We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another first class visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Calvia
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another first class visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have written a review of this hotel previously and you would think there is nothing much to add but we have just enjoyed another visit and the hotel just gets better. We now make an annual visit for our wedding anniversary each October and this year they really did pull out all the stops to make our stay memorable. We must once again thank Director Snr. Jacob Alvarez and all of the staff for their kindness.
The hotel is nicely situated in a quiet residential area. There are 3 lovely beaches within a few minuets walk from the hotel which is situated right on the seas edge, it does have it's own tiny beach or you can sunbath on the rocks with access to the sea via steps. Or you can just relax around the pool. There is also a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
The food in the hotel is very good and all of the staff very friendly. We must especially thank waiter Antonio Rodrigez who in February next year will be celebrating work at this hotel for 40 years, amazing. If you enjoy a quiet quality hotel my wife and I highly recommend a visit to The Barcelo Albatros. We shall be back to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary next year.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are superb and you can enjoy spectacular sunrises each morning. Worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank djmedia2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your kind review about your experience in our Hotel. Once again we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our service and facilities, every year we try to improve to make the customers stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you very much for your comments about our staff, particularly about Antonio Rodríguez. We are very proud of their work, they are continuously working to offer the best service to our guests. We will pass all your comments to our team.

Reiterate the gratitude of your words and we hope to welcome you again to celebrate with us your 43rd wedding anniversary!

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    443
    167
    52
    32
See reviews for
102
855
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Staff were probably the most helpful I have ever encountered. Hotel is well located if you like a resort which is quiet but convenient for Palma by bus. Pool area excellent and service at poolside and poolside restaurant is very good. Food was good but I missed being shown to my table in the restaurant. There were three of us on this holiday but the tables were only set for two and we had to gather settings from other tables ourselves.

Oh dear Albatros what have you done to the rooms? I have no objection to the size even though they are much smaller than before. This is my third stay at the Albatros and I persuaded my two travelling companions to join me because of my past experience We had one double and one single room. The rooms have been designed for discomfort. Couldn't keep the water from the shower from invading the toilet/wardrobe area. Sink in room was not a good arrangement and there was very little space around it for laying out toiletries. Although tea and coffee facilities were much appreciated, they did take up valuable space around the sink area. The wardrobe was not tall enough to hang dresses or long coats and it was also very dark. I spent my week with my head in the wardrobe sorting through clothes which were piled up on the one available shelf. You really must do something about the lack of storage by way of shelves, if not drawers, in the room and wardrobe. I felt like a "bag lady" as everything I needed in the bedroom had to be stored in bags. The housekeepers were very efficient and eager to please.

Please let's have a little of the erstwhile charm of the rooms restored. Thank goodness for the spacious balcony. We would have been lost without it.

The hotel could benefit from some entertainment (apart from modern jazz) either in the hotel or close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank your loyalty for share once again another stay with us.

We regret that we haven´t met your expectation with the Avant Garde designe of our rooms, the Hotel was renovated in 2010 offering to our guest attractive a functional rooms. In any case, we would like to clarify that we have taken note of your remarks and we apologized that our front desk staff didn´t know your problem to offer a solution during your stay.

Thank you very much for your kind comments to our staff, is very important for us to know that efforts are rewarded with these words.

We are at your disposal for whatever you may need. We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again soon, and offer you a room adapted to your taste.

Yours Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I just loved this hotel. It had all it promised on its website.
Wonderfull beach, good breakfast and helpfull staff. The location was perfect - and just 10 minuts drive from Palma.
On our room we found a bottle of champagne - It was my birthday and they had noticed. That is something.
Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GUNNTROND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. It is very grateful to see that we have satisfied our guest’s needs with our services and facilities.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you to our Hotel and places around in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from a mother-daughter holiday at this hotel and really enjoyed the experience. We paid the extra for a sea view room based on the reviews here and think it was the right choice. The hotel staff are superb and cannot be faulted in any way. The facilities are really good and it is very easy to get in to Palma and from there to the rest of the island. However, evening buffet was very average and there were a few other niggles. I have set out some details below but want to stress that overall we did enjoy our stay.

PROS:
- Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and eager to please. Able to assist in English.
- Sea view room was modern, spacious and well equipped (although some niggles with air con and coffee machine as noted below). Beds very cmfortable and room was spotlessly clean.
- Lovely pool area which was peaceful and relaxing.
- Location - number 3 bus leaves from right outside the hotel and takes about 25 minutes to get in to central Palma for only €1.50 each way. Very regular service all day, so easy to get around without a car.
- Wine prices in buffet restaurant were very reasonable.
- Excellent breakfast buffet.
- Adults only, so very quiet and relaxing.

CONS:
- Improved quality of food for dinner in the buffet restaurant would have significantly improved the quality of our stay. There was a large choice of food at the buffet including a salad bar, hot buffet, breads, desserts and a live cooking station. However, the quality was very average and I would say there would be a lot of waste. The hotel would do better to do fewer dishes to a higher standard. Too much oil used for live cooking and hot buffet food often only lukewarm.
- Air conditioning in room did not work properly - I believe due to centrally controlled temperatures, which defeats the purpose of individual a/c controls!! Woke up sweating on more han one ocassion.
- Charge for using in room safe and cash deposit for pool towels are not acceptable for a hotel charging these prices.
- Charging for using in room nespresso machine defeats having this facility. I understand that standard rooms have kettle with instant coffee etc, which are free of charge, so very odd for upgraded rooms to have fewer free facilities. It costs over €3 for the capsules so cheaper to go down to the bar.

If the quality of food had been better, I would have graded 5. Management should try to address this and the other niggles to make this a great hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more spacious than others and very quiet. Lovely to sit on balcony and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girl_friday_0382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to write your experience in our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Constructive comments from our customers help other customers get an idea of our hotel and its services while allowing us to identify potential opportunities to improve.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your our breakfast area. On the other hand, we will take all your comments about the dinner Buffet into consideration, in order to improve our service.

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Have just returned from our 10 day trip to this hotel. Firstly I'll mention the good points i.e. the staff were extremely helpful, efficient and polite. The pool area is ok with plenty of beds and a lovely outlook across the sea, with limited space due to the build of the hotel (into the rocks) they have made the best of the area. A minor point....... it would have been nice to have had a mattress on the sunbed. The whole hotel is very modern, tastefully decorated and very clean. Now for the bad points ..... the bedrooms. We changed bedrooms twice and the hotel manager (Jacob) was extremely helpful and charming..This hotel takes the word minimalistic to the extreme a) no drawer space anywhere; b) no desk; c) no dressing table; the room and bathroom area is totally open-plan with a shower cubicle and toilet cubicle this area is separated by a basin in a worktop the bathroom area does NOT have a door or walls, they could easily have it divided by a sliding door/wall. We have never been in a hotel bedroom where there is no drawer space ANYWHERE in the room and open area to the bathroom (imagine going to the toilet !!!! ) I agree with other reviews, its worth paying the extra for sea-view. Also its so petty to charge 3 euro a day to use the room safe and a deposit for the pool towels, what do they think we are going to do take them home with us !!!!!! Although we did like the hotel very much and the staff we would not return because of the lack of furniture in the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Sea-view high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments to our staff , is very important for us to know that efforts are rewarded with these words.

We regret that we haven´t met your expectation with our integrated bathrooms, the Hotel was renovated in 2010 offering to our guest attractive an functional rooms.We would like to clarify that we have available rooms with separated bathrooms for whose guest who request it.

We apologize that during your stay all these types of rooms were booked and adapt one to your taste.

Our aim is the full satisfaction of our guests and with this in mind we remain at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakobstad
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Of our 12 days stay on Mallorca we stayed the last 5 nights at Albatros. This is surely a fine hotel for a shorter stay but the lack of good restaurants in the area forces you to go in to Palma if you want some variation in the food area. The rooms where ok, not any extra luxury. We had a superior room with side sea view and the view isn´t stunning from this type of room. The storage capasity in the room isn´t enough for a longer stay. There is no surfaces (tables) to put iPads, phones, newspapers on. The breakfast is below average considering the hotels we lived in on Mallorca (8 different).
On the good side: friendly personal, public parking close up, extreamly nice pool area, good room service and fair prices at the restaurants and bars.
We will not return to this hotel, but that has more to do with Illetas than with the hotel it self. We get a lot more for the money in the northern part of the island

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that you have a comfortable stay with us.

We would, in any case, like to clarify that we do have available drawers if are requested by our guest´s. We regret that our front desk staff didn´t know about this detail, otherwise we could have solved this matter.

Thank you very much for your comments about our staff. We are very proud of their work due to they are continuously working to offer the best service to our guests.

It was a pleasure your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon at any of our Barceló Hotels.

Yours sincerely,


Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic weekend break at this hotel with my with and a couple of friends including the previous reviewer (ChrisH) and would completely echo his review. This is a really nice hotel is a great location . Illetas gives you a nice balance of city break but with access to the beach and sea ( it's €1.5 on the bus into town but you are on the beach for a chilled out afternoon after the excitement of a night in the excellent tapas bars and restaraunts of Palma. Definitely agree that's it's well worth the extra for a sea view room if you can stretch to it but do think that it's pushing it a bit asking you for € 3 a day to use your own safe when you have paid that price, and why does it have to be a €20pp cash deposit on towels - just hold a deposit against the credit card you already have! All of that said, we loved our stay here, it's classy whilst relaxed (it's not trying too hard to be ice cool) and the staff are excellent. Highly recommended for a relaxing weekend away from your kids (and anyone else's for that matter!).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chat2marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Barcelo Illetas Albatros in Tripadvisor.

It was such a pleasure reading your comments (especially about our Staff). Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences in our hotel are enjoyable ones.

We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
7.9 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Illetas Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Illetas Albatros

Property: Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Address: Paseo de Illetas 15, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#27 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Illetas Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Illetas Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Albatros Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Hotel Albatros
Barcelo Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Illetas Albatros Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing