We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Ranked #26 of 180 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Relaxing stay at a beautiful hotel in a great location, will definitely return :-). Staff very helpful and attentive, food was lovely. We enjoyed beautiful walks to other local beaches and added bonus was the short bus ride into Palma great for shopping plus Spanish tapas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Gladiolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very happy to read that you liked our location; it is true that we are located in a beautiful area. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed the area, we are far from Palma but, as you said, it is very easy to go to the city centre with the bus nº 3.

Thank you for the comment about the staff and the food, I will inform the personnel and congratulate the cooks.

Will be a pleasure receive all your friends in our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

After reading the many mixed tripadvisor reviews of the Albatros, we decided to make a last minute booking with Jet2holidays.com for a rare free week in June. Although we are not the ‘beautiful people’ the hotel is obviously trying to attract (as seen on their website and room TV), who take up sun beds, pool and spa, we enjoy the facilities of a good quality hotel.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good and plentiful with food cooked to order, cold meats and cheese, fruits and yoghurts, breads and rolls, lovely sweet pastries and an excellent choice of teas and coffees. It is such a pity the outside terraces can only be enjoyed by smokers. We didn’t eat any other meals in the hotel.

Room 508 has a great shower in a glass cubicle but shower towels are hung in the toilet cubicle more than an arms length away (or not at all if the toilet is being used). The toilet cubicle becomes something of a sauna if you stay there too long. The wash basin is in the middle of the room with 2 shelves under, hand towels hung in front and mirror over, hairdryer down the side and mini bar at the other side. The mirror is set too far away for a good wet shave and the hairdryer lead is just too short. Talking of mirrors – if you need a full length mirror you will find one in the lift. The one wardrobe has plenty of hanging space with decent wooden clothes hangers but there is only one carpeted shelf. We had to leave the suitcase open on the floor as an extra shelf. Part of the wardrobe is taken up by the room safe – 3euros a day plus a 10euro cash returnable deposit for the key. There is a very small inset shelf on either side of the bed with the room phone taking up some of the room on one side and interesting bedside lights which swivel in the wall. There was a kettle, 2 cups, 2 free tea and coffee sachets and 2 milk cartons – but not every day as it seemed to be something the room operative twice forgot to replenish. We never used the mini bar as there wasn’t a price list with the bar. There is a 2 seater couch and stool which we used as a bedside table. The bed was comfortable and there was a choice of pillows. We had a choice of room freshener but didn’t notice any difference after ticking our selection. There was sufficient shower gel, shampoo, body lotion and 2 packs of toothbrush and toothpaste, a comb, shoe cleaning pad and shoe horn!

Room 508 has the side sea view as was booked, but also a 12 floor apartment block view by us to them and vice versa, when sitting on the balcony. There is a balcony light on every balcony which comes on automatically well before dusk and goes off around 1:00am with no option to switch it off to enjoy a quiet unobtrusive evening listening to the entertainment coming from the Bonanza hotels. We did have a few evenings having to tolerate smokers on the neighbouring balcony. There was a good choice of television channels including BBC and ITV.

We spent a lot of our week in Palma using the very good frequent bus service from almost outside the hotel. Many reviewers have said the single rate bus fare is 1.50euro, however, there is a tourist card with 10 trips on it for 10euros. It doesn’t seem to be well advertised (apart from on all bus stops) and both the hotel and tourist information only told us about the 1.50euro flat fare not the cheaper card. The 10 trip bus card can be purchased from the No.1 Supermarket next to the hotel.

We can recommend the train trip to Soller from Palma and a visit to Bellver Castle, Palma Cathedral and the reconstructed Spanish village which can all be reached via the Open Top Tourist bus. If you are over 60 it is worth asking for a senior fare and entrance fee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to see that our personnel was pleasant and helpful, I will inform them about your comment.

Also, it is true that we offer a huge variety on the breakfast and I am happy to see that you liked it. I am sorry if smokers disturbed you, but the terrace is the only area where they can smoke. It is a pity that you didn’t try the rest of the meals at the hotel, we have a great variety too and will be a pleasure for us show you the rest the next time.

About your comment of the bathroom, the hotel was thought to be in a modern style but, about the space of the room, I am glad to inform you that we have bought drawers to make the room more spacious.
Furthermore, you need to know that now the safe service is free of charge.

I am terribly sorry about the kettle and the freshener it has to be an error, so I will speak with the Housekeeping department to ensure this error is not repeated. On the other way I am happy to see that you enjoyed our amenities selection.

Regarding the views from your room, for the next time you can book a room with front sea view which, personally, are the most beautiful ones.

About the price of the bus it is true that there is a card with 10 trips for 10 €, but I will make sure that the staff from reception inform the guests about that rate.

Finally, I am very glad that you liked all the tourist attractions in Mallorca, it is a wonderful place for holidays.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The moment you arrive you know you have made the right decision ,friendly welcome and efficient check in and whisked to your accommodation before you can think about it and this was only reception , our four friends arrived later from London and were equally impressed and for the next seven days we were so happy to be in such a place where they don't have to prove they are four stars trying to be five in our eyes they were already five ,
The attention to your needs and details was evident in all department and for sure the management must be pleased at such well run establishment .Roll on the next visit .

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and upgrade to a junior suite well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your time writing this comment.


I am very glad to know that you have impressed with the reception staff. All of them will be very happy to see your great comment about them.

Also, thank you for saying that we are a five star hotel and that we care about the details. Our purpose is to satisfy all our guests and make them feel at home.

Thank you again for your great opinion and, obviously, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Four nights at the Barcelo Illetas Albatros felt just about right for us; it allowed us to relax and spend time in Palma looking around.
The hotel is adults only - not always good because of the many smokers that seemed to populate the place; smoking at breakfast (outside) and by the pool (hence almost excellent). The hotel was clean and well run, with a friendly and helpful staff; the pool area was well used, but always had plenty of sunbeds when we turned up. The lunch time food was well cooked and presented nicely, and quite generous portions, but the service could be a little on the slow side (not much to complain about really); breakfast was included (buffet style) and the range of foods available was extremely good, you could not fail to start the day well after eating here.
The room was nicely decorated, clean and supplied with tea/coffee, and shower products, however, the room was quite small, so if you are an untidy holiday maker you may find this a bit of a problem (second reason for almost excellent).
The front desk staff were very friendly on our arrival, and poured us a glass of cava to welcome us (very nice indeed), they were very efficient and dealt with our checking-in quickly (they had also arranged transfers to and from the hotel for us via email - excellent).
The hotel is a little off the beaten track but the number 3 bus service from just down the road into Palma was excellent - do not bother with taxis, bus just €1.50 each way, and they come back to the hotel quite late - however, it got very busy at times so be prepared to stand (mainly on the return trip).
Thinking of Palma? then this hotel may be for you if you don't have little ones in tow, it offers everything needed at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ojalavoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to read that you found relax in our hotel. I am sorry if the smokers disturbed you, but they only can smoke in the terraces.

The staff will be very happy to see your good comments about them and I will congratulate the front desk staff for welcome you very well and quickly.

Also, I would like to thank you the comments about the meals, it is true that we have a huge variety but it could not be possible without our cooks.

I am glad to know that you liked the room, and I am sorry if the room was seem quite small to you.

It is true that the bus nº3 is the best option if you want to visit Palma from the hotel.

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Your sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a week at this excellent hotel. We have used the Barcelo chain before and have been impressed. This hotel is well up to the high standards we have experienced in other resorts. Whilst the location is a little off the main tourist track (which suits us fine) the hotel and facilities are top class. The food is superb and whilst a few visitors seemed impatient waiting for food to be cooked to order, it was always worth waiting for! The staff could not be more helpful, polite and cheerful. The rooms are a little on the compact size and a desk and some draws would have been welcome additions, but the décor was good and they were spotlessly clean and had all that we needed. This is a great place to stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: A sea view is an expensive addition unless you plan on spending alot of time in your room! High flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 373Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to know that our hotel has achieved the high standards that you had experimented before. It is true that the hotel is far from Palma, but it gives us a quite place.
Thank you so much for your opinion about the meals and the staff, I will inform them about your good comments.
The idea of the rooms is to be a modern style so, for that reason, we don’t have a desk for example, but I am very happy to see that you finally liked it.

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A very pleasant hotel in a delightful location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The accommodation was fine.
There was ample hanging space in the wardrobe, but i should have liked more shelf space wardrobe and a writing desk would have been useful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your time writing this comment.

It is true that our hotel is in a wonderful place, far from Palma and, at the same time, very close to the city.
I am very glad to know that you found our personnel helpful and friendly, I will tell them your opinion.
Thank you for your opinion about the accommodation, and I am sorry about the limited space in the wardrobe and the desk, we had the idea of offering a modern room, but if you are interested we are buying drawer units to solve this kind of problems.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again.

Yours sincerey,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Friendly and professional staff; from reception to cleaners to pool staff to restaurant staff all made us feel very welcome. Clean rooms and facilities but don't take much in the way of clothes with you as hanging space and draw space was limited in our room. At the time we visited the hotel was far from busy and the area was nice and quiet. The airport is a 20 min taxi ride away and costs about €30 one way. Palma was a 30min bus ride away and cost €1.50. Good pool area and a pleasant little beach although any more than six people on it would have been crowded! Other beaches are available a few minutes walk away from the hotel. Awesome breakfast (emphasis on the awesome!!) with cooked food, cold meats, breads and pastries. Many good points but if I was going to be critical I would say that the free wifi in our room was patchy to say the least. It was very slow and dropped out very frequently although it seemed to be rather more reliable in public areas. The snack bar (Blue restaurant?) could have provided a better variety; given the tremendous fare on offer at breakfast surely some tapas perhaps rather than just sandwiches and salads would not be beyond a possibility? The charge of €3 per day for use of our room's safety deposit box (for insurance apparently) was unnecessary (who doesn't have their own travel insurance?) and disappointing given the high star rating of the hotel. Overall however, the many pluses outweighed the one or two negatives so I would conclude that this a great place to stay. We hope to visit again soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for your time writing this comment.

To begin with, the staff will be very glad to know your opinion about them, I will inform them.
On the other hand, I feel so sorry about the limited space in the room, it is part of its modern style. It is true that the hotel is located in a beautiful area, far from the city centre but, as you said, it is very easy to go to the airport or to Palma by taxy or by bus, the hotel is well communicated.
The hotel has a small beach for few people, but there are a lot of beaches near to the hotel as you discovered at your stay here.

I am very glad to know that the breakfast was seem awesome to you, we like to offer a huge variety in the most important meal of the day. I am so sorry that you do not like so much the variety of the Blue Restaurant, but our idea was to offer a snack menu only.

Also, I would like to apologize about your problems with the wi-fi conncetion, we will work on that aspect.
I am sorry about your opinion about the safe service, we have taken into account your comment, but I am pleased to inform you that from now this service is free of charge, so you don’t have to worry about this aspect your next time with us.

Finally, thank you so much for recommending our hotel and we hope to see you again too.

Yours sincerely,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#6 of 180 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
3.6 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
967 reviews
2.3 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Illetas Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Illetas Albatros

Address: Paseo de Illetas 15, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#20 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
Price Range: £66 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Illetas Albatros 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Barcelo Illetas Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Albatros Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Hotel Albatros
Barcelo Hotel Calvia
Barcelo Illetas Albatros Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing