurant, pool and beach. The restaurant is buffet style but offers a good variety each lunch and dinner time. We had teenagers with us and they often used the snack bar for lunch or early dinner, it closes at 6pm. It serves burgers, pizzas, hot dogs etc. The beach is beautiful but be aware you have to pay for sun loungers, it's not a private beach. My only real criticism of the place is it could do with another pool, as one when it's busy isn't enough. The evening entertainment is what you'd expect but we had a giggle there most nights. The activities throughout the day are varied, there's something for everyone. This is my third trip to Tropicana and I'd certainly have no hesitation in recommending it. Don't forget it is a three star and you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Request a room close to reception, even if it means moving after a night or to so you get one I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feeneyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was our second stay at a Riu hotel, and this time we were impressed as much as during our first stay. The staff was really nice and helpful. When we arrived, we first got a room that looked out onto the road and was a bit loud, so we asked whether there was anything quieter available. Even though it was high season, they found a great room for us, really quiet and with a great view of the mountains. Our room was very clean, and the cleaning lady always came when we were at the beach or having lunch, so we never had to wait for her to finish cleaning, which happens often at other hotels I’ve been to. The complex is really pretty with lots of palm trees, beautiful bushes, flowers, and, of course, olive trees everywhere. The beach is close, and you don’t have to walk over rocks to get there (people living in some of the other hotels near Riu had to, didn’t look really exciting in the scorching sun). Food was great – lots of variety for each meal, I’m pretty picky about what I eat, and even I was satisfied.
The only downside is that the hotel is located far from Palma, and there is not bus stop near the hotel. To go somewhere, you either have to book a trip or go to the bus stop at the nearby Hotel America (to get there, you have to walk over the before-mentioned rocks). Even from the Hotel America, buses to Palma go like twice or maybe three times a day, and the taxi ride to the city is pretty expensive. However, for relaxation purposes this hotel is great – nice beach, nice rooms, pretty complex, so you don’t have to worry about anything other than relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were very much looking forward to our holiday and, went with some of our family as a family group of 4 (2 adults , 2 children) and 5 (2 adults , 3 Children). We arrived at palma airport hot, tired and desperate to get to our hotel with our young children only to finally find our coach and be told the transfer would be around 3 hours.... we swiftly decided to get our own cab which cost 120 euro for the 9 passengers and took only 45 mins. We arrived at the Club Tropicana to very friendly staff but soon realised our booking had been misunderstood and were given villas 211. 212 and 202 which was a long walk away from each other and there was no way that we could split the parties and leave children alone or have partners apart for the duration of the holiday so we slept 4 and 5 in a room meant for 3!!!!! and had an unused villa!!! Our villas were a good 7 - 10 mins walk from any facilities (including any drinks) and a very steep hill. We were devestated however............. apart from the long walk, packed rooms and lack of air con in 40degrees heat we had a FANTASTIC TIME!!!!, the food was excellent, The staff were giving 150%, the pool and beach were beautiful. The children all had a great time at the kids club and the mini discos and always had a smile on their face!!!!!. Everything was spotless and we were never hungry, thirsty or needing of entertainment. The rooms were very far away and we would of liked the chance to have a drink together before dinner whilst watching the kids play in the grass but this was not to be!!!!!!!!! we made the best of our holiday and enjoyed every minute and the beds were comfy, food was good, drinks hit the spot and I cannot fault the staff in any way!!!!!!!! the only tip i would give is to call before hand and negotiate a villa from 0 - 100!!!!!!!!!! enjoy and remember at Club Tropicana the drinks ARE free!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the facilities!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natr0gers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

At the airport we were put on an old mini bus with no rep or advice and taken to the hotel we were given a nasty tasting bucks fizz, given our keys and told we had to go to the first sitting at dinner for 7pm as the other foreign visitors like to eat later. We would have liked that choice as well. People were walking in the dark to put towels on the sun beds around the pool.
We went to the beach which is a public beach and was fun until the Italians started making out on the beach in front of children. This happened more than once either in the water or out. Night time was a fight for chairs just to sit outside for a while. The food at the hotel is very good but the drinks are weak. If you are going there on holday take extra money and go into the town after dinner where it is much better and the locals are pleased to see you and taxis are really cheap or save your money and go to Butlins. Most people there said they would not go again and some left for different resorts after complaining. The rooms are clean so if you like rowdy people this is the place for you but I am afraid this resort was not for us.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Another fantastic trip to this hotel, no it wouldn't be everyone's ideal holiday as the grounds are very spread out. On the plus side all the rooms are little bungalows not a big high rise block, yes the bungalows are alittle dated but so what you only sleep and shower in them anyway so who cares. There is so much going on around the hotel and swimming pool all day and all night you will not spend much time in your room. All the hotel staff are fantastic and work all day to keep you entertained. The ground staff work tirelessly to keep the place spotless. The food is excellent with something for everyone. You can walk straight on to the beach from the hotel and is a beautiful spot, yes if you want excitement go to Palma, if you want peace but with lots going on this is the place for you. - there is alot of talk of this hotel being knocked down and re - built please don't - We shall be going back next year if possible for the 8th time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room number below 100. Email them a fortnight before the staff are very help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kn0wlsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have just returned from a 12 day holiday at the Tropicana with our children, aged almost 13, 13 and almost 16. Having read reviews before we went we were foolishly slightly apprehensive. We have several holidays a year and do everything from camping to 5 star and this is undoubtedly one of the best holidays we have had. This holiday has something for everyone so if you have a diverse group this would be ideal, you can laze on your sun bed in the beautiful cove, or take a kayak for a paddle, play water polo, beach volley ball, football, rifle shooting beach Olympics etc. The location is great for a chilled holiday on a very safe resort with a lovely little beach bar, you can venture into the little town via the rocks (which we found fine) but to be honest you need not leave the Tropicana. The staff are the greatest asset, all hard working and cheerful, in particular the animation team who do an amazing job entertaining both children and adults, throughout the day and each evening with some great shows. The food was brilliant, plenty of choice and variety and the choice of drinks was also very good. Our rooms which were set in the lovely grounds (yes you may choose to get the little mini bus rather than walk, we were in two rooms almost as far away from the main reception as you could get, this was absolutely no problem, the short walk was 5 min through the lovely grounds or you hop on the little but that comes round every 10 minutes).
It is rare that I would write a review, however having read some quite negative reviews prior to our holiday I felt I really must share what a wonderful time I my partner and out three kids had on this holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bumblebee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calas de Majorca hotels
0.5 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#1 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#9 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globales America
Hotel Globales America
#5 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#7 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
2,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca

Property: Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca
Address: Cala Domingos, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#3 Family Hotel in Calas de Majorca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca 3*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Mallorca Club Hotel *** is a cosy family resort in Calas de Mallorca, perfect for travellers with kids or couples. It is an ideal choice for a holiday in contact with nature. The resort gives direct access to Cala Domingos, a lovely golden-sand beach where you can lie in the sand and swim in crystal-clear water. Located in a quiet setting where pine, olive and palm trees create a purely Mediterranean environment, the Tropicana Mallorca Club Hotel *** offers comfortable accommodation in bungalows with terrace and double rooms offering a wide variety of services, supplemented with world-class public areas that feature a gaming room, children's entertainment and evening shows, tennis courts and other sports facilities, outdoor pool with sunbathing area and children's playground, all-inclusive packages, and dining options including a buffet restaurant, a large seaside snack bar, a poolside bar and a lounge bar in the night show and entertainment area. Have a nice stay in Majorca, surrounded by all kinds of amenities and services. The Tropicana Mallorca Club Hotel *** is a resort for couples and families in search of a relaxing setting in Calas de Mallorca. Book your holiday now at the best online price guaranteed, at the Tropicana Mallorca Club Hotel *** official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Tropicana Hotel
Club Hotel Tropicana Mallorca Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing