We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In my opinion one of the best hotel in Illetas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Ranked #5 of 181 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In my opinion one of the best hotel in Illetas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would like to recomend you my favorite hotel in which i spend vacations every summer. It's called RIU Palace Bonanza Playa. It has four stars and a good location: not far from the aeroport and close to the Capital Palma. This hotel has a direct way out to the sea. Every morning you will wake up with the rising of the sun and a bird singing. You will find everything that you need: excellent service, a good meal, nice decorated rooms, each with a balcony and seaview, free wi-fi everywhere, spa zone, two swimming pools, free umbrellas and sunbeds, fitness gym, relaxing music nearby with reception and musical programs in the bar's lounge zone in the evening. You will feel yourself like at home, because personnel does everything possible for your rest. Commercial director Tatiana Dvornikova is making care about your good stay in the hotel. You can ask her and she solves any problem if it required, though as to me I've always had everything excellent. You can visit Palma almost every day because there is a bus stop nearby with hotel. Ticket costs 1.5 euro, you buy tickets from driver. Time of the way to center of Palma is about 20-25 minutes. If you have a driver's license you can rent a car. You can ask about this at the reception.
If you want to have a good silent sleep, pleasant atmosphere and society around, you should stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Than the higher the better! I had a room on the 4 and 5 and 6 floors and always seaview was excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evgeniya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    330
    74
    24
    16
See reviews for
222
540
41
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel with fantastic views marred only by the rudeness of one member of staff. MIGUEL ANGEL - responsible for towels shouted at our 9 year old daughter in a completely uncalled for fashion. Very upset.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FutureMrsM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were booked into the sister hotel, Bonanza Park (literally over the road from the Playa) but we're told due to over booking that we were being upgraded to the Bonanza Playa. After initial disappointment at a slight inconvenience, we wee blown away by the Bonanza Playa. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly without being patronising. The room was spotless and met all our needs. All rooms were situated away from stairs and lifts and we never experienced any noise at all from residents at night. All rooms had a sea view and ours overlooking the bay, grounds and both pools was stunning. Breakfast and the Evening meals consisted of extensive help-yourself buffets. There was a stunning restaurant too where thee was an a la carte menu whee you could dine as an alternative in the evening if you wish. We visited Palma and Magaluf. Each was a simple bus journey in frequent and good air conditioned buses for only €1.5 each. There was a good choice of cafés, restaurant and shops nearby and two stunning beaches locally too - all in short walking distance. If I chose to return to Majorca, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: There are 9 floors, we were on floor 3 and had amazing views but the two beneath us maybe not so muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Its a really nice Hotel. The rooms are big, clean and we had a terrasse looking at the pool and beach. The Pool area is really clean, they have two pool and you can also swim in the sea. The staff is really friendly.
Breakfast was very good with lots of variety. They have WIFI which I always like in Hotels.
We had a fantastic weekend in that Hotel.
We have been to Santa Ponca on the beach and I would like to warn people to not buy any drinks from the men who sell it on the beach. I ordered a Fanta and I did not even have the time to say how much he did open it and he asked € 5.00 for it. I spoke with the man who looks after the beach and he clearly told me that the police is often there because its illegal and even if he opens it you should not buy it.
Just be careful and never buy anything from these people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cri3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this as a family holiday for a couple and 2 grown-up children from the Thomson's "a la carte" brochure. Pretty expensive but the reviews and ratings were excellent (a 5T hotel with a 95-96% rating overall). The hotel and service were good but not very good and it was a really expensive holiday. With teenage children the much advertised free wifi was important but turned out to be woeful. It cut out so often that I was eventually blocked from my work emails and had to phone the UK to have the email reset. The food was plentiful but there never seemed to be anything that was exceptional. The welcome on the first day was very good with a personal chat from one of the managers and a complementary drink. However, the rooms were only average (the main door opens into the bathroom area!) but clean and well appointed. The maid service was not great and we had to ask for the soap and other toileteries to be replaced almost every day. The pool area and little rocky bay (which also housed a dive school where you could hire equipment) were lovely and we did not have any problems with "beach towel reservations". The waiting service in the dining room was on the surly side even though it was a buffet and all they had to do was take drinks orders! Overall it was good but not excellent. The "a la carte" rating from Thomson's and the price meant that we were expecting more and were left a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a-scottish-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rungsted, Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great great view from all rooms, and very nice staff. when we booked on tripadvisor/booking.com it was stated 137 rooms, but i counted at least 200 rooms, so probably 500 people... You can choose Restaurant Krystal with just 25 tables, which is VERY NICE and a MUST. General restaurant has a lot of food selections, and ok quality, with nice staff etc.
Great and big sweimmingpool, but too many germans reserving all the sunchairs early in the morning. Nice extra pool for Adults only, and good connection to the ocean.

Room Tip: best view from level 5-8. entrance is level 8, swimmingpool is level 0.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived at nearly midnight, so missed out on our free welcoming drink and no bell boy to help with luggage. However, having told the hotel we would be late they had laid on a small cold buffet with bottles of water - good.
I would describe the bedroom, bathroom and balcony as compact. The bathroom contained a wooden stool and the only waste bucket - these only got in the way, so we moved them into the bedroom. Obviously all recently refurbished to a good standard, but not enough drawers and no power socket near the full length mirror - my wife isn't keen on using power sockets in the bathroom ! The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed good nights sleep.
The maid service was adequate - she failed to spot a bulb was not working, a ceiling light fitment was hanging loose and we needed more soap - all these issues were quickly sorted by the hotel management when we reported them.
Breakfast was a vast array of fruit, meats, cheeses, waffles, cooked orders etc etc - but do not expect British bacon or sausage - the "bacon" appeared to be re-constituted and the "sausages" were either frankfurter, cocktail or chorizo.
Not clear when booking but Riu operate a 2 dining option for dinner - one at 6:30 which we find too early and the second at 8:30 which we find a bit late. They do operate and enforce a dress code policy for dinner, which we think is great.
You can have up to 5 courses at dinner but the danger with the second sitting is that the main dish you spotted on entering has gone by the time you are ready - this happened on one occasion, the pork spare ribs had gone, on complaining to the chef/head waiter we were offered lamb chops and/or steak as a substitute, which we thought was fair. Generally there seemed to be a bias towards fish courses, which might not suit everyone.
The hotel is right on the sea front with extensive grounds and new sun beds. The client base is very mixed, from all countries and all ages.There is an adult pool which takes you away from the noise surrounding the main pool - but as it is in a sheltered position you loose the sea breeze and it is the first area to loose the sun in the afternoon.The hotel appeared full and there was some contention for sunbeds - some being "reserved" at 7:30am although the pool man tried, but largely failed, to stop this habit by placing letters on reserved beds and/or removing towels from those beds.
The vast majority of the staff are friendly and efficient - apart from the maid issue above and one drinks order being forgotten, we had no major problems.
The key question - would we return ? the answer is YES - although slightly earlier in the season, say late June/early July, at, hopefully, a less busy time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.1 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
#1 of 7 in Portals Nous
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
#27 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Address: Paseo de Illetas s/n, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#19 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished Majorca beach hotel with direct access to the sea and relaxing views over the bay of Palma. Located in Illetas very close to Palma, this is the perfect hotel for your holidays. It offers full range of leisure options with good standards of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Hotel
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing