We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it very well run. But please stop putting towels out so early.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it very well run. But please stop putting towels out so early.”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We had a relaxing holiday here, I was shocked at the time people got up to save a sun bed, found this dissapointing, as it is clear there are enough sun beds to go round, the problem appears to be people want the same spot everyday and want more than one sun brolley. Because of this we paid for two weeks for beds on the beach, as could not bring myself to play the towel dash. I did tell the reps about this where I was told there is a video on you tube showing the towel dash. Dont let this put you off this lovely hotel, its just so you are aware. I think at the height of session they will get this sorted.
The client group does tend to be on the older side and at 50 felt young at times, however everyone friendly and all out for a good holiday. Our second week was better as slightly younger music was played. from the stage team.

Bar staff very good, restaurant staff quick to set a table when they spotted you looking for a spot, food always enough, great to be able to try spanish dishes, a well run and very clean hotel.

I do understand people dont like smoking on balancies but it is not a no smoking hotel.
Initially I did not think we would return as a little to quiet in the evenings, but after two relaxing weeks we will be back.

Room Tip: the only reason not excellent for the room was bed a little hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crispstaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    404
    125
    22
    17
See reviews for
241
1,432
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Have recently returned from a 12 day stay at this fabulous hotel, this being our second visit here. Everything was, yet again, first class - food delicious and the variety just tremendous! Gorgeous views from our room, which overlooked the beautiful Camp de Mar bay. Pool and pool area excellent and very clean. Deano from the Thomson Entertainment Team was fantastic - very hardworking and such a pleasant young man! Stayed in some evenings to watch the entertainment and was very impressed with the Rod Stewart tribute act! Just like watching Rod himself! Also enjoyed Chris Gee the impressionist act and Uno Acora the operatic duo! Top class entertainment at a top class hotel! Jose, the hotel manager, always on the scene ensuring things are running tip-top. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Keep up the good work Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar.........till the next time - we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LandK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I have to say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, very friendly and plenty to do, you can be involved with as many activities as you want or like us just enjoyed watching without any pressure from Deano or Lottie ( the reps) to join in. The room we had was excellent full seaveiw, and what a view, no complaints it was spotless thanks to Ani everyday, we also like another reviewer thought there should have been a mirror over the dressing table but after filling a questionaire in at breakfast one morning we put this in the comments by the afternoon there was a knock on the door and the mirror we asked for ( plus we also suggested it would be a good idea for a stool in the bathroom to put your clothes on whilst in the shower) arrived which proved not only did they read the comments we made, but took them on board. The food was excellent, always hot and plenty to choose from, in fact I don't think there was really anything we could complain about. We had an excellent holiday and hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank caz11Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My wife and I booked and stayed here for a week to chill out and relax and it was a great venue to do just that.
A quiet location with very little to do except stay in the hotel and enjoy the facilities or walk along the short front and pop into one of the few restaurants that grace this resort. If you want to do anything else, you need to get the local bus or a taxi to take you elsewhere - we did'nt.
The Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar is very nice, clean and comfortable with a great view from the balconies over the pool and the resort of Camp de Mar. It was a shame that the kettle and tea cups in the room were not accompanied by tea bags, coffee sachets, sugar sachets and individual milk cartons, but this is soon remedied when you go for your breakfast next morning (if you see what I mean)!!
The food - well if anybody has any complaints about the variety and quality, they really need something to complain about. Be prepared to put on weight!
I agree with another reviewer about the smoking on balconies, this should be banned as it is unreasonable and takes the enjoyment away from those of us who enjoy fresh air.
The Thomson team are enthusistic and attentive and look after you well. Deano in particular, should receive a bonus as he worked his socks off from dawn till dusk and beyond. He is certainly an ambassador for Thomson.
All in all, very good, but one thing to be very aware of;
If you are going for a chill out and a relaxing break, this will be completely frustrated by 'Dad's Army and the battle of the sun bed! These guy's (and sometimes girls) put our German friends in the shade when it comes to assaults on the sun beds. They queue from the early hours and then charge with full vigour when the night porter opens the doors to the pool terrace. You need to be strong, dedicated and focussed to reserve your bed and able to take a dig in the ribs or deliberate trip if you are to achieve your goal. If you are able to negotiate this hostile environment, good luck and I hope you can return to your bed uninjured to enjoy a holiday lie in, safe in the knowledge you have staked your claim.
Please be aware though of the 'Commandoes' who have sneaked out under the cover of darkness to reserve their beds - oh the disappointment when you get up at the crack of dawn, queue up and run the gauntlet only to find the SAS (Sunbed Assault Seniors) have mounted a covert operation as you slept!
Simple solution Thomson and Grupotel - enforce the 'no sunbed reservation' rule and open the doors at 0800 when the pool is officially open. Be strong!
Overall a great break. Thanks all!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WyrreJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

just returned after a week ,the weather very hot,hotel immaculate,first impressions from checking in you know that this hotel is managed well.
the room we stayed in excellent just been refurbished and a great sea view,walk in shower and soft closing toilet [nice touch}.
Hotel very clean and air con lovely and cool,food was good,breakfast the best you will get, and bar area good service and very professionally run.
location could not be better right on the beach.
the manager had his finger on the pulse and he inspected the food and presentation of it most nights which kept the staff on their toes.
entertainment excellent , we were very impressed with the tribute act to Rod Stuart and The One fine day musical .
Drink prices fair ,but beware of the chill out bar in the resort the drinks there are expensive,The restaurant on the island in the bay is expensive and not a relaxing place to eat.You are better eating at the hotel beach bar which has the views but not the high prices
Overall a good place to stay.......the only moan I would have would be the swimming pool area unless you were prepared to queue at 6.45 every morning you would not get a bed with a sea view .You then had the option of trying to find a spot to put your bed and you would not be guaranteed a parasol. the area is large enough but the hotel could do with moving the chairs from the stage area in the daytime to maximise the sunbathing area or shade in the day.
We would return again overall very impressed!

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank picasso05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Have been to this resort on a number of occasions and the upgrades in bathroom and pool area only add to make this an enjoyable holiday. A holiday is what you make of it and whilst we were there, there was a cross section of ages and everyone was there to have an enjoyable holiday. Deano and Lottie worked very hard to make sure that everyone was having a good time and the banter between everyone was very jovial and everyone seemed to be having a wonderful time. Many staff members are the same as before and everyone from the pool cleaner to Jose the manager are very approachable and eager to make your holiday enjoyable and always speak to you. This is a place to go if you do not want hustle and bustle but just relax and enjoy yourself. If you want more then it is just a short bus or taxi ride away. I must commend all the staff at the hotel for making it such a nice place to holiday in.

Room Tip: ask for room 111, 211 great views and large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HappyTourist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Camp de Mar is a very small resort set on a very pretty creek. There are a few shops and a bank but no night clubs or discos. The beach is lovely with very clear water full of little fish which nip your feet! If you want night life outside the hotel you have to get the bus or a taxi (rank is right outside the hotel) to one of the bigger resorts, although there are a number of small restaurants around in Camp de Mar if you haven't booked an evening meal in the hotel.
The hotel had very pleasant staff who were always helpful. The food was very good, with plenty of choice. At lunchtime we ate in the cafe by the pool, where the salads were gigantic, or in the other outdoor restaurant which you access through the bar. The meals in both were very tasty and not overly expensive.
The only things I wasn't too keen on were as follows:
The glass door into the bathroom didn't have a catch or lock but just swung freely, which could be embarrassing if you were on holiday with a friend as opposed to with your husband, it was also a bit dangerous as sometimes it had swung open while we were out of the room and when we came back in we collided with it.
As the previous reviewer said, there should have been a mirror over the desk in the bedroom and the hairdryer should have been in there too. After you have a shower, the mirror is misted up and you can't see to dry your hair. Also, it's quite dangerous to have an electrical item so near to the basins.
I found the beds to be terribly hard and didn't sleep well all the time we were there. I made up for it by snoozing on the sunbeds!
Plus points - loads of coat hangers, plenty of room for tops etc, but a couple more drawers would have been good for putting underwear away and private little things - as |I said, not every one goes away with their spouse and it's good to have somewhere where you can put private things away - the bedside drawers were just too small.
The aircon actually worked. The balcony had two very comfortable chairs with thick cushions and a table as well as a clothes line.It was also good to have a kettle and cups.
The only thing that I found really irritating was the fact that people were going out at 6am and reserving sunbeds by putting towels on them.Sometimes they didn't come back all day. (There were no Germans in this hotel, only Brits!) I think that the hotel should put a stop to this by removing all the towels and making the offenders pay to borrow new ones. A big notice asking people not to reserve sunbeds would be a good idea!
Anyhow, we had a really enjoyable holiday and will probably go back. The only thing that would really put me off is the hard beds!
PS I haven't commented on the evening entertainment at the hotel because we didn't go to any of it. We did go to Come Fly With Me at the Casino and I can thoroughly recommend it !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhoebeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camp De Mar
0.1 mi away
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
H10 Blue Mar Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Camp De Mar
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Golf & Spa Resort Camp de Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,264 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabau Bahia Camp de Mar Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Property: Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing