We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Ranked #26 of 182 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel is nice,but when we got to the room the patio door was not lock,22.30 we were going back out to eat,i was glad i check the door, i asked to move room ,but no one really bothered,not even the manager

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    128
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
99
232
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Bonanza Park hotel Illetas Majorca. As soon as my wife and myself entered the reception we were welcomed by the manager and given a glass of champagne,we were given our room and told if we didnt like it we could change to another room which we did [a roomwith a view of Palma]. The hotel is very well managed, the staff are superb the grounds/2 swimming pools are immaculate. Rooms are very well maintained and kept very clean by excellent housekeepers. We could not fault the food at the hotel it was some of the best we have ever had at a Majorcan hotel. It says 4star but I would add another half 4.5. You will not be disappointed try it.

Room Tip: Great bus route No 3 every 10 min. to Palma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sheandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrils, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

First time to a Riu Hotel but will most definitely be looking at this chain again. The Bonanza Park is at the top of a hill so you need a bit of energy if you are there in hot weather but it didn't put us off! The welcome at the hotel has got to be the best we have ever had in Spain and we have travelled there many many times over 20-30 years. The manageress was there to welcome us with a champagne or alternative if you wished. They took care of everything while we sat and sipped our champagne. There are 10 rooms that look right out onto the sea so if you are considering going ask for one of those if possible we did and it didn't cost us anything extra. They are very large rooms with one wall all patio door and one with huge picture windows so very light and airy. Also being on the 3rd floor where the rooms started meant we had a huge terrace. We loved sitting there looking out to sea watching the sailboats and cruise liners coming and going. The food was absolutely top notch and the staff were just wonderful, they were clearly very well trained to watch out if anyone needed anything without being overbearing. There were 2 special meals whilst we were there Thursday Gala Dinner and Monday typical Mallorcan food on both those nights the manageress was there to greet you with a welcoming drink - a really nice touch - she is a lovely lady who took time to talk to all the guests. Fantastic pool area (two areas) one where families tended to sit as there was a pool and a small pool for children, and the other was mainly used by adults only as the pool was much deeper and not suited to children. The bus into Palma stops right at the hotel so it's very easy to get in and out there if you want the city. Also there are numerous buses to many of the other resorts all of which are within easy reach. It really was a beautiful setting and I would love to go back to the Bonanza Park some time I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms looking out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrypPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

First visit to Majorca and was not sure about the island. I took a long time to select this hotel., and was not disappointed.
We arrived about 9pm and were not even check in and were escorted to the dining room for our meal while reception staff did the check in for us seen to our luggage and all we had to do was pick up our key and check details. Very impressive.
Lovely clean hotel every area was maintained to a high standard.
Food excellent and plentiful - theonly thing I missed was having the choice in the main dining room of eating outside, the design of the hotel does not allow this to happen.
Swimming pool - good with plenty of sun loungers and no shortage at this time. Small area [hotel beach] were you could get entry to the sea if you wanted that.
Entertainment programme was more than enough and a few people enjoyed this. Aquagym, rifle shooting, bowls,volleyball, darts to name but a few, during the day. The evening entertainment was ok It was a quiet hotel in a quiet area just what we wanted and needed from our holiday. The staff were all excellent, very helpfull and very friendly.
We never used the inside pool or spa area, gym or water sport so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
all over the place
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Nice first impression, upon our arrival we were served a drink of our choice and we were also upgraded to a bungalow with a huge sun terrace. The room were clean and staff very accomodation and polite. If you bring a car, the parking will be in a public park down the street. The breakfast was failry good, i have seen better, the staff was efficient and very nice to kids i noticed.
All in all, i have nothing to complain about, we didn't stay at the pool, but i found them a bit small.
Will recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabbitbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiev
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Nice hotel and good location.I havn't even expected to get such a good servise. We booked a room in hotel, but in deed got a bungalow!!! If you are really want to relax without noise in quite place, this is place to be here....!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolaKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

On arrival at the Bonanza Playa the receptionist was very welcoming and was aware that we had disabilities and had arranged a room as per an email I had sent. We had a short wait till our room was ready but were given a glass of champagne and very efficently given details on obtaining frree pool towels etc.. We went to our room but found it was on the side of the hotel where the sun was on the balcony only in the morning.

We were ,with no fuss at all, given a key to another room which we agreed would be fine and the very helpful receptionist very quickly arranged to have the bed made into a double instead of two singles. We had sun from 10.00 am until 5.30 p.m.

We were very disappointed with the size of the room and during the stay felt even more strongly about this as we could hear the next door neighbours talking in their room. The glass panel dividing our balcony with the next was cracked and there was rubble on a ridge where a bit of the edging concrete had broken off. Obviously my expectations of this hotel were wrong but for a hotel on Thomsons Al la Carte list I would have expected better.

We would have normally expected a safe in our room, wireless facilities and dressing gowns. These were available but all at extra cost.
Pool towels were available free and were of very good quality.

Our chamber maid kept our rooms spotless and always managed to clean while we were at breakfast.

During our stay we had a cover fall of a socket and the basin was slow to run away, but there was no delay in getting these things fixed.

The hotel did put some fruit and two small bottles of wine in our room which we appreciated. We did not use the mini bar as the prices were exorbitant. This however is no different to other hotels.

The gardens and pool side were lovely and immaculate although quite a lot of the sun beds were broken, probably due to our visit being at the end of the Season. As usual even though the hotel tried to prevent it there were the towels placed on sun beds and no occupants.

Our main problem was with the dinning room. It is important when booking that you check what facilities the hotel has for help if the meals are buffet style. The Bonanza has buffet style breakfast and optional buffet style dinner.

Although we were told by the head waiter that a table would be saved for us for breakfast this only happened for two days but it did appear that if we had been GermanI or our tips had been larger we would have been assisted more. It was like a rugby scrum and the waiters were in the style of Fawlty towers.

Dinner we did like most people, have a reserved table, but again the words Fawlty towers just come into my head. People got the wrong wine, the bottles were labelled wrongly with room numbers (you could keep your bottle of wine for the next day). The waiters often had difficulty in explaining the brief menu. For two days we asked for and got tap water which was of excellent quality but on the th ird day the head waiter informed us that we could not have this as we had to buy our water.!!!!!

The hotel professes to be trying to be environmentally friendly, they ask you to put a notice on the bed when you wish your sheets to be changed and to put your towels in the bath when you want them changed but you HAVE to buy bottled water!!!!.

This has taught me to read every review before booking not after and to read between the lines becauseI I could have chosen differently.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ladydeehampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.1 mi away
Europe Playa Marina
Europe Playa Marina
#3 of 3 in Illetes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roc Illetas
Roc Illetas
#2 of 3 in Illetes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Bonanza Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Bonanza Park

Property: Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Address: Passeig Illetes S/N | Illetas - Mallorca, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#21 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Bonanza Park 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majorca Park Hotel located in the residential area of Iletas, very near to Palma, this comfortable hotel has extraordanary views over the bay. With its carefully designed facilities and attentive service, this is the perfect vantage point for you holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Bonanza Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bonanza Park Hotel
Riu Bonanza Park Calvia
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing