We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,818)
Filter reviews
1,818 results
Traveller rating
1,165
487
107
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,165
487
107
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews krystal restaurant bonanza playa presidential suite pool bar sea view breakfast and dinner half board direct access to the sea lovely hotel bus stop the hotel manager taxi rank main restaurant quiet location puerto portals waiter service sister hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,818 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had 4 nights at this hotel. Let's do the good bits first. Looks like they have spent some money recently on the rooms, all finished to a good standard. Hotel has a good pool area with plenty of sun beds, good bar and snack food. There is a bus stop and cab rank outside, buses are very frequent and it's €1.50 into Palma. Good selection of bars and restaurants around if you're not staying for an evening meal.
But... The check in was a shambles. Seems they forgot about us whilst other guests were arriving and being shown their rooms. After 20 minutes of being ignored I went back to the desk and they sent another glass of cava and saw us within a few more minutes. We were told the room wouldn't be ready until 2, which we expected, so went poolside for lunch. At 2.25 we went back upstairs and, guess what? The room still wasn't ready and would we take a seat. Funnily enough after I demanded to see the Manager, the room became available in 5 mins. We were told the Manager was busy but he would come to our room at 4 when he was out of his meeting. He didn't arrive but a bottle of Cava did. That's what the Manager thinks of his guests.
And take your own tea bags. The tea they serve is not good, and it comes with hot milk. I suppose it's the best you could expect in a German hotel and Spanish staff!
Good hotel lets down by poor attention to detail

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GaryL700
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

With boys aged 1 and 4, we recently enjoyed a holiday to Greece,but it was far from relaxing.After being convinced my the boys grandparents that we could do with a short break away, me and the better half booked up a 4 day break to Riu Plaza Bonaza.

After catching the 5.40 am out of Gatwick,It was nice to be offered a cold glass of cava upon checkin before we headed to the pool area. The pool area juts out into the sea and has amazing views of the palma bay-it also sits above a small beach and dock for the hotels scuba boats-being area of cliffs rather than sloping beaches it meant the sea was full of fish amongst the rocks so hire/buy a snorkel set if you can.

Lunch times are full of choice from either the BBQ or a menu full of hot and cold dishes-lovely view from the outdoor restuarant also.

Evenings we spent in the near by Puerto Portals, a Lovely harbour full of nice restaurants,bars and shops albeit expensive.There is a great view of the boats from every restaurant.We also took the bus to Palma (number 3 right outside hotel) and had a great walk around the shops before having some tapas in a lovely square down by the marina where the tourists mixed in with the locals-bottle of wine and more than enough tapas for €40 all in a great setting.

This hotel allowed us to do exactly what we wanted and that was switch off and relax .Great room,great staff,great view, great food and great location.

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMD500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After reading trip advisor reviews enthusing about the hotel we booked a holiday there 12th to 19th June 2014. We have stayed in numerous Riu hotels and always been impressed with the standard of hotels and food. The hotel was lovely and the staff all very efficient but we cannot reconcile the reviews with reality of the food. My husband enjoys a cooked breakfast on holiday and found this very disappointing both in what was on offer and quality. Continental breakfast was o.k. The worst thing about the food was the main courses at dinner. There was a very limited choice poor quality and much of the time the chef doing the show cooking was overwhelmed and unable to keep enough food ready and ended up with long queues. Because of the lack of choice I ate pasta a lot of the time but this was at best lukewarm and often virtually cold. The Krystal restaurant was very nice and we ate there twice but again a very limited menu. We were not the only ones disappointed with the food as we spoke to others who had complained about it. All in all a big disappointment and not up to Riu hotel standards of food.

Room tip: High floor rooms lovely views
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2activesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just spent three nights at this hotel, booked as a result of reviews. The level of service is excellent. Breakfast was as good as any 5 star hotel we have stayed in, with lots of choice for all tastes. No problem finding a sun lounger at any time, which is always a bonus. This hotel is definitely good value for money. I cannot comment on the spa or dinner in either of the two restaurants as we didn't use this facility.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAH_CH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest.
At first, thanks for choosing us to spend your holidays on Mallorca.
for us it is really important to know what our guests, think about us.
Best regards
David Rios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from spending seven nights at this hotel to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Immaculate hotel, cleaning staff do a great job keeping the rooms and public areas absolutely spotless. On arrival we were greeted by a couple of members of the management team and a glass of cava which is a lovely touch.
Plenty of sun beds and umbrellas available around the pool areas which has stunning views overs the bay of Palma.
The food quality and quantity in the restaurants is exceptionally good, and sometimes difficult to choose from the vast array of dishes on offeras each one is so good. Our waiter Santiago was very professional and attentive and ensured each one of his guests was looked after when dinning.
I did like the two sittings for evening meals which meant a slightly less busy feeling in the dinning room in the evening compared to morning breakfast time. My only comment would be the tables are very close to each other which means that at times I felt that I was able to hear the conversations of other diners.. We did visit the A la Carte Krystals restaurant at the hotel and the food was lovely.
Evening entertainment varied, Ramon was very good as was the Spanish guitarist, however a couple of the other acts were not so good.
Lovely hotel, quiet resort with easy access to other resorts and Palma as the bus service and taxi rank is just outside the entrance to the hotel.
A good hotel and one I would stay at again.

Room tip: We stayed in room 308 which had a lovely view and got the morning sun
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobelhrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews