We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont listen to any of the bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me my partner and his mam stayed here for 22/09/13-29/09/13 and must say before we went I was very wary after reading all the reviews. I think some people just find reason to complain. well from arriving we had a great welcome at reception and after we received our room key we were in 306 which had a great sea view bedroom was standard but bathroom was very nice. The hotel its self is great and room was cleaned daily. The pool is huge and their is plenty of sunbeds so no fighting for a place in the sun. I am very picky when it comes to food and found everything I tried quite nice. their is entertainment through out the day and on a night the is something different. all staff in the hotel deserve a medal for the amount of work they do. Their was a nice little beach along the bottom of the cliffs (about 10 mins walk) which is well worth the venture. Their were a few bars opposite which we tried one being a 2 for 1 bar but when u work it out its more expensive. we did go to a bar called Central quite a few times for drinks and breakfast and great staff and always made welcome. their is a little irish bar called odonnells opposite the hotel and what a lovely little bar this became out local. over all I would advise anyone looking to book here to do so.

We will certainly be revisiting :)

Room Tip: Take a sick bag on the shuttle bus as its quite a journey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at his hotel 2 weeks ago for 7 nights. When we arrived after a 2 hour bus journey from the airport!! We was told on check in we had to pay a €10 deposit per person so as there were 9 of us €90 was expected from us and would be given back at the end of our holiday (why would u even need €90 at the end of you're holiday I don't know!!) i would definatly recommend a taxi from the airport as the bus goes arouns dropping everyone else off around the island first! anyway the hotel was very clean and the rooms were lovely and clean although I was very disappointed to be in a room facing all the clubs as they go on till well over 4am and with the rooms not having air conditioning u have no choice but to keep your balcony door open as its boiling hot in the rooms. The food was disappointing as its mainly catered for French people and its mainly fish served daily! The pool and seating area was fantastic, lovely and relaxing! However the beds by the pool, you have to pay for. There is a lovely little beach about 10min walk away but in the actual resort there are only a few bars and souvenirs shops, there really isn't a lot to do there and the car hire places use this to there advantage as there prices are quite expensive! It is also really expensive for the bus and in general its expensive to buy things in mallorca! The staff there are really friendly and hard working! Apart from the girl serving pancakes, she never smiled once! The entertainment in the evening was really disappointing as it is mainly in French again apart from one night when they done a grease night. Also the music around the pool is French music, the only song they had in English was Cher! Overall the hotel is ideal if your French and wanting a holiday just sat by the pool the hole time! It wasn't a terrible holiday but I wouldn't go again due to the food, the hotel being French orientated and the location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Last minute booking, looked ok and the reviews were pretty positive. We arrived quite late and were given some sandwiches and a token for a drink each as the AI ended at 22.30. Had a quick walk round the town across the road and went to bed in our street facing room. Two problems here, firstly the heat, there is a ceiling fan which is about as much use as a ice cube in the desert and secondly the noise from the club across the road which went on until about 5.00, nice being reminded how good Rooney is but not the best sleep aid! We asked to be moved the next morning and were met with the builder approach, scratching of heads and deep sighs, before being asked to come back later. When we returned we were told that one of the two rooms we had would be changed the next day but it wouldn't be fair to change both, and despite some protesting this was the best deal on offer. The sea view room we got the next day was so much cooler due to the sea breeze and a lot quieter but was genuinely disappointed that both rooms could not be changed.
The food was fine, breakfast being the the worst option and we gave up on this after day 3, lunch and dinner were fine however with a lot of choice including freshly grilled meat and fish and a daily Paella with a huge salad offer and plenty of dessert options.
The bar hours on AI are from 10.30 to 22.30 and drinks are offered in plastic cups with a supposed 2 drinks at a time but the barmen were happy to give you 4 drinks if you asked. Well worth slinging a couple of cents in their tips bucket to get this. The only moan about the drinks was that Wine was not included in the AI, but " Champagne" was, particularly strange considering about 85% of the occupants were French.
The pool is lovely with plenty of sun beds and a nice big sunbathing area. There were lots of activities and the sports court and tennis court were both good quality. The entertainment was not great in the evening, unsurprisingly it was in French and was not of any quality.
The beach was lovely, about a 10 minute walk along the path at the back of the hotel. 12€ for 2 beds and an umbrella and a nice little beach cafe.
All in all a decent holiday but wouldn't go back unless they have Air conditioning installed, the heat at night is to uncomfortable.
Not to do with the hotel but if you book on the Internet and arrange transfers I would seriously look at a cab from the airport. The transfer took 3 hours plus an additional 45 mins at the airport waiting for the coach to fill, not the greatest start to a holiday and even more frustrating considering it only took 2 hours to fly there !

Room Tip: Worth e mailing ahead to ask for rooms with a sea view as the street facing rooms suffer from noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after moving from Santa Maria in porta crista. It was like being moved from a slum to a palace. It made the rest of our holiday and view from room was amazing. Over the road from a little fair playground and mini golf with baby goats. Also large excursion advice place over the road and mini shopping places. English bars and tv close too. Alll Inclusivr was different each day and some lovely food. Highly recommend if I came bk to Palma would come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poladyokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I went to this hotel with my girlfriend on our first holiday together. We were unsure what to expect because of the mixed reviews; but I assure you that we loved it! We went all inclusive for 6 nights and have just returned back to home. We had a side sea view.

The room we had was clean with a very nice balcony. It was quite spacious with an OK bathroom and a nicely sized room and old TV. However, there was no air-conditioning; just a ceiling fan, which did help a little but not much. The thing that a lot of reviewers mentioned was the noise; which was quite bad at night. You either had to choose for being hot and closing the balcony door; or leaving the balcony open and hearing a lot of noise from outside; which mainly came from a bar called Tiffany's across the road and a Karaoke bar. However, after the first night this did not effect us much. We only could get twin beds since the hotel has only 2 double bed rooms (which I thought was a little ludicrous).

The hotel service was exceptional; everyone was very friendly. Most if not all spoke English so there were no language barriers. One thing I should mention is that most of the guests are French; so instinctively a lot of the staff assume that you are too and start speaking in French. This did not annoy us at all to be honest; however it was slightly annoying on entertainment nights when only French was spoken. A typical example is where a couples show was on where the audience were going on. A british couple went on stage and the presenters spoke both english and french; however when a french couple went on they only spoke french. It was slightly annoying; considering that they knew that english people were in the audience.

I have got to say though we felt quite special being one of the few Brits there. The French guests were very polite and often started talking to us in the lift. A lot of them also could talk in English, when they realised we weren't French. One young madam pointed out to me that I still had sunscreen on the back of my leg; which I thought was very polite.

The Olympic sized pool was great. It was comforting to see the size of it and the big area around it; since a lot of the hotels we saw on our coach journey to this hotel had very small pools and very small areas for sunbeds.

We found the variety of food great at lunch and dinner. From lasagna, fish, chicken, pork, lamb, steak, ribs to rice (the type changed daily) and of course chips. Between breakfast and lunch, burgers and chips are served at the bar and between lunch and dinner; pancakes. There are also snacks that can be picked up at any time, which were just ham and cheese sandwiches. The staff were not stingy on giving you alcohol in your drink either. When we asked for brandy and coke, 3/4 of it was brandy.

The animation team were funny and included some stand-out characters. The range of activities was great and included shooting, archery, football, basketball, volleyball, aqua-aerobics, table tennis and some more... We only gave shooting a go but enjoyed it. For families, there were a lot of children activities.

Every night a different entertainment event was on. These were either dance shows, magician shows, comedy shows, audience entertainment (i.e. couples were invited to the stage in "Mr and Mrs style - like the TV show). These shows were suited for all ages. After the show there is usually a mini disco to end the night off. Unfortunately all inclusive drinks are only served until 10.30; so any time after - you have to pay.

The location of the hotel is great; with nearby beaches that are accessible by walking along a long path located at the back of the hotel. There is a beach on the left and right; we only went to the right one. The beach isn't the biggest but it has everything you'd expect from a beach and the views you see walking to it and on the beach are quite spectacular; since you can see the cliffs. The night time views are also lovely. Its about a 10 minute walk.

Directly across from the hotel is the small town. There is a great deal of souvenirs to purchase, however a lot of them had the same items for sale and a lot of them charged at higher prices; so browse before purchasing.

Tiffany's was the main highlight of the town; it was a club/bar directly across from the hotel and here we met a lot of friends on our first night there. We again went there a second night; but had to give the following nights a rest due to the drinking consequences of the previous night. They played music according to the crowd. This was around 70% English music and 30% Spanish music.

All in all I can safely recommend this to anyone. Especially couples and families. A lot of couples and families were there. Service was great; food was great; the town was great; the only small downside was the room's heat and noise as mentioned, especially if you had a side view.

One additional tip: I do recommend going to Caves of Drach/Cuevas del Drach. There are 4 caves and the walk ends with a beautiful but short orchestra playing on lit boats in the dark. There's a bus service down the road of the hotel (Bus Red) that takes you directly here; so its worth going.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an amazing family location, the beach is very close ideal for parent with kids and for couples. I loved the service, there because every one there was helpful and always served the right things. The rooms had a spectacular view to the beach and even Better with the balcony, it had an Olympic sized pool which mean every one had their own space which also meant it wasn't packed all together.. And also an amazing boat trip recommended and worth going on.. And fab cliff for jumping of and I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a holiday.. Best wishes.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have recently returned from an idyllic week spent at the Palia Maria Eugenia. The location of this hotel is beautiful - right next to the sea. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and ALL the staff work extremely hard to ensure their guests have great time. We were in a quadruple room with a balcony sea view to die for? The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels. The all inclusive menu was varied and catered for everyone's taste in our party. Reviewers who complain about this hotels food and facilities need to pay 4/5 star prices! Adjacent to the hotel is a little shopping mall with lovely little gift shop, cafe's and bars also lots of things for small children - mini golf and racing car circuit? There are 2 lovely small beach coves 10 mins walk from the hotel with shallow crystal clear water. We will definitely be returning. Fabulous!!!

Room Tip: Room 424 is a quadruple room with a stunning sea view. It also overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calas de Majorca
0.2 mi away
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusive
Sol Mirador de Calas All Inclusi...
#2 of 14 in Calas de Majorca
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globales America
Globales America
#6 of 14 in Calas de Majorca
2,443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#10 of 14 in Calas de Majorca
3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HSM Canarios Park
HSM Canarios Park
#9 of 14 in Calas de Majorca
2,295 reviews
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,507 reviews
9 mi away
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel

Address: C/ Romaguera s/n, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Calas de Majorca
Price Range: £80 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palia Maria Eugenia
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel Majorca/Calas De Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing