We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Nearby Hotels
US$197
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$151
US$144
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cabau Aquasol(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Salles Hotel Marina Portals(Portals Nous)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$268
US$255
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Samos(Magaluf)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
HM Martinique(Magaluf)
US$76
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sol Lunamar Apartments(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$102
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,674)
Filter reviews
1,674 results
Traveller rating
849
520
207
57
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
520
207
57
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue restaurantnumber bussea viewpool arearooftop barpuerto portalsprivate beachbalinese bedsevening buffetpool staffsuperior roompalma baylovely hotelrelaxing breakbus servicehalf boardshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 1,674 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent a week here in a room on 3rd floor overlooking the car park. Arrived late so no offer of champagne but a bottle of cava and chocolate strawberries were waiting in our room - a nice touch.
We were woken by rubbish truck early on the first morning (Saturday) which was a not so pleasant surprise. The car park was generally very noisy through the duration of our stay - revving motorbikes, street cleaners, buses, cars, more rubbish collecting. Not really the hotel's fault but would advise to book a room on the other side of the hotel. The beds were very firm, but you can order your choice of pillow which was a nice touch. The superior room was quite small, perhaps too small for a whole week's stay.
Pool area was very chilled and polite notices not to reserve sunbeds which seems to work really well. Lunch in blue bar was fine, maybe a tad overpriced for quality but standard for hotel meal. Breakfast was a good selection of fresh fruits, cereals, breads, pancakes, omelettes and cold meats. Was expecting coffee to be served, but there was a nespresso machine which was fine, but pretty busy. We're not given many options for restaurants by the front desk, but did our own searches. We had lovely dinners in Puerto Portals and at Sorrentos right near hotel.
The free wifi connection was very poor, not really worth having. A generally lovely hotel, clean and modern feeling, pretty peaceful as child free but would say a 3* at best (just missing a few things to take to the next level), charging 4* prices. Would try somewhere else if returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HP30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your time writing this comment.

About the rubbish truck we are terrible sorry, but we are trying to make them to come later because of their noise.

I am very glad to see that you have enjoyed our beds and the selection of pillows, but if you found the room a little bit small I suggest a bigger room for your next time, like the deluxe one with frontal sea views.

We will take into account all your suggestions to continue improving our service. We hope that you give us the opportunity of welcome you again to show you that you could enjoy a wonderful stay with us.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The room was absolutely amazing - great design and so on. But for two people there was too less space.
As we arrived the bathroom wasn't all cleaned up. WiFi didn't really work either.
The room is perfect for a single person!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Thomy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time writing this comment.

We are sorry about you didn’t like your room, but I am very glad to inform you that we have more kinds of rooms available, from the superior room to the suite, with a huge difference of size.

For your next time here, I suggest a Deluxe room with a large terrace with panoramic views. I am sure that you will find it suitable for two people.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The location of the hotel is a big plus. Facing the sea, 25 minutes away by bus from the centre of Palma and 5 to 20 minutes away from nice beaches (Illetes and Portals). This perfect location allows you to have the beach/swimming pool life as well as the city life in Palma (day or night).

I rated this hotel "very good" because it is. Main points to be aware of are listed below:
The rooms are very nice but be careful with the "partial sea view" rooms. It is indeed very "partial", don't expect much....But I guess it is still better than "street view".
The service is very good and very friendly overall, but the pool staff is seriously understaffed and inexperienced. The cocktails are average and the smoothies are terrible (5 Euros for a syrup based smoothie is outrageous in a 4 star hotel). This is why we stuck to Rosé wine and Aperol spritz during the all stay.
Be careful the poolside can become very crowdy during the high season. We stayed there from the 1st august to the 9th and the pool got really crowded from the 7th to the 9th. When it gets crowdy like this it can be difficult to find a nice spot for your sunbed but even then the scenery stays truly pleasant. The "no kids under 17" policy is also a BIG BIG plus because even in the busiest times the poolside remains quiet and offers a relaxing atmosphere.
Halfboard is OK but the quality of the hot dishes is average.

The hotel definitely deserves its 4 stars.

Room Tip: Have it on the highest floor if you go for a partial see view because the rooms are overlooking a parking area. Also ask for a room the further away from the entrance of the hotel, hence the closest to the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, General Manager at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed our location, it is true that this is a very good one, very close to the city centre but near a lot of beaches.

For your next stay here we suggest our frontal sea view rooms, where you will be able to enjoy so beautiful views.

Also, we will take into account all your suggestions to improve our service and to achieve that you have a wonderful stay in your next time here.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is situated on the shoreline. The view is lovely. Nice pool area, but a lot of rocks in the water at the beach. Quite old building, but newly renovated (modern style). The standard rooms are small with the basin bench in the room. Only thin glass doors, which not closes completely, separates the room from the WC and shower. We had to remind the housekeeping to get new coffee and soap. The staff was friendly, but not so efficient and often forgot things that were ordered. Unfortunately, the restaurant’s food didn’t taste. Good parking possibility if you pay. Easy walk down to the village, but only few nice restaurants (mostly pizzerias, kebab and Italian restaurants).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwaku81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your time writing this comment.

I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed the views because it is true that they are wonderful.

About the rooms, they were thought to be in a modern style, so that is why they are designed with the bathroom in the room.

Thank you for telling us that the staff was friendly. About their organization your comment will be very useful to continue improving our service to avoid problems like that.

Thank you again for your opinion. We hope to welcome you again soon to make your next stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Jacobo Álvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 10 days wish it had been 14 fantastic hotel fantastic staff great location for Palma taxi less then 14 e got to visit portals 7e taxi or just chill by the pool ..... Will be back xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Syeltneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceloilletas, Director General at Barcelo Illetas Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your magnificent comment. At Barceló Illetas Albatros, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction and in striving to exceed their expectations. Therefore, we are glad you let us know about your contentment.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding your previous stay. Let us hope that your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one, and be sure that we’ll make every effort to achieve it.

Sincerely,

Alberto Segura
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews