We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia de Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$158
US$149
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$159
US$144
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$104
US$97
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Samos(Magaluf)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$74
US$62
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$82
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$266
US$254
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$142
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playas del Rey Hotel(Santa Ponsa)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
689
225
68
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
225
68
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelroyal suitelevel roomprivate beachbali bedspool servicenespresso machinepuerto portalsa short taxi ridefive star hotelstunning hotelsea viewsmall covepalma baypeace and quietrelaxing breaklong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

You can measure your improving girth by your ability to fit into the shower: those with a big frame may have to stay unwashed, whilst the fitness freaks will enjoy the conceit of being able to close the door. Other than the bathrooms, this was a great stay in a fantastic hotel in a lovely setting right by the sea. Plenty of space in the grounds meant there was privacy despite the hotel being full. Best breakfast ever, and brilliant staff. Not cheap, but transparent pricing gives you the choice of paying for quality or going over the road to the Adam and Eve snack bar for cheap beer and sangria. Highly recommended for those who can fit in the shower and want four days of luxury, and sun, sand and sweat.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bovivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Bovivet,

Thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for your vacations .

We are very delighted that you appreciated the experience Meliá de Mar with the unique location of the hotel and also all the services in particular the breakfast.

We are going to take good mark of your comments concerning the bathroom.
We hope to welcome very soon and meanwhile you can have all the latest news for our 50th birthday celebration via Facebook.

Best regards.
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent a few hours whiling away the early evening/ night, watching the outdoor area transform. How beautiful this is with all the big white beds lit from underneath & candles lit everywhere. We watched a great performance from a lady singing with her dancers putting on a great show & (eventually) getting people up to dance. My only gripe was the speed of the service, On 2 separate occasions I had to go into the bar & chase up our orders which was really bad service when there were so many staff members wandering around taking orders, more bar staff required (especially when paying Melia prices)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHARONH8367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear SHARONH8367,

Firstly thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for this event and thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.

We feel very glad that you enjoyed the show and all the atmosphere of the hotel during this night.
Meanwhile, we take really good note of your comments that will helps us to give an even better service to our guest.

We hope to welcome you soon and in the same time you can stay connected with us via our Facebook page.

Best regards.
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Overall a wonderfully relaxing stay at this luxurious hotel. It gives the best of both a large anonymous hotel along with personal service if you want it. The service is excellent, attentive but discrete. The location is amazing with stunning views of the sea from about the third floor up, so do check your room if this is what you want as lots of trees in the way. Lovely room and very comfortable bed. Peaceful adults' only atmosphere appreciated with lots of places to chill out and relax. A couple of things which would have improved our stay. The tranquility area is far from tranquil! It faces the noisiest part of the bay which means speed boats and dingy club with screaming teenagers and shouting teachers!

Worst of all, the shower in our room was completely impracticable. So small that even the slimmest would struggle to stay in with the door closed and without drowning. Bathroom flooded every day as a consequence. Easy to fix. Move the toilet from the cubicle to next to the bath and make a big walk in shower that befits a hotel of this quality. The gym was a welcome way to counter the magnificent breakfasts but it is small. It would be great to have a rowing machine which is standard in most gyms. Also the weights started at 4kg which for those of us who don't want to bulk up are much too heavy. Definitely a blokes gym in my opinion. Could you get in some 2 and 3 kg hand weights? But now I'm being picky! Finally, I agree with other reviewers that the constant piped music was very tedious and sometimes intrusive. I traded this in the end for the tranquil area!

All that said we had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend and return. I have given it 4 only on account of the shower as pretty basic to get that right. Do get the bus into Palma for some tapas and great wine. For little more than a euro the bus is great value and Palma is a truly beautiful town.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above for best views. Check on size of shower of you are either vertically or horizontally challenged!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank competentcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear competentcrew,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá de Mar and also thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We feel really glad that you enjoyed the relaxing place of our hotel with the unique atmosphere of “Adult only”.

Moreover, we take good note of your comments concerning the bathroom, the gym and the music outside.

Once again, thank you and meanwhile you can have all the latest news of the hotel via our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel is luxury.Perfect for a long weekend break.Treat yourself and book this hotel.The food was nice the drinks were over priced. 5 euro for a 200ml fanta. The menu said it was a 330ml but when it arrived it was only 200ml. If your planning on going check your getting whats stated on the menu as 330ml is expensive enough where as 200ml for 5 euro is rediculous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear James d,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá de Mar for your weekend break in Mallorca.

We are glad to know that the food was what you expected and we apologize for the price-quality that might have appeared to be a little expensive in some items, specially drinks.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comment and we’ll be pleased to have you with us again.

Best regards
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Right from the moment we were greeted by very smiley girls at reception this hotel not only met, but exceeded our expectations.The Deluxe double room was beautiful (do not expect a Spanish traditional feel) this is very minimalist modern. Breathtaking views over the Med and peripherally to a charming rocky cove. Gardens, restaurants and bars are charming (although a tad pricey) but do not expect American style service, everything is a little more sedate and can take a bit of time, but the frame of mind this hotel puts you in you do not mind! No scrambling for loungers, attentive (though stern) poolside assistance to have loungers, towels and mattresses etc. at any time of the day. Fantastic Spa (we had a massage treatment) although annoyingly we were not made aware we could also have entered the indoor Spa as part of our treatment. The location so close to Palma and, most importantly, the very beautiful Puerto Portals make this an absolutely perfect location. We will be back, I can give no higher recommendation!

Room Tip: Choose a room, if you can, on the 5th floor or above to clear the large trees located in the garden and have an unfettered sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear David D,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá de Mar for your holidays and for your effort and time spent in this comment.

We are pleased to know that we were not only able to meet your expectations so that we also exceeded them.

We will let know our staff about your good comments, that they made you feel comfortable thanks to the good service and all the attention put on it.

We hope to welcome you again for your next holidays.

Best regards
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews