We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Ranked #18 of 182 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Husband and I just back from a 10 night stay at this lovely hotel. Our room 560 was excellent, cleaned to a high standard and fabulous view of the sea and Port of Palma. We stayed on a half board basis, and found the meals to be really good. Every guest on entering the dining room were greeted personally by the lovely manager Maribel. All her staff are a credit to her.
Bus stop outside the hotel makes it easy to get to Palma, the buses are about every 10 to 15 mins and are air conditioned, but there are a lot of stops, before you reach the centre of Palma, it takes about 35mins, but well worth it, as the old part of Palma is stunning. Another place well worth a visit, is the Marina in Portals, a taxi ride costs about 6 euros 25, but what a chic place, to sit and people watch. Illetes is a very quiet but nice resort and the virtual beach club is nice to visit, but pricey at 21 euros for a litre of sangria. We had a lovely relaxing break, and would definitely recommend this hotel for just that. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Higher floors for a fabulous view. Our room was 560 and excellent view of the sea, and nice and cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    139
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
106
254
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel cannot be faulted for almost anything including food, rooms, staff and cleanliness. The only downside was we were allocated on of the Bungalows N0 755 which you might think was lucky but it was the only one without a view. we looked onto the back of another Bungalow.
The only other issue would be the lack of tea/Coffee in the room. You could get a sun bed any time of the day but the website would benefit from letting customers know that pool towels ARE available.
The resort of Illetas has nothing to offer at all other than peace and quiet and nearness to Palma. Very few bars or eating places worth a visit.
The entertainment in the hotel was of high standard depending upon your taste, but thankfully no animation team.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MackemJStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute break here in July and as the title says, we expected more. We had booked a bungalow room in the gardens however our room overlooked the main road, it was very basic in the room and bathrooms could do with being updated.
The location of the hotel is ok, 15mins to illetas beach, taxi's outside and a few bars and supermarkets along the road.
We decided not to eat in the restaurant in the evening as the 'no shorts' rule was a bit formal for this day and age. We did have pool snacks during the day but our sandwiches had lettuce and tomato and only one small piece of chicken.
Only one day out of 4 we struggled to get sunbeds, we could see lots had been reserved with towels even though this was apparently discouraged, we had to sit on the steps or edge of the pool until some became free.
All of these negatives are only made up for by the helpful and friendly staff in the hotel who are a credit to their company.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemmawilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from 4 nights at this hotel.

On the positive side, staff are welcoming, the hotel is very clean, food is of an adequate and expected standard without being spectacular.

Negatives: lacks a bit of atmosphere, little to no day time activities, poor evening entertainment, some areas a little old fashioned and dated, 9 euros a day for parking.

Overall i would probably have given the hotel 3.5 to 4 stars but our experience was ruined unnecessarily on our last evening;

The hotel operates a system where you maintain the same table for dinner throughout your stay. On our last evening we sat down at our table only to be asked to move quite rudely and without explanation. As we were moved out of our table it became quite apparent that a waiting couple had asked to be given our table for some reason and as soon as we were out of our seats they were allowed to take our table.

I asked the waiter to explain why we had been asked to move but he just continually shrugged his shoulders and offered no explanation - this left my son and i feeling like second class guests with those taking our seats clearly more important in the eyes of the hotel. This left a really bad 'taste in the mouth' and quite frankly spoilt our whole trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Arron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here from the sat 21st - 25th june.this is the 4th time i have stayed at this hotel and i can't recommend it highly enough.It is well situated for Palma,excellent beaches,good cafes and handy bus/taxi service to and from Palma.
The staff are very professional and extremely helpful,and always aknowledge you when entering or leaving the hotel.
the rooms are clean,if a tad basic,toilets spotless and housekeeping is tremendous,so if your looking for an excellent hotel then i would recommend this one without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms great size,very spacious,beds are great size also and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank citiguyparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at the Riu Bonanza Park, where we celebrated our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we received nothing but exemplary service. Whilst checking in we were given a glass of lovely Cava. The manager proceeded to tell us there had been a mix up with our booking which meant there was no room in the hotel for us that night. By way of compensation and to apologise they'd booked us in to the 5 star sister hotel in a sea view room. The following morning after breakfast the hotel arranged for our bags to moved back to the Bonanza park where we found that we had been upgraded again - to a garden bungalow. This was a lovely suite set in the gardens near the pool - stunning. We went out ofr the day and when we returned a bottle of Cava had been left on ice for us from the manager to say sorry for the inconvenience, then a couple of staff delivered a bowl of fruit to us again from the manager. we really felt like we had been given some special treatment and how wonderful on our wedding anniversary. In terms of the hotel itself, I could find no fault with it, the food ws wonderful, the pools are lovely and no problem getting a sun bed. The staff really make this a great hotel though, each and every one of them deliver excellent service which is a credit to the hotel and its manager (who also made sure she spoke to everyone at dinner!). All in all a wonderful experience and I would return to this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmonty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Bonanza Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest.
First of all, thanks for choosing us to spend your holidays.
once more we apologize for the inconvenience we might caused.
we hope to see you again on the future.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the Riu Bonanza Park on our third visit. We like the location as it's next to the sea but only a short taxi or bus ride to Palma or Puerto Portals. We have stayed in the Bonanza Playa across the road a few times as well but prefer the quieter and smaller Bonanza Park. We requested a room on a higher floor with a better sea view this time but unfortunately the hotel didn't take this request into account. This wasn't really a problem though as we were on the third floor with views over the gardens and mini golf as well as the sea through the trees. There have been a few refurbishments since last year including wooden floors in the bedrooms and new, very comfortable beds. The bathroom (with a bath) is fine. The gardens at the Bonanza Park are very well kept as are the swimming pool areas (there are two pools) although the decking around the upper pool did have some bird poo on it in certain places. We enjoyed the breakfasts and there was plenty of choice - we particularly liked the fresh fruit juices and ensaimadas. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening. Food in the pool bar at lunchtime is a limited selection but reasonable for the cost. There's a nice mix of nationalities around the pool and people are reasonably quiet and friendly although one German did go slightly mad when someone dived in the pool and splashed him a little bit! All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.The free wifi is an added bonus - you have to pay to hire the safe and leave a deposit for pool towels (refunded on return.) I would recommend this hotel to people who want to be near the sea/beach but also have easy access to Palma. It's not really for people who want a lively time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.1 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Playa Marina
Europe Playa Marina
#2 of 3 in Illetes
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roc Illetas
Roc Illetas
#3 of 3 in Illetes
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Bonanza Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Bonanza Park

Property: Hotel Riu Bonanza Park
Address: Passeig Illetes S/N | Illetas - Mallorca, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Bonanza Park 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majorca Park Hotel located in the residential area of Iletas, very near to Palma, this comfortable hotel has extraordanary views over the bay. With its carefully designed facilities and attentive service, this is the perfect vantage point for you holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Mirai, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Bonanza Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bonanza Park Hotel
Riu Bonanza Park Calvia
Hotel Riu Bonanza Park Majorca/Calvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing