We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to Palma, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Ranked #6 of 181 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After reading the many good reviews of this hotel we had decided to book. Unfortunately it did not quite meet our expectations, since they were somewhat higher after reading the reviews.

The rooms seemed up to date, however to our surprise you enter the room through the bath room area, to get into the bedroom. The doors are of thin glass and everything could be heard from the shower and water closet area, so if this is your first date, you may want to think twice.

Disappointing was the breakfast morning frenzy. You are in a room with lots of people. It is indoors on the 7th floor only, and not outside. The buffet does have a large selection of food.

To our surprise, women were coming in their bathing suit tops (with some sort of bottoms), which we found distasteful at the breakfast, especially since they were not the model types, which may have worked out better.

The staff around the hotel is quite friendly. Instead of many Germans as we read in the reviews, we thought their were many Eastern European speaking people.

The worst evening we had was with a Russian speaking group playing very loud music in their room, into the later evening. Eventually they did stop, when other guests shouted at them.

Otherwise location is good, not many restaurants around the immediate area, however Puerto Portals is about a 10min drive and there are several good restaurants in that area.

We definitely can not recommend the hotel Krystal restaurant. The wine was warm, and the food quality below average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank CHfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I paid almost $300 US Dollars for this "4 star hotel" The room was old and HOT! AC barely cooled and housekeeping said that all room were pretty hot. The views of the ocean are nice but the beach is tiny and very uncomfortable. The pool was packed and no chairs available. I would highly recommend to NOT stay here. For the price, I would expect a lot better.

Room Tip: Illetas Balneria is a 10 minute walk and was excellent! great food and beach club.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our first visit to the Bonanza Playa and I must say that previous Tripadvisor reviews led me to book this hotel.

First impressions were excellent with impeccable staff and with a glass of champagne to settle us in. The staff really are attentive and polite with nothing at all too much trouble.

Choice of pools (one for adults only) is good, rooms immaculate, sea view superb and food probably the best in terms of choice, standards, quality and selections.

The guests range from countries across Europe e.g. Germany / UK / Spain with the occasional US and Danish guest. Predominantly though there appeared to be a large contingent of Russian guests during our visit. Ideally situated for Palma (bus number 3 stops outside the hotel and for 1.5 euros will take you to the bus station (the centre) in Palma.

Take the trip to Couaves Del Drachs (Caves of the Dragon) in Porto Christo (it is superb) so see my review on this visit.

Overall a great hotel on a beautiful island. More expensive than Lanzarote and some other destinations e.g. large beer 6.5 euros (1.5 euros in Costa Teguise, Lanarote) so don't expect a cheap holiday but as always, choose your holiday to suit your budget.

There is a choice of restaurants (if you want to use the alternative to the buffet) but the buffet is excellent for choice.

Note: The sister hotel (over the road) is the Bonanza Park (do NOT mistake this hotel to be of the same standard as it is not in the same league).

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool area if you want quiet as the pool bar entertainment could interfer...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iamagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff here are fantastic, always friendly and willing to try and help you if they can. Unfortunately they couldn't make up for the issues we had.

I don't know why everyone goes on about the Germans here, there's nothing wrong with them.

We stayed in a Presidential Suite, it had nice views, it was nicely done out, good looking stuff but on the cheap side quality wise but no complaints. The sofa did smell though and the cushions were stained. All needed a good clean.

The Air con was terrible. We had it running all the time (you need to leave the key card in the slot near the door). It took three days before the temp got down to 21 degrees C and it just wouldn't go any lower. Prior to that it was struggling to get down below 23/24 (you can tell from the clicks on the thermostat. We had to leave the curtains most of the time to aid in keeping the heat out. When we got there the thermostat in the lounge/dining area had a stop on it to stop you turning it down too far but I promptly unscrewed the unit and removed the tab blocking it. That was just a waste of time as the air con is not powerful enough to cool the room adequately.

WiFi in the room is dreadful, it shows as a strong signal but constantly drops out. I had to leave the room and sit in the bar near reception or by the elevators at the end of the hallway to get a good signal, I had to work for a couple of days.

'Nespresso' in the room. Yes it's a Nespresso machine but they use poor compatible pods rather than genuine Nespresso ones. Good job I brought my own.

Minibar is free in this room and after a few days we received a call from a manager asking us how we wanted it restocked, all we wanted was water and coca cola light and it was done without us having to ask anymore.

One huge issue we had was with the evening 'entertainment'. It's outside and basically faces all the Presidential Suites. It goes on until 23.15-23.30, it reminded me a bit of watching the TV show 'Benidorm'. The problem was we didn't want to hear it, we wanted to be relaxing or getting to sleep in our room but it couldn't be done until this noise was done with.
After our second night I phoned reception and asked if we could move rooms due to this noise and the poor WiFi. Initially I was offered a move to the second floor in another suite. I immediately declined it as that would put us even close to the nightly noise.
We were then offered rooms on the other side of the hotel. They only have 7 Presidential Suites, all one above the other and all facing the 'entertainment'. We had a look at the room on offer but there's no way it was acceptable, far too small and not what we paid for. We had no choice but to stick it out.

The food was by and large disgusting. Included in the Presidential Suite is the evening meal. We went up to the buffet on our first night and it was the only time we tried it. Everything was far too salty and the meats were of poor quality.

We did go to breakfast every day, the plus points here are the breads, eggs & omelette station but there is absolutely no fresh meat on offer. Every meat option is processed (salty funnily enough!), nothing fresh at all. I saw some tune and sardines, tried those and they had come from a can or batch stored in brine.

The gym is horrible, it looks like an afterthought. Far too warm, the aircon unit doesn't do it's job. I'd go in the morning and it was roasting hot already as the aircon was off. I'd switch it on but a couple of times a member of staff would come by and switch it off. Even though it was a poor unit I always switched it straight back on.The weights are very limited and cheap. They have one of those home style multi gyms' which just isn't up to the task. If you put any load on it the cables would slip. They did have a couple of nice benches but no decent heavy weights to use on them. One of the bikes and the stepper was broken too, no notices on either of them though so you'd get all set up to find it's broken. No towels or water are supplied in the gym. There are some paper towels but they really are not adequate. It resulted in people sweating all over equipment and not wiping up, whilst you can't hold the hotel responsible for the behaviour of their guests, they could at least help encourage people to keep the equipment cleaner by supplying towels in the gym. The hotel seem to have a huge trust issue with supplying towels as can be seen with the towels system and towel guard at the pool.

The spa looked promising, no it looked very nice. The problem is the spa pool. You get in, push the button for the water jets to work, sit or lie down and relax but within 60 seconds the jets go off so you have to disturb yourself and twist round to activate them every 60 seconds. It's a bit of joke, same for the water funnels in the spa swimming pool too. I went once and never bothered again as it's not relaxing if you have to continually activate the equipment.

We were on a pre-paid rate but still checked out early. We only left a day early, it would've been sooner if I could've sorted the flights. No refund offered despite our issues, just pretty much told tough luck for booking a non-refundable rate. True enough I suppose but when your 'best' rooms all face noise at night I don't think it's an acceptable line to take.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JR-Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We found this hotel on internet at it was first time for us in Palma and we have not been disappointed. We spent 4 days in this hotel in July 2014.

Access:
The hotel is not too far from the airport by taxi - 20 minutes (takes a bit more time by public transportation) and in a quiet area. The view on Palma bay is fantastic.

Welcome:
The welcome was excellent, with a glass of local champagne at the main entrance bar with the view of the pools and the sea (7th level - need to know that the reception is at the 7th level and the bedroom are under). And a good new arrived for us: we have been upgraded for the
room from a Junior Suite to a Presidential Suite.

Bedroom:
This suite has a fantastic direct view on the sea and the pools of the hotels. Massive suite with a living/dinning room with a flat TV sceen and its own WC room and an access to the balcony, a big bedroom (with its own little balcony)with also a flat TV screen and the bathroom with a standalone bath, a shower, a WC and furniture. A lot of wardrobe are present. The bedroom is very well isolated (no noise from outside) but the hotel is calm in general. After 11pm in July, no activity. A free minibar (refilled every day)and free capsules for the Nespresso machine was available in the bedroom. Chocolates are present in the bedroom after the cleaning. 2 sunbeds are present on the balcony.

Restaurant:
The main restaurant is at the 8th level, inside, with the sea/pools view. Unfortunately, all the windows are closed and it is air-conditioned. Which is a shame, for my point of view. It is a self-service restaurant but you can have access to the card (included in the half-board). The food is very good and there is a lot of choice. A chef is present to cook meat or fish.
For the breakfast, it is the same (self-service) and a lot of choice.
The waiters/waitresses are very nice and helpful.
There is another restaurant (à la carte) near the pool - The Kristal - where you can book your diner when you want and included in the half-board. But it is inside too :-(
You can eat for lunch outside, near the pool and it's bbq food. We didn't test.

The pools:
The 2 pools are salty water and very clean. One pool is a reserved adult one, which is very nice when you are in couple and you want to avoid the children from the main pool.But it is not in the sun anymore at 5pm. Sunbeds and umbrellas are available but you will face these people who book their sunbeds around the main pool at 7am with towels and use them not before 10am or 11am! The person responsible of the towels (note: you can change them every day) is chasing these people by putting a note on their sunbeds but I'm not sure it does something. People don't care.

The Beach:
There is no real beach at this hotel but they build a little area with sand in the little harbor of the hotel (where there is boats for fun water activities).

Fitness/Spa
There is a fitness and a spa center but we didn't test them.

To resume:
Excellent hotel in Palma, well located (quiet place), not far from city center by public transportation or taxi (stops in front of the hotel), beautiful view, good service and great swimming pools.

Negative point : to much Russian people with their behavior. But its general everywhere in Europe now.

Room Tip: Presidential Suite with the front sea view (there is one at the end of each level)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vincent1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a fabulous week at this hotel - everything about it was perfect.
Staff were excellent - food was very good - short bus ride to wonderful Palma and a host of fabulous shops and restaurants.
We were reluctant to leave it was so good and will definitely return, hopefully in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite - very spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would like to recomend you my favorite hotel in which i spend vacations every summer. It's called RIU Palace Bonanza Playa. It has four stars and a good location: not far from the aeroport and close to the Capital Palma. This hotel has a direct way out to the sea. Every morning you will wake up with the rising of the sun and a bird singing. You will find everything that you need: excellent service, a good meal, nice decorated rooms, each with a balcony and seaview, free wi-fi everywhere, spa zone, two swimming pools, free umbrellas and sunbeds, fitness gym, relaxing music nearby with reception and musical programs in the bar's lounge zone in the evening. You will feel yourself like at home, because personnel does everything possible for your rest. Commercial director Tatiana Dvornikova is making care about your good stay in the hotel. You can ask her and she solves any problem if it required, though as to me I've always had everything excellent. You can visit Palma almost every day because there is a bus stop nearby with hotel. Ticket costs 1.5 euro, you buy tickets from driver. Time of the way to center of Palma is about 20-25 minutes. If you have a driver's license you can rent a car. You can ask about this at the reception.
If you want to have a good silent sleep, pleasant atmosphere and society around, you should stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Than the higher the better! I had a room on the 4 and 5 and 6 floors and always seaview was excellen...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Evgeniya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
#21 of 181 in Calvia
464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Address: Paseo de Illetas s/n, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#19 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range: £113 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished Majorca beach hotel with direct access to the sea and relaxing views over the bay of Palma. Located in Illetas very close to Palma, this is the perfect hotel for your holidays. It offers full range of leisure options with good standards of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Hotel
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing