We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, getaway hotel, private seafront, beautiful gardens”
Review of Gran Melia de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia de Mar
Ranked #6 of 180 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights, the first time away without any kids for some years. We spent half the time in the hotel, taking advantage the lovely pool and swimming off the rocks, and the rest of the time visiting places we already knew in Mallorca. Location-wise there isn't much to commend it but this is the kind of hotel you can really 'hole up' in and relax. All the rooms have a sea view and a balcony, there is plenty of space in the beautiful gardens. The southerly aspect means that there is always part of the grounds in the sun (and with a view of the sea). There was never much of a problem getting a lounger, either by the pool or on the water's edge. There is also a tiny, secluded private beach with a few loungers.

All the staff were unfailingly polite and good natured - they really made you feel welcome and were always eager to assist. The guests were quite a mixed bag - the hotel is adults only (over 14 or 15 I think) and people were from everywhere. At the time we visited they were mainly older, evidently well-off, couples (kids grown up and gone?) and younger couples (no kids yet?) and not much in between. The hotel felt private and uncrowded and the presence of other guests did not impinge on our stay, despite the fact that (we assume) the hotel had a fairly high occupancy. There wasn't much life in the bar area or outside in the pool area in the evening and things seemed to shut down relatively early - perhaps guests go into Palma, which is very close, for a more vibrant nightlife.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel - we came across Restaurante Luis a short walk away towards Cala Major and were so impressed we went back the next night - great Mallorcan food cooked by the owner and attentive, friendly service - couldn't be faulted. The hotel breakfast was excellent but grossly overpriced at €25. We have eaten better food at more expensive 5-star hotels for a lot less and it looks like the hotel is simply profiteering, as they are with the extortionately priced drinks (I am never sure why it is necessary to treble the price of a cappuccino just because the hotel room is expensive - I don't mind paying more for a better room, better bed, better service, better pool, better location etc but a little cappuccino is a little cappuccino). Given that breakfast was full, the hotel will no doubt continue to charge what it can get away with but if you are interested in value for money rather than just shelling out money for no discernable gain, and can't eat an enormous breakfast every day to justify the huge price tag, book a room without breakfast and take the breakfast as and when you feel the need (there are a few coffee shops outside the hotel if you just want a coffee and a pastry or omelette).

We can't say that there were any big downsides to this hotel apart from the weak 'air-conditioning' in the room (and minor point - no ironing board in the room). The weather was not especially hot but we were slightly uncomfortable at night because we couldn't get the air-con any cooler. We complained and they sent a service engineer straight away. He said that there was nothing wrong with it. The fact is it is not proper air-conditioning (I am an architect and I know air-conditioning when I feel it!). If you are used to air-conditioning generally cooling the room to a comfortable temperature, rather than giving out a light, slightly cool breeze up to 1 metre from the aircon outlet then you may be a little frustrated (not all the rooms may be the same of course). It wouldn't stop me staying at the hotel again, however (hopefully if enough people complain they will do something about it).

The hotel is close to the motorway exit so despite being remotely located from what we view as the best beaches in Mallorca (eg, Cala Mesquida in the north east) you can get to most places on the island quickly. It is also handy if you want to take a trip to the mountains and towns on the west side of the island.

Room Tip: A high room is better, the east wing will give you morning sun earlier and a bigger view of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MD, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear usuallywith5kids,
First of all thank you very much to take a time writing this detailed review about our service, facilities and surroundings.
We take note of everything you comment in order to improve our products and services.
If you want to know our news, like our facebook fan page facebook.com/meliademar
Kind regards,
Carina Nunez, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Meliá De Mar is quite nicely located in a little cove close enough to Palma to go there by bus and far enought to be out of the major buzzle. Quiet, too, because no children are allowed here.
Very nicely designed and maintained rooms, though the bathroom cleanliness could occasionally be better.
Extremely friendly service.
Good breakfast. Take care, though, to wear a sweater on a cold morning since all breakfast rooms are very well ventilated....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MD, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear traex

Thank you very much for your words. We take note of everyone of your tips. We look forward to see you back soon and read your third review about us!

Kind regards,
Carina Nunez,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is set in beautiful gardens overlooking the sea and Palma in the distance. We stayed here 12 days and loved every minute. The bedrooms (and get one high up) which over look the sea have the bed facing the sea so you can watch the sun rise and sun set through the huge windows. The staff, especially around the pool area, were very accommodating. The breakfasts were gorgeous - thanks Kevin! The pool is lovely and you can even jump into the sea from the hotel. Its a 20/30 minute bus ride into Palma for fabulous night life.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a double bed (if you want one!) and also get high up on the floors to get grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MD, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Mrs Gail062,

Thank you very much to share your experience with us. Is very motivating to know that our guest enjoy their holidays between us!
Kevin has also your comments.
If you would like to stay tuned about our news, you can like our fanpage on facebook; facebook.com/meliademar

Kind regards,
Carina Nunez
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having read many of the comments about this hotel I must agree with many off those giving a four or five dots rating. Yes, there are some small things and yes they are true but overall this is just an absolutely wonderful place to stay.
Let me start with the staff. We hardly met any unfriendly ones. Most of them go out of there way to make your stay a memorable one. Special thank you's to Carina, Magdlene, Eva, Yuri and our two hosts with a smile at breakfast every single morning.

On arrival one feels treated like royalty, everything has a personal touch to it. The junior suits are good. Breakfast is good and the restaurants (two) treat you to outstanding service with a smile, good food and a very affordable wine list.
We had reserved the Bali beds upfront and this is really worth the money. The beds are ideally located and included comes a daily massage for two, a bottle of cava or wine and two fruit platters. The spa is also a place of tranquility and overall good treatments.
There is daily entertainment of good quality, jazz night, a free speedboat ride, cuban night, etc.
Furthermore there are two swimming pools and a small natural laguna and sun beds surrounding all of them. It struck us in a positive way that there was no "towel placing" early in the morning to reserve "my" seat.
The location of the hotel is just ideal. Less than 15 minutes by taxi to downtown Palma where one will find some great restaurants.
A very nice touch is the fact that you get regular nice surprises when you return to your room such as a fruit platter, a bottle of cava, a nice present to take home.

We also treated ourselves to "The Level" which is supposed to be the best service imaginable. We found this somewhat disappointing. Yes you can have "free" drinks and snacks from 17.00 until 20.00 hours in a very nice lounge but there are just too many mixed messages. The website tells you that you are entitled to two items for washing per day and the card in the room about The Level tells you that it is not included. Per three days you are entitled to one day free Bali bed. Nevertheless the cost shows up on the bill at the end. Also some other things they promise are not there or did not happen. It is more of a Do It Yourself package. If you don't go after it you won't get it. The idea around The Level is just great but it definitely requires some fine-tuning!

It would have been a truly memorable stay if not for the small items described above and also some other small things. Despite all this we will definitely come back but, as I see it now, without the "luxury" of The Level. The "adults only" by the way is very nice. We previously had our family vacation and we love spending a week together and this hotel is just perfect for a romantic stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hansmiddelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MD, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Mr. Middelburg,

Thank you very much to share your experience in Meliá de Mar Hotel.
Your word motivates us to keep on working hard in order to achieve excellence. Specially thanks to remember of the names of our colleagues agdelene, Eva, Yuri and our F&B team: we all remember you and your kind smile.
We find helpfull if you also comment about our services in order theu know about our activities.
Regarding the communication of The Level and the tips you paid, kindly ask you to write me and we will check everything, try to find if there's some mistake.
My email address is carina.nunez@melia.com

Thank you again to take a time writing this review.

Kind regards,
Carina Nunez,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Short stay but will definitely return for more. Even at the end of July, this hotel didn't seem too busy. Good mood in the evening with some live music, after sundown cocktails. The private beach is wonderful and I'd recommend an early dip before breakfast with the sun rising over Palma in the distance.

We were on a half-board rate and I think this was the most disappointing factor. Dinner was a fairly uninspiring buffet.

All in all a good hotel for anyone looking for some chill-out space in an otherwise busy part of the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 502DavidJ502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MD, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Mr 502DavidJ502

Thank you very much for your review. We will take into account all your comments as they help us to improve our services and products.
Really kind to tell ideas to our guests ways for enjoying their own Meliá de Mar experience.

Thank you to take a time sharing your experience.
If you would like to stay tuned to our news, like us on facebook. Facebook.com/meliademar

Best regards,
Carina Nuñez, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and 1 stayed for 4 nights

When we arrived they offered us an upgrade for 60 Euro's a night which gave benefits including a room higher up so you could enjoy the views, ipads, 2 items cleaned every day, one day on the beach beds with head massage and one massage each during the stay, free car parking which they usually charge for and between 4pm and 8pm access to a free bar and food area. Also a free paper of your choice which on each day never arrived!

We decided to go for it as our stay was only 4 days.

The room was nice although the toilet has 2 doors and was a little odd!

Also our idea of a romantic weekend is not sleeping in 2 single beds pushed together which constantly move apart and apparently you have to specifically request a double bed!

Breakfast was great, lunch in the pool area was also nice although very expensive at 35 Euro's each for a buffet. We had dinner on the outside terrace which was lovely with some lovely guitar music in the background.

The pool area is fantastic and the sea views was wonderful. The sea can be reached from 3 different points and obviously as it is an adult only hotel it was lovely and quiet.

All and all a lovely stay with the staff being so helpful and considerate at all times. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a double/king size bed when booking and get a room higher up as the trees obsc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen67London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MD, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Stephen67London,

First of all, thank you to take a time writing this review. We're glad to know that you enjoyed The Level! It's one of our most valuable service. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our garden, pool areas and our little peace of sea.

We take note about all your tips in order to became the perfect option for the holidays of everyone of our guests.

If you would like to have news from our service and facilities you can follow our fan page on facebook: facebook.com/meliademar

Kind regards,
Carina Nunez, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for 14 nights in early July at the Level. Overall, a fantastic couple of weeks - lovely hotel, great staff, nice room and good food. We'd concur with most of the great reviews on this site. However, the great experience was quickly dampened by the post-holiday service from Melia Rewards. It transpires that, having used a small number of previously-gained points to put towards the trip, making a minimal dent on the overall cost, this trip did not generate any new points, despite costing circa £6k. All of which means that our enthusiasm for a return trip has been quickly quashed. An interesting take on a loyalty programme - you show some loyalty and we don't reward you. Despite having stayed at Melia hotels previously, and thoroughly enjoyed these experiences, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Level rooms are more costly and have higher spec but suffer by being on top floor due to poor lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NB-Traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MD, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Hi NR-Traveller1969

First of all thak you very much to take a time writing this review. We learn and listen about all your comments.
Regarding the Melia Rewards program and system, kindly ask you to contact me, and we will check everything.
My email is carina.nunez@melia.com
Sorry for the inconveniences, but we would like to have all your booking details.

Thank you again for your words,

Kind regards,
Carina Nunez,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hesperia Mallorca Villamil
18.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
891 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia de Mar

Address: Paseo de las Illetas, 7, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
Price Range: £219 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia de Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Melia de Mar, a contemporary beachfront hotel Enjoying a tranquil setting in the residential area of Illetas, yet only ten minutes from Palma’s city centre, the newly-refurbished, adults-only Gran Melia de Mar, exclusive member of Leading Hotels International, has a privileged location directly facing the sea and offering a small, sandy beach. The hotel has been architecturally designed to make the most of the spectacular views Built / renovated date: 1964 / winter 2015/2016 – Rooms number: 142 – from airport Son Sant Joan - hotel: 17 km with 142 Rooms including Suites. All with Terrace with spectacular front sea view, Bathroom with hair-dryer, magnifying mirror, bathtub and shower stall, Air-conditioning. Heating. Satellite TV. Direct dial telephone. Mini-bar, Nespresso, and Safe. Room Service. 6 Meeting rooms. WIFI free of charge. The spacious ‘RedLevel Experience’ rooms and suites offer special VIP amenities. 2 outdoor pools with a delightful pool surrounded by Balinese beds with concierge service. Magnificent breakfast buffet served in the “PERSEO” restaurant and terrace overlooking the sea , the new ARRELS by Marga Coll – fine dining restaurant with a terrace providing an extraordinary range of modern Mallorcan cuisine. Big variety of F&B offers, service in outdoor spaces or indoors. In summer months enjoy the BARDOT Pool Bar & Restaurant. AMARO Lobby Bar & Lounge. Spa by CLARINS. Valet Parking. The hotel opens from April to October and is strictly adults only. Minimum age 15 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia De Mar Hotel Calvia
Melia Hotel De Mar
Sol Melia Calvia
Gran Melia De Mar Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing