We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Ranked #26 of 180 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location - direct at the sea side. Rooms are modern and well equipped. Breakfast is great. It should have been a pleasant stay. however, i got completely unlucky with the room. it had a bad smell from the sink, which was located just in the room. also coffeee machine did not work properly, air conditioner was heating the air instead of cooling it and finally, the remote control to the TV did not work. when i complained to the reception about the smell, they have sent a technician, who poored some chemicals in the sink. and of course, it took some hours and some efforts from my side, that the bad smell disappeared.
when by the end of my stay, i requested compensation for the troubles I had, reception staff told me they have done all the efforts... yes, they did. but i spend a day of my stay with the bad smell and had multiple troubles with the not working devices ... so at the end, i have left the hotel with the bad feeling and willingness to never recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the time spent writing the comment. As you write in your commentary in the hotel during the month of December our rooms are equipped with heating and no cold air, and the temperature during your stay was around 12 degrees. When repairing your room we offered a change to a superior, which rejected. We regret that your stay was not as enjoyable and hope that we can compensate you in the future.
Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have just spent a lovely weekend in this excellent hotel. We stayed in room 318 which is one of the new modern designs. It's not anything like as bad as other reviews make out. There isn't much open shelving/tabletop storage but there's a large wardrobe with a convenient shelf that will hold more than you can possibly need! The shower and toilet are both behind separate doors, it's only the basin that's open to the room. The room is lovely so ignore those negative reviews.
The staff are great too. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is a self service affair with everything fresh and tasty.
There is a free car park just a 3 minute walk from the hotel -use this if you want to save the daily parking charge in the hotels own car park.
Early morning check out is also catered for with coffee and biscuits available in reception.
Overall, a great stay. Thank you Barcelo Illetas Albatros! See you again soon.

Room Tip: 318 has a side sea view - avoid rooms overlooking the car park next door if you don't want to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thebrookster3669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. It is very grateful to see that we have satisfied your needs.

Thank you for your comments about our buffet breakfast, we daily offer a variety of fruit, bakery and a show cooking with personal ready to prepared hot dishes as your choice.

Our location next to the best places of Mallorca has always been of very good comments, thing that you have seen during your stay.

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us, and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future,

Yours Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel way back in 1965 on my first trip abroad when I was 17 with my parents. I could vaguely remember it and thought it nostalgic to return, especially as it was now an Adults Only hotel! I was not disappointed. The position is lovely, right on the sea and although a tad more built up around it than last time, it was still lovely. The room was great, with a balcony, though I do wish hotels could install doors which did not make so much noise when allowed to close at night!! The pool area was great, as were the lounges, restaurant and balconies overlooking the sea. We enjoyed the food as well, which was varied and well cooked. A bus to Palma passes the door every 10 minutes and it is only a stroll in Cala Mayor. I would definitely visit again though perhaps not wait so long this time!

Room Tip: Upper floors, 4 or 5, as near to the sea as possible before the price begins to rise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank su14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest.

We are very happy to read your kind review about your experience in our Hotel, 48 years after his first stay with us!

Is a great satisfaction know according your words, all the effort we are making in all these years, is reflected in their comments.

Reiterate the gratitude of his words and I hope you visit us soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were a group of five women staying here for 6 days. a few teething issues, like no hot water in the shower and no air con but a nice chat with the hotel manager sorted these issues out. the facilities of this hotel are lovely. Friendly pool/catering staff. From reading other reviews people said ask for a room high up and a balcony - I did just that and although I got put on the 2nd floor I did get a balcony which had a lateral sea view which was lovely to sit out on in the warm/hot evenings so don't be afraid to email the hotel and ask for a balcony room. You'll only get the front sea view if you've paid but my room was just as lovely. If you've breakfast included you will not be dissappointed, we loaded up and then didn't eat until the evening. Hotel not far from Palma town by bus, good links in Palma City to Soller - do go if you can, lovely train ride thru the mountains and a lovely market. We went for a coffee in one of the little alleyways but I can't recall the name, it was all wrought iron inside and the wait staff wore lovely outfits and gave us small trials of the apple cake. And go see the Cathedral and the Castle. Big shopping mall near the Port, underground. The hotel has 2 restaurants one can eat in which we partook one evening however plenty of places outside one should try too. Cala Nova Restaurante - not bad, Calo des Macs area, on the small beach, a lovely cafe come restaurant - out of this world food - try it you will not be dissapointed! Another place down the road from the hotel, called Adan Y Eve/Casa Franca, best Sangria we had! and then lastly try Restaurant Illetas Playa, 54 Passeig Illetas, owner called Pepe, he will treat you right!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to email the hotel and ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razz810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. It is very grateful to see that we have satisfied your needs, despite the misunderstanding at the beginning of your stay.

Thank you for your comments about our buffet breakfast, we daily offer a variety of fruit, bakery and a show cooking with personal ready to prepared hot dishes as your choice.

Our location next to the best places of Mallorca has always been of very good comments, thing that you have seen during your stay.

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us, and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future,

Yours Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were a group of girlfriends escaping kids and husbands for a long weekend in Majorca this hotel was just perfect. 10 mins cab ride back to Palma , 5 mins to Puerto Portals. THe hotel is beautifully clean, smells of flowers everywhere. The breakfast excellent and plentiful. the pool area small but irrelevant as no kids at all ! the tiny beach was lovely and would be very romantic if you were a couple. Illetas is a small place but seems to have a few bars and restaurants worth a visit. The public beech is small but lovely quiet and very clean.
The hotel staff were particularly friendly and helpful , we were allowed a delayed checkout and to keep one room for us all at very low cost.. They got taxis for us reccommended places to eat and couldnt have been more helpful. Thank you for a lovely long weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms are not huge but the views good and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayceeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your kind comments about your experience in our Hotel. We are happy to know that all the group have enjoyed our service and facilities.

Is a great satisfacion know accordind your words all the effort we are making is reflected in their comments.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.

Your Sincerely ,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It was a good experience for us ... The hotel is well located, close to Palma, just 20 minutes by bus.
We enjoyed the pool, the sun shines every days, you have hammocks to relax in swimming pool service, friendly staff but most do not speak good English and is a little difficult to understand what you ask. We would like to highlight the service received by the blue restaurant manager Luis, who assisted us wonderfully and could communicate well with us (spoke a little Polish, amazing;) recommended us places to go with a map, always with a smile, helpful and very handsome.
The rooms were nice, not too good cleaning.
The breakfast is good, dinner did not taste too and the buffet staff is friendly but not speak good English.
The spa is very small and has only a pool and jacuzzi, we expected something more.
We spent a very nice days in Mallorca.
Gracias Luis

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your kind review about your experience in Barcelo Illetas Albatros.

Thank you very much for your comments to our staff, is very important for us to know that efforts are rewarded with these words. We will transmit to Luis your kind comments about the service in our Blue&Lounge Restaurant.

We would like to inform you, that we take note of each and every observations always with the goal of improving.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have written a review of this hotel previously and you would think there is nothing much to add but we have just enjoyed another visit and the hotel just gets better. We now make an annual visit for our wedding anniversary each October and this year they really did pull out all the stops to make our stay memorable. We must once again thank Director Snr. Jacob Alvarez and all of the staff for their kindness.
The hotel is nicely situated in a quiet residential area. There are 3 lovely beaches within a few minuets walk from the hotel which is situated right on the seas edge, it does have it's own tiny beach or you can sunbath on the rocks with access to the sea via steps. Or you can just relax around the pool. There is also a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
The food in the hotel is very good and all of the staff very friendly. We must especially thank waiter Antonio Rodrigez who in February next year will be celebrating work at this hotel for 40 years, amazing. If you enjoy a quiet quality hotel my wife and I highly recommend a visit to The Barcelo Albatros. We shall be back to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary next year.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are superb and you can enjoy spectacular sunrises each morning. Worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank djmedia2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Gerente at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read your kind review about your experience in our Hotel. Once again we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our service and facilities, every year we try to improve to make the customers stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you very much for your comments about our staff, particularly about Antonio Rodríguez. We are very proud of their work, they are continuously working to offer the best service to our guests. We will pass all your comments to our team.

Reiterate the gratitude of your words and we hope to welcome you again to celebrate with us your 43rd wedding anniversary!

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 180 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
3.6 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
967 reviews
2.3 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Illetas Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Illetas Albatros

Address: Paseo de Illetas 15, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#20 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#27 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range: £65 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Illetas Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Barcelo Illetas Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Albatros Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Hotel Albatros
Barcelo Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Illetas Albatros Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing