We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad other people are shocked by staff here !”
Review of Rincon Del Mar

Rincon Del Mar
Ranked #283 of 732 Restaurants in Calvia
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“So glad other people are shocked by staff here !”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We love the food at this restaurant but the floor staff are unbelievably rude .I am so glad to see it's nothing personal and they are like that generally !
We have been coming to Mallorca for years and love Hotel Son Caliu .The beach is pretty and relaxed .
Rincon Del Mar on the beach really have had no competition as the only other bar next door is a typical touristy bar whereas Rincon is Spanish and serves lovely traditional Spanish food .
I have to say they are sitting on an absolute gold mine. If they continued to serve their delicious food but upgraded the décor and got rid of the rude staff it could be WOW due to the location.
To be honest some of the staff are so horrible they would make your skin crawl !!!
Strangely the nicer staff are kept inside behind the bar away from the customers most of the time .
There are two older gentlemen who could be the owners . They are polite but look so sad and depressed it's really almost funny .It started to become a family joke about the not so wonderful staff at Rincon Del Mar .The location and good Spanish food saves it .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laplaya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Views and location best in the area !
Fantastic little beach side restaurant .
Staff do have their foibles but just eccentric spanish waiter issues !
The fish is best ive had and very consistent also the muscles are superb.
Wine not over priced, I can recommend the Macia Battle red fantastic at 12 euro a bottle !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyUrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Don´t go here. Although the location is great and the food OK, the service ( or no service ) is appalling. The staff are miserable, un-friendly, un-helpful, obviously hate their jobs and their clients. I´ve been living here in Mallorca for 30 years and I can honestly say this was the worst
experience ever. I went with 2 friends last tuesday the 26th of may. We had to seat ourselves as nobody came to offer us a table. We moved to another table indoors during the meal as it was cold outdoors. No help from any of the waiters, no offer of desserts or coffees. No nothing.
Horrible, horrible, horrible. They don´t deserve your business and believe me they won´t care if you don´t come. They should close the restaurant. I work in the travel business and I´ve been telling all my work colleagues about the awful service from these people. Don´t go there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mothers day treat”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Location is great.Right on the beach.The fish I had was very good.Good sized portions Fresh and juicy.Prices were not bad for the dish I had.I followed it with fresh pineapple which was a good sized portion nicely presented.No complaints at all for the whole party of (10) who all had something different.Just one complaint.It would be nice if the waiters smiled a bit and looked as though they enjoyed serving you and not appearing as though it was too much trouble for them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Family favourite, glorious view.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have been visiting his restaurant for 10 years and we love it. The setting is lovely, right on a little beach. Whilst we enjoy an aperitif our daughter plays on the beach day or night. The food is simple, fresh and well prepared. The roast chicken ( which is the chepest thing on the menu and 8 euros) is always delicious. Also recommend the fish, pork chops, lamb chops and cordon bleu although over the years we have tried EVERYTHING on the menu and find it all good ( although on two occasions the shoulder of lamb was far far too salty). The kids menu is fine but they are more than happy to just bring a plate for your child to eat off your plate if you want. The waiters are the same ones who served us on our first trip here. No, they don't smile much so look at the glorious view instead of them!! Great restaurant for lunch, cake in the afternoon or dinner. They don't need to change anything here as its great as it is. If it isn't broken, don't fix it!!! Highly recommended and of course we will return- time and time again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yummymummyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rincon Del Mar also viewed

 
Son Caliu, Calvia
Palmanova, Calvia
 

Been to Rincon Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing